Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Athletics Forum Bohermeen Half Marathon Charity Handicap Sweepstakes

• 13-02-2015 11:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,055 ✭✭✭

Welcome to the Boards.ie Athletics Forum Half Marathon Charity Handicap Sweepstakes in aid of PALS Pre School

The Concept:

The idea for this came from a bit of banter originating on Yaboya1s log where a time handicap race was held during the recent Enniscorthy 10k. There was decent interest in it and we are looking to scale things up a bit and raise some funds for a very worthy charity at the same time. A number of boardsies are running the Bohermeen half marathon this year. Each willing participant has been given a handicap / time bonus for the race. The fastest expected time TRR will be at scratch with other runners being given a virtual headstart based on their own abilities and at the discretion of the official race handicapper ECOLII.

One single bet will cost a €5.00 donation to the charity, with 3 bets available for a €10.00 donation. Anyone wishing to be more generous can donate extra if they would like to of course. Every €10.00 will buy 3 bets! 25% of all bets made will go into a prize fund with the winner(s) taking all and the rest going to the charity.

There is also odds offered by ECOLII himself on 4 specific match ups. ECOLII has made a very generous commitment to fund this part of the book himself.

About the charity:
    We're raising funds for PALS. PALS (Play and Language Support) Preschool opened in September 2008 and is a registered charity. PALS provides early intervention programs for children with Autistic Spectrum Disorder (ASD). The school runs 5 days a week from September through to July and they enrol children between the ages of 3 and 6 years. PALS use an Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA) approach to teaching in both the preschool classroom and the 1:1 classroom. Unfortunately state funding does not fully cover the costs of running the school and parents are asked to fund raise each year to make up the shortfall. I'm personally fundraising on behalf of a gorgeous little boy called Zach who attends the school and I approached the mods here with the idea to run this fund raiser. Zach himself will be out at Bohermeen cheering us on.

Donating / Betting:

Main betting (€5.00 for 1 bet, €10.00 for 3 bets):

Pick your top 3 in order from:

TRR_The_Turd: Scratch
    Tunguska (-5:00)
    Yaboya1 (-6:30)
    Overpornator (-8:30)
    Menescemo (-9.30)
    ThebitterLemon (-10 min)
    Calvin Johnson (-13 min)
    Tom Joad (-14 min)
    Marthastew (-20 min)
    Pacing Mule (-35 min)
    MKDTH (-48 min)
    Laura ac3 (-50 min)

Get it right in order and you win the jackpot (20% of all bets / donations on this bet)

Sidebets by ECOLII (€10 max bet - double your money if correct):

Boards.ie (-15 min) v Pantomime Villain (+15 min) - EVS (bet 10 get 20 winnings)

Meno (-30 seconds) v ThebitterLemon (+ 30 seconds)

Yaboya1 (Scratch) v Calvin Johnson (-6 min) v MKTDH (-40 min)

Marthastew (+ 25 min) v Laura_ac3 (-25 min)

We have set up an idonate page to handle the donations. Donations can also be accepted via paypal - a special paypal account has been setup boardsforpals@gmail.com . If donating via the idonate page stick your boards username down in the name column and if donating via paypal post up the transaction reference number. Once the donation is made the bet can either be posted in the thread here in advance or if you want your thoughts to remain hidden can be PM'd to myself / ECOLII as appropriate. All bets will be published before the race so full transparency can be provided.

Thanks in advance to everyone who has gotten involved so far / who will be involved and anyone who donates. Also a special thanks to the mods and cmods here who gave permission for this.

Link to donation page: http://www.idonate.ie/fundraiser/63234_boards-ie-athletics---running-forum-for-pals.html

Click here to donate / get your betting credit now via idonate Or send a paypal payment to boardsforpals@gmail.com

• Registered Users Posts: 5,055 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

On a personal note. There is to be fair a rather optimistic target set for this of €1000. If we raise that I will personally commit to running the Beer Mile this year in a fancy dress outfit of the forums choice. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭ECOLII

Just in relation to these the same format applies this will be a Runner A (+ Handicap) vs Runner B (- Handicap) depending on the level of runners.

If people wish to suggest match ups I will go with opinion if not I will try and do up ones which which I feel should get the smack down juices flowing (Meno and TbL has been brewing under the surface for a while :D)

These match bets will be 5e donations for a straight up EVS bet (bet 5e get 10e back). All the money here will go directly to the charity and winnings paid out separate

Will be taking a maximum of 10 bets per selection in the 3 match ups that will be listed.

Will post the match ups the week of in case of Late withdrawals, anyone found sandbagging between now and then will be shot on sight ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I can sticky this if you like?

That would be great ! Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

This has warmed the cockles of my heart. Great idea PM. Nice to see some good come out of the bousiness :D
    Looking forward to placing my bet - I'll be in Ballycotton myself so the pressure is off, phew. ( I'd only have done 120 minutes anyway.)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,095 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Best of luck to all competing, I was certainly temped but I'm not up for a half at this stage of the year.

A note for the punters, BEWARE OF ALL TALK OF INJURIES AND ILLNESS.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Great idea PM and Ecoli! Maybe you should run a parallel book on ballycotton! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

annapr wrote: »
    Great idea PM and Ecoli! Maybe you should run a parallel book on ballycotton! ;)
    Speechless.... :D:D:D et tu Brute??!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

ECOLII wrote: »
    Just in relation to these the same format applies this will be a Runner A (+ Handicap) vs Runner B (- Handicap) depending on the level of runners.

If people wish to suggest match ups I will go with opinion if not I will try and do up ones which which I feel should get the smack down juices flowing (Meno and TbL has been brewing under the surface for a while :D)

These match bets will be 5e donations for a straight up EVS bet (bet 5e get 10e back). All the money here will go directly to the charity and winnings paid out separate

Will be taking a maximum of 10 bets per selection in the 3 match ups that will be listed.

Will post the match ups the week of in case of Late withdrawals, anyone found sandbagging between now and then will be shot on sight ;)

I'm in, but in fairness I've no chance against Meno, I'm older, heavier and slower albeit prettier :) his PB's trump mine across all distances. Sure didn't he jog a 5k in 19.20 a week or two ago and I've never broken 19.30!!

TBL

I'm in, but in fairness I've no chance against Meno, I'm older, heavier and slower albeit prettier :) his PB's trump mine across all distances. Sure didn't he jog a 5k in 19.20 a week or two ago and I've never broken 19.30!!

TBL

But that's the beauty of the handicap system. If ECOLII feels you warrant it then you will have your time reduced by your handicap before comparing. It means even I could beat Meno :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

But that's the beauty of the handicap system. If ECOLII feels you warrant it then you will have your time reduced by your handicap before comparing. It means even I could beat Meno :D

Sounds good but I'd need about 3 mins on Meno the ninja!!!!

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

TbL

If you don't beat me, you won't be breaking 3 hours in Boston.
    BTW you are doing your mile reps and tempo runs 20 seconds/mile faster than me...

TbL

Jeez the mind games have started already!

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Speechless.... :D:D:D et tu Brute??!!

Ah I was only winding you up!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

That has to be the tag line for this whole endeavour

'With the Boards Handicap System, even you can beat Meno' :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

annapr wrote: »
    Jeez the mind games have started already!

I was going to call it sandbagging? A phantom illness or injury might appear shortly to throw us all off :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Great idea - I'm doing Bohermeen so count me in. Obviously not expecting much as one of my legs is hanging off me so I'd be happy just to finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Fair play, it's a great idea.

Handicapping is a great concept and was very popular in Australia I noticed.

One of my neighbouring clubs down there did one every year where about 60-70 club members competed over 10km, with the slowest going off first, and the fastest on paper going off last. In theory, if the handicapper did a good job everyone would come in to the finish all at once.

Track handicap races are great aswell. I did a 300m handicap where there was a back marker, and then everyone else got a head start in metres (rather than time), with some getting as much as 120m head start. The person who crosses the line first wins. Maybe we could do a boards handicap race over something like 600m before the beer mile, or later in the year. It's great fun.

Anyway, best of luck with this.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Great idea - I'm doing Bohermeen so count me in. Obviously not expecting much as one of my legs is hanging off me so I'd be happy just to finish.

Thanks TJ - Have added you on the list :)

• Registered Users Posts: 40 Ghost in Cratloe

Hopefully there wont be as many DNF's from the boardsies at this event.

OK folks - last call for runners. Now is the time to speak up if you're running in Bohermeen and are interested in being included in the handicapping. Also if you know of any boardises running Bohermeen who are not on the list please let them know about this. Will give it until tomorrow for any more entrants then we will let ECOLII loose to do his handicapping.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

What a super idea and a great charity.
    I've just signed up for this so you can add me to the list P, looks like it will be a great day
    My half marathon PB (1.29.X) is from this race 2 years ago and I imagine I'm about 10 mins off it at the moment given the last few months of inactivity.

Marthastew wrote: »
    What a super idea and a great charity.
    I've just signed up for this so you can add me to the list P, looks like it will be a great day
    My half marathon PB (1.29.X) is from this race 2 years ago and I imagine I'm about 10 mins off it at the moment given the last few months of inactivity.

Sandbagged extraordinaire! 35 minutes flat in Raheny when only back running a few weeks says 92/93 would be a more realistic target Mr EcolII

Well if we are declaring times Meno what are you claiming as realistic for yourself :D

Let's just say the handicapper is also my physio and he also seems to have access to my coaches emails, so I am sure he has a fair idea of what I am capable of :p.

Haha fair enough. Keep it close to your chest. ;)

I will nail my colours to the mast and point out my PB for a half is 2:18:30 so breaking 2 hours would be a fair target for me :pac:

Best of luck with this. I might be interested but won't know till maybe the end of the week. Would that be ok?

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Best of luck with this. I might be interested but won't know till maybe the end of the week. Would that be ok?

Hiya - Ideally we would need a commitment in the next couple of days as ECOLII will be working on the handicaps. I'm hoping to have the book up and open for the weekend so we can hopefully get the buzz and some donations going. Can we stick you in provisionally ?

Would like to but best not in case. I might play it by ear on this one so (unknown plans of a friend's 30th that weekend isn't helping...Damn people and their sociable events :) )

ECOLII the official handicapper has supplied me with the first set of handicaps for the race. These may be nailed on, they may have a bit of play in them to make a bit of research worthwhile. I honestly don't know myself. Hell I don't even know what the scratch time is based on. :D But here we go ...

Tunguska (Scratch)
    Yaboya1 (-1.30)
    Menescemo (-4.30)
    ThebitterLemon (-5 min)
    Calvin Johnson*(-8 min)
    Tom Joad (-9 min)
    Marthastew (-15 min)
    Pacing Mule (-30 min)
    MKDTH (-43 min)
    Laura ac3 (-45 min) - (not confirmed running yet)

Let the complaints / smack talk begin.

ECOLII will post up his special bets later this week and will include a bet involving our pantomime villain. :)

The main event betting is now open. Donate €5.00 for 1 bet, €10.00 gets you 3 bets.

To make a bet first off donate via the idonate page or paypal (links below) and then either post here if you want to publicise your bet or pm me if you want your prediction to remain private. You pick your top 3 finishers in order taking into account the handicaps posted here. The fastest chip time is not necessarily going to be the winner of the handicap race. For example if I come within 30 minutes of Tunguskas time I am considered to have beaten him for the purposes of the results. If nobody predicts the top 3 in order the prize will be shared amongst those who predicted the top 3 but got the order wrong. 25% of all bets / donations for the top 3 results go to the prize fund. The rest goes to our charity PALS.

Donate €5.00 get 1 bet
    Donate €10.00 get 3 bets
    If you are in a position to and are willing to donate more we will be very grateful. Donate €20 and get 6 bets etc. You don't have to use up all your bets. Indeed you can simply make a donation to the charity and not make a bet at all if you prefer.

Click here to donate / get your betting credit now via idonate Or send a paypal payment to boardsforpals@gmail.com Enter your boards username as the name on the idonate page !

This is a really worthwhile cause folks and we really appreciate the support of the forum here. Bear in mind too your donation could see me running the beer mile in something as ridiculous as a mankini or even worse, an Arsenal jersey. ;)

Thanks in advance.