Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
08-12-2017, 14:36   #1
Shefwedfan
Registered User
 
Shefwedfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5,702
Prebundled Amiga?

Ok, I was a huge Amiga 500 fan back in the day. Also my brother. We both saved for nearly 2 years to pay I think about 500 pound for it and played it for years. I wouldn't mind when I was in college someone asked for it off us and we just gave it away. Along with hundreds of games

Anyway my brother hasn't had the greatest of times recently and was just talking to him other day and he was going on about how much he loved the Amiga, games like Syndicate/Cannon Fodder/Shadow of the Beast/Lemmings/etc etc

I was wondering, do anyone do a retro console with all the games loaded onto it? prebundled solution with controllers etc. Even if you only get X games and then need to buy additional I dont mind. Think it would be great present for him(maybe one for me)

Any idea's?

Thanks
Shefwedfan is online now  
Advertisement
09-12-2017, 22:27   #2
Shefwedfan
Registered User
 
Shefwedfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5,702
Found this? Anyone know about it?

https://www.armigaproject.com/
Shefwedfan is online now  
10-12-2017, 14:32   #3
eddhorse
Registered User
 
eddhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The Pale
Posts: 4,623
Send a message via ICQ to eddhorse
You could just get a raspberry pi and put retropie on it.

If you aint tech savy there are people on adverts selling it for high prices.

Could just get an amiga .
eddhorse is offline  
13-12-2017, 11:55   #4
alpahaeagle
Registered User
 
alpahaeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Far side of the Moon
Posts: 553
Buy an amiga....get the gotex floopy drive..get roms and away you go...


Nothing better than the real thing
alpahaeagle is offline  
13-12-2017, 12:43   #5
r3nu4l
Administrator
 
r3nu4l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In a world of technological devices
Posts: 15,655
Send a message via MSN to r3nu4l
Amiga emulation is quite fickle on retropie apparently, not all ROMS are good either. There is an Amiga for sale in Adverts.ie you could check out.
r3nu4l is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
13-12-2017, 16:24   #6
Inviere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2,996
Nothing beats the real thing, though in the case of the Amiga, the real thing really needs to be a 1200 with the cf-drive installed. Floppies are a nuisance.

That said, I've two Amiga emulators set up. The first, Win-UAE, is literally a virtual Amiga; Amiga OS running & gives the workbench, the desktop, and runs virtually identical to the real thing. Better still, I've installed GameOS on it, & can now browse all the whd load games installed on it in one menu, click & run. Another very nice little feature is you can use a shared folder between the pc & the emulator, so adding new games is just a matter of dropping whd-load games into that folder, boot up the emulator, & I can run them as if they were on a real hard drive on a real Amiga.

The second one, FS-UAE, is set up & plays nicely with Launchbox, so if I don't want to go full Amiga & load up the OS etc, & just want to play a game - I can browse through them with Launchbox, complete with images, artwork, preview vids etc, & just boot right into them.

Both take a 'little' bit of work to get set up right, though so does the real thing with a cf-drive.

Tut for Win-UAE - https://thecakeisaliegaming.wordpres...r-retrogaming/
Inviere is offline  
(3) thanks from:
21-12-2017, 00:45   #7
TenLeftFingers
Registered User
 
TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 604
The Amiga Ireland FB group is a good place if you're looking to pick up something in Ireland. I have a dedicated laptop running an Amiga emulator and it works really well with FS-UAE Arcade Launcher (it's really nice, have a look here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lw5-d9995kQ )
There are hardware options then like getting a real Amiga with a hard disk installation with all games, or getting a CD32 which has plenty of compilation CDs available.
There are also hardware boards you can get that emulate the Amiga. The Vampire is the latest and probably most expensive but there have been others.
From your description, it sounds like you just want to play the games and I think trying out emulation is a cheap way to get up and running. www.amigaforever.com is a quick way to get emulation running legally for cheap, but if you already have rom files (legally or otherwise, they are available online) you can just install FS-UAE.
 www.amigausers.ie/podcast
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Thanks from:
21-12-2017, 01:01   #8
Brother Andy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 670
Mousetrap
New Zealand story (masterpiece)
Batman the movie
Shadow of the beast
The list goes on

Great stuff
Brother Andy is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet