Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

XGC Condolences Thread

• 04-08-2016 7:32am
    Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭

Post your memories and final thoughts on the XGC here.

I remember my first trip to the XGC with so much clarity. It was also my first time in Dublin believe it or not! Up until this point I'd only played online and watched the Doom cam videos. You could get a sense of the place from those early vids, and I thought it was sick that there was this place that you could go that had rows of 360s/PS3s. It certainly lived up to my expectation. Country buck that I was, I thought it was awesome that day!

Also strong memories of the very very quiet patch of Wednesday casuals in early 2011, when Marvel 3 was just out and it was me, Dreddy and Steveboat just playing sets all evening.

Casuals and the Dublin FGC has been a really important part of my life, and it's given me a really close circle of friends here in Dublin that I otherwise wouldn't have. And there is no doubt, whatsoever, that without the XGC, that wouldn't be a thing. So thanks XGC!

]

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Macal

R.I.P XGC.

You were a ****hole of a place.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Couldn't get in, sadly.

I met the FGC for the very first time in the XGC. Azza, Chopper, Orim, Kiki and Jimeatsmenu. I was playing Ryu on an unmodded SE!

I can recall we went for pints in Pravda- I think it was still Pravda- and the night wore on and Jim called in sick for work. Can't remember the last time I could just go out for a pint after SF.

They were some great and some sad times, heart of the recession. Lot of people just about getting by. All of them on their feet now. Quite a few no longer in Ireland.

I remember people saying we should make the most of SFIV, because we'd never get the same number of people playing fighting games together ever again. How wrong we were!

There were times when I hated that place but it's given me lifelong friends so I'll always remember it fondly. RIP the inferno :)

• Registered Users Posts: 29 duffsocks

I'm glad I got in on this a short while before it ended. That being said I hope the next place is better than that kip :D RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 18,704 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

8 years.

F*cking hell. I still can't believe it's finally gone.

Shoutouts to:
    • Pints after sessions
    • Soulcalibur IV days
    • No aircon 40-man tournaments
    • Belfast crew wrecking shop
    • Super secret training/beer sessions
    • EVO All-nighters
    • Traveling to Queen's U
    • Playing separate PS3/360 tournaments for the same game
    • Input lag
    • Recording on camcorders/phones
    • MELTY BLOOD ON A LAPTOP
    • Using the same chairs since day 1
    • New faces who only showed up to 1 tournament
    • Old faces who stuck around even when they lost to a scrub like me
    • Stick modding days
    • Talking about video game characters' 3 measurements
    • A whole lot of other stuff I'm forgetting because I'm trying to remember 8 years worth of stuff
    • Everyone I ever met in XGC

I'll miss that rathole
    (Doom: for you)

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭C0unter

D4RK ONION wrote: »

Casuals and the Dublin FGC has been a really important part of my life, and it's given me a really close circle of friends here in Dublin that I otherwise wouldn't have. And there is no doubt, whatsoever, that without the XGC, that wouldn't be a thing. So thanks XGC!

Yep, exactly how I feel. Thanks for putting what I wanted to say into words.
    I always enjoy popping in to have a chat and monopolize the fans even if I don't play any of the games.

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    8 years.

F*cking hell. I still can't believe it's finally gone.

I'll miss that rathole
    (Doom: for you)

You know I never got to play Amir again. I trained so hard in the Ryu match so that when we played again, I'd not be bopped so hard. Knocked me out of my first tournament and I never got the run back.

Also thanks to kiki for inspiring me to record videos :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

I think I was 15 or 16 when I first went into the XGC in 2010. I got a taste of offline from Eirtakon so I was hungry for more. Me and my friends were in Dublin on a trip for the usual weebing around in Forbidden Planet and I read on boards that there was a meetup in XGC on that day so I nagged them to let me go for a hour to explore it.

Met Joe and Voa playing BB and even tho I had no idea what was going on or what BB even was, I had a lot of fun playing it and having them explain the basics to me before I got pulled away to catch our bus back.

Then I would be scrounging money to get the Matthews bus up to Dublin and even tho my time was short there as the buses are long and expensive, I still enjoyed every minute there. Then moving to Dublin and actually having it so close and cheap AND twice a week was almost magical to me

I'll miss the XGC, it's been good to us :( (even tho it was actually kind of ass but it was very convenient). The allnighters there were easily the best IFGC annual events . I'll miss the weird guy on playstation home chasing people on a donut car and the COD guys on the other side screaming all sorts of profanities.

Here's hoping for a venue just as good or better

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

I've made some good friends and travelled the world because of fighting games and it all started in XGC.

It was the starting point for many great adventures (Ladies Night) and nights out. It was funny how quickly people gelled, I remember going out to Dorans after the first casuals I was at (I don't think it was the first but it was close. Weird to think back of a time when no one knew each other).

I haven't been there in a long time but there was something nice about it being there and thinking I could go back if I wanted. Sad to see it go.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭The Domonator

Was only ever in the place twice, but I liked the atmosphere. Pity it's gone. Is there anywhere else that is suitable for sessions or tournies?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Nutrient

Had a great time at a tourney which had dozens of players, I had the pleasure of getting mistified at my first FGC event..lovely.

Lead me to attend first casuals after this tourney held in the exchange, about 5 years ago.

Everyone was playing Arcade edition, mvc3, BlazBlue

Shout outs to:
    • 2ltr Ice tea runs
    • GTAV player that committed no crime in-game for ages and suddenly whipped out a knife and went ham
    • MVC3 scene B.F.F.7
    • People hogging setups
    • Haggar Pipe causing mass hysteria
    • Video game characters measurements which somehow lead to inappropriate Danbooru chats
    • Killzone2 boxes
    • Xbox 17
    • Boojum Burritos
    • Endless list of players that got salty losing to lariat
    • XGC all nighters
    • Endless Gourmet race ambience

It was a rathole but it was our rathole, met some great people at XGC.
    Have some very fond memories of the place. sad to see it go.

Heres to the next place we invade and call our rathole haven.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,989 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

It was the best of times, it was the blorst times! You stupid monkey!

First time there was a couple of months after SF IV was released for a tournament. I still had no console, but had a stick and converters at the ready. First match, sat down to use Rose and she wasn't unlocked! Honda it was then, and the rest is history.

Yes, the XGC was a dump, and yes, it was a horribly uncomfortable and poorly spaced venue for tournaments, but it did provide a location for constant casuals to be ran since the revival of the FGC/SF scene, and without it, we may not have an IFGC.

As others have said, made some very good friends through that place.

One more drink turning into a pitcher of vodka and coke.

Multiple trips abroad. Myself and Brian had a better attendance record for SFIV ranbats in Belfast than some of the locals did, and Cobelcog will never get that runback!

Running tournaments for about two years straight, including multiple other venues, but XGC was always there as a backup option.

On a practical level, has anyone made arrangements to gather any equipment we have stored there?

Has anyone looked into a replacement venue?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Nutrient

On a practical level, has anyone made arrangements to gather any equipment we have stored there?

Has anyone looked into a replacement venue?

Yes and Yes

• Registered Users Posts: 7 HowlsOfWater

I only found out about the place maybe a month ago, and I live out in the midlands surrounded by bogs, so I could only make the trip up once. As soon as I walked in, I loved the place. There's always something brilliant about a sh*thole looking place filled with super friendly people, and I'm super disappointed I won't get the chance to meet you guys there again. Even if you were all disgusted by my octa gate stick...

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭Linoud

RIP XGC. I think it was there that I really became friends with Joe. I had met him at Eirta, but only ever invited him to play games there since he lived so close and I was running an all nighter for my gaming society in I.T.T at the time. Think that was BlazBlue's launch maybe? Good times. Finally got into fighting games with that.

I'll miss those Ice Tea trips, or the trips to the Food Hall. :[ Or those days we'd have multiple tournaments crammed into the same day. :L

Multiple trips abroad. Myself and Brian had a better attendance record for SFIV ranbats in Belfast than some of the locals did, and Cobelcog will never get that runback!

You know what travelling around Ireland nearly every weekend with you and Dan are some happy ****ing memories for me. Do you remember that poor woman and the scented tissues?

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Raawron

Some great memories and friends made in the XGC, thought I'd rise from the dead to share my love for the place that introduced me to competitive fighting games. It wasn't the best, or the most comfortable, but it was ours.
    The XGC, where it is always 3:30, and never short of that sweet sodium.

You know what travelling around Ireland nearly every weekend with you and Dan are some happy ****ing memories for me. Do you remember that poor woman and the scented tissues?

SMELL IT!!!!!! SMELL MY TISSUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You proper scared her.

Or Kiki playing theory fighter on the train thinking he could just jab Tornado Throw every SPD attempt from Zangief.

You weren't with us, but the drive home from Cork in Sineads car was GDLK.

Carpool Karaoke before it was cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,704 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Or Kiki playing theory fighter on the train thinking he could just jab Tornado Throw every SPD attempt from Zangief.

Literally how I beat chunkis tho :D

Sorry, I left out on reaction.

Nobody is reacting to a two frame move.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Only the other day I was talking about the trip when we nearly ended up in Mallow.

And Chopper letting us down for a Dublin 123 in Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

Rip XGC. A lot of GGs and memories were made under its roof. A list of my favorite memories
    • Getting battered by Tin in 3s (shoutouts to Tin). Ken mirrors for hours on end, some of the best fun I've ever had playing an FG.
    • Chunkis sleeping under one of the desks
    • Burritos
    • The mountains of salt and excuses that resulted from the laggy TVs
    • Knackers coming in and putting on porn on one of the TVs super loudly :pac:
    • SSF4 Launch day tourney. Place was jammed and great craic was had. Sisko's interviews with the members of the community were gas aswell. DooM's moment with Azza is my favorite
    • Doyler's "I'm in a game man" moment. Legend
    • Doom breaking the window :P
    • Me and Gory playing breakers and ST in a corner on a ****ty laptop like a pair of nerds and getting loudly hyped. Shoutouts to dinosaur games!
    • Evo all nighters. The ones I did attend were great craic. Me and Doyler getting in a huff over Gen being so anti hype in the Xian vs Tokido match. Getting hype to MVC3 finals while delirious from lack of sleep even though I didn't have a fecking clue what was going on. Ah good times lads

Shoutouts to the scene in general. Yis are all gas and mad sound. It was great to be around other people who shared a common interest and to have banter with. I never once felt excluded and always felt like the community was close knit, one thing the irish scene definitely has going for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

I remember going to my first tournament as a scrub back before I ever mistified anyone and falling asleep in the venue because the heat coupled with Insomnia was real.

That aside, I do remember being nervous the 1st time I went up to an Inferno as it was the first time I was pyshically interacting with people I met through the Internet. Fortunately, AJ ( before he became Super Tournament Organiser Supreme ) and Doom were both very friendly and welcoming of me ( and they both hammered me in the group - I got double perfected as well in one match! :pac: )

I also remember interacting with Kiki that day as well but apart from that, I didn't really interact with anyone else cos nerves and falling asleep.

I also remember the 2nd time I went up the trip up was a literal sh!tstorm from the train breaking down in Thurles to a bunch of skangers acting the hardman and making everyone on an overpacked train want to kill them ( ahem. )

Fortunately, I didn't let that negative experience put me off the community and with the Cork scene taking off at the time, I grew as a player, got beaten by a particular player at the 1st Tempest, got my runback at Tempest 2 and well, the rest is history!

But seriously, at the time I first joined the IFGC, I was pretty lost and uncomfortable with who I was because I never really fitted in anywhere when I was younger. I always felt most comfortable when I was online and most of the people I knew were Americans, British and generally not living near me.

The IFGC on the other hand was a group of like minded who are actually local to me. My first trip to Inferno represented the blurring of lines between my real and Internet life. For the first time, I actually felt like I belonged to something tangible.

This had a massive effect on me as it took less than a year for me to go from shy and awkward around everyone to puking all over a table at the beers after the first Evo qualifier in 2011. :o

Nowadays, I have no problem with going to a Dublin event - Hell, I even spent some time in the Melbourne FGC when I was in Australia! But I will never forget the time the seed was planted and I don't think I'd be who or where I am today if it wasn't for that.

It's always sad to see something that has been a part of a scene go like this but like many of us here, life goes on. Things change, people get married, get jobs, move away. The XGC did its bit in bringing us all together and has earned it's rest. I'm sure something just as good or better will come along but for now, the Dublin scene will get the feel the Cork's scene pain of having nowhere to go!

RIP XGC, the Inferno has been put out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PPC

First time I was in XGC I beat Kiki with Fuerte and thought I was great because I bet someone I recognised off boards.
    Beat TheWitch in quarter finals in my first match and didn't know if it was bo1 or not so we played some casuals and he won the rest and advanced.
    Also good memories of talking to Ramza about water.

Good times all round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

You weren't with us, but the drive home from Cork in Sineads car was GDLK.

Carpool Karaoke before it was cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Bento Sento

I've been gone from this scene for quite a while as I'm too cool for fighting games now :cool: Well I'm actually just really poor and can barely afford food never mind going to Dublin to play video games, being a student is great :D However this news has me quite saddened. So I thought I'd do a little in memoriam post as well.

The XGC was a grand old spot. I remember my first time going there after that Tekken tournament in GameStop. I had no idea where I was going as I had barely ever been in Dublin before this so I just let Kuro lead the way. When I got there though I really latched on to the fun and relaxed vibe of the place. After that I was hooked and made my way down as many times as I could whether it be for casuals or for proper tournaments when we started running them in there again

Few memories:
    • As Ramza said DooM breaking the window was definitely a highlight
    • Passing out in the crappy chairs during the all nighters
    • Waiting outside the exchange for ages wondering why all the hippies were in there and we weren't. Having not seen the huge message on the wall saying tournament moved to XGC. Excluding that nonsense that was a great tournament.
    • Scattering myself when trying to get up off the floor because my foot had gone numb from sitting down for so long. Scattered myself but at least I kept the stick safe
    • Losing 90% of my matches
    • Adventures to the shop during all nighters dodging all the drunk people falling about the place
    • Hound buying some weird Aloe Vera drink just because it said King on it #PutSagatInSFV
    • Walking upstairs for casuals and realising no one is there then awkwardly standing there deciding do I wait here or wander around for a while
    • Bugging DooM to let me go on commentary
    • Talking loads of nonsense to people the whole time and having a really fun time
    • Dying from the heat and understanding why it was called Inferno
    • The Tekken lads always being a great bunch and having great casuals with them
    • DooM breaking the window again as I think it deserves another mention :P

You never know I could start showing my face around tournaments again sometime but for now I've just gotta say I'll miss you XGC

Goodnight Sweet Prince

• Registered Users Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭Ramza

PPC wrote: »
    First time I was in XGC I beat Kiki with Fuerte and thought I was great because I bet someone I recognised off boards.
    Beat TheWitch in quarter finals in my first match and didn't know if it was bo1 or not so we played some casuals and he won the rest and advanced.
    Also good memories of talking to Ramza about water.

Good times all round.

Culchie as **** :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19 kevin6877

My first time in XGC was EVO all nighter 2015, I believe, and this was the year before my final year of secondary school, so I'm not half as experienced with the place as the rest of ye.

First thing I remember was playing TTT2 with Neilo and Kuro and I wasn't very good at Tekken at all, hadn't even learned the tag stuff, but instead of laughing at me, they were very patient in helping me to play properly.

Other shoutouts go to

Keith bopping me in every anime fighter I had on the machine.

Nutrient coaching me with Rolento and Birdie

The lads singing X23's theme by heart

Laggy monitors

THE BEAR in the SFV EVO stage

Seeing a guy dressed in military garb watching porn downstairs, and Nutrient telling me that was nothing and regaling me in tales of lads typing "what" over and over into the address bar and other weird ****.

Onion organising OTG 2 and cheerleading as I played against Kiki (?)

Patrick's pocket Guy at that same tournament. I purely lucked out with Bison's St.HK.

My time was brief, it was a scary joint, but ye were very welcoming of me even though I was (and still am) really dreadful at FGs. Cheers if you ever had a conversation or a game with me.

GGs, lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Jun_DP101

7686178464_fdc8ea66c7.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

Was there for the first SF4 tournament in the XGC. Lost to the Blanka player with dreadlocks and Newtype's Ryu. Was blown away that he could DP fadc ultra. Still one of the best SF players I've ever played.

Was there for the first ever casuals, which as I recall was just me and Kiki playing Abel vs Zangief and Kiki realising that Gief's vanilla lariat was not a good time for the opponent.

Attended casuals and tournaments consistently for about 5 years straight. Made some of my best friends to this day. Went abroad, got wrecked, had the best time. Never managed to win a single tournament. Fair play to me.

Couldn't believe there was an offline gaming community in Ireland like this community. Didn't think it was possible in the age of broadband and online gaming.

Did my bit over the years organising tournaments but let's be real: shoutouts to Azza, Orim, and Chopper for getting this **** going. Without the three of them this scene would not exist today. They all did the job totally thanklessly and kept people coming back for a long time.

Shoutouts to all the players that are too busy to play these days. Too many to list.

I don't spend that much time playing fighting games anymore but I'm glad the community is still strong. It looked dodgy for a while there as Onion alluded to, but you guys are making it work. Shoutouts to Doom and AJ for making sure events people care about still get scheduled.

What a ****hole, but a ****hole I'm glad I spent hundreds of hours in over the last seven years. SEVEN YEARS. Insane.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 BlacolasCage

Hello,
    I was just getting used to the scene so its pretty gay I can't hang out there anymore.

If you dont know, I was the Vega/Adon player with the PS2 controller converter.

I was excited to find there was fighting game casuals and now there isn''t anymore.

I hope that we find a new place to play because I really enjoyed your company. Everyone seemed lovely. Even the smash players.

Was great craic while it lasted.

Thanks for the games!