Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

When you think of traitors, turn cloaks, and backstabbers?

• 23-06-2021 10:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭badabing106

Who are the three names to that come to your mind?

Brutus, Gollum, and Ephialtes of Trachis

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Moeriscus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

To be honest I think of most the potential Ireland team of the future. Particularly if born here

• Registered Users Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

Judas Iscraiot

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Grealish and Rice.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Turn cloak? Do you mean turncoat?

Turncloak is the same thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,408 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

humberklog wrote: »
    Grealish and Rice.

First they took our potatoes, then they took our Rice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭paul71

Quisling

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Proinsias de Rossa

Imprisoned due to his involvement in the IRA border campaign in his teens, Workers Party activist in his 20 and 30s, government minister in a Fine Gael (and therefore right-wing) coalition in his forties, commisar in the neo-liberal EU bureaucracy by his fifties.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

That "Throw me the idol, no time to argue" hoor from Raiders of the Lost Ark

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,825 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

tdf7187 wrote: »
    Proinsias de Rossa

Imprisoned due to his involvement in the IRA border campaign in his teens, Workers Party activist in his 20 and 30s, government minister in a Fine Gael (and therefore right-wing) coalition in his forties, commisar in the neo-liberal EU bureaucracy by his fifties.

Yep, the fella was dodge, I’m sure still is... walked in to take a seat in a John Bruton led government...Bruton had to be one of the most right wing Taoiseachs aside from Fitzgerald in the modern history of the country..

Strumms wrote: »
    Yep, the fella was dodge, I’m sure still is... walked in to take a seat in a John Bruton led government...Bruton had to be one of the most right wing Taoiseachs aside from Fitzgerald in the modern history of the country..

Thats the guy who loved Prince Charlie, am I right. Frank Ross would fit in well there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭KaneToad

humberklog wrote: »
    Grealish and Rice.

Came here to say Declan Rice....see you beat me to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Surprised nobody has mentioned Benedict Arnold considering most of us grew up with American TV.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

Fr's Eamon Hunter and Barry Kiernan

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭Shoelaces

Strumms wrote: »

The leader of a government that introduced the Freedom of Information act only for following governments to alter and redact it?

Robin Van Persie

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Lotso the Bear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,032 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Great bunch of lads.

Nothing but bounders and cads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,825 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Shoelaces wrote: »
    The leader of a government that introduced the Freedom of Information act only for following governments to alter and redact it?

Robin Van Persie

You judge a government and leader on one act now ? Jeeez, erm, right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,506 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Anyone believing we had a famine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,246 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

robert the bruce in braveheart and benedict arnold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭65535

Fine Gael and also now Fianna Faíl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,721 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The early leaders of the state - they promised a free country unburdened by colonial rule but by the 1930s had instead set about creating a quasi theocratic society, replacing one class structure for another. Little social mobility, no chance of higher education for working classes. Women were badly treated systemically, cemented in the constitution as heir place being in the home and were required to retire from jobs like banks and the civil service as soon as they got married. Mother and baby homes set up to ship out the women who had the temerity to tempt a man to have sex with her. Laws had to be given the stamp of approval by the archbishop. They once even deported a man from his own country for setting up an immoral dance club that played jazz.

These things took decades to unravel but I think we are getting there now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

The play Othello that every bastard of a student had to read in school for exams.

That ****er Iago some bollix was all I remember now.

Lotso the Bear
    The absolute bastard. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭eoin.d

Charlie Flanagan and Leo the leak varadkar

• Registered Users Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

Darina it was only a few pictures Allen. Absolutely disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,095 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Lando Calrissian. Made it look like he was helping the legitimate Empire government capture insurrectionist terrorists, and then turned around and helped the rebel scum.

I wouldn't be too hard on Grealish, mostly because he looks like Little Dora on steroids with that haircut and hairband and Jeff Hendrick's hair is already bad enough for team morale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The staff of Newstalk on George Hook. All of them were weaseling for his broadcasting slot or trying to alleviate the pressure on their own slots.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,860 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Charles Trevelyan

That fcuking genocidal cnut

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭rightmove

john delorean

Labour Party 2011.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

Leonard McNally always comes to mind with respect to Ireland and the 1798 rebellion he betrayed Lord Edward Fitzgerald amongst others.

After his death in 1820, it emerged that McNally had for many years been an informant for the government, and one of the most successful British spies in Irish republican circles

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonard_McNally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its turnCOAT not turncloak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

King Diarmaid MacMurrough of Leinster for inviting Strongbow and his Norman buddies to Ireland to help win his kingdom back. There's been a British presence in Ireland ever since.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

Iago.
    Bojo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

King Diarmaid MacMurrough of Leinster for inviting Strongbow and his Norman buddies to Ireland to help win his kingdom back. There's been a British presence in Ireland ever since.

Sure Diarmaids daughter Aoife was married to Strongbow, its probably cause house prices were cheaper in Ireland at the time and Aoife wanted to be near her mother or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Anne Marie Waters.

Born and raised in Ireland but says she's 'passionately, loyally, resolutely and proudly British' and devotes her time to defending Britain from foreigners. I'll give her a pass if her family are of English extraction but otherwise I resent her for going over there and blurring the line between Irish and British, as there are plenty there already who already think 'we're all the same'.
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/anne-marie-waters-ukip-irish-13309240

Anyone in this day and age who thinks that we are better off aligning, to varying degrees, with the Westminster government. Have we not learnt anything from history? They don't give a **** ahout us and, as can be seen with this current government, they care very little about the other constituent parts of the UK, only really showing any concern when there is talk of them leaving. Even the DUP are complaining about the disinterest shown by them.

Since Brexit, I've seen a noticeable group of people ( a minority but still too many) who think we should follow them out, fight their battles within the EU or go as far as re-joining the UK. Such arguments to me completely ignore our nation's history. We're better off strengthening our ties with the EU and being part of a bigger group that works for mutual interest then going back to an England-centric UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Not really a turncoat, he was never really loyal to Ireland.

Sol Campbell

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Anne Marie Waters.

Born and raised in Ireland but says she's 'passionately, loyally, resolutely and proudly British' and devotes her time to defending Britain from foreigners. I'll give her a pass if her family are of English extraction but otherwise I resent her for going over there and blurring the line between Irish and British, as there are plenty there already who already think 'we're all the same'.
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/anne-marie-waters-ukip-irish-13309240

Anyone in this day and age who thinks that we are better off aligning, to varying degrees, with the Westminster government. Have we not learnt anything from history? They don't give a **** ahout us and, as can be seen with this current government, they care very little about the other constituent parts of the UK, only really showing any concern when there is talk of them leaving. Even the DUP are complaining about the disinterest shown by them.

Since Brexit, I've seen a noticeable group of people ( a minority but still too many) who think we should follow them out, fight their battles within the EU or go as far as re-joining the UK. Such arguments to me completely ignore our nation's history. We're better off strengthening our ties with the EU and being part of a bigger group that works for mutual interest then going back to an England-centric UK.

I think she still has a hint of a Dublin accent, so it's not very credible. Also she doesn't seem to get that the British ruling class care even less about her than they do about their own native working class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ush1 wrote: »
    Not really a turncoat, he was never really loyal to Ireland.

He often gets the blame but we are looking back with the current lens of national sovereignty, such notions didn't really exist back then.

First they came for the socialists...

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Charles Trevelyan

That fcuking genocidal cnut

A tan acting tannishly, hardly a turncoat.

You bet. You know in my line of work, you gotta be able either to sing "The Battle Hymn Of The Republic" or "Dixie" with equal enthusiasm... dependin' upon present company.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Robert Lundy

Tony Montana.

Had a game in 2006. F*c that game should have been spun off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,739 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Scar, The Lion King.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Chiarrai92

Big Smoke and Ryder in GTA san Andreas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,671 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

TP_CM wrote: »
    Turncloak is the same thing

There was me thinking of St Brigid turning her cloak over half of Co Kildare.
    Since I am not a lily white, I think little of her but she keeps the kids occupied at the end of January.