Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Hugh heffner dead - RIP

• 28-09-2017 4:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

RIP

I'd Say many a young teen boy had a tug reading his Mags

Taken from Wikipedia

Death
    Hefner died while having sex with twins at his home in Beverly Hills, California on September 27, 2017 at the age of 91

What a way to go..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Where's that motherf*cker gonna go? His whole life has already practically been heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

He went stiff pretty quickly

but that was maybe just the viagra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

You'd have to have a sneaky admiration for the guy, he was a pop culture icon.

Which young wan won the musical chairs marriage jackpot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

paconnors wrote: »
    RIP

I'd Say many a young teen boy had a tug reading his Mags

Taken from Wikipedia

Death
    Hefner died while having sex with twins at his home in Beverly Hills, California on September 27, 2017 at the age of 91

What a way to go..

There was writing in those magazines :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭eurokev

Some life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

RIP. Fair play to him, he created some empire. If there is anyone who deserves to have his 72 virgins in the afterlife, it's Hugh.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,750 ✭✭✭degsie

Does he get buried in his housecoat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

There will be a memorial circle jerk at central bank tonight at seven - tissues will be provided!

We expect everyone to come...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

If anyone deserves a second coming, its Hugh Hefner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

He was a fair age. I guess men with multiple wives live longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Definitely gone TITS UP !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Gmaximum

He's stiff now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

a78219d641774f95d22c51321f2372a6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭gifted

To be fair...heaven is a bit of a downer after his mansion lol lol

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Sort if fitting that he finishes up stiff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I only read it for the articles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

he was in heaven for decades

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

RIP. Fair play to him, he created some empire. If there is anyone who deserves to have his 72 virgins in the afterlife, it's Hugh.

That'll do for his first day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭selwyn froggitt

Gmaximum wrote: »
    He's stiff now

Will they be able to close the coffin lid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Rip God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Gone to the great Playboy mansion in the sky.

*Smoking jacket donned.*

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

RIP PIMP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Sarn

Died with a smile on his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭mad m

Sarn wrote: »
    Died with a smile on his face.

Radio said he died surrounded by loved ones. I can only imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Good man Hugh.

He's gone to the great big titties in the sky. Bon chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

bdskpt.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

OEzoDzi.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Obviously the passing of someone is sad, but I don’t get the love-in for him. He was a pornographer, and a classic dirty old man. The much vaunted mansion was/is meant to a squalid kip, and the whole image around the man seems like a carefully crafted marketing exercise to normalise his trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,527 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Creepy oul fella love-in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

i can't help thinking of this gag....:pac:

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Obviously the passing of someone is sad, but I don’t get the love-in for him. He was a pornographer, and a classic dirty old man. The much vaunted mansion was/is meant to a squalid kip, and the whole image around the man seems like a carefully crafted marketing exercise to normalise his trade.

Yes he was a pornographer, but he was also a pioneer, not just of showing nude women but of publishing interviews and articles with social, political and artistic people of a very significant time in history, particularly in the USA. Interviews with people who had something to say, were worth listening to and not the sanitised pap on offer today from the talentless nobodies who are served up to us as "celebs"

The joke, "I only read it for the editorial" was a knowing one about the nudity, (in a time of great censorship comparatively) but also had a lot of truth in it because Hefner would interview genuinely interesting people of the time, musicians, artists, political activists, social commentators, sports people etc.

I get that it became more creepy as this old man was still surrounding himself with bikini attired ladies, but Playboy was revolutionary in the publishing world and pushed back a lot of boundaries, good or bad everyone can judge for themselves. But he wasn't just a "creepy old man" or just a "pornographer" if you look at his early work.

RIP Hef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Jaysus, some man hating mad yoke screeching on newstalk now ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

What a life he lived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

legend ..

gifted wrote: »
    To be fair...heaven is a bit of a downer after his mansion lol lol

i think heaven will be Hugh's idea of hell....surrounded by boring ol'dogooders

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

All a bit confusing. I thought we weren't supposed to lionize dirty old men in smoking jackets that expect their female employees to sleep with them.

I've no particular axe to grind with him, his customers or the porn industry but all the breathless validictions about him being a 60s icon kick starting sexual emancipation and interviewing Miles Davis is a bit rich.

He was the owner of a titty mag, not Tom Wolfe.

He did die at the right time though as I can see his passing igniting wars all over the internet between Broskis and The Feminazis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

OP, if you're going to start a thread on the guy, at least try to spell his freaking name correctly. Names use capital letters too.

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

BBDBB wrote: »
    Yes he was a pornographer, but he was also a pioneer, not just of showing nude women but of publishing interviews and articles with social, political and artistic people of a very significant time in history, particularly in the USA. Interviews with people who had something to say, were worth listening to and not the sanitised pap on offer today from the talentless nobodies who are served up to us as "celebs"

The joke, "I only read it for the editorial" was a knowing one about the nudity, (in a time of great censorship comparatively) but also had a lot of truth in it because Hefner would interview genuinely interesting people of the time, musicians, artists, political activists, social commentators, sports people etc.

I get that it became more creepy as this old man was still surrounding himself with bikini attired ladies, but Playboy was revolutionary in the publishing world and pushed back a lot of boundaries, good or bad everyone can judge for themselves. But he wasn't just a "creepy old man" or just a "pornographer" if you look at his early work.

RIP Hef

Can I ask what age category you belong to

Road-Hog wrote: »
    Can I ask what age category you belong to

Can I ask how its relevant to my post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Ardent

Lived the dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Breast in peace.

I remember reading my brothers playboys growing up :o I wanted to grow up and be a bunny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Wow, 91! All that Playmate sex wot dun him good.

the Vatican have released a statement ...

they said.. he's in a better place now

the audience at peters square laughed in unison and said ya right :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

He also made a cameo appearance in the Mel Brooks film History of the World Part 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,036 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Creep.

Hopefully we won't see too much gushing praise from people for this sexual predator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Jaysus, some man hating mad yoke screeching on newstalk now ...

As a woman....

Do all the people screeching realise that they are doing even more damage to women, by taking away their right to decide how they want to live their life, and with whomever they chose?

So if that's with a 91 year old man who puts their picture in a magazine so be it!
    Fair play to them doing what they want.

Can the activists really not see the irony?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

BBDBB wrote: »

RIP Hef

Roald Dahl, Ian Fleming, Kurt Vonnegut, Hunter S.Thompson,... all wrote for it at one point in time I believe.

Lackey wrote: »
    As a woman....

Do all the people screeching realise that they are doing even more damage to women, by taking away their right to decide how they want to live their life, and with whomever they chose?

So if that's with a 91 year old man who puts their picture in a magazine so be it!
    Fair play to them doing what they want.

I genuinely don't think they do.

The freedoms we enjoy today, the choices we have available as to the type of jobs we do and the lives we lead the extent of our progress and even who we have as friends and neighbours is in a small way thanks to the doors that Hefner pushed through. Yes he used naked bodies to wedge open the door, but firstly, he never forced anyone to buy the magazine, the sales figures kept rising and secondly what he printed was ground breaking at the time

If you think Im exaggerating, go google a list who Playboy magazine interviewed in the 60's & 70's. Consider that list in terms of the ones you've never heard of and why they might have been a person of interest at the time. Let alone the names that do stand out to you.

Also consider the topics that were discussed in panel form in the magazine, politics, civil rights, religion, homosexuality, sexual politics, drug usage, social injustice, racism etc.

All at a time where these topics weren't discussed, they were attacked as dangerous and subversive. Interviewing the proponents was communistic and brought threats of legal challenge and physical threat. The views of Malcolm X, Fidel Castro, Timothy Leary, Lech Walesa, Sergio Ramirez, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross being discussed was unheard of.

Somewhere, probably in the publication war with Larry Flynt of Hustler, Playboy did lose sight of its own history and values and yes it became the sordid magazine on the top shelf that its cool now to sneer at in pursuit of the global brand and associated wealth.

But any study of social history in America (and all the stuff that has bled into our own culture and that of the UK) and Hefner is there, banging the drum, advancing on the establishment, daring to say the unsayable, daring to print the unspeakable and sharing it, so that once the orgasm was over you would have something worthwhile to read, something that wasn't mainstream, wasn't something you'd read elsewhere and was challenging the status quo.

Lackey wrote: »

Activists just care about their own publicity trip.. they really don't care who they have to walk over to become 'heard'. I've rarely seen an activist that understood or appreciated any stance/idea different from their own. :rolleyes: