Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(The King's Casino Ennis Co.Clare) Schedule Of Events

• 06-02-2009 9:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭

Weekly Schedule:

Thursdays: 15 Euro Pot Limit Omaha Rebuy Tourney With A Max Of 3 Rebuys Or 2 Rebuys And 1 Add On At The 1st Break (I.E) The First 3 Levels (60 Mins) 3.5K Starting Stack,3.5k Rebuy,5k Add-On.

Fridays: 50+5 N/L Texas Hold'Em F/O 5,500 Starting Stack 20 Min Blinds (Clare Poker Championship League Event) Grand Final March 29th '09'.

Saturdays: Cash Games 1/2 Pot Limit Texas,1/2 Pot Limit Omaha,1/3 Pot Limit Texas,And Also Rounds Of Each.

Sundays: 30+5 N/L Texas Hold'Em F/O 5,500 Starting Stack 20 Min Blinds (Clare Poker Championship League Event) Grand Final March 29th '09'.

Mondays: 50+5 N/L Texas Hold'Em F/O 6,000 Starting Stack 20 Min Blinds
    (Bruce Poker League Event) With The Top 2 After 12 Weeks Gaining Free Entry To The Grand Final In Dublin In April.

All Tourneys Begin At 9.15 pm With The Exception Of Sunday Which Is 7.15 pm.......

Also Blackjack And Roulette Offered Nightly On The Casino Floor....

Opening Hours As Follows........

Thursday--Saturday: 8.30pm-6am
    Sunday:6.30-6am
    Monday:8.30-6am
    Tuesday & Wednesday: Closed

''SO COME AND PLAY AT THE KING'S'' ''ENNIS CO.CLARE'S PREMIER CASINO AND CARD ROOM....WE LOOK FORWARD TO GREETING YOU.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,949 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Cheers Statto, nice to see the earlier opening time on a Saturday, thanks for hte update and see you tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭--STATTO--

Great stuff clareman,good to hear from ya,see ya then i see your spelling hasnt improved since you last made a comment to me.LOL :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭bantee

Hi Statto, do you get many runners each Friday night?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,949 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

1 typo before I've had a coffee, I'm well happy with that, I know we all strive for perfection, apologise :)

Hey bantee hows the form?? long time no talk,ya we are getting between 20-27 runners every friday and sunday i.e the league nights.the league nights are really flying and as for the cash games the round of each has great action especially at the weekends..... 1/2 texas & 1/2 omaha and of course the optional $5 straddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 goonruby

Statto are you the new manager?

Think the starting stacks are too small..:mad:

So are the cash games offered NIGHTLY or are ye closed on Tuesday and Wednesday?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭NewApproach

goonruby wrote: »
    Statto are you the new manager?

Think the starting stacks are too small..:mad:

I agree with this porter, the starting stacks are way too small. Casinos in neighbouring limerick and galway give stacks allowing much more play, up to 10k in galway. If this place has any chance of taking tourney players from there they will have to increase the starting stacks. Also their concept of the early bird is flawed, as it stands i can go in after 3/4 an hours play and still get an early bird...

Also i think the tables are too small, having 9 players is a major squeeze. But this is something which i am sure the management will sort out soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 goonruby

Think i might head down from Galway for the game tonight..
    Just wondering does the casino do complimentary food/ drink and do ye serve alcohal like my local casino?
    If im there tonight I will be the fish in the corner with the card protector:D
    Look forward to paying off all ye Banner boys..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

I agree with this porter, the starting stacks are way too small. Casinos in neighbouring limerick and galway give stacks allowing much more play, up to 10k in galway. If this place has any chance of taking tourney players from there they will have to increase the starting stacks. Also their concept of the early bird is flawed, as it stands i can go in after 3/4 an hours play and still get an early bird...

Also i think the tables are too small, having 9 players is a major squeeze. But this is something which i am sure the management will sort out soon.

I'm not speaking for the Kings Card club, just making a point. Other casino's or pub games might give out bigger starting stacks which in your opinion gives "more play", but the reality is that it does the opposite. The places that give out the big stacks skip blind levels and the tourney becomes a crapshoot much sooner than a properly structured one with a smaller starting stack.

Example

GAME A GAME B

Starting stack 6k 10k

Level 1--25-50 50-100
    Level 2--50-100 100-200
    Level 3--75-150 200-400
    Level 4-100-200 300-600
    Level 5-150-300 400-800
    Level 6-200-400 500-1000
    Level 7-300-600 800-1500
    Level 8-400-800 1000-2000
    Level 9-500-1000 2000-4000
    Level 10-800-1500 3000-6000
    Level 11-1000-2000 4000-8000
    Level 12-1500-3000 5000-10000

Now, we'll presume both tourneys have 20 min blind levels (although you'll mostly find the games that give out big starting stacks give shorter blind levels)

If for instance, we say a player just has his stating stack still:

After just 4 levels, the player in game A has 30 bb's while the corrosponding player in game B has 16.5 bb's.

After 9 levels, the player in game A has 6bb's while the player in game B has 2.5bb's.

So even though game A has a lot smaller starting stack, there will be much more play in game A rather than game B.

We here in the Cue Club give a 6,000 stack for F/O's with game A structure, and a game with 20something players in it takes about 4.5hrs to 5hrs to finish.

Next time your playing a relatively small buy-in game with a very big starting stack, take note of how long the blind levels are and how many blind levels are missing.

Connie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭NewApproach

connie147 wrote: »
    I'm not speaking for the Kings Card club, just making a point. Other casino's or pub games might give out bigger starting stacks which in your opinion gives "more play", but the reality is that it does the opposite. The places that give out the big stacks skip blind levels and the tourney becomes a crapshoot much sooner than a properly structured one with a smaller starting stack.

Example

GAME A GAME B

Starting stack 6k 10k

Level 1--25-50 50-100
    Level 2--50-100 100-200
    Level 3--75-150 200-400
    Level 4-100-200 300-600
    Level 5-150-300 400-800
    Level 6-200-400 500-1000
    Level 7-300-600 800-1500
    Level 8-400-800 1000-2000
    Level 9-500-1000 2000-4000
    Level 10-800-1500 3000-6000
    Level 11-1000-2000 4000-8000
    Level 12-1500-3000 5000-10000

Now, we'll presume both tourneys have 20 min blind levels (although you'll mostly find the games that give out big starting stacks give shorter blind levels)

If for instance, we say a player just has his stating stack still:

After just 4 levels, the player in game A has 30 bb's while the corrosponding player in game B has 16.5 bb's.

After 9 levels, the player in game A has 6bb's while the player in game B has 2.5bb's.

So even though game A has a lot smaller starting stack, there will be much more play in game A rather than game B.

We here in the Cue Club give a 6,000 stack for F/O's with game A structure, and a game with 20something players in it takes about 4.5hrs to 5hrs to finish.

Next time your playing a relatively small buy-in game with a very big starting stack, take note of how long the blind levels are and how many blind levels are missing.

Connie

Thanks for your thoughts Connie, this is the structure of a similar buy-in game in the Eglinton in galway (€45+5)
    25 50
    50 100
    75 150
    100 200
    150 300
    200 400
    300 600
    400 800
    500 1000
    800 1500
    1000 2000
    1500 3000
    2000 4000
    3000 6000
    4000 8000
    5000 10000
    8000 15000
    10000 20000
    15000 30000 Frozen

This has an 8k starting stack.

So while I appreciate that a big starting stack with many blind levels missing (as game B above) is pointless, I don't really think it happens very often. Most games with this level of buy in I have played has had the above levels on a 20 min clock, meaning the only variant is the starting stack.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Then thats a class game. There isnt many cardrooms where youll find an 8k start stack, 20 min blinds and all levels in for €5 reg. If I was to give 10k chips for my F/O games, I'd have to up the reg cause I'd never skip levels. Our Friday game has 7,500 chips and a 25 min clock, but its €70 + 7 reg.

Connie

Thanks for the feed back all,we are at the moment currently reviewing our tourneys and starting chip stacks,as soon as i have more info i will post here,but all yer good comments and advice have been taken onboard... many thanks again.:cool:

Just a quick reminder to all that tonight's tourney is the (Bruce Poker League Week 3)........ the league runs over 12 weeks with top 2 places to qualify for the grand final in dublin in april.......
    The tourney is a 50+5 F/O with a 6k starting stack and 20 minute blinds....
    Looking forward to seeing all our regulars and maybe some new faces tonight.:cool::cool::cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 39,542 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Do not let this thread turn into another ess like previous threads about Ennis.

I'm sick and tired of all your squabbling

nonsense posts deleted.

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭the_pits

I totally agree,if you have problem with casino and way club is run why not call them, and keep your bad feeling off Boards, maybe you've had bad beat there, who knows ?:mad::D:D:D:D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 176 ✭✭pkr_ennis

We at the Kings appreciate feedback/criticism people may have. We would appreciate if people would talk to the management about any grievances or opinions. We take it as constructive. Please contact us at kingsmembersclub@gmail.com or call 065-6848862 between opening hours.

Regards,
    The Kings Members Club

Hey Man Well Said PKR_ENNIS......At Least Someone Has Something Constructive To Say :D

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭the_pits

Hi guys I will will be back defo, you guys run great game, and staff are top notch too :D:D:D:D

Hey all just a reminder about tonights game in the club........ details underneath... :rolleyes:
    Thursdays: 15 Euro Pot Limit Omaha Rebuy Tourney With A Max Of 3 Rebuys Or 2 Rebuys And 1 Add On At The 1st Break (I.E) The First 3 Levels (60 Mins) 3.5K Starting Stack,3.5k Rebuy,5k Add-On.

See ye all there.........

Tonights Game In The Club Is As Follows And Begins @ 9.15pm...............

Fridays: 50+5 N/L Texas Hold'Em F/O 5,500 Starting Stack 20 Min Blinds (Clare Poker Championship League Event) Grand Final March 29th '09'.

See Everyone There............ :cool::cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭funnyname

Do you expect to have many playing cash (plo or roe) around midnight?

Hey funnyname,ya friday nights are really busy for cash games,usually 2 full cash games going from in or around that time........ 1/2 POT LIMIT TEXAS AND 1/2 ROUND OF EACH.Hope to see you there.... :D

Tonights Game @ The Kings Is As Follows...... See Ye All There... :cool:
    Sundays: 30+5 N/L Texas Hold'Em F/O 5,500 Starting Stack 20 Min Blinds (Clare Poker Championship League Event) Grand Final March 29th '09'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭cardrooms

Does anyone know if this club has a website?

cardrooms wrote: »
    Does anyone know if this club has a website?
    http://thekings.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Went here last Sunday for the 35 freezeout as I was in ennis. Club is nice if a bit compact, three poker tables and 3/4 gaming tables. Flyers indicated a 7.30 start with entries accepted till 8.30. This however was abandoned when they had 2 full tables and even turned away a guy who plays 'every Sunday' this annoyed me as 2 of my friends were running late. I said nothin anyway as the regulars were complaining enough.

They game and structure was very good not that I did well but it's a cosy little place and the staff were nice but the above was the only flaw if a big one imo