Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
28-12-2012, 14:37   #1
Our man in Havana
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 28,878
PERSONAL WEATHER STATIONS: Queries and Advice

I am looking to get a weather station soon and I am looking for suggestions please. Would like to do wind and pressure readings.

Thanks in advance.
Our man in Havana is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
28-12-2012, 15:58   #2
tylercollins
Registered User
 
tylercollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Eglinton, Derry - 24m ASL
Posts: 834
Send a message via Skype™ to tylercollins
I bought one this time last year from Maplin. Was like £60 but it does the job. Wind speed, temperature, pressure.
tylercollins is offline  
28-12-2012, 19:29   #3
Matt Simis
Registered User
 
Matt Simis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Dublin 8
Posts: 8,672
This is one of the Maplin ones (the "PC USB one" based on the Fine Offset) running Cumulus, a free weather station App and Web uploader:
weather.netcessible.com


Its ok, but I rigged it up to run from an old DC poweradapter instead of the batteries as it was eating batteries and I have it mounted 5m in the air on a big pole which was getting super annoying to take down every 6weeks. I get better (consistant) readings running from DC power too.
Matt Simis is offline  
28-12-2012, 23:30   #4
joujoujou
Registered User
 
joujoujou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gort na nIúr a.k.a. Palmfield City
Posts: 6,603
Exactly the same as above.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/190717691315 (auction ended, but it's just for reference what I'm talking about).

The one from maplin is quite good, but hungry on batteries. So (if you decide to buy one) make AC adapter, or at least think about lithium batteries.

Another option is to spend a bit more and buy the same, but with solar panel - one German fellow sold one for me. 2 years now on one set of rechargeables.

Here's mine: http://www.ebay.ie/itm/390511461231

Cheaper alternative: http://www.ebay.ie/itm/170923849016
joujoujou is offline  
Thanks from:
29-12-2012, 10:15   #5
Penname
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 187
I got the Davis Venture Vue from Santa.

It has a barometer, rain fall indicator, wind direction/speed, temp, forecast, etc. It also gives you data trends in the form of graphs. I think my ISS is in a bad position though. The wind was fierce last night and the anemometer was only reading max gusts of 32 kms/hr. I haven't a huge garden so am limited to where it can go.

Best of luck with your choice but I definitely recommend the Venture Vue.
Penname is offline  
Advertisement
29-12-2012, 10:33   #6
pad199207
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: www.kildareweather.com
Posts: 3,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penname View Post
I got the Davis Venture Vue from Santa.

It has a barometer, rain fall indicator, wind direction/speed, temp, forecast, etc. It also gives you data trends in the form of graphs. I think my ISS is in a bad position though. The wind was fierce last night and the anemometer was only reading max gusts of 32 kms/hr. I haven't a huge garden so am limited to where it can go.

Best of luck with your choice but I definitely recommend the Venture Vue.

Vantage Vue
pad199207 is offline  
Thanks from:
29-12-2012, 10:39   #7
gbee
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penname View Post
Best of luck with your choice but I definitely recommend the Venture Vue.
Is it not the Vantage Vue?

IMO, this is the minimum piece of kit for anyone serious about weather, it's about €400 for the basic unit and can be the same again for the data logger and specialist cables.

Location is important, the cheap weather stations are fun and challenging and are not consistent so one is constantly adding adjustments as it gets warmer or colder, high wind, high barro and low barro etc. They do have sweet spots, right when everything is medium.
gbee is offline  
29-12-2012, 11:01   #8
Penname
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbee View Post
Is it not the Vantage Vue?

IMO, this is the minimum piece of kit for anyone serious about weather, it's about €400 for the basic unit and can be the same again for the data logger and specialist cables.

Location is important, the cheap weather stations are fun and challenging and are not consistent so one is constantly adding adjustments as it gets warmer or colder, high wind, high barro and low barro etc. They do have sweet spots, right when everything is medium.
Yes, Vantage - apologies. Can't seem to get that right.

It's a little too close to the house so it will be trial and error as to where it goes. I've a couple of options.
Penname is offline  
29-12-2012, 11:10   #9
pad199207
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: www.kildareweather.com
Posts: 3,033
Its a great station, but a horror to get it in the right position especially if you live in a suburban garden like mine! Its great on batteries too, my ISS ran for two years without changing batteries, albeit with a little help with the solar charging!

for a weather station it looks great too!
pad199207 is offline  
Advertisement
29-12-2012, 13:33   #10
whitebriar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,611
I've both a vantage vue and a vantage pro 2 now.

The vue is much smaller but every bit as good.I've mounted it on a Davis tripod which is secured very well but in an exposed area which became a problem yesterday.
The slight swaying in the gusts last night was enough to tip its rain spoon wildly,so rain totals were skewed wildly upwards.
Slight half inch movement's were enough to do this.

The pro 2 didn't have this problem.

I'm not sure how to cure this,other than bolt the vue to something more sturdy than its own purpose built tripod.

The vue console is smaller and neat but rounds temperatures on its display.Is there a way out of that? Its a nuisance especially for dew point.
The vantage pro 2 console will read the vue signal and display the exact temp to the decimal point.
Neither are currently connected to a PC/weather link as I am waiting on a USB adapter for my data loggers.Presumably the software shows decimals with the vue?

I've had the pro 2 with a good few years now.
I like the mobility of the vue on the tripod.
Obviously make sure its level and facing south so your wind directions are OK.
The unit has a spirit level built into it and by the way is simple to set up.

Data wise so far( running for a week) its mirroring temp wise etc the pro2 data,except for last nights wind/rain spoon issue.

Last edited by whitebriar; 29-12-2012 at 13:35.
whitebriar is offline  
29-12-2012, 13:45   #11
pad199207
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: www.kildareweather.com
Posts: 3,033
Im not sure what year you got your vue in or if they have changed the console, but my Vue console does have decimal values for temps,, you can change it to be rounded or decimal or Fahrenheit.

Although you are right about the DP values being rounded!
pad199207 is offline  
Thanks from:
29-12-2012, 14:14   #12
whitebriar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,611
Thanks Pad,fixing the temp was too easy..doh!

Does the Dp appear in decimals on your weather software? Its rounded on the pro 2 console too so no difference there.
whitebriar is offline  
29-12-2012, 16:53   #13
pad199207
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: www.kildareweather.com
Posts: 3,033
No Problem lol!

Yeah on the software it does appear in decimal form
pad199207 is offline  
09-02-2013, 01:14   #14
Fuh Q
Registered User
 
Fuh Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 407
Weather Station Questions

Mrs Fuh Q asked me earlier, what would you like for your birthday ?
After realizing a hotel room full of Escorts and Viagra was not an option Im considering a weather station instead.

I have some questions first,
Ive been reading other threads about weather stations and their ability to show information on websites, would I be able to set something like that up with very little experience ?
Does it require a pc to be running 24/7 or can it transmit info via wifi to the site ?
Can anyone recommend a cheap weather station, or reliable make, or where is safe to buy from ?

Thanks..
Fuh Q is offline  
(3) thanks from:
09-02-2013, 01:30   #15
Rougies
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dublin 16, 65m asl
Posts: 2,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuh Q View Post
Mrs Fuh Q asked me earlier, what would you like for your birthday ?
After realizing a hotel room full of Escorts and Viagra was not an option Im considering a weather station instead.

I have some questions first,
Ive been reading other threads about weather stations and their ability to show information on websites, would I be able to set something like that up with very little experience ?
Does it require a pc to be running 24/7 or can it transmit info via wifi to the site ?
Can anyone recommend a cheap weather station, or reliable make, or where is safe to buy from ?

Thanks..
Any consumer level weather station would require a PC running 24/7 to relay data to a website from the station.

As for experience to set it up, you'd need a fairly good level of knowing your way around a computer but it depends on the weather station and the software/web interface it uses.

As for a cheap weather station, I couldn't recommend one because they are exactly that, cheap
As for reliable, Davis are the stations of choice for amateur weather stations. http://www.barryelectronics.ie/7_dav...er-instruments
You can see by the prices why we all don't have one!

Last edited by Rougies; 09-02-2013 at 01:32.
Rougies is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet