Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
05-12-2015, 05:21   #1
notahappycamper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,528
Vodafone router HG658c firmware upgraded?

Hi,

I think the firmware on my router was updated over night to software version V100R001C172B227.

I think another line on the connection status tab was added: PTM_VOIP_IPTV_R_VID_10 access type VDSL.

Can others who are on Vodafone Fibre check too?

Thanks
notahappycamper is offline  
Advertisement
06-12-2015, 10:03   #2
amikoalien2
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by notahappycamper View Post
Hi,

I think the firmware on my router was updated over night to software version V100R001C172B227.

I think another line on the connection status tab was added: PTM_VOIP_IPTV_R_VID_10 access type VDSL.

Can others who are on Vodafone Fibre check too?

Thanks
Yep the firmware was updated
They have also changed the superuser password and cut off my sip trunk
Not a happy bunny

Oh well back to DDWRT

Last edited by amikoalien2; 06-12-2015 at 10:23.
amikoalien2 is offline  
06-12-2015, 12:11   #3
Vico1612
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 686
How did you guys get the upgrade ? I'm currently on B218 ...
Vico1612 is offline  
06-12-2015, 13:01   #4
ED E
Registered User
 
ED E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30,929
It'll be pushed over TR069. Sometimes your device will stop talking to the management node, usually reboots restore it and if not a reset definitely will.

Depending on how Vodafone manage CPE they may roll it out to 50k units per night for several nights or something along those lines, so yours may be yet to come.
ED E is offline  
Thanks from:
06-12-2015, 17:04   #5
sennah
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by notahappycamper View Post
Hi,

I think the firmware on my router was updated over night to software version V100R001C172B227.

I think another line on the connection status tab was added: PTM_VOIP_IPTV_R_VID_10 access type VDSL.

Can others who are on Vodafone Fibre check too?

Thanks
I plugged my HG658c back in yesterday evening and surely enough, it updated to B227 on the dot of 2AM this morning. I had it set to factory defaults on B218 and again reset it to factory defaults on B227 so I'll be able to compare what's changed by decrypting the config files and looking at what's added or removed

Straight of the bat, I see in the GUI that they've enabled their own SIP service and have included an Irish dial-plan (logged in with superuser). Also, they've added two new pre-configured WAN profiles for PTM and Ethernet with the IPTV and VOIP services checked. My initial thoughts are that this update is aimed at those who might be getting FTTH with Siro, as they'll be connecting over the Ethernet WAN and they'll need a VOIP phone service. Also, maybe Vodafone are planning on rolling out IPTV to Siro and VDSL customers soon

I'll post some comparison images and compare the config files when I can post them up here

Quote:
Originally Posted by amikoalien2 View Post
Yep the firmware was updated
They have also changed the superuser password and cut off my sip trunk
Not a happy bunny

Oh well back to DDWRT
Superuser works for me

user: superuser
pass: HG-658c_VF_ie*
sennah is offline  
(3) thanks from:
Advertisement
06-12-2015, 17:11   #6
ED E
Registered User
 
ED E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30,929
PTM_VOIP_IPTV_R_VID_10 is certainly for VDSL customers, so they may start using eirs multicast platform for tv services.

This really is great as it means we'll have 1 OTA(+Saorview/Freesat) and 3x fixed line tv providers. Finally real choice in that market.
ED E is offline  
06-12-2015, 17:20   #7
sennah
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED E View Post
PTM_VOIP_IPTV_R_VID_10 is certainly for VDSL customers, so they may start using eirs multicast platform for tv services.

This really is great as it means we'll have 1 OTA(+Saorview/Freesat) and 3x fixed line tv providers. Finally real choice in that market.
Yep, that's one of the new interfaces they added and an ETH_VOIP... equivalent

Poking around here, it seems they've also enabled and configured QoS and looking at Link Interfaces (superuser), they've added 2 links each for both PTM and ETH. There's the default "VLAN-ID: 10, 802.1P: 0" interface but now a second "VLAN-ID: 10, 802.1P: 4" interface for both PTM and ETH. Is this because IPTV will come on it's own session, sorta like how we could have two PPPoE sessions with ADSL?

Last edited by sennah; 06-12-2015 at 17:23.
sennah is offline  
06-12-2015, 17:30   #8
ED E
Registered User
 
ED E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 30,929
Eir do the same, they have QoS lanes for VOIP and IPTV as well as regular traffic and a fallback one (IIRC).

VOIP and IPTV get a realtime classification and everything else is normal priority. You can see eirs QoS Scheme in the handbook.
ED E is offline  
Thanks from:
06-12-2015, 19:44   #9
amikoalien2
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by sennah View Post
I plugged my HG658c back in yesterday evening and surely enough, it updated to B227 on the dot of 2AM this morning. I had it set to factory defaults on B218 and again reset it to factory defaults on B227 so I'll be able to compare what's changed by decrypting the config files and looking at what's added or removed

Straight of the bat, I see in the GUI that they've enabled their own SIP service and have included an Irish dial-plan (logged in with superuser). Also, they've added two new pre-configured WAN profiles for PTM and Ethernet with the IPTV and VOIP services checked. My initial thoughts are that this update is aimed at those who might be getting FTTH with Siro, as they'll be connecting over the Ethernet WAN and they'll need a VOIP phone service. Also, maybe Vodafone are planning on rolling out IPTV to Siro and VDSL customers soon

I'll post some comparison images and compare the config files when I can post them up here



Superuser works for me

user: superuser
pass: HG-658c_VF_ie*
Yeah thats the password I had but not working now
I must be receiving special treatment from vodafone for the crime of using my own sip trunk provider
amikoalien2 is offline  
Advertisement
06-12-2015, 19:52   #10
sennah
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 124
Thanks ed e. Your contributions here are excellent

If anyone wants to compare the differences between the decrypted config files from version B218 and B227, see the link below

https://www.diffchecker.com/ad0dcbqg

Both config files are as factory defaults for each version, I've just removed some identifiable information
Along with the aforementioned modifications above, they seem to have made a number of tweaks to their own device management settings



For the curious too, below is the debug log showing the upgrade triggering lastnight

Code:
2015-12-06 02:00:49  Daemon Management upg 0  cwmp:Upgrading beginning ... from V100R001C172B218 to HG658cV100R001C172B227_upgrade_main.bin.
2015-12-06 02:01:27  Daemon Management upg 0  Upgrading finished: cwmp.
2015-12-06 02:01:27  Daemon Management upg 0  Reboot from UPG.
2015-12-06 02:01:33  Daemon Management cwmp 1  Reboot from TR069.
2010-01-01 00:01:06  Security Notice cms 1  System up
2010-01-01 00:01:06  User Debug cms 1  DSL activate successfully
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  WAN connection ppp259 is connecting ...
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP CHAP start authentication.
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP CHAP authentication succeed.
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP dial-up succeed.
2010-01-01 00:01:18  Daemon Notice cms 1  WAN connection PTM_TR069_INTERNET_R_VID_10 connected.
2010-01-01 00:01:18  Daemon Notice cms 1  WAN connection(IP:{x.x.x.x},DNS server:89.19.64.164,89.19.64.36) PTM_TR069_INTERNET_R_VID_10 connected.
2010-01-01 00:01:25  Daemon Debug cms 1  WLAN Info {MAC_Address} is connected.
2015-12-06 02:03:15  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  VALUE CHANGE informed
2015-12-06 02:03:15  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  M Download informed
2015-12-06 02:03:15  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  1 BOOT informed.
2015-12-06 02:03:17  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  Cwmp informed event session end, post inform Success!
2015-12-06 02:03:18  Daemon Management upg 0  cwmp:Upgrading beginning ... from V100R001C172B227 to HG658cV100R001C172B227_upgrade_main.bin.
2015-12-06 02:03:19  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  Server didn't response.
2015-12-06 02:03:21  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  Server didn't response.
2015-12-06 02:03:29  Kernel Alert klog 104602  104602 Drop Error packet,may be PS or DA. SRC=119.96.144.115 DST={x.x.x.x} LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=101 ID=256 PROTO=TCP SPT=6000 DPT=1433 WINDOW=16384 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0 MARK=0x8000000 
2015-12-06 02:03:32  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  Server didn't response.
2015-12-06 02:03:47  Daemon Management upg 0  Upgrading finished: cwmp.
2015-12-06 02:03:47  Daemon Management upg 0  Reboot from UPG.
2015-12-06 02:03:49  Daemon Debug cms 1  WLAN Info {MAC_Address} is connected.
2015-12-06 02:03:54  Daemon Management cwmp 1  Reboot from TR069.
2010-01-01 00:01:05  Security Notice cms 1  System up
2010-01-01 00:01:05  User Debug cms 1  DSL activate successfully
2010-01-01 00:01:14  Daemon Debug pppc 1  WAN connection ppp259 is connecting ...
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP CHAP start authentication.
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP CHAP authentication succeed.
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP dial-up succeed.
2010-01-01 00:01:17  Daemon Notice cms 1  WAN connection PTM_TR069_INTERNET_R_VID_10 connected.
2010-01-01 00:01:17  Daemon Notice cms 1  WAN connection(IP:{x.x.x.x},DNS server:89.19.64.36,89.19.64.164) PTM_TR069_INTERNET_R_VID_10 connected.
2015-12-06 02:05:36  Daemon Debug cms 1  WLAN Info {MAC_Address} is connected.
2015-12-06 02:05:38  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  VALUE CHANGE informed
2015-12-06 02:05:38  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  M Download informed
2015-12-06 02:05:38  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  1 BOOT informed.


Quote:
Originally Posted by amikoalien2 View Post
Yeah thats the password I had but not working now
I must be receiving special treatment from vodafone for the crime of using my own sip trunk provider
Perhaps reset to factory (hold reset for 30 seconds) and try then. It's working for me with no issues
sennah is offline  
Thanks from:
06-12-2015, 21:00   #11
amikoalien2
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by sennah View Post
Thanks ed e. Your contributions here are excellent

If anyone wants to compare the differences between the decrypted config files from version B218 and B227, see the link below

https://www.diffchecker.com/ad0dcbqg

Both config files are as factory defaults for each version, I've just removed some identifiable information
Along with the aforementioned modifications above, they seem to have made a number of tweaks to their own device management settings



For the curious too, below is the debug log showing the upgrade triggering lastnight

Code:
2015-12-06 02:00:49  Daemon Management upg 0  cwmp:Upgrading beginning ... from V100R001C172B218 to HG658cV100R001C172B227_upgrade_main.bin.
2015-12-06 02:01:27  Daemon Management upg 0  Upgrading finished: cwmp.
2015-12-06 02:01:27  Daemon Management upg 0  Reboot from UPG.
2015-12-06 02:01:33  Daemon Management cwmp 1  Reboot from TR069.
2010-01-01 00:01:06  Security Notice cms 1  System up
2010-01-01 00:01:06  User Debug cms 1  DSL activate successfully
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  WAN connection ppp259 is connecting ...
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP CHAP start authentication.
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP CHAP authentication succeed.
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP dial-up succeed.
2010-01-01 00:01:18  Daemon Notice cms 1  WAN connection PTM_TR069_INTERNET_R_VID_10 connected.
2010-01-01 00:01:18  Daemon Notice cms 1  WAN connection(IP:{x.x.x.x},DNS server:89.19.64.164,89.19.64.36) PTM_TR069_INTERNET_R_VID_10 connected.
2010-01-01 00:01:25  Daemon Debug cms 1  WLAN Info {MAC_Address} is connected.
2015-12-06 02:03:15  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  VALUE CHANGE informed
2015-12-06 02:03:15  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  M Download informed
2015-12-06 02:03:15  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  1 BOOT informed.
2015-12-06 02:03:17  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  Cwmp informed event session end, post inform Success!
2015-12-06 02:03:18  Daemon Management upg 0  cwmp:Upgrading beginning ... from V100R001C172B227 to HG658cV100R001C172B227_upgrade_main.bin.
2015-12-06 02:03:19  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  Server didn't response.
2015-12-06 02:03:21  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  Server didn't response.
2015-12-06 02:03:29  Kernel Alert klog 104602  104602 Drop Error packet,may be PS or DA. SRC=119.96.144.115 DST={x.x.x.x} LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=101 ID=256 PROTO=TCP SPT=6000 DPT=1433 WINDOW=16384 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0 MARK=0x8000000 
2015-12-06 02:03:32  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  Server didn't response.
2015-12-06 02:03:47  Daemon Management upg 0  Upgrading finished: cwmp.
2015-12-06 02:03:47  Daemon Management upg 0  Reboot from UPG.
2015-12-06 02:03:49  Daemon Debug cms 1  WLAN Info {MAC_Address} is connected.
2015-12-06 02:03:54  Daemon Management cwmp 1  Reboot from TR069.
2010-01-01 00:01:05  Security Notice cms 1  System up
2010-01-01 00:01:05  User Debug cms 1  DSL activate successfully
2010-01-01 00:01:14  Daemon Debug pppc 1  WAN connection ppp259 is connecting ...
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP CHAP start authentication.
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP CHAP authentication succeed.
2010-01-01 00:01:15  Daemon Debug pppc 1  PPP dial-up succeed.
2010-01-01 00:01:17  Daemon Notice cms 1  WAN connection PTM_TR069_INTERNET_R_VID_10 connected.
2010-01-01 00:01:17  Daemon Notice cms 1  WAN connection(IP:{x.x.x.x},DNS server:89.19.64.36,89.19.64.164) PTM_TR069_INTERNET_R_VID_10 connected.
2015-12-06 02:05:36  Daemon Debug cms 1  WLAN Info {MAC_Address} is connected.
2015-12-06 02:05:38  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  VALUE CHANGE informed
2015-12-06 02:05:38  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  M Download informed
2015-12-06 02:05:38  Daemon Debug cwmp 1  1 BOOT informed.


Perhaps reset to factory (hold reset for 30 seconds) and try then. It's working for me with no issues
Thanks for the suggestion a factory reset has restored the password and now I can get back in and set it back up
cheers :-)

Is there a way to delete the ACL back door route for vodafone to remote into the modem
it wont let me remove it ?
amikoalien2 is offline  
06-12-2015, 21:11   #12
sennah
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by amikoalien2 View Post
Thanks for the suggestion a factory reset has restored the password and now I can get back in and set it back up
cheers :-)

Is there a way to delete the ACL back door route for vodafone to remote into the modem
it wont let me remove it ?
Great to hear

I've checked about deleting the ICMP and HTTPS entries in ACL and surely enough, it returns "Parameters invalid"
Maybe you could write them out of the config file (decrypt, edit, re-encrypt, upload)

Code:
<ACLInstance InstanceID="3" X_Service="ICMP" X_Direction="WAN" X_StartIpAddr="213.233.159.69" X_EndIpAddr="213.233.159.69"/>
sennah is offline  
Thanks from:
06-12-2015, 21:28   #13
amikoalien2
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by sennah View Post
Great to hear

I've checked about deleting the ICMP and HTTPS entries in ACL and surely enough, it returns "Parameters invalid"
Maybe you could write them out of the config file (decrypt, edit, re-encrypt, upload)

Code:
<ACLInstance InstanceID="3" X_Service="ICMP" X_Direction="WAN" X_StartIpAddr="213.233.159.69" X_EndIpAddr="213.233.159.69"/>
worth a shot
I can get hold of a spare hg 658 and try
Cheers
amikoalien2 is offline  
09-12-2015, 12:48   #14
jOHNdOE71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by amikoalien2 View Post
Yep the firmware was updated
They have also changed the superuser password and cut off my sip trunk
Not a happy bunny

Oh well back to DDWRT
Is the HG658c DDWRT compatible?
jOHNdOE71 is offline  
09-12-2015, 17:18   #15
Vico1612
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 686
Got upgraded to the 227 firmware and it's also wiped my Blueface SIP config ...
I do see 2 new Vodafone SIP provider entries .
Time to find my Blueface detail and reinstate .
Vico1612 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet