Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
23-04-2009, 10:37   #1
muffinman
Registered User
 
muffinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 467
New RTE player also blocked?

http://www.rte.ie/player/

Not able to access it on campus.. I would've thought that it would work just like 4od but no... There was me thinking that the RealPlayer removal would help.. Is it just me or is this actually blocked?
muffinman is offline  
Advertisement
23-04-2009, 10:59   #2
wexican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 150
It wouldn't work for me this morning either. Trying to sneakily catch up on home and away but no such luck.

The entire site and player is flash based though, so why would that be blocked when flash games aren't?

A little disappointing I suppose.
wexican is offline  
23-04-2009, 11:19   #3
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 143
its a pain in the hole.
g-whizz is offline  
23-04-2009, 11:59   #4
muffinman
Registered User
 
muffinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by wexican View Post
The entire site and player is flash based though, so why would that be blocked when flash games aren't?
That's exactly what I thought
muffinman is offline  
23-04-2009, 12:38   #5
MB Lacey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,253
I've just played rte player fine - I'm using firefox - maybe try watching it on there?
MB Lacey is offline  
Advertisement
23-04-2009, 12:45   #6
muffinman
Registered User
 
muffinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by MB Lacey View Post
I've just played rte player fine - I'm using firefox - maybe try watching it on there?
Where on campus? I use firefox and no luck
muffinman is offline  
23-04-2009, 12:59   #7
MB Lacey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,253
yes on campus internet now.

maybe you need to update something - my firefox did an automatic update this morning.
but I've just watched dave fanning play the doves on the 11th hour no problem.
MB Lacey is offline  
23-04-2009, 13:57   #8
damselnat
Registered User
 
damselnat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 508
Works fine on Safari......Can't see why you'd want to watch too many of the programmes it's giving me a choice of though!
damselnat is offline  
26-04-2009, 20:17   #9
c7
Registered User
 
c7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 93
Haven't been able to get it to work in Merville on Safari or IE. Emailed RTE saying I got the ads to load but not the actual video, they said it was something to do with ad-blockers?
c7 is offline  
Advertisement
26-04-2009, 20:29   #10
Red Alert
Hosted Moderator
 
Red Alert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,339
HMod: LaTeX
Make sure BOTH your system/Internet Explorer and Firefox preferences are set to use the UCD proxy at proxy.ucd.ie port 8484 for all HTTP and HTTPS traffic.
Red Alert is offline  
13-05-2009, 22:30   #11
c7
Registered User
 
c7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 93
Sorry to drag this up again especially during exams.... Like this?

I have it set to use the same proxy for all connection types (HTTPS and FTP) in advanced settings too...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg LAN settings.jpg (32.8 KB, 101 views)
c7 is offline  
14-05-2009, 00:40   #12
muffinman
Registered User
 
muffinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by c7 View Post
Sorry to drag this up again especially during exams.... Like this?

I have it set to use the same proxy for all connection types (HTTPS and FTP) in advanced settings too...
Just for the record I still never managed to get it working...
muffinman is offline  
14-05-2009, 16:12   #13
OTNiner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffinman View Post
Just for the record I still never managed to get it working...
The new RTE Player opens a direct connection to the RTE Server on tcp port 1935

fmsv1.rte.ie:1935

As the application cannot be configured to use a proxy and ignores the browser settings it will only work on the staff networks, not on Wireless or Open plug in areas
OTNiner is offline  
14-05-2009, 16:25   #14
muffinman
Registered User
 
muffinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTNiner View Post
The new RTE Player opens a direct connection to the RTE Server on tcp port 1935

fmsv1.rte.ie:1935

As the application cannot be configured to use a proxy and ignores the browser settings it will only work on the staff networks, not on Wireless or Open plug in areas
Hmm.. So what about the people up there claiming to have accessed it?? ^^ Were they in Daedalus or something?
muffinman is offline  
14-05-2009, 21:46   #15
Red Alert
Hosted Moderator
 
Red Alert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,339
HMod: LaTeX
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTNiner View Post
The new RTE Player opens a direct connection to the RTE Server on tcp port 1935

fmsv1.rte.ie:1935

As the application cannot be configured to use a proxy and ignores the browser settings it will only work on the staff networks, not on Wireless or Open plug in areas
RTE are pretty silly to do that if you ask me - Port 443 is always a better option since it can get around HTTPS proxies by using CONNECT mode.
Red Alert is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet