Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luck Penny Stories

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Strongest memory of luck pennies is when I was young following my father around SMB mart and he trying the find the owner of cattle he might have bought to get a luck penny out of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Here is another nice one from Wexford - they even has a cure for scour, but no luck money from Cork.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjThf3Duaxo

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Some people are just mean, I bought a jeep there recently off a lad for 6400 cash and he through my young lad a fiver that he had rolled up specially for the job, fellow county man as my own as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Here is another nice one from Wexford - they even has a cure for scour, but no luck money from Cork.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjThf3Duaxo
    That was very enjoyable. I smiled at the one with uncle Peter scaring the daylights out of the young lad telling him about the Banshee. I think we all had a uncle like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 MasFer

Two nice experiences from marts where you dont expect luck penny

The seller had a tenner stapled to the card for a heifer of his I bought

In another mart I bought a few heifers belonging to one owner. Owner came up to me and give a fiver saying, best of luck, that's all change I had buy a pint. I was happy with gesture and said thanks. A little later he came back with a twenty euro note.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,043 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I'm a firm believer in a luck penny if I'm buying or selling. The first machine I ever bought the farmer gave me €50 luck and anytime I animals or fodder I usually give a €20 luck to the person. I had repeat customers ever since.

A fella starting out in sheep bought nearly all the sheep hurdles off me yesterday. I gave him €40 luck to get himself a few pints. I'd offer him dinner but the whole Corana virus put a stop to that.

One person has a shelter for horses so each Christmas I give her 2 free bales of hay and 2 free bales of straw.

Also a recent one was a fella living a few miles over the road but works abroad drove into a flash flood a few days before Christmas. Car stopped mid flood, my father was coming back up the road with the digger and saw your man. Drove down to him and towed out the car. Asked him if he wanted a lift home or any other help. The man said he was okay and thanked him. A couple of weeks later when he was back home he arrived up with a bottle of black barrell Jameson. It only took a few minutes and the thanks was good enough for the father but that was a nice touch :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭zetecescort

have bought the odd vintage car or tractor and the seller would throw in a few spare parts. really nice if they are genuine parts that may be hard to find otherwise and worth a few quid if they went and sold them separately afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Dunedin

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I'm a firm believer in a luck penny. A couple of weeks later when he was back home he arrived up with a bottle of black barrell Jameson. It only took a few minutes and the thanks was good enough for the father but that was a nice touch :)

I wonder did the two boys that were fighting over the land a few weeks ago (hammer on the tractor and all that) drop down a bottle of something to the neighbors.........

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Tigerpants

Lucks penny hard to come by with the car dealers nowadays, they act stupid like they never heard tell of it!!
    Or if you pay with some cash, say 50s, they do laps of the showroom to find a tenner!

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭divillybit

I bought a tractor last year for 3500, a rough old zetor. The seller was glad to be getting rid of it. I gave him ten 50 euro notes as a deposit and we agreed I would lodge the remaining 3000 into his account before bringing the tractor away. He gave me 50 euro back for luck but it wasn't one of the 50 euro notes I gave him. He said its bad luck to give a man his own money back as luck money which I had not heard of before.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭Base price

divillybit wrote: »
    I bought a tractor last year for 3500, a rough old zetor. The seller was glad to be getting rid of it. I gave him ten 50 euro notes as a deposit and we agreed I would lodge the remaining 3000 into his account before bringing the tractor away. He gave me 50 euro back for luck but it wasn't one of the 50 euro notes I gave him. He said its bad luck to give a man his own money back as luck money which I had not heard of before.

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭einn32

I remember the father buying average quality square bales of hay off a lad at the mart. He coaxed your man to deliver them as it was kind of on the way back to Cork. Your man obliged and the father gave him a kind of a reverse luck penny/compensation. Your man wasn't impressed with the amount but the oul lad told him it was enough because we had done him a favour buying the full load in one go and he would be home early and all instead of hanging about the mart selling bales in dribs and crabs.

Your man took into a fit of saying my father was the toughest man in Ireland and how now he had to face into driving a Leyland 282 back to Cork from Limerick with no doors, bad weather forecast and a concrete block propping up his seat would give him a numb arse by the time he got to Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Tigerpants

einn32 wrote: »
    I remember the father buying average quality square bales of hay off a lad at the mart. He coaxed your man to deliver them as it was kind of on the way back to Cork. Your man obliged and the father gave him a kind of a reverse luck penny/compensation. Your man wasn't impressed with the amount but the oul lad told him it was enough because we had done him a favour buying the full load in one go and he would be home early and all instead of hanging about the mart selling bales in dribs and crabs.

Your man took into a fit of saying my father was the toughest man in Ireland and how now he had to face into driving a Leyland 282 back to Cork from Limerick with no doors, bad weather forecast and a concrete block propping up his seat would give him a numb arse by the time he got to Cork.

Where was his latest model landcruiser and split new tri-axle trailer?? 😆

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

DukeCaboom wrote: »
    Bought cattle off a dairy farmer once and he asked me for luck... I said lad it's the other way round that works needless to say he didn't dig into his pocket.

I'd always giv a luck the odd time I'd sell something here.

A large operator down here always called luck "apples from my own orchard"

Another chap bought dairy cows here about 25k of a cheque and got a 2 euro coin for luck. The seller says its not the amount but the luck that matters..... Sound

I have to agree with the man. It’s the sentiment of what your purchasing being sold to you “lucky”.
    Now I always give a decent luck penny meself. If someone bought 25k worth of stock off me the would be going of with €500 in their pocket. I know of 70acres bought in the last 8 years and €2 coin was the luck. Purchaser was happy with that
    Know of the dearest recorded sale of farmland in Kildare,
    1.5million for 13.5 acres. The buyer asked the solicitor to ask for a luck penny and the seller said he was to f*#k off, that he had enough luck in life! Purchaser not happy

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,870 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Cattlepen wrote: »
    I have to agree with the man. It’s the sentiment of what your purchasing being sold to you “lucky”.
    Now I always give a decent luck penny meself. If someone bought 25k worth of stock off me the would be going of with €500 in their pocket. I know of 70acres bought in the last 8 years and €2 coin was the luck. Purchaser was happy with that
    Know of the dearest recorded sale of farmland in Kildare,
    1.5million for 13.5 acres. The buyer asked the solicitor to ask for a luck penny and the seller said he was to f*#k off, that he had enough luck in life! Purchaser not happy

Yes the sentiment is important but I hate meanness and I was always told that a luck penny never made anything dear or cheap. I've witnessed a man losing the sale of 4 rams at €1000 as he wouldn't cough up the score for luck that he had agreed to when making the deal. The buyer quite rightly told him to keep them altogether and the next time they appeared in the mart there were only 3 rams as one had gone to his eternal reward.

A relation of my own sold a ram for €400 with a tenner for luck another day. As before when it came to paying he wouldn't hand over the tenner and was told to stick his ram up his arse. I never saw the smile to disappear off a man as quick and it was grand to see the mean prick squirming until the tenner was handed over and the deal completed. I always try to deal to the best of my ability be it buying or selling but I hate people who try to back peddle afterwards. A deal is a deal and if your not happy with the outcome you should have been a better judge of your business at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Durrus Boy

With the year that was in it, we sold a lot of cattle from the yard. All the yearling bullocks and bulling heifers were sold to farmers and each man got luck money for each bunch of stock even though none of them asked for it.
    However, we were also selling a bunch of forward store bullocks and it was agents for feed lots who showed the most interest in these, with almost their first question being.. "ah sure there'll surely be a nice bit of luck? " before a deal was even struck!!!!! Pissed me right off I must admit, as they would never see them again once leaving the yard.....

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭powerfarmer

einn32 wrote: »

now he had to face into driving a Leyland 282 back to Cork from Limerick with no doors, bad weather forecast and a concrete block propping up his seat would give him a numb arse by the time he got to Cork.

Funniest thing I've read in ages

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Sorry for bringing back up an old thread, but I am selling cows over the weekend and I would like to give a luck penny for each cow. What would be the vest way of making sure that the cash ended up in the buyers pocket? I was thinking of stapling a note yo each card and let the mart office dole them out? Any suggestions appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,877 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Remember when I started milking, I gave 27k(loans) to buy first bunch of cows. The wife gave me 4 euros in coins(husband was sick as why they were getting out). I was disgusted but just sucked it up

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I got a fifty euro note luck money from a Cavan man, it will be a sad day when I have to spend it.

TP put it in an envelope attached to the card, but you'll never really know if the buyer gets it or not.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭ABitofsense

Any I've bought over the years in marts have it stapled to the card. Anything from 10e to 50e is what I've received.

It's a nice feeling to get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭ruwithme

If lads are stapling cash to cards, I imagine a lot of lads aren't actually receiving a luck penny.

Meet the buyer in person, if you insist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

You often hear the auctioneer announce at special sales that a luck penny is attached to the card in the office.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Thanks lads I will staple an envelope to the card and get the auctioneer to announce it. We always given luck to anyone who bought anything off us and I'd hate to break that now. On the flip side no matter how small it is its great to get, I always think that if you get offered luck the seller is genuine and not a chancer

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

This all sounds crazy stuff - I have only every received a €2 coin from a farm to farm purchase of a stock bull, and that was an unexpected surprise. Those going to the Mart from here get their 'luck penny' in the form of weanlings getting early colostrum from rotavacced cows, disbudded, eating meal at weaning and vaccinated with Covexin 10, ibr and bovipast - end of.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,364 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,165 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Never spend it on myself. I away give the luck money to a charitable cause. If I was going into mass or a match and and there was collection along with my own contribution I throw 5-20 euro of the luck money hidden in my wallet in as well.

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

While it may not be enforceable in the current system luck penny came into existence on a legal basis and nothing to do with being generous.the luck penny is actually the purchase of the buyers warranty from them.as we all know animals can die anytime and rather than extending a warranty the sellers offered luck penny as compensation in lieu or effectively the purchase of the warranty so that if the animal died at some point after purchase then the buyer has already accepted the compensation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Who2

Im setting up a suckler support fund bass. Would you like to contribute to the cause? It’s a non profit organisation for middle aged farmers with an addiction for nice stock.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

Thought you had gone into hiding Bass. A couple of questions I asked recently have gone unanswered