Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AnotherFriend.com keeps all private and delete photos public

Options
  • 30-05-2015 12:04am
    Registered Users Posts: 6

Hello,

First off, sorry if this is the wrong forum (again?), wasn't sure which one too choose from. I assume since my first post was removed from the "After Hours forum", it was the wrong choice? If there is something wrong with this post, please let me know rather than deleting it without me knowing why.

I'm a web developer and back in 2012 I signed up on the dating website anotherfriend.com.
    Back then I noticed the absolutely poor security quality of the website. The company stores all photos by naming the photos using consecutive numbers, so that all photos are publicly accessible. Even photos that users specified to be "private" are publicly available. On top of that, photos that users "delete" from their dating profile, are not being deleted from the server. Same applies to photos from deleted or deactivated accounts. Once uploaded, all photos are permanently kept (unless it violates their T&Cs).

They have roughly a half a million photos on their server, many of them suppose to be deleted or private, but nope, all accessible by the public.

This is unacceptable on every level. I reported this issue to the anotherfriend.com back in August/September 2012. Support replied by saying they will forward this issue to their developer.
    Now almost 3 years later and nothing has changed.