Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
29-06-2008, 17:55   #1
MisterAnarchy
Registered User
 
MisterAnarchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kobol
Posts: 5,500
Lithuanian or Russian TV in Ireland

A friend of mine is married to a girl from Lithuania.
I was wondering if there are any Lithuanian or Russian tv channels available FTA that could be received on an 80cm dish in Ireland ?
Any tips appreciated.
MisterAnarchy is offline  
Advertisement
30-06-2008, 07:58   #2
Pal
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterAnarchy View Post
A friend of mine is married to a girl from Lithuania.
I was wondering if there are any Lithuanian or Russian tv channels available FTA that could be received on an 80cm dish in Ireland ?
Any tips appreciated.
Lots of Free Russian TV
http://www.flysat.com/tv-ru.php

Only 1 Lithuanian channel
http://www.flysat.com/tv-lt.php
Pal is offline  
30-06-2008, 12:05   #3
Smeagol
Registered User
 
Smeagol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Out in da shticks
Posts: 292
Sometimes it might help to use search: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...ght=Lithuanian
Smeagol is offline  
30-06-2008, 13:22   #4
MisterAnarchy
Registered User
 
MisterAnarchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kobol
Posts: 5,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smeagol View Post
Sometimes it might help to use search: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...ght=Lithuanian
Lay off M8.
I did use search and had read that thread.
MisterAnarchy is offline  
30-06-2008, 18:33   #5
Zaphod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,720
LTV is OK down here on a 1.2M. It would be easier to receive as you go north and east, but an 80cm might still be a bit of a struggle.

Many of the Russian channels on that link are difficult/impossible on an 80cm - anything on C-band, east of 60E or transmitted in MPEG4 requiring a HD receiver. The ones on Hotbird are OK. Those on 53E Express AM22 are also OK although some receivers (e.g Technomates) choke on the high symbol rate.
Zaphod is offline  
Advertisement
30-06-2008, 22:08   #6
MisterAnarchy
Registered User
 
MisterAnarchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kobol
Posts: 5,500
Cheers Zaphod,very informative.
Looks like LTV is a no go so as the location is in Cork.
Will give Hotbird a go though.
MisterAnarchy is offline  
04-07-2008, 23:46   #7
mjsmyth
Registered User
 
mjsmyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,092
Well there is always Russia Today.... Not in Russian, but all about it...

http://www.russiatoday.ru/

EuroBird 1 (28.5E) - 11623.00 - H - 27500 2/3

MJ
mjsmyth is offline  
05-07-2008, 01:25   #8
telecinesk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Not_Here
Posts: 546
Isnt there not a load of Ukraine/Russian channels on 5 east.Encoded and unencoded.Granted where i am(next door to there) beam is v strong, but dosent it spill as far as Ireland?
4west is good but thats a 4m dish i expect over there.

And that Russian Channel1 on hotbird.
telecinesk is offline  
05-07-2008, 09:33   #9
watty
Registered User
 
watty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: The Research Station
Posts: 31,158
I can't can't 53E here but on 5E (1.1m dish).

Though my own house might be blocking LOS? 42E is fine.
watty is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
05-07-2008, 23:46   #10
JHMEG
Banned
 
JHMEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Salt
Posts: 7,637
Lots of stuff on 5 and 13, which are easily received here. She should ask members of her own community etc. Any I know are well clued in as to what's available. The Russian national broadcaster is in the clear for example.

Last edited by JHMEG; 05-07-2008 at 23:51.
JHMEG is offline  
06-07-2008, 00:15   #11
karl200607
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 67
Ltv world has recently appeared on 12.380 H 27500 3/4 on the europe bss beam on sirius so should be an easy enough catch on an 80cm in most of ireland.
karl200607 is offline  
06-07-2008, 10:41   #12
FreedomJoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 158
You can get Russia today a FTA news channel on Sky channel 516.
FreedomJoe is offline  
02-09-2010, 21:51   #13
roketka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Need to get Satellite and receiver for Russian channels

Hi Everyone,

If someone knows where to buy once off Satellite and receiver for Russian channels, please please please .. let me know. All i know that prices very from 129 eur to 200eur in Dublin.
roketka is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet