Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

01-07-2008, 18:46   #1
sue97

Level 7 to Level 8 degree

Hi

I did a diploma back in the 90's and then another two years to a pass degree.

Still waiting for Trinity to confirm but it looks like my degree is now considered a level 7 degree.

I want to do a post-grad that needs a level 8 degree to be considered.

Was talking to my sister in law and she thinks there are courses one can do to progress from a level 7 to level 8 degree.

Anyone know of any of these. Its a business and IT degree.

Thanks
Advertisement
01-07-2008, 21:04   #2
Tom Dunne
Don't bring me down, Bruce

Quote:
Originally Posted by sue97 View Post
Was talking to my sister in law and she thinks there are courses one can do to progress from a level 7 to level 8 degree.
Absolutely. Most, if not all, Institutes of Technology operate this way - you do a Level 7 Ordinary degree, then another year for a Level 8 (honours) degree.

Find your nearest IT.
02-07-2008, 14:46   #3
sue97

Thanks Tom

Will check their websites
02-07-2008, 14:48   #4
sue97

Thanks Tom

Will check their websites. Just one other question, are there standalone modules I could cover or do I have to continue the degree.

I have not worked in IT in years and the Internet was called the Super Highway last time I was in College
04-07-2008, 23:29   #5
eth0_

You could also try the Open University (www.open.ac.uk), they would use your level 7 degree as a credit transfer so you could get an honours degree in around a year.
Advertisement
05-03-2009, 18:18   #6
el_gaucho

does anyone know where i can see a list of what degree/diploma corresponds to what level? for example i have a Bachelor of Arts from the UK. i think it's a level 7 but not sure. searched online but can't find anything.
08-03-2009, 14:46   #7
sue97

i had to contact the college and they told me. Don't think there is a list unfortunately