Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
29-06-2007, 13:41   #1
Standard Toaster
Registered User
 
Standard Toaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,258
CCNA Exam - Pearson VUE vs Prometric

Hi,

I searched for this already but didn't come across any threads.

I'm about to register to take the CCNA exam....the 640-822 ICND1 and the 640-816 ICND2 with either Pearson or Prometric.

I notice Pearson have a few more test centres in Dublin to choose from (5 vs 1)

For anyone who has already taken the exam, I take it it probably doesn't matter where I take it....or does it?

Really looking for people experiences with both camps.

Thanks!

Standard Toaster is offline  
Advertisement
29-06-2007, 23:38   #2
_CreeD_
Registered User
 
_CreeD_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Location location!
Posts: 3,145
Its the same exam regardless. Pick one that's convenient for you, the exam centers aren't (usually) owned or operated by either testing body, they are just licensed to give the exams so the quality of the center is purely down to that of the operating company. You'd be better off giving a list of the sites you are thinking of and folks here can chime in, but VUE vs. Thomson won't help.

Last edited by _CreeD_; 29-06-2007 at 23:42.
_CreeD_ is offline  
30-06-2007, 17:40   #3
Standard Toaster
Registered User
 
Standard Toaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,258
Pearson:

Global Knowledge Ireland
3rd Floor
Jervis House
Millennium Walkway
Dublin 1

Institute of Technology Blanchardstown
Blanchardstown Road North
Dublin 15

Irish Academy of Computer Training - IACT
98 St. Stephens Green
Dublin 2

Sure Skills
13/14 Fitzwilliam Place
Dublin 2

Hi-Tech Associates
28 Tolka Valley Business Park
Ballyboggan Rd.
Dublin 11

Prometric:

New Horizons Ireland
Dublin 1


For the CCNA exam both charge €126

I think I'kll just book one and that will set me a target date in regards to study etc.
Standard Toaster is offline  
30-06-2007, 22:30   #4
mick.fr
Registered User
 
mick.fr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,951
Send a message via ICQ to mick.fr Send a message via AIM to mick.fr Send a message via Yahoo to mick.fr Send a message via Skype™ to mick.fr
Pearson will charge 126+VAT.
Thomson charge 126 only with no VAT

That is the only difference between the two companies, exams are from the vendor anyway, not from them.
mick.fr is offline  
15-07-2007, 10:48   #5
malcolmh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Donegal
Posts: 14
apparenlty there is only one centre in dublin that can offer the Cisco exams. i'm not sure which one though.

Cisco have clamped down on who candelvier there tests.
malcolmh is offline  
Advertisement
12-10-2007, 15:40   #6
bonzer1again
Registered User
 
bonzer1again's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 186
Pearson is only option for Cisco

As of Spetember 1st Pearson Test centres are the only centres you can do Cisco exams in, and Prometric test centres signed a deal with microsoft for all of the Microsoft exams. So You have to choose Pearson.

By the way not all Pearson test centres are advertised, there are some that are classed as hidden, Speaking as the head of a Hidden test centre, I know what I'm saying is true...almost every college in Ireland now has a Pearson Vue test centre, so ask at your local IT or University as they will probably let you do the exam there, and it'll be the same cost.
bonzer1again is offline  
15-11-2010, 12:32   #7
Cluster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rialto
Posts: 82
just to update this a little.

http://www.globalknowledge.ie

seem to be the cheapest for the CCNA

183 euro now

The cheapest I've located anyway
Cluster is offline  
16-11-2010, 21:37   #8
coolpix23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 56
Test Center

Now Prometric only let you use a mini white board with a marker that has a big nib.

You have to use Pearson-VUE for Cisco? Then then only differnce between exam centers is will the one you pick give you paper for rough work?

Paper would be great so you can write out things like the sub netting table before the clock starts on your exam... while your'e supposte to be going through the instructions.
coolpix23 is online now  
17-11-2010, 12:00   #9
Snaga
Registered User
 
Snaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: West Dublin
Posts: 1,479
Just ask for a second plastic sheet, they have yet to refuse me a second one.

Either way youll still likely come out with marker all over your hands from furiously erasing diagrams all of the time
Snaga is online now  
Advertisement
06-12-2010, 10:56   #10
Doriath
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Hey, im looking for some updated information, my college course has done abit of Cisco(CCNA) and im looking to study it on my own, with the college routers, does anybody know where Pearson are still active, and if you can take the exam without the course?
Doriath is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet