Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
18-07-2008, 00:53   #1
CharlieCroker
Registered User
 
CharlieCroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Up the mountains!
Posts: 5,183
Autotrader uk

Any one know why Autotrader uk is redirecting to N.Ireland? is this happening with everyone or just me?
CharlieCroker is offline  
Advertisement
18-07-2008, 00:59   #2
Same As
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Exiled in Dubland!
Posts: 363
Ya the same happened for me too...

chance this link

http://82.217.168.145/proxy/index.ph...r.co.uk&hl=2e1
Same As is offline  
Thanks from:
18-07-2008, 01:02   #3
CharlieCroker
Registered User
 
CharlieCroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Up the mountains!
Posts: 5,183
cheers mate, that seems to be working
CharlieCroker is offline  
18-07-2008, 01:04   #4
Same As
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Exiled in Dubland!
Posts: 363
No bother at all my fellow corkonian!
Same As is offline  
18-07-2008, 09:53   #5
positron
Registered User
 
positron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Drogheda
Posts: 4,271
Thanks 'Same As', the NI version of autotrader is cr*p and was really starting to annoy me..! They might have noticed the increase in traffic from Ireland..!
positron is offline  
Advertisement
18-07-2008, 09:56   #6
mcwhirter
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,430
Are the prices higher on the ni site compared to the british site
mcwhirter is offline  
18-07-2008, 11:39   #7
Same As
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Exiled in Dubland!
Posts: 363

Nah its just some sort of domain error I suspect!

Eh Re: the prices,I doubt it??
Same As is offline  
18-07-2008, 12:21   #8
Cmar-Ireland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,181
As long as you register with a valid UK postcode, there wont be any redirecting.
Cmar-Ireland is offline  
18-07-2008, 12:29   #9
Same As
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Exiled in Dubland!
Posts: 363

It Aint that simple unfortunately....

When you type autotrader dot co dot uk into the address you are automatically re-directed to the northern Ireland website for no apparent reason! The Link above should do the trick until the problem is resolved!
Same As is offline  
Advertisement
18-07-2008, 12:39   #10
foxirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Clare
Posts: 402
On the autotrader NI site there is a link (Proceed to UK Site) near the right hand side to take you to the UK site which will not redirect you
foxirl is offline  
18-07-2008, 12:47   #11
Same As
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Exiled in Dubland!
Posts: 363
Dont mean to be repeating myself but...

http://82.217.168.145/proxy/index.ph...r.co.uk&hl=2e1

that link will take you to the autotrader dot co dot uk site.
Same As is offline  
18-07-2008, 12:54   #12
CyberGhost
Registered User
 
CyberGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: 53 20' N 6 15' W
Posts: 4,970
Yea, I was surprised too, then I noticed this...



Once you click it and the site places cookies in your browser's cache, you'll be automatically redirected to the UK site.
CyberGhost is offline  
18-07-2008, 14:36   #13
cashmni1
Registered User
 
cashmni1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rebel Country.
Posts: 627
traffic count from a service provider is given to Autotrader and the traffic should be re-directed (depending on source IP) to whatever autotrader site they want. (I think). looks like a marketing ploy to me.
cashmni1 is offline  
18-07-2008, 15:00   #14
Cmar-Ireland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,181
It's pretty simple. Once you register with a UK address and postcode, you will not be redirected.
I registered a uk address on autotrader and set up automatic log in, so when I go to the site my details are all there and it's the .co.uk site. With 416,140 cars for sale at the moment.
Cmar-Ireland is offline  
18-07-2008, 15:04   #15
Cyrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Blackrock, Dublin
Posts: 7,889
just go thro msn.co.uk
Cyrus is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet