Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Now ye're talking - to a US police officer Part II

• Company Representative Posts: 189 Verified rep I'm a US police officer, AMA

What's your opinion of Jeremy Dewitte? Do you think he is being harassed or is his behavior unlawful? Are there a lot of people who impersonate police officers in the US?

I had to look this guy up, so bear with. All I know is from the open-source online news. From what I can tell this guy is edging very close to the line with his escort service. To the untrained eye, people think “cop” with his uniforms, etc. Given the way he acts, repeatedly, makes me wonder is there some sort of complex there, but not for me to know. But no, he’s not been harassed IMHO. If he modified his behavior, followed the spirit not just the letter of the law, then he’d be just another security company.

Cop impersonators do show up occasionally, usually some pleb will flash a badge or try to stop someone with a blue light. We had one here a while back stopping women trying to get their information. Thankfully he was caught a week later.

Did you ever have to assist with a delivery of an unexpected baby?

Yes, I’ve delivered two babies. It’s a bit messy, and thankfully the paramedics showed up promptly as it is more their expertise. And no, no one named the baby after me.

What are the rules around tattoos and hair styles for an officer? Could you get a tattoo that could be seen as someway political; just say it was covered at work but the public can see it during your non-working hours and some members of public might find it offensive.

Hmmmm, it depends by agency, so I’ll tell you what I know. Our rules are nothing visible above the shirt collar, on the hands with the exception of an ink marriage band/ring. Any tattoos deemed offensive/inappropriate by the dept. must be covered while on duty. If you had obviously offensive/racist tattoo, even coved at work, that would be looked at closely and could be grounds for dismissal under the policy of extremist association. It’s a very sticky wicket, and I’m not aware of it being an issue in my agency, but I’m sure it comes up. That brings you into a minefield of free speech vs. hate speech. Otherwise, grooming standards are generally conservative, men’s hair can’t touch the collar, women’s hair must be worn in a bun/plait or in a “manner not to cause a safety hazard or unprofessional appearance”. Last year our agency allowed beards, has to be a full beard (no goatees, van Gogh’s, or whatever), no more than one quarter inch neatly groomed. Thats popular with some, me, I prefer clean shaven, personal choice.

What's the percent of cops who are ''Right'' and ''Leftist’ ‘? I'm thinking most cops are '' Right'' ''The Fraternal Order of Police, which has more than 355,000 members nationally endorsed Trump'' While Biden had 200 people in police, most ex-cops endorse him publicly.

I can’t roll out a number, but overall, as I said earlier, I’d say as a group it trends more right/conservative but by no means exclusively so. Some of that will be driven by region, demographic, etc. just like the general population. See my earlier post about police unions & national politics.

What’s the difference between a Police Officer and a Sheriff?

Sheriffs are an elected official and fill the role of Police Chief for their jurisdiction, typically a county. It varies by state with some subtleties, but as a whole, they run the county jails and provide LE services outside the cities in their county. Otherwise, they are cops like everyone else, same powers, etc. Formally, they will be called “Deputy Jones” if they work for a sheriff’s office as opposed to “Officer Jones” in a police dept. In some states, their state police are called “Trooper’s” by way of a bonus answer :-)

In your career so far have you recommended any civilian get an award for going the extra mile in a crime you were investigating that was solved?

Yes, we have a civilian recognition program for any citizen who goes above and beyond in helping the agency. Could be exceptional support of the agency, bravery or other assistance. The get a plaque & certificate at our annual awards banquet. It’s good PR and usually very well deserved.

What are your views on Cannabis decriminalization in the States? Has this helped you in your day-to-day work?

I think so. Arresting someone for small amounts of MJ is just not worth the trouble. We’ve always had a bit of leeway on this (officer discretion), but now we can legally just give them a ticket & send them on their way. So, yes, its helped as it keeps officers on the street not wasting time driving someone to jail, booking them in and doing all the paperwork. If you think about it, this also takes money from the drug cartels. Why buy your MJ from the street corner when you can legally buy it in a shop. We’re not there yet where I live but I think politically we’re moving closer.

A by product of legalization, is there isn’t a standardized test yet for assessing level of MJ intoxication while driving. Colorado is leading the charge on that, but it too will take time to become standardized & get through the courts. While the statutes of Driving While Intoxicated cover any substance, there really isn't a consistent way to articulate MJ "intoxication" on the street like for alcohol. Our state laws have yet to define a blood level of MJ required to articulate intoxication.

A bonus round while herself is out:

here is what a the general arrest scenario looks like: Lets say it's an assault.

We arrived, find the victim, make sure they are safe, get a description of the perp. We'll say he's close by, I find him, he matches the description and has bloody knuckles. That's enough for an arrest. He's cuffed, frisked and put in the back of my car (our cars have prisoner cages, we don't use a paddy wagon). My partner will have the paramedics check the victim's injuries & we'll offer same to the perp if he has any complaint of pain/injury. Lets say victim needs stiches. He goes with EMS after we get basic information, my partner will go to the ER to get a quick statement form him. I'll ID the perp, usually a drivers, license, and off we go to jail. We normally don't read the Miranda warning unlike in the movies. The Miranda is only for post arrest questioning. I don't need to ask questions, I have positive ID from my vic, perp has bloody knuckles, it's pretty self evident what happened.

Arrive at jail, I strip all my weapons off into a lock box. Walk perp in, he'll be searched again by the jailers, belongings inventoried, issued jail scrubs if needs be. He's photographed, fingerprinted and escorted to a cell. I complete a booking sheet, charge sheet, arrest affidavit articulating I had PC to make the arrest. Here is where I have to write a good affidavit as the judge will base their bond on what I say. If it's more serious injuries, I'll describe that as best I can to help the judge understand what happened so he/she can set an appropriate bail bond. I leave once the arrest review SGT is happy with my paperwork, then I'll do my own incident report. My partner will email me pictures of the vic's, injuries & their statement, all gets added to the report. Email report etc to my SGT for approval, she's happy with it. It gets transferred in the system so the detectives can be assigned the case. Any physical evidence I have, say I seized a club or knife from the perp, I bag & tag that for evidence and drop that off at our secure evidence lockers.

This process can take ages. If the jail is rocking on a weekend night, I'll have to wait there until the jailers are ready. perp is cuffed to a bench, I'll try and get a start on my report. I've waited up to two hours to process a prisoner. Painful.

Meanwhile, the perp will cool their heels until they are magistrated. We have "jail call" judges at 0700 and 1900 daily. They'll nug through the prisoners decide on bail terms, bonds, or pre-trail detention. If they bond out (post money to assure they'll show up in court), they are released. If not, they are transferred to a longer term holding facility. They get their call, some call families, some attorneys, whatever. Most wont get a lawyer until they've been released.

It's time consuming, detail oriented paperwork, makes for poor TV & movies, but it's a large part of what we do.

More tomorrow after work, sometime this year, our network cyber security team blocked foreign websites from our network.....sigh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,345 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I watched a documentary on a police department in the US. Their funding comes from the town and that meant they had to go around asking residents to pay money towards having policing. B in the end enough wasn't raised and two officers were let go.

Is that the way funding works there or just some places? It just seemed strange that being a police officer meant as much job security as working in a bar, and no incentive to try to progress through an actual professional career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

cheers for doing this!

1. if arrested, you are separated from your family (as in you are put in custody/lock up). should the same apply to illegals that are arrested?

2. what % of shootings do you think are unjustified, and of that portion, how many go unpunished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,046 ✭✭✭✭cena

Is there a way around joining the NYPD without us citizenship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Yes the Garda cars are all family saloon hatch or estate....

There are special units with Focus ST, one golf R which was kindly bought by a drug gang and was taken and is used for high speed and specific jobs, the armed units have 530d BMW and X5 and Audi Q7. Some other fancy stuff too.

They have cars that wouldn't be well known too such as Skoda, Volvo, mercedes etc....

Normal duty and traffic units use focus, Mondeo, Hyundai i30, i40, Kona and Tucson,
    Only extras are some with a cage to seperate boot, light bar, livery, radio and controller. Power supply for added gear. Handful of BMW 530d for the roads policing but most are i40....

• Registered Users Posts: 30 rodia77

Thanks for taking time to do this and respect for saying torch rather than flashlight. ;)

I watched a documentary on a police department in the US. Their funding comes from the town and that meant they had to go around asking residents to pay money towards having policing. B in the end enough wasn't raised and two officers were let go.

Is that the way funding works there or just some places? It just seemed strange that being a police officer meant as much job security as working in a bar, and no incentive to try to progress through an actual professional career.

Too a point, yes. LE in the US is funded by the entity the agency serves. IE Feds are paid for by the US Govt, State agencies by the respective state, County by their county and city by the city that agency serves. In the US, there are local, state & federal taxes to pay for all this as appropriate. Many cities & counties services be it police, fire, EMS, roads, parks, schools, etc. raise taxes typically by property tax, sales tax (think VAT) and to a very lesser extent by a local income tax. When the economy goes down, revenue goes down and cities have to make hard choices, which can include layoffs. Bigger cities are not immune from this. Detroit had a major budget meltdown a few years back and they laid off cops, fire, EMS, etc. Fire stations were shuttered, schools closed. It looked pretty rough but it is the reality of local control in the US. Netflix had a good documentary about the Flint, MI PD and their struggles in a very tight budget.

As for officers going door to door, perhaps they were doing that off duty through their union or other lobbying. It would be illegal (at least here in TX) to be doing that on the job. Another similar matter, many of the states have enacted laws where on $10 (in TX) of a traffic ticket goes to the police, rest goes into a state fund. It’s to stop “policing for profit”.

if arrested, you are separated from your family (as in you are put in custody/lock up). should the same apply to illegals that are arrested?

Touchy subject, some clarification. When arrested by the police, as I described in an earlier post, the arrestees are processed. It would be unusual for us to arrest a whole family, but not impossible. In my jurisdiction, the adults go to jail, juveniles go to a separate juvenile detention facility. Anyone under 12 would be turned over to the state child protection agency if we can’t find a responsible relative. These kids would be put in a very short-term foster home until a responsible adult can be found and this is very much a last resort. We separate the juveniles as the main jail has no facilities for kids and you don’t want children in an adult jail.

At the border, the illegals are “detained”, which is a different status as the laws are different for immigration violations. They can be subsequently charged with unlawful entry to the US, but initially it’s a detention. I’ve visited some of the border facilities, they are even more depressing than our central booking intake on a Saturday night and not a fun or happy place for anyone, let alone a family. Initially males & females are separated, kids will stay with the mother generally. After that it can get complex. If one of the parents is wanted say, or has other charges, they’ll be diverted to another part of the system to be formally charged, etc. These are generally offenders wanted in the US, who will go into the criminal system, no place for children.

If a family is detained at or near the border, and other than the crossing there is no other factors, I’d generally be OK with keeping them together as much as possible. There is a grinding practicality to it unfortunately, Border Patrol just doesn’t have the room to give every family their own space so it gets messy. I certainly don’t agree with separating kids 100’s of miles from one of the parents, that serves no purpose in my mind and is the result of a xenophobic policy from the previous administration. The border debate is a story for another time in of itself.

what % of shootings do you think are unjustified, and of that portion, how many go unpunished?

I really don’t have stats on that. LE in the US is a fractured combination of city, county, state, tribal and federal agencies and there is no central clearing house of LE data on this. Near me there is a small town, their PD is 9 officers, 2 of whom are part time. If they have a shooting, they are under no obligation to have anyone outside their own town get involved. They could investigate it themselves and draw their own conclusions if they chose to do so. I only use this hypothetical as an illustration of how hard it is do speak to this nationally. There is no state or national reporting requirement for police involved shootings, so it’s hard to draw a conclusion.

So, to your question, its hard to say. All shootings are investigated, usually goes to a grand jury, and the more respectable agencies will have an outside entity conduct the investigation to provide impartiality. Historically juries give cops great deference in the use of deadly force, and even some questionable shootings have resulted in the officer not being charged or sanctioned. This can be contentious to say the least, families & the public become frustrated by what is perceived as a one-sided system. Remember, what seems unreasonable to the public could be a very justified use of deadly force in the given situation and those officers have maybe seconds to make that decision.

Is there a way around joining the NYPD without US citizenship?

Well looking at their website, it doesn’t look so. Many states require police officers to be US citizens, and it’s not something which can be waived.

By way of sharing 'a day in the life", took a burglary call recently. it goes like this generally.

Get assigned the call from dispatch, arrive, business owner meets us out front. He hadn't entered his business yet, so partner and I clear the building to make sure the perp isn't there. All good. ID the owner, he shows us where the break in occurs, (broken window) and tells us what seems to be missing. While he's drafting up a list of what's missing, we'll take pictures of the entry point, anything else relevant to the case. If indicated, we'll take fingerprints if we can get a good impression. If they have video, we'll take a look at it and if there is anything of use on the video, we'll have them save or download it for the detectives. If its a small enough video file, they can email it to me and I'll save it to the shared drive for the detective. Victim gets the case number for insurance, and we'll head off.

I'll take all the info, and when I get a minute, write my report and enter any stolen items, especially if the more switched on victims have serial numbers or markings, into the data system. Back to work.

About 24-48 hours later the case will be assigned to a detective for follow up. He/she will review the report, check the pictures, and reach out for the video if it is of use. Our Crime Lab will process the prints, if they get a hit, the detective will follow up the lead. They also check a nationwide data base to see if the items are pawned and can do a search on Ebay, Craigslist, etc. In the event they can connect the dots and get a good ID on a perp, a warrant is issued for the perp and he/she will be arrested and processed through the system.

And there ya have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭McCrack

Thanks for these insights

What is the average salary for police officer and then are there allowances etc payable on top of basic and overtime and if you move up the ranks what salary is paid. Is there much difference across departments?

Hi there, thanks for doing this Q&A.

Im curious as to what training if any, you have regarding your vehicle being surrounded by a crowd, that either wont get out of your way and is blocking your way, or is attacking your vehicle. Would you be expected to stand your ground and hope the crowd backs off?

Do you think if you felt the situation was becoming dangerous, would you drive through the crowd.

Im asking off the back of what happened in Tacoma, where a police vehicle drove through a crowd.

Thank you, and I hope you remain safe on the job.

Gang,

Long day today, I'll answer more tomorrow evening (my time zone of course), but keep the questions coming.

Be safe out there,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

When's the last time you caught yourself doing or saying something typically American?

When's the last time one of your colleagues said to you, that is so Irish! :p

Do you think the US police are going to far in trying to appease BLM demands? Taking the knee is uncomfortable to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,418 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Do you think an experienced us cop would be suited to work for the Gardaí or vice versa? Are there fundamental differences between the policing models that you reckon make it impossible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

What’s involved in moving up ranks, to becoming a detective for example? Is it on the job training / experience/ educational requirements (as in third level/criminology courses etc) / politics?

You see on fictional shows that a rank and file member will get pulled into being a detective based on merit/some heroic action and it’s always left me wondering how it works in real life.

Thanks for the AMA - very interesting.

What is the average salary for police officer and then are there allowances etc. payable on top of basic and overtime and if you move up the ranks what salary is paid. Is there much difference across departments?

Wow, that’s a broad questions all right. It truly depends on the locality, size of department, type of agency and so on. In my patch, we start them at $50K, which is OK, but the cost of living is getting expensive here, it’s Dublin expensive FFS! Some of the smaller agencies are in the $40K range which, around here is barely a living wage. Generally, bigger agencies will do better. The Feds (FBI, ATF, DEA, etc.) start around the $48K range with some special pays. They are on a federal incremental scale. We’re on a similar incremental scale too based on years served. Some of these small cities pay their cops barely more than minimum wage, which is part of the issue with policing in the US. You get what you pay for, right?

We get OT for late calls, court, extra duty (matches, concerts, etc.) as one would expect. We offer specialty pay for SWAT, Mental Health team, Training Officer, language pay for Spanish or ASL, college degrees, etc. We also get to take our cars home, so that is a benefit too.

Promotions again vary by agency, for us it is a written exam & interview panel. Most of the respectable ones do some variation on exams, interviews or assessments. Our promotion is officer, detective, sergeant, lieutenant, captain & major. The chief & assistants are appointed. Some agencies, not unlike the Gardaí, have a uniform stream or detective stream where you apply to be a detective, then move up the ranks in the investigative world. A uniform stream means you’ll stay in uniform during your career and promote up that way.

I’m curious as to what training if any, you have regarding your vehicle being surrounded by a crowd, which either won’t get out of your way and is blocking your way, or is attacking your vehicle. Would you be expected to stand your ground and hope the crowd backs off? Do you think if you felt the situation was becoming dangerous, would you drive through the crowd? I’m asking off the back of what happened in Tacoma, where a police vehicle drove through a crowd.

I’m not aware of that as a specific training scenario as such. Our cars are reasonably secure, as such. Like all modern cars, the windows are laminated glass and doors lock easily. The Tacoma situation is a difficult one, like any other use of force, and using your car against a person is considered a use of force. I saw a short video, but I’m always hesitant to judge as one has to consider the “totality of circumstances” of the situation. You have an officer surrounded by a hostile crowd with no escape route. Crowds have thrown petrol bombs at recent protests, cars have been turned over, set on fire, so what can one officer do against a crowd to protect his/her life? Do you take a chance & wait for help and hope the crowd goes away? Are you willing to bet your life on that? My initial thoughts are I’d be on the PA telling them to back off and start slowly pushing into the crowd giving lots of warning, use the siren (they are really loud up close) and see if that helps. Again, this is all speculation, I wasn’t there.

When's the last time you caught yourself doing or saying something typically American?

Well I carry a gun every day, so I suppose it doesn’t get more American than that does it? I don’t know, really, I’m so used to being here, I don’t notice do I?

When's the last time one of your colleagues said to you, that is so Irish?

Usually when I use an Irish turn of phrase, expression. Occasionally I’ll put on a Cockney accent and tell someone “your nicked mate” just to confuse a subject, helps deflate the situation.

Do you think the US police are going too far in trying to appease BLM demands? Taking the knee is uncomfortable to watch.

I don’t think so personally. Our community where I work is approx. 30% black for example. So if 30% of the people we serve are uncomfortable with how we do our job, then I would submit, we should make an effort to understand and demonstrate empathy to the community. We serve the people, so we should be sensitive to our communities. We also have a dedicated LGBT and immigrant team, does that mean we’re appeasing those communities? I have black friends who have had negative experiences with other cops, so I get it to a point. We have some work to do.

Do you think an experienced US cop would be suited to work for the Gardaí or vice versa? Are there fundamental differences between the policing models that you reckon make it impossible?

I think it could work to be fair. Once you learn the laws & rules, to a larger extent policing is policing. I think it would take a bit of getting used to going from here to the Gardaí with us being armed, it’s a different mindset. Spent a bit of time with some Gardaí on the job, and it was interesting for me seeing them just not even having to even contemplate dealing with armed subjects. End of the day, though the job is the job, so I think outside the initial adjustment it would be fine. Want to say I read a news story about a Garda who used to be NYPD, went home and is happily serving with AGS.

What’s involved in moving up ranks, to becoming a detective for example? Is it on the job training / experience/ educational requirements (as in third level/criminology courses etc.) / politics? You see on fictional shows that a rank and file member will get pulled into being a detective based on merit/some heroic action and it’s always left me wondering how it works in real life.

See my above about the promotion systems. The heroics, yeah, that’s TV/movies all right. It’s exams, etc. Some agencies (like mine) give extra promotional exam points for a third level degree, and extra courses will help too I’m sure. I can appreciate why people like being a detective, some of my mates have done it for years as they thrive on the process of catching a crook. Our new detectives are assigned a training detective, there are some training courses they get sent on, the rest is OJT and learning the ropes. We start the detectives in property crimes (burglary, theft, etc.) and they have to serve a year there before applying for any of the other CID squads (homicide, auto theft, sex crimes, narcotics, etc.).

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

Have any near death experiences or a time where you felt **** might get real here.

If you weren't in the police what do you think you would be doing?

Do you follow sport and who is your favourite team(s)?

What is your favourite part of the job?

Well I carry a gun every day, so I suppose it doesn’t get more American than that does it?

Maybe if it was a deep-fried gun?

Have any near-death experiences or a time where you felt **** might get real here.

Been in a few car crashes, been shot at a few times and the usual fights/wresting matches. The car crashes were all thankfully nothing too serious, and obviously the shots missed 😊 Honestly, when something like that happens you are so in the moment, reacting, training & survival instincts kicks in, you don’t really have time to think about it. Afterwards, yes, big adrenaline dumb, and “holy crap” that was dodgy. It’s contributed to the chronic PTSD I’ve been diagnosed with.

A topic which doesn’t get as much traction as it should is the higher incidence of post retirement suicide and overall mortality in LE. One research project reported a police officer is 50% more likely to die within 10 years of retirement when compared the general population. It shouldn’t come as a surprise though, 25-30 years of rotating shifts, adrenaline dumps, arguments, fights, injuries will take a toll. As a community, we are not healthy either, very high incidence of cardiac disease, high blood pressure, cancers, again, it can be an unhealthy lifestyle. Its rare people are happy to encounter a cop, we get crap from everyone, all that does pile up over time.

If you weren't in the police what do you think you would be doing?

Probably in the Army. I like the team-based ethic, the fitness and the discipline. Apparently, I have a thing for polyester uniforms 😊

Do you follow sport and who is your favourite team(s)?

Follow the football & rugby to an extent. Never got into American sports, I’d just as soon watch paint dry as American football or baseball.

What is your favourite part of the job?

Working with a great team who has your back and just helping he community I live in. I have no lofty ideals about making the world a better place or safer from crime, but there is a satisfaction in serving the people.

Maybe if it was a deep-fried gun?

But then I’d have to be fat, while that is very American, it’s not for me 😊 (the fat or the deep-fried part)

Thanks again for this AMA. You really seem to have your head together. Fair play to you. I couldn't do your job , so I appreciate those of you who do

Once again, stay safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭HBC08

What's the protocol with dealing with armed groups like we see sometimes in open carry states?

So, here is a generic "how it goes" for a domestic assault.

Call comes in, assault in progress. It's a Code 3 response (lights & sirens), EMS will be concurrently sent, they will stage a few blocks away until we secure the scene. Arrive same time as another unit, make entry. Female victim crying on couch, perp ranting & screaming. Get her outside, we start calming him down, he's not buying it, waving a bottle around. He gets tazed, goes down, we pile on, get the cuffs on, drag him outside to the car. Partner keeps an eye on him tries to get information from him. I clear the rest of the hosue to make sure we're safe, bring vic. back inside & radio EMS to attend. Start getting her info, she has some cuts & bruises to the face & neck.

Beer bottle is seized as evidence (its a weapon) as are the expended tazer cartridges. They are bagged up & sealed.

Paramedics evaluate her, she'll need stiches, so she elects to go with them. Not life & death, so I have time to grab a few pictures of her & her injuries. EMS & vic. leave. Back outside to perp. he's calmed down. He is also evaluated by EMS, and refused transport. He's calmed down enough to talk, we get his details, take pictues of him , no injuries, but he does have a few scrapes on his hands, possibly form striking her. Those are photographed. As he's calm, we do all this in front of the car so it's on video.

We load him up & off we go to jail. Other unit goes to the hospital to interview vic. He'll get a few more pics, get a written statement from her, and (usually) get her to sign off on filing an Emergency Protective Order on him where he has to stay away from her for five days.

I drive to jail, he's babbling on in the car not aware he's being recorded the whole way. I don't say much, just 'hmmm" sort of thing. Book him into jail, if he's calm, he'll be processed in and put in a cell. If he gets silly, he'll be restrained, and put in a restraint chair & cell.

I head back out to my district, then, when I get a bit of time. I'll meet my district partner, get the paperwork from the vic. I start writing my report, fill out about five different forms relating to domestic violence. Fill out a use of force report for the tazer, meet my SGT to get some extra cartridges. I'll ring our Victim Services who will sent a rep. to the hospital to meet with her and ensure she is OK, help her with basic needs. maybe give her a lift home, whatever. I'll also ring the on call judge to talk him/her through my Probable Cause Affadavit (the basis for the arrest & charge), and hope he/she will agree with me and set a higher bail with conditions to protect the vic. I can only suggest this, but judges do what judges do.

Report complete, email it to SGT for approval, all good, it's entered in the database. Pictures are dropped in the shared drive. Video and audio for the whole call are tagged in the system and downloaded at the station via hotspot. I put the evidence in the evidence locker. That's more or less it from the patrol POV.

What happens next:

Within 48 hours, the case is assigned to a domestic violence detective. He/she will review my report, pictures, etc. They'll make contact with the victim, do some forms to get her medical records from the EMS & the ER. Victim Services will follow up with her every couple of days, see if she needs counselling, whatever. The detective will arrange for an interview at the station, and maybe write some subpoenas for phone records, texts, emails, social media. Anything that shows threats or the likes from the perp. it usually takes six months to get some of this stuff back as this is considered non-urgent. banks are pretty good with records, usually only takes about 60 day, but the social media companies are just awful. Detective will meet with an Asst DA (ADA), they'll go over the case & the ADA will decide if it's a prosecutable case or not. If we still have a willing victim (by now it's nearly a year since the event), it'll go to court.

So, its not quiet like in the movies (shock, no, really?), its detail oriented, and can be frustrating especially for the victims. And there ya have it. I'll see if I can dig up a redacted report next week and give you a flavour of what a report looks like.

Wash those hands, wear those masks & stay home folks!!!

Forgot to add, my report and video (both car & tazer) from this call will be reviewed by my SGT and my shift LT to ensure my use of force was compliant, proportionate and necessary and in accordance with policy & the law. It will also be reviewed by our training academy (they are the tazer trainers) and IA for the same reasons as above. If there are questions, I'll be called in to talk about it. All to make sure we are doing what we are supposed to do.

This happens for any use of force, be it stick, pepper spray, tazer, hands (blows, strikes, etc.), or of course firearms. Grappling & a bit of struggle just to gain compliance or get the cuffs on usually won't get looked at unless there is an injury to the perp or an officer.

Our new tazers have a small day/night camera & audio recorder built into them. It comes on once it's un-holstered, another means of documentation FYI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Thanks for doing this. I’m not sure what state you’re based in but if it’s one where marijuana is decriminalised/legalised, is this something you agree with? Do you arrest people for doing it in public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Hi again, and this is very informative Q&A.

What's your view on the war against drugs? How prevalent are narcotics in your area?

I think you indicated that you are in Texas. Given that a large part of Texas covers the Mexican border is drug smuggling something that comes up?

I am really surprised by how prevalent it is in Ireland and not juts in the big cities.

Thanks for doing this. I’m not sure what state you’re based in but if it’s one where marijuana is decriminalized/legalized, is this something you agree with?

I’m in Texas, in a large metro area. MJ is still illegal in TX, our past few legislative sessions at the state level trend conservative. There is an ever-growing movement to legalize it like in other states, but we’re not there yet. I’m not opposed to it really as such because I’m a realist. If its legal, it generates business and tax revenue (Colorado makes millions in state tax (VAT essentially) every year. And it takes money from the drug cartels. Why buy it from some shady guy on a corner & run the risk of being robbed, arrested, etc., when you can pop into a shop and get your fix? There still isn’t a legal standard for “MJ intoxication” as regards driving when compared to alcohol, so that needs work. None of the breath test devices the Gardai use have survived legal scrutiny here, the gold standard is the blood test.

Our new DA, who like most DA’s is an elected official, ran on a platform of progressive issues such as that. So, our current guidance is to only write tickets for small MJ procession as opposed to jailing people. Fine by me, the juice isn’t worth the squeeze in my mind of locking someone up just for a joint. I’ve better things to so with my time.

Do you arrest people for doing it in public?

I have, and like most things it's situation dependent. Remember, we have discretion but to a point. I can't just ignore illegality either. I prefer to write a ticket, or even just crush the joint into the ground and tell them to go home. However, everything I do is recorded, so I have to be able to justify what I do or don't do because I am accountable for my actions. As I mentioned above, we can write tickets now, but it's still the same offense with the same potential punishments, the law hasn't changed, we just ticket you as opposed to booking you into jail.

What's your view on the war against drugs? How prevalent are narcotics in your area?

The famed “War of Drugs” was a misguided attempt to arrest our way out of a social problem. And it has been an epic failure. Sure, we have locked up more people per capita than any other country in the world, and yet, drug crime & deaths shows no sign of abatement. It was a fundamental misunderstanding of the problem. If we’d spent half that money on education, substance abuse education & prevention, we’d be years ahead of where we are now. But, no one ever runs for office saying “vote for me, it’ll be better in 10 years once we hire more social workers & counsellors”. Lot easier to get attention by saying “vote for me, I’m tough on crime”. You get my point I’m sure.

From a LE point of view, instead of investing War on Drug money in SWAT teams and high-speed task forces, we should have invested in intelligence gathering, community policing and engagement. Give us the information (intelligence) to target the big dealers and actually make a difference.

I think you indicated that you are in Texas. Given that a large part of Texas covers the Mexican border is drug smuggling something that comes up?

Yes, in the Lone Star State indeed. We have several major highways (motorways) running through our patch, so we do catch the occasional dope shipment. The closer you get to the border, the more of that you find as it is an industry in of itself. We have officers on secondment to some of the federal task forces, so they handle that working with the State police & the Feds. I spent some time on the TX-Mexico border working with the Border Patrol & Customs. The scale of this problem beggar’s belief. The cartels have resources like Amazon or Apple or some small countries. In their mind, the cops are just like shrinkage in retail, cost of doing business. I don’t have an answer, I’m ok with secure borders, every county has a right to secure their borders. And I’m more for prevention & recovery programs than large scale incarceration.

So, todays call... a drunk driver.

We have a team dedicated to this, they prowl the roads looking for drunk drivers. They are certified in the Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST). Not every officer can give this, it's a 40 hour class with an bi-annual recertification required.

Anyhow, on patrol, officers witnesses a traffic violation (crossing the line, failure to stop, etc.). Camera on, follow them for a bit to capture video of "a drunk car" (weaving, speeding, etc.). Showing a "drunk car" to a jury is a great way to get a conviction. The traffic violation is your probable cause (PC) for the stop, so you pull them over. You ID the driver, ask them are they a diabetic or some other medical condition which could impair them. All good. You observe glassy eyes, slurred speech & the odor of what may be alcoholic beverages on or about their person. That's PC to get them out of the car for the SFST. A this point you'll have a backup officer there too (we're generally one officer units). We make the stop on a safe place, try and get into a car park of something.

The SFST trained officer then administers the test. You've seen it on YouTube (or you can look it up), its the alphabet reciting, heel-toe walk, checking the eyes, etc. All this is done on level ground, you've made sure they dont have a limp, understand English as a language, no other weird medical condition. Test is administered on camera. Subject fails the test, I now have grounds to arrest for DUI (Driving Under Influence), cuffs go on, into the car you go. My partner will check their car and take pictures of any relevant evidence, empty beer cans/bottles etc.

Their car is towed, partner usually does the towing paperwork for me. I take the perp to jail. Here the SFST is administered again (after they are booked in), in a nice, comfy, well lit room by another officer and this too is recorded on video. Subject is also breathalyzed via machine. While this little game is going on, I'm furiously typing on my laptop to generate a search warrant for the duty judge to sign. If I want their blood for a test, the courts here have ruled that is a search, ergo I need a warrant. Given I'm trying to articulate they are intoxicated, any consent given would be challenged by an attorney and the case thrown out. Warrant in hand, usually done by the time the second SFST is done. One of the nurses assigned to the jail will draw the blood.

Blood is then submitted as evidence for analysis and off I go for a nice long report writing. Then, as in previous calls, reports are reviewed & submitted as is the video. I'll write the perp a warning for the traffic violation as opposed to a ticket. Why? Because a warning holds no penalty or sanction, therefore it cannot be challenged in court. This preserves the legality of my initial traffic stop. If I write a actual ticket, an attorney will try and get that thrown out for whatever reason. If the stop is throw out, then the rest of the DUI is as well as, under law, if it was not a lawful & proper stop, then anything I do after that is "fruits of the poisioned tree" and can't be used.

An average DUI from start to finish takes about 2-3 hours to process. Its good to get the drunk s off the road, but man, it's paperwork intensive.

Be safe. I'm off this weekend, so keep the questions coming, I should have the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭OEP

What's the need for the sobriety test over just breathalysing and then blood test at the station?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Did ye ever have a serial killer/rapist in your juristiction?

Do you plan on coming home or are you there for good?

Does the fact you're not American affect how people deal with you as a cop? I've wondered before how foreign police officers (be it Gardaí or whatever) would be treated. My guess is most wouldn't care one way or the other, but the fringe elements would use it as an excuse to kick off?

Secondly, with race relations and America first ramping up in the last few years, does your irishness get held against you? Or is the fact you're White (i assume, sorry if I'm making a leap) outweigh any foreignness?

What's the need for the sobriety test over just breathalyzing and then blood test at the station?

DUI’s are a very well-worn path in the court system. It has been litigated to death over the years as it is such a common offense. There are whole firms of defense attorneys who do nothing but DUI cases. In my patch, even if you get it kicked out of court, it’s going to cost you neatly $10k in fees & court costs. Lawyers have picked apart every single part of the process, so the process is designed to be as watertight as possible. I had one case where the defense attorney tried to argue the alcohol swab the nurse used to sterilize the site for the blood draw could have tainted the sample, therefore the case had no merit. The judge overruled it, but the jury heard it. Despite that, we got a conviction. This is the sort of thing we’re up against, painful. But now, the medics use a alcohol free wipe just in case…..

The initial traffic violation gives me the PC for the stop. You want a good, clear legal violation on camera. Can’t argue that illegality. Next step is me articulating the odor of alcohol, bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, etc. Those give me the PC to get you out of the car and take the test. The sobriety test gives me the PC to arrest you for DUI. The blood test & station breathalyzer are my “proof beyond a reasonable doubt” you are drunk.
    The sobriety test is a science based; court tested means of determining a degree of intoxication in the field. It requires no special equipment (other than a week-long training course) and has stood the test of time and court scrutiny. Here, for reasons not entirely clear to me, the portable breathalyzers like the Gardai & UK cops use have not stood up to the scrutiny of a court challenge. I’m sure those were kicked out in a case or two, and that was the end of that.

Did ye ever have a serial killer/rapist in your jurisdiction?

Yes, had both. It’s unnerving for the public & people get on edge. We get more calls for suspicious persons, suspicious cars, prowlers’ sort of thing. Day to day it doesn’t affect us on patrol as such other than the call volume rises. Depending on the situation, we may get extra patrol officers on the street. It reassures the public to see the cars out there. Honestly, the majority of these cases fall on the detectives doing the investigation. The public & policy makers get impatient, their opinions shaped by the TV/movies, expect we get answers back in hours as opposed to the reality of weeks & months. DNA for example, a “rush” DNA sample still might take 2-3 months to come back from the lab. Likewise, with phones, social media companies, etc. Getting that stuff back takes ages. Frustrating. Detectives will get pulled off other cases to help with this, but their workload still keeps piling up. It’s not like the rest of the criminal world takes a holiday. Public pressure can shake loose extra OT for the investigators, but there are still only so many hours in a day. Good news is we did bring the last few to justice, although we do have a triple murder from the mid 1980’s which remains unsolved.

Do you plan on coming home or are you there for good?

Really don’t know. Wife & I talk a lot about retirement as it is only a few years away. As much as I miss Ireland, I’ve been over here a long time & sadly, Ireland is pricing itself out of my market.

Does the fact you're not American affect how people deal with you as a cop? I've wondered before how foreign police officers (be it Gardaí or whatever) would be treated. My guess is most wouldn't care one way or the other, but the fringe elements would use it as an excuse to kick off?

Not really, my accent is a bit diluted at this point so it’s rarely noticed. Those who want to kick off were probably going to do it anyhow, regardless of the cop’s accent. Lately the fringe elements are trending towards white nationalists, and they are only interested in their very weird interpretation of the law, not so much our accents. I did meet a fellow Mick in Washington DC who is a cop up there, and he owns an Irish pub there too!

Secondly, with race relations and America first ramping up in the last few years, does your Irishness get held against you? Or is the fact you're White (I assume, sorry if I'm making a leap) outweigh any foreignness?

Yes, I’m white and sunburn easily, but at least I’m not a ginger 😊 and no the Irish thing really doesn’t come up. The race relations thing is a complex subject for sure, I spoke to this on the previous AMA if interested. The White nationalists/MAGA types tend to be vocal about supporting the police, but then only when it suits them as evidenced by the US Capitol riots. For a group that claims to support LE and cops, they had a remarkable funny way of displaying it.

Cops tend to bear the brunt of unpopular laws & policies; you saw this in Ireland with the water protests. I mean its not like the Gardai made those laws about water meters, but they sure took it on the chin about it. Same over here, yes, we have some work to do as a society, and as a subset of that in LE, on race relations, and I vehemently support your right for lawful, peaceful protests, even if you are protesting the police themselves, just don’t start throwing stones & petrol bombs. It won’t end well for either side.

Serious traffic accident....we'll be dispatched concurrent with fire & EMS. We all arrive, lets say two vehicles on a major road, serious injuries. EMS & fire will have priority of effort to save lives. They work on medical interventions, patient extrication & transport.

We'll block traffic as needed to allow fire & EMS to work. Our primary officer, which is usually the first LE on scene, will coordinate the efforts of the other cops, request more units, whatever. We'll close lanes, put out cones, whatever we need to do. We'll say I'm primary for this one for the sake of discussion.

I'll quickly ask the paramedics how critical is it. If its serious injury with possibility of death, I'll notify a SGT and request a Traffic Corps unit. They are the accident investigators, which is a sub-specialty derived by attending a specialist course. Depending on how busy the medics are, I'll try and at least get a drivers license off each driver to ID them. One of my partners will make arrangements for towing the wrecked cars (contracted to private towing companies) and another will start taking pictures. Pictures usually start generally away from the scene & move closer, capturing things like road conditions, street signs, traffic lights, skid marks, etc. Each car will be photographed from all angles to document damage, orientation, any anything inside of evidence value (alcohol bottles, etc.). One of us will identify any witnesses, get their names and statements if we have time.

The accident investigator arrives he/she will get a quick briefing, and they'll set to work taking measurements, drawing diagrams, getting angles, etc. Medics will let us know which hospital the patients are going to and they'll transport. Once we have everything we need, we'll let the tow trucks haul the cars off & open the road. This (aside from the medical part which goes very quickly) could take over an hour, so those of us directing the traffic, in 45 degree Celsius heat wearing a Kevlar vest and polyester get to hear all about it from the good citizens about how we've caused a traffic jam, and "all we're doing is directing traffic and holding them up". Lovely people, eh?

Once the scene is secure, we'll compile all our information, and pass it on to the accident investigator. They'll get emailed all our pics, etc. They head off to the hospital to get an update on the status of the victims. If they are able, he/she will get statements, if not, note how serious it is for follow up. I'll go find a spot, park up and jam out my report along with some state required data entries. The investigator will write up their report and draw a digital sketch of the accident using software which renders really cool sketches of the scene. They will also draft up a subpoena for their medical records to include their blood work to see if there are intoxicants. If based, on what we observed on scene & witness statements, a violator will be issued a ticket for any traffic code volitions (lets say they ran a light) we can articulate on scene through witness statements, etc. A subsequent finding of a high blood alcohol level can lead to a DUI charge as well.

All this gets entered into the data system to be followed up by the traffic investigators. If one of them dies, it goes over to homicide for investigation and a detective will be assigned for follow up.

If no one dies, at this point, assuming no more tickets are issued, then it's done for us. They can go to court over the ticket or not, up to them. Now they can all argue over fault, insurance, medical bills and so on. This is why you never see a starving lawyer on the side of the road with a sign saying "will work for food" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Given the centralised recruitment set up here in Ireland, which to the best of my knowledge is competitive, given that there are lot more applicants that places when Garda recruitment does take place, what is recruitment like in America? Is wanting to become a police officer in demand? Is it seen as a desirable job? Do you see many sons and daughters of police officers follow their parents into the job? Do you get many people from a wide variety of backgrounds and experience and education applying?

Given the centralized recruitment set up here in Ireland, which to the best of my knowledge is competitive, given that there are lot more applicants than places when Garda recruitment does take place, what is recruitment like in America?

Given that each LE agency is an island, each agency recruits their own officers based on what they need. Very broadly, the larger agencies will have an ongoing recruitment campaign and start a class each year. Most police academies are about six months long, so a class a year is manageable for most departments. This keeps up with wastage for retirement, separations, resignations, etc. and expansion of the department due to growth. Smaller agencies who aren’t big enough to run an academy will recruit as needed, the applicants will have to be already trained either coming from another force or from a stand-alone academy run by a college (roughly equivalent to a regional Institute of Technology in Ireland).

Is wanting to become a police officer in demand?

In the US there is a shortage of police officers nationally. A combination of a hot economy, LE seen as a less attractive career due to civil unrest, and a generation of younger people who don’t feel wedded to a single career. There has been a slight uptick in earlier retirements this year due to the unrest as well compounding the problem. Previous criminal record, bad driving record & poor credit disbar a lot of people too, so the pool gets smaller just with those restrictions too.

Is it seen as a desirable job?

For some yes, others no. In the US there is an overall trend away from traditional blue-collar jobs, for the past four years we’ve had an administration demonize the idea of public service, and the civil unrest has turned a lot of people away. You’ll never get rich being a cop, and depending on where you live, its hard to start out on $50K/year when that won’t qualify you for a loan for anything bigger than a shoebox. You can go into the private sector, in some cases, especially the IT world, nearly double your money, not work nights & weekends, not fight with people & get hurt…just saying’.

Do you see many sons and daughters of police officers follow their parents into the job?

Yeah, to a small extent. One of my colleague’s daughter just graduated, he is proud and we have a few more like that in my agency. Cops marry cops a fair bit too, not uncommon to see police couples. It’s murder on the family life, childcare, & holidays, but they make it work.

Do you get many people from a wide variety of backgrounds and experience and education applying?

Absolutely, applicants are as varied as the day is long. We seem to attract a fair few ex-forces types, which doesn’t surprise me. There is a lot in common between the structure of the military & LE. We have the range from college graduates, trades, career changes, teachers, the full gamut. A varied background and a broad life experience generally helps on the application.

I'm sure this will be of interest...a broad look at a homicide call.

We'll say the calls comes in as a shooting, so priority response. We'll get there, enter the scene, watching for the perp & to provide assistance to the victim. For this example, it'll be a suburban house, shooter has scarpered. Victim is dead, we'll clear the house, get anyone there out hands up, they may get cuffed until we sort this out. Backup will sort through who they are.

Once its safe, we'll call EMS in, they will do the field pronouncement, and leave. At this point, we know it's a crime scene, so we'll back, post an officer at the door and no one else goes in. Outside we'll sort out witnesses, get a description of the perp, get that out over the radio and start figuring out what happened. our SGT will most likely be here by now, he'll notify the on call detective and get them moving our way along with the Crime Scene Team (CST) and the Medical Examiners Office (ME). We're getting witness statements, protecting any evidence we may see outside, shell casings, vehicles, security cameras, etc.

The primary officer will start working up a search warrant for the house & get that to the duty judge. CID, CST & ME are here by now, probably about 90 minutes later depending on where we are & time of day. We'll do a briefing with all them on what we know, CID takes over. Once we have the warrant (we have a 24 hour on call judge), CID and CST will do a walk through of the house, just two of them. CST will usually video this and of course they are all suited up in bunny suits. The detective will coordinate with CST for what they want photographed, recorded and so on. Any evidence will be protected & tagged. Once all that's secure, picked up & bagged by the CST techs, they will focus on the body, pictures, etc. They'll take measurements, draw sketches until CID is satisficed. At that point, the ME will be allowed in, they take some basic evidence on the body, temperature, location of obvious wounds, etc. They'll use the CST for any additional pictures, evidence required etc. Once CID & the ME are happy, then the body will be removed for autopsy.

At this point, usually a few hours in, we'll all confer again, answer any CID questions and hand any evidence over to the CST. If, for whatever reason, CID wants to maintain the scene for further investigation, we'll seal it up and keep a officer there to secure it. Even with a warrant, we usually can't go past 72 hours without a judge signing off.

At that point, we'll write our reports, upload all our pictures, send everything in and get on with our shift. The investigation then reverts to CID for their part of it. These calls take hours and get tedious & hot but part of the job.

Things the movies get wrong (which is most of it really).

Rooms full of uniforms wombling around looking at things. That destroys evidence, we control who goes in & out to protect the scene and preserve evidence. Once we secure the scene & confirm the vic is dead, we wait for CID etc. CID & CST will process the scene, we stay out. Any subsequent arriving detectives, captains, etc. stay outside until they are cleared to enter. More people in there is more evidence lost and they'd all have to write a report too.

Cops picking up guns & evidence and drawing conclusions. We leave evidence in place until it has been photographed, measured, documented. Then is it carefully picked up, placed in a paper evidence bag, tagged and sent to the lab. Sure, we'll note, "This 9mm Glock may be the weapon" but the lab makes that determination later.

Why a warrant? A warrant gives us the right to search the whole building. It's not required as such, however, it gives us the right to search anything. If the victim is downstairs, other than a brief safety sweep to make sure no one else is up there (second storey), LE doesn't have an inherent right to be up there. If we went up there, secured evidence, it could be thrown out in court. So a warrant gives us the right to search the house and any containers therein.

Medical Examiner coming up with "well he was probably stabbed by a 6ft, right handed person standing over there". Yep, if there is a body there with a knife in the chest, they'll say "likely cause of death stabbing" but beyond a no-brainer like that, they won't say much. Sure, they'll say they see blood pooling, bruises & so on, but generally won't speculate as to the cause of death. In our patch, the ME team are technicians, the actual ME rarely if ever comes to the scene. They do the autopsy back at the morgue, no real need for them to be there.

Family members allowed to see the vic. Nope, never happens, no one is allowed in, regardless of how upset & emotional they are. Our Victim Services will deal with them, but they are kept away. As the ME team are working, if they find ID documents on the body, we'll use that to ID informally until the vic. gets to the morgue. If the family says, that was my son Johnny, and the license says it's Johnny, the neighbours say its Johnny, its rare the family will be brought to the morgue for the dramatic pulling back of the sheet.

If it's a John/Jane Doe, we use DNA, fingerprints, photo matching software for driver license pictures for ID. Family may be shown photos, but its rare they'll be allowed see the body. it unnecessary trauma for them and dead bodies, especially post autopsy don't look so good.

Back to work tomorrow, so hopefully I'll have a bit of time after work for more questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭1874

Just found this thread,off to start reading the rest, but how do you deal with firearms at a crime scene regarding making them safe or determining they are safe before bagging them as evidence, without contaminating them? is there anything specific to do? or just latex gloves and make safe after an initial photo and recording of layout?

This tweet appeared in my timeline: https://twitter.com/AshleyAtTimes/status/1357913265809072132

How would this be viewed in your own department? I'm trying to imagine a member of the Gardaí wearing a party badge on their uniform and can't, I don't see how this can be allowed and it's mad to me that another officer didn't say/do anything here. Especially after all that happened in Washington...

Just found this thread, off to start reading the rest, but how do you deal with firearms at a crime scene regarding making them safe or determining they are safe before bagging them as evidence, without contaminating them? is there anything specific to do? or just latex gloves and make safe after an initial photo and recording of layout?

Welcome aboard as they say in the Navy. Enjoy the thread and don’t be afraid to ask more questions. Guns on a scene are photographed & documented in place, then wearing latex gloves, they will be made safe, i.e., unloaded & chamber cleared. We can then run the serial number on scene and see if it’s in the stolen firearms database. We’ll run a red zip tie through the chamber, to keep it safe, then it’s boxed up and off to the lab. This is all accomplished wearing latex gloves with a little manipulation as possible. At the lab they will try and print it, although pistols are notoriously difficult to get prints off. Depending on the needs of the detective, they will do whatever ballistics are needed and some other testing. It’s kept as evidence until after the trail then. If it was stolen and we can find the owner, if they want it back, we’ll return it to them. If not or we can’t find an owner, it’s destroyed, we don’t auction off seized guns nor do we keep them for dept. use. Too much liability.

How would this be viewed in your own department? I'm trying to imagine a member of the Gardaí wearing a party badge on their uniform and can't, I don't see how this can be allowed and it's mad to me that another officer
    didn't say/do anything here.

Especially after all that happened in Washington.
    Epic fail FFS!! I’m sure this has already gone to IA or whatever they have in NYPD. And the idiot wearing it deserves whatever they get. That’s just dumb. In my dept, it would get a sanction, probably not termination, but you’d get a black mark in the file, which means you are ineligible for promotion or special assignments for a year, and probably time off. And deservedly so. We all have our personal opinions on everything, but once at work, we have to be neutral on anything outside our job.
    As a related matter, here is a great example of where some of the police unions are failing to see the larger picture. This officer is certainly entitled to a robust defense in whatever HR process they have, and in my mind, other than ensuring the NYPD followed all the HR rules, what is there to defend? It’s plainly a policy violation (without knowing their SOPs), end of. But some unions have an embedded “us vs. them” mentality and dig their heels in on everything in the name of defending their members. (see my earlier posts about political endorsements). In the long term, this leads to states passing more and more restrictions on union activities, so long term we’ll lose (I’m a union member BTW). FOP come across as pretty much against everything, I think if a dept. gave their members gold watches, the FOP would be complaining they wanted Apple watches and its another example of how the dept. is screwing its members. Being reasonable gets you further in the long-term IMHO, but we are where we are.

What happens to money, things and/or drugs seized at crimes?

dulpit wrote: »

Use it and keep it of course.... ;-)

Is there certain parts that could or should be outsourced to civilian....

Do you bust a tail light like Homer Simpson had the misfortune of happening?

Does bribes ever come up much?

How has your working week been.

Items seized are cataloged, and stored (it’s all evidence one way or another) until the trail and any subsequent trails/appeals are completed, then it is disposed of. Stolen property, if we can find the owner, will be returned once all is said & done. Stuff like drugs, especially those huge seizures, are of course destroyed in an incinerator. Usually, a sample from each container is saved for the trail after testing & certification, the rest is destroyed. Guns, which can’t be returned are destroyed by cutting up, most agencies won’t keep a criminal gun, you don’t know the history of it. Won’t do to find out years later one of your officers is carrying a gun which was used in a robbery or murder. Real property like houses, cars, boats, etc. are auctioned off to the public. An agency, under some of the laws, can apply to keep an item like a car or boat for agency use, but it doesn’t happen as much as one would think. That stuff has to be nearly new for that to happen as they don’t want the liability of not knowing the maintenance history of the item. Seizures of cash, that goes to the state or federal govt. It can be shared with local agencies if it was seized and they were a partner in the case, it’s a sliding scale percentage.

Are there certain parts that could or should be outsourced to civilian?

Police work itself; I don’t think so. We have robust civilian support, unlike the Gardai, we only use officers for inherently law enforcement functions. All our 911 call takers & dispatchers are civilians, all our evidence techs (think CSI), our photograph & video section, crime scene teams, lab, computer forensics, and the usual admin support are all non-sworn positions. Sure, we do have some badges riding a desk, those are mostly the chain of command types, and of course detectives. From the outside, the Garda seem to have a lot more badges doing things which (from the outside) could be civilianized, basically most of the above. A Garda doesn’t need to be answering 999 calls and talking on the radio, that is not an inherently LE function. Put the badges on the street, civilians are cheaper and it’s a better use of the police.

Do you bust a tail light like Homer Simpson had the misfortune of happening?

No, but if you ever see a closeup of Chief Wiggins badge, it does say “cash” on it. Cute 😊

Does bribes ever come up much?

Not really. I suppose it’s the movies that have given the public we’re getting suitcases of cash from the bad guys. Has it happened, sure, but it’s certainly not the norm by any means. Sure, you’ll get the occasional “suggestion” on a traffic stop, but that’s about it in my experience. Some restaurants give us a discount on a meal (in uniform) and the odd free cuppa but it doesn’t go beyond that. And they’ll usually do the same for fire & EMS, so it’s hardly anything to write home about.

How has your working week been?

Average thus far. My last shift went like this:

Get in district, secure coffee 😊 start patrolling the neighbourhood (I’m in a car). Handled a few noisy neighbour calls. IE: “Hey guys, can ya turn the music down?”, no issue, happy to comply.

Family disturbance, girlfriend/boyfriend fighting. He’d left when we got there, took report, etc. She didn’t want any medical, and really wanted us to leave, probably as she reeked of MJ. Quick report, no one arrested.

Stopped to assist a motorist, pushed them off the road and waited for a family member to arrive and get the car started.

Shots fired call, made contact with caller, no evidence of shots, probably fireworks. Fight a burger joint between employees. Helped secure the scene while another unit sorted it out.

Left that to go to another noisy neighbour call…apartments, caller claimed his upstairs neighbour was “walking too loudly” (I’m not making this up). Told them to take it up with landlord.

Traffic stop on a red light runner, ticket issued.

As Fridays go, it was handy enough. Pretty average really.

Are you always keeping an eye out for crimes, even when off duty? A guy I know is a garda, he was telling me he was out once at a garage on a day off, and some eejit shot out of the place without paying and took off. He said he'd have followed him himself except he had his kids, so he rang his station and they picked him up pretty quickly.

I assume it's a job that you're never really not doing?

Are you always keeping an eye out for crimes, even when off duty? A guy I know is a Garda, he was telling me he was out once at a garage on a day off, and some eejit shot out of the place without paying and took off. He said he'd have followed him himself except he had his kids, so he rang his station and they picked him up pretty quickly.

I assume it's a job that you're never really not doing?

To a point yes. Your street awareness never really goes away, as it becomes instinct. Certain things will always catch the eye which the public are not aware of because they won't have the awareness of what to look for. As for intervening, it's very situation dependent.

Most agencies have a policy which covers this, ours, which is fairly typical, has wording to the effect of "off duty officers may intervene if they can do so safely in order to protect life or stop a felony, but must be aware of the totality of circumstances and understand they are not on duty and thus may not be eligible for certain protections" Basically, we have the ability to do so, but do it carefully and know we (the agency) may not protect you if you do something stupid, and we'll think about covering you if you get hurt. Really, unless its life or death, it's better to be a good witness, call it in, give good descriptions and let the uniforms handle it. You are in civilian clothing, and if you have a gun, the responding officers wont see your badge, they will see a gun , so there is risk there.

I've only done it twice, once at a festival where a guy punched a girl right beside me, so I brought him down and detained him until security arrived and handed it off to them. Other time was where a fella hit a mate with his car (we were walking on the path & he hit me mate as he was coming out of a driveway), so, badged him, he was compliant, and waited for the uniforms to show up.

Most of us are well able to separate work from our life, and if I'm out with herself, I don't want to bring work into it unless I have to. Nothing like telling your partner, "Hey, lovely evening, nice meal, now we'll pop over to the station while I fill out some paperwork and talk to a SGT, you sit here in the waiting room....." You get my point :-)