Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Solicitors contributing to Ireland's Insurance Fraud Culture

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

or more likely because they knew they were negligent.

Yes there may have been negligence, but the injury was minor, a full recovery was made and it only necessitated a day trip to a + e, not even a night in hospital.

This nonsense will keep encouraging more and more to do it, and premiums will keep rising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,580 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

easypazz wrote: »
    Was it not the insurance company?

Doesn't state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Boggles wrote: »
    The hotel settled.
    easypazz wrote: »
    Was it not the insurance company?
    Boggles wrote: »
    Doesn't state.

The hotel was claiming on it's insurance then the insurance company have the right to settle on the hotels behalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Another

A child who fell off a stage at a wedding in a Co Donegal hotel has been awarded €35,000.

Barrister Peter Nolan told the court that the child fell off a stage during the wedding and suffered a laceration.

He was rushed to Altnagelvin Hospital in Derry where he was treated on the night.

Mr Nolan read the reports from two plastic surgeons which the child has been attending.

Both said that the scar, which is around the child's eyebrow, is visible but is expected to heal well.

And another

A Dublin girl, who was left with slightly stunted finger after she caught her hand in a door in her primary school, has been awarded damages of €10,000 at Dublin District Court.

So what next, all hotels remove their stages so looper, hyper kids don't go jumping off them.

Should we remove all doors from public buildings, because how else do you stop the risk of an accident of somebody catching their finger in a door happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Paywall on most IT articles these days. Whats the jist of this payout?

It's free to register. Once you register, you don't have to pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Six One News has a case example - I'll assume this fella had legal advice.

https://www.thejournal.ie/mibi-case-man-back-pain-4983483-Jan2020/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,528 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The guards need to start procesuting a few of these lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

The Journal appear highly selective in their reporting of this case....one would wonder why ?

It appears the Irish Independent have no such qualms...

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/compensation-claim-withdrawn-after-video-emerges-of-wheelchair-bound-claimant-walking-in-dublin-38903582.html
    On Tuesday, counsel for Mr Iosca told the court his client was withdrawing the case.

Not only had the good Mr Iosca legal advice,but he had COUNSEL....who may well end up getting paid anyway !!!
    Mr Justice Cross noted the case had been withdrawn and he awarded costs to the MIBI against Mr Iosca.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

irishgeo wrote: »
    The guards need to start procesuting a few of these lads.

I agree, solicitors need to be arrested and prosecuted for promoting false claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

AlekSmart wrote: »

Not only had the good Mr Iosca legal advice,but he had COUNSEL....who may well end up getting paid anyway !!!
    And the chances if the MIBI getting their costs back from this fella = 0

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

The solicitor should be liable for the other sides costs in extreme cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

AlekSmart wrote: »
    The Journal appear highly selective in their reporting of this case....one would wonder why ?
    Just seen the Journal article....didn't give his name or use the pictures/footage made available to the Media.
    It really is a rag of a 'news' site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,918 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Fair play to them for getting that video.

He would have been paid had they not.

We need a serious rethink about insurance and claims in this country.

It boils my blood we pay for ******* like that in our premiums.

Enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Jurgen The German

The case cited above has been going since 2016. The MIBI will never get a cent from this guy. They will still have all their investigation and defence fees to cover so even though he didnt get paid its still going to cost them likely 10s of thousands. As MIBI is funded by our premiums its costing us 10s of thousands. We have made our own bed and are currently lying in it. I am confident changes are coming but its going to take time. I'm sure the likes of Pearse Doherty will go to town with this case the same way as he goes to town on insurance companies.....