Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

01-02-2018, 13:32   #1
sweirdo

Book recommendations for beginners

Hi!
I'm a total beginner at learning Irish, have been using the duolingo app until now, but I would like to maybe work through one or two books to stay in rotuine and learn a bit more and more profound. Does anyone have recommendations for me?
Thanks!
Advertisement
02-02-2018, 07:58   #2
Dara O Rourke

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweirdo View Post
Hi!
I'm a total beginner at learning Irish, have been using the duolingo app until now, but I would like to maybe work through one or two books to stay in rotuine and learn a bit more and more profound. Does anyone have recommendations for me?
Thanks!
Progress in Irish , Máiréad ní Ghráda is a handy little book. Teach Yourself Irish by O Sé is good too and comes with Cds.
06-02-2018, 06:15   #3
sweirdo

Thanks, I haven't heard of those yet!
There is apparently a really, really good and huge book that supposedly has all of the grammar in it, but that was incredibly expensive. :/
09-02-2018, 00:57   #4
Carawaystick

Ní dócha go bhfuil foghlaim gramadach an tslí don duine ag tosach an Gaeilge a feasú
17-02-2018, 07:37   #5
Achasanai

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweirdo View Post
Thanks, I haven't heard of those yet!
There is apparently a really, really good and huge book that supposedly has all of the grammar in it, but that was incredibly expensive. :/
The progress in Irish one is a really good book. I found the lack of correct answers to questions and lack of sound files a bit limiting but you can find these on the internet.
Advertisement
19-02-2018, 05:20   #6
sweirdo

Thanks! I'll definitely be looking around for a copy of that book. Maybe someone can also recommend some simple books to read in Irish? Children's books maybe? That might also help

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image