Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
20-04-2011, 00:58   #1
KeRbDoG
Registered User
 
KeRbDoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,140
Help with multi sat dish setup Astra@28.2E and EUTELSAT-W3A@7E

Hi all,
I'm looking to change the setup I currently have. I have a huge (prob 1m) Trax dish which has just one LNB on its arm directed to Astra at 28.2E Astra.

I plan to have two LNBs installed, one still pointing at Astra @ 28.2E and another pointing at EUTELSAT W3A @ 7E.

Is this possible? If so, how would you go about setting it up?

I notice both sats are at different elevations, how to I compensate for that?

Thanks in advance folks, any help is appreciated!
KeRbDoG is offline  
Advertisement
20-04-2011, 01:19   #2
banie01
Registered User
 
banie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,480
Thats a 22deg spread should be doable on your dish you'll need to get a triax multiblock and do some modding by redrilling and flipping it to allow the correct elevation to be achieved.
This 'technically' allows a 20degree spread but from looking at my pics in the 2nd link below I think you might just have enough length on the bar to get the spread if you don't drill the offset as far to the left as I did.
My own spread is 19degrees but there is a bit of space still on the 28.2 side of the bar, whether its enough to get the extra 2deg you need.....I'm not sure
As for the Multiblock mod/offset Watty explains it better here
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showp...75&postcount=8
Your best bet would be to align the dish on 16e and then add the multibar and align your LNBs, I have pics of what I did with my own TD88 here(Thanks to advice I got here )
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showp...6&postcount=23
All the best with getting your dish setup!

Just looking at the footprints on lyngsat and a lot of the TPs on 7e seem to require a dedicated 1.2mtr+ dish in Ireland so it could be a non starter for a multi LNB setup.
One of the more experienced heads here will give a fuller answer I'm sure

Last edited by banie01; 20-04-2011 at 01:53. Reason: In bold(added info)
banie01 is offline  
Thanks from:
20-04-2011, 04:24   #3
rob the satman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in orbit!
Posts: 97
if you re after what i think you are after on 7 degrees east, then 7 degrees east would have to be your prime focus as the transponder you are probably interested in are on a "Europe B" beam, offsetting Astra 2/Eurobird 1 might be a problem with the 22 degrees difference between the two, Astra 2 ok i think but the Eurobird 1 transponders are notorious for their not so good signal levels.
a cheap way to try is to get a couple of these

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MULTI-LNB-HOLD...#ht_1036wt_909

two of these join together no problem, also easily moved up and down so that.s your elevation sorted, and easily bendable too, simply wraps around the centre lnb, , less hassle than modding a triax bracket, used them myself on more than one install, simples

like i said for what you want at 7 degrees east , your dish needs 7 east as its prime focus.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg lnbbracket30.JPG (3.7 KB, 133 views)
rob the satman is offline  
(2) thanks from:
20-04-2011, 12:49   #4
banie01
Registered User
 
banie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,480
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob the satman View Post
if you re after what i think you are after on 7 degrees east, then 7 degrees east would have to be your prime focus as the transponder you are probably interested in are on a "Europe B" beam, offsetting Astra 2/Eurobird 1 might be a problem with the 22 degrees difference between the two, Astra 2 ok i think but the Eurobird 1 transponders are notorious for their not so good signal levels.
a cheap way to try is to get a couple of these

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MULTI-LNB-HOLD...#ht_1036wt_909

two of these join together no problem, also easily moved up and down so that.s your elevation sorted, and easily bendable too, simply wraps around the centre lnb, , less hassle than modding a triax bracket, used them myself on more than one install, simples

like i said for what you want at 7 degrees east , your dish needs 7 east as its prime focus.
+1 on those brackets, I actually completely forgot about those.
And I never considered making 7e prime focus, but with the strength of 28.2 you have plenty of margin for that much offset.
Told ya someone would know better
@Rob would a 22deg off prime focus have rain attenuation issues?? Even on 28.2?
Just curious
banie01 is offline  
20-04-2011, 13:58   #5
rob the satman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in orbit!
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by banie01 View Post
+1 on those brackets, I actually completely forgot about those.
And I never considered making 7e prime focus, but with the strength of 28.2 you have plenty of margin for that much offset.
Told ya someone would know better
@Rob would a 22deg off prime focus have rain attenuation issues?? Even on 28.2?
Just curious
1metre dish, probably Astra 2 would be ok, the problem would be some of Euroird 1's transpoders, take a look at my site, http://robssatellitetv.webs.com
look in the "uk tv in the uk and europe" it tells you a little about Eurobird 1 and it's problems reception wise, like i said previously, he would need 7 east as prime focus for what he's after (if i'm not mistaken it's rts1 and ortm), i've got those on a 80cm in NW wales, but tried offsetting 7 east with 13 east as priime focus and don't pick then up, OP is in Dublin so 1 meter should be ok, the brackets are cheap enough, worth trying, only other option is to get a minidish!!! or a bigger dish.
rob the satman is offline  
Advertisement
20-04-2011, 15:50   #6
snaps
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: malapolskie, Poland
Posts: 6,361
Send a message via MSN to snaps
I know of people aligned on 5 east with a 1.1m dish and offset for astra 2. as far as i know they dont have any major issues.
snaps is offline  
20-04-2011, 19:35   #7
KeRbDoG
Registered User
 
KeRbDoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,140
banie01/rob the satman - thanks a million for the advice, I will first just redirect the dish just for 7E to ensure all is well and then think about the multi LNB setup I will be back!
KeRbDoG is offline  
20-04-2011, 19:49   #8
rob the satman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in orbit!
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeRbDoG View Post
banie01/rob the satman - thanks a million for the advice, I will first just redirect the dish just for 7E to ensure all is well and then think about the multi LNB setup I will be back!
no worries, what does interest you so much at 7 east anyway? am i right?
rob the satman is offline  
20-04-2011, 20:29   #9
KeRbDoG
Registered User
 
KeRbDoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,140
Testing an idea I have, might lead to nothing
KeRbDoG is offline  
Advertisement
20-04-2011, 21:08   #10
rob the satman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in orbit!
Posts: 97
I'm intrigued, can't you elaborate? maybe by PM if can't on here
rob the satman is offline  
22-04-2011, 15:52   #11
KeRbDoG
Registered User
 
KeRbDoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,140
Right, I'm going insane!
I have the dish at the elevation of around 27.7°, I've set the LNB Skew to -9.6° and I've then slowly swung the dish threw an arch of about 90° while looking at my satfinder. I've picked up one sat but the box I'm testing with (a Sat dbox2) isn't finding anything when I scan for the Eutelsat W3A 7E.

Any pointers?

Pic attached the of elevation setting of the dish

Anyone have a method of creating a 'services.xml' for just the Eutelsat W3A 7E services?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20110422_151857.jpg (1.59 MB, 119 views)
KeRbDoG is offline  
22-04-2011, 17:13   #12
rurs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bray
Posts: 519
http://satellites-xml.eu/

I can get the Europe A beam on a TD54, so you should have no trouble with a bigger dish.
rurs is offline  
22-04-2011, 17:18   #13
rob the satman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: in orbit!
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeRbDoG View Post
Right, I'm going insane!
I have the dish at the elevation of around 27.7°, I've set the LNB Skew to -9.6° and I've then slowly swung the dish threw an arch of about 90° while looking at my satfinder. I've picked up one sat but the box I'm testing with (a Sat dbox2) isn't finding anything when I scan for the Eutelsat W3A 7E.

Any pointers?

Pic attached the of elevation setting of the dish

Anyone have a method of creating a 'services.xml' for just the Eutelsat W3A 7E services?
satellite installation makes people go crazy, sometimes its easier to take one step back to take two steps forward, before you started your dish was pointing at 28 east, put the dish back there, then in small steps, find first astra 19 deg east, then find hotbird 13 east (both are easy to find from astra 28 deg east), then it should not be difficult to find 7 east, dont bother with the lnb skew, leave the lnb centre, these satellites come in without skewing,
when you get to looking for 7 east, aim for french channel M6 suisse, you might be wise inputting its frequency (11.283v sr 27.500) into your receiver, then you can fine tune 7 east with frequency, 10.722 h sr22.000,
rob the satman is offline  
22-04-2011, 17:18   #14
KeRbDoG
Registered User
 
KeRbDoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by rurs View Post
http://satellites-xml.eu/

I can get the Europe A beam on a TD54, so you should have no trouble with a bigger dish.
That site only creates the scanning satellites.xml file and not the services.xml file.
Will keep trying, threw a services.xml file together to use;
Code:
<zapit>
        <sat name="Eutelsat W3A (7.0E)" diseqc="0">
                <transponder id="4e20" onid="64" inversion="2" frequency="10721000" symbol_rate="22000000" polarization="0" fec_inner="3" system="0" modulation="1">
                        <channel service_id="1" name="BBC Persian" service_type="01"/>
                        <channel service_id="12" name="MZ TV" service_type="01"/>
                </transponder>
        </sat>
</zapit>
KeRbDoG is offline  
22-04-2011, 19:06   #15
KeRbDoG
Registered User
 
KeRbDoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,140
OK, so I've now confirmed that my dish is pointing Azimuth (magn.) 168.0° - I get a signal on the finder, i fine tune it as much as possible and I'm not receiving anything on the pre-set channels I put in OR during a channel search.

How much does it cost for a sat installer?
KeRbDoG is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet