Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
03-12-2019, 17:57   #1
Samuel T. Cogley
Registered User
 
Samuel T. Cogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 9,159
C3 House and pretty cold

As per the title I have a C3 rated house but we're finding it quite cold. One room in particular is very cold, but then it has 3 external walls and it's own roof bit that probably isn't well insulated.

The other issue we have is the downstairs can be cold but the upstairs roasting and we only have a binary heating system. For some reason the values are missing off all the rads. I did buy some but just using the top twisty bit means that I can either have the rad on or off, I didn't seem to get granular control. Is it worth getting new values fitted (properly) and should I do that power flushy thing I hear about?

House was build in 2002 and I recon the boiler is that old too. Would it be a massive job putting a new boiler in with two zones (upstairs and downstairs) and a thermostat of some kind?

Is it worth getting someone out to do thermal imaging?

Sorry for the rambling OP I'm sure I've missed stuff out so fire away with any questions and thanks in advance for any insights.
Samuel T. Cogley is online now  
Advertisement
03-12-2019, 18:24   #2
LirW
Registered User
 
LirW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4,791
We got zoned heating two years ago including a new boiler and a complete replumbing. They fitted bathroom appliances too. We paid 11k for it but we're outside of Dublin.
I have to say it's great but our house doesn't have great insulation to begin with and draughty windows so a lot more needs to be done.
I think heat-mapping could be beneficial if you plan to insulate better anyway. You can also take the BER report you have, while BER isn't worth the paper it's written on, it can give you some indications on what can be done to get a better rating meaning these are jobs to make your house warmer.

As houses from this period are often not the greatest in building quality I'd have a chat with someone who knows about insulation. A zoned heating is not magically going to make your home warmer if the insulation isn't great in the first place.


I feel for you, we don't have the money to do it all in one go and have to do bit by bit, a cold home sucks.
LirW is offline  
Thanks from:
03-12-2019, 18:32   #3
MicktheMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuel T. Cogley View Post
As per the title I have a C3 rated house but we're finding it quite cold. One room in particular is very cold, but then it has 3 external walls and it's own roof bit that probably isn't well insulated.

The other issue we have is the downstairs can be cold but the upstairs roasting and we only have a binary heating system. For some reason the values are missing off all the rads. I did buy some but just using the top twisty bit means that I can either have the rad on or off, I didn't seem to get granular control. Is it worth getting new values fitted (properly) and should I do that power flushy thing I hear about?

House was build in 2002 and I recon the boiler is that old too. Would it be a massive job putting a new boiler in with two zones (upstairs and downstairs) and a thermostat of some kind?

Is it worth getting someone out to do thermal imaging?

Sorry for the rambling OP I'm sure I've missed stuff out so fire away with any questions and thanks in advance for any insights.
Full heat loss survey including air tightness testing will highlight all your issues and should also give multiple solutions etc.
MicktheMan is offline  
(2) thanks from:
04-12-2019, 09:42   #4
drunkmonkey
Registered User
 
drunkmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24,367
First bit of money should just go into insulation in the attic and air tightness , cheap fixes like window seals, you don't need an expert out for that just get a lighter around the windows and see does it blow to one side.
You could put a thermostatic valve in that one room to try and keep it at temperature, or something like a nest but have it in that room.
Get the boiler serviced if it hasn't been done in a while and see what the service man thinks, cost of replacing is a lot of fuel.
drunkmonkey is offline  
Thanks from:
04-12-2019, 09:48   #5
Ginger83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by MicktheMan View Post
Full heat loss survey including air tightness testing will highlight all your issues and should also give multiple solutions etc.
+1

We had this done, very good advice.
Ginger83 is online now  
Advertisement
04-12-2019, 09:53   #6
_Brian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 15,287
Remember the BER rating is a theoretical rating based on the construction methods, and based that they were well done.

If for example the insulation was shoddily installed it’s usefulness is severely degraded and so the real world value of it will Not match the theoretical value assigned in the BER
_Brian is offline  
09-12-2019, 09:57   #7
tvjunki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuel T. Cogley View Post
As per the title I have a C3 rated house but we're finding it quite cold. One room in particular is very cold, but then it has 3 external walls and it's own roof bit that probably isn't well insulated.

The other issue we have is the downstairs can be cold but the upstairs roasting and we only have a binary heating system. For some reason the values are missing off all the rads. I did buy some but just using the top twisty bit means that I can either have the rad on or off, I didn't seem to get granular control. Is it worth getting new values fitted (properly) and should I do that power flushy thing I hear about?

House was build in 2002 and I recon the boiler is that old too. Would it be a massive job putting a new boiler in with two zones (upstairs and downstairs) and a thermostat of some kind?

Is it worth getting someone out to do thermal imaging?

Sorry for the rambling OP I'm sure I've missed stuff out so fire away with any questions and thanks in advance for any insights.
We had the same issue. You can install insulated board in that one room on the three walls. If that room is above a step in porch check if it is insulated by opening the ceiling in the porch. Doubt if there is any. You could just put a bit of insulated board in the ceiling In the step in at the front door. That is what we found. Made a difference.
If you have raised floors downstairs you could open the floor and install kingsman rigid insulation. Big job but worth it.
tvjunki is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet