Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

04-07-2017, 14:51   #1
brokeasfeck

UL GEM Loan 2017

Hi everyone,

I am an incoming UL GEM student for 2017/2018. Thought I'd start up a new thread for this as I'm finding it hard to find relevant information on loans for UL GEM students, the GEM Loan Packages are changing every year. I'll share what I have found out so far below and if you can add something, please do.

Bank of Ireland UL: Michael Carroll (can't post his email as I'm a new user, PM me and I'll send it to you)
He is the GEM BOI Loan Co-ordinator at UL. He will assess your application in advance of your CAO offer.
I submitted my application to him and he had it assessed within a week. Unfortunately, he rejected it on the grounds of my guarantor but at least I have a heads up to reapply with another guarantor/to another bank.

Ulster Bank:
Emailed a lady from the Castletroy Limerick branch with UB GEM Loan query today and she responded by saying:
"Unfortunately, we are no longer offering the finance package to new entrants to the course."

As of now I do not have information on AIB and where they stand with UL GEM loans. If anyone has experience with them for 2017/2018, please share!
Advertisement
04-07-2017, 15:33   #2
medennial

Have no experience myself yet with the process but just wanted to say hard luck! I'm hoping to apply to UL myself next year, I'm taking this year out to try and put myself in the best position I can financially in order to apply for the loan.
Make sure you apply for the scholarship too if you haven't already.

Best of luck with it!!
Thanks from:
15-07-2017, 12:17   #3
mossie23