Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that I'm not buying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,717 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

If you do have a garage, I'd go for the convertible :cool:

Looking at getting my first classic car. Not a mechanic at all but intend learning the basics as I go and know a decent local mechanic that won't rip me off. Thoughts on these MGs would be appreciated :

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1976-mg-roadster-convertible-with-overdrive-/21356443

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mgb-gt/19887528

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mg-b-convertible-/19424382

Have settled on MG as prefer the real old styling

I'd hold out for one with the chrome bumpers.
    The rubber ones look absolutely muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I'd hold out for one with the chrome bumpers.
    The rubber ones look absolutely muck

They do.

Could they not be easily switched?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

They do.

Could they not be easily switched?

They can. Need to get a new grill too when you change from rubber to chrome so not sure of the cost overall but can be done. Some recommend the rubber bumper for less damage if it's a day-today driver but I agree that chrome looks much better. I'll be just a weekend driver doing short enough distances.

I have a garage but it was converted to use as an office before I moved there so now it's storage and man cave area. Not sure if I can sacrifice that for the car as wife loves the space for the pool table and drinks. Was thinking of a shelter or lean-to just outside the garage as there's a wall to one side and then use a car cover. I'll look into re-arranging the garage as I know dry storage would be the best way to maintain car and value, but it'll be a tight fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭11wingnut

volvo gone already.. was it a scam?

It seemed pretty genuine to me. The photos were definitely taken in Ireland anyway, scam ads tend to use photos taken in typically English settings

That was far too cheap. I bet the new owner is feeling very pleased with himself right now :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

unkel wrote: »
    That was far too cheap. I bet the new owner is feeling very pleased with himself right now :D
    Especially with all that Nigerian Prince's gold on its way. :pac:

How much was it down for? Ad is gone.

EDIT: Just saw your 7.5k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

The heady days of pure luxury. Looking at that I can almost smell the cow.

That is utterly beautiful

CD multi changer n all..
    Even has dealer sticker on rear window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭w124man

Hang on now lads. Its a C126 and this one doesn't sit right and they are not all they are cracked up to be. They leak, they rust and parts are, if you can get them, eye wateringly expensive. As for the dealer sticker, come on, its yer man Conlon in Kildare, hardly a Mercedes dealer. Maybe a dealer in rusty old Mercs from across the water!

I'm 20 years into the 126 and I can spot a heap a mile away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

swarlb wrote: »

If it's as good as it looks it's a bargain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭MrCostington

Mini '80 (or '81) E3,100

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mini-1000/21396135

Ad says 1980 but ncts.ie says 1981, no NCT. Looks nice though!

MWI5OWViMTJlNmU3ZTFkODliOTY0N2E0YThmZDQzZTX8frsyB8mWMnEQOX5bKSG_aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjEwNjY0NTR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

w124man wrote: »
    Hang on now lads. Its a C126 and this one doesn't sit right and they are not all they are cracked up to be. They leak, they rust and parts are, if you can get them, eye wateringly expensive. As for the dealer sticker, come on, its yer man Conlon in Kildare, hardly a Mercedes dealer. Maybe a dealer in rusty old Mercs from across the water!

Agreed they are eye wateringly expensive to do anything with,even put fuel into. But it it is stunningly beautiful. The chap who bought that new was at the top of the heap. That was probably the price of a small country in Africa:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭McCrack

Boo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭supervento

Pretty similar to w124’s then really...

Is it not the same Conlons that have Peugeot, BMW - Mini, Jaguar & Land Rover franchise garages. I didn’t think they would be importing rusty old cars... or old cars in general.... I think is wrong to assume the car passed through their hands anyway just because their stickers and number plate surroundings are on the car....

considering the money he is looking to sell this c126 you would be delusional to expect a mint car to be fair...

i think it’s the poor photos which make it look like not sitting correctly.

Maybe the ground is not level. In any case, if it's just tired springs/shocks not a big deal to fix? Assuming the rest of it is solid enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Maybe the ground is not level. In any case, if it's just tired springs/shocks not a big deal to fix?
    It depends, some of them are equipped with self leveling suspension, so may be a bit trickier.

Ah, OK, didn't know that, w124man make a fair point then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Ah, OK, didn't know that, w124man make a fair point then
    That applies to W124 also ;).

supervento wrote: »

Pretty similar to w124’s then really...

Indeed but the spares are still available at (mostly) reasonable prices and early 124's are far better built than those from '93 onwards and don't rust anything like a 126. A set of springs for that C126 will set you back almost €800 if you can get them

you can get Eibach springs for about €250 for a set for a c126 which would be the same price of springs for a W124. The genuine parts are eye watering alright...

I used Eibach and H&R stuff in the past and wouldn't do it again. Springs sagged after about three years. A pair of genuine MB front springs for a 124 saloon are €120 each plus VAT

Oh ya, did you get sorted under warranty for these items?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,592 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Pics are dreadful, but it looks tidy. Still an awful long time to go on the 1.3l tax (€358) before it's vintage. Maybe if you have plenty of free storage, haggle hard and put it away?

Looking at getting my first classic car. Not a mechanic at all but intend learning the basics as I go and know a decent local mechanic that won't rip me off. Thoughts on these MGs would be appreciated :

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1976-mg-roadster-convertible-with-overdrive-/21356443

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mgb-gt/19887528

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mg-b-convertible-/19424382

Have settled on MG as prefer the real old styling and parts etc should be fairly easily found. I'd probably be squeezing into a midget. A Ford Capri would be lovely too, but out of budget for now. Ones available in budget don't look like safe bets.

A few over on car and classic too don't forget...

https://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C1092842

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

A few over on car and classic too don't forget...
    https://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C1092842

Not Irish though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1984-volvo-760-gle-53k-miles-very-rare-early-model/21425126

NGUyNDY1MTY3MzE4ZmY5YTE2ZWNjMzM1YWEzMDk4NmEPY--gmmWlYsgPJe2jy5IzaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjEyNzYwNDN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Early Volvo
    My Dad had one of these, 1983 model, same colour, same green velour interior, had a boot spoiler too though and was TurboDiesel

They really are built like a tank, bodies are galvanised too so rust is never a problem.

http://m.classicandvintage.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=2257508&r=

Love the colour. Stiff asking price though.

And I'm not so sure about the seller saying: "Long term owner 1988-2018". The car was imported into Ireland in September / early October 2017 at the latest. I know because I brought a car in myself with a ZV number just below that one. But surely a quick phone call would explain that. Perhaps just a slight exaggerration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,217 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

And I'm not so sure about the seller saying: "Long term owner 1988-2018". The car was imported into Ireland in September / early October 2017 at the latest. I know because I brought a car in myself with a ZV number just below that one. But surely a quick phone call would explain that. Perhaps just a slight exaggerration.
    That dealer would take air and price it at €4950.
    Big windows at that place. Well known for it in the classic scene. Always has a stand at Terenure, and I always laugh at his prices when walking past, could fill the "dreamer" thread just on his own!

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steinbock123

Nice comfortable bus them Volvos, but an old boss of mine years ago had one, and boy did it like a drink! He had plenty of money but was always complaining of how thirsty it was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Could it have been an earlier import on an age plate that's been swapped over to zv more recently?

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Could it have been an earlier import on an age plate that's been swapped over to zv more recently?

Yes that's possible theoretically. Very unlikely that's what happened this car though, with the same dude owning this car for 30 years :D

i know its not a bargain but eh, nice to see an e30 for sale in any case....

https://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C1094299

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭oceanman

supervento wrote: »
    i know its not a bargain but eh, nice to see an e30 for sale in any case....

https://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C1094299
    nice but well over priced.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-200-low-miles-pristine-cond/21450441

NmMwOTUyOTZiMmQyMWNiYmY2YTg0MTUyNmQ2YmM5YmNBaSoPY9d10sQS-foUYklEaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjE0ODQ5OTd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

W124 with 38k miles, €5500

Not a bad price at all if its as good as described. Pity its base spec though

This guy seems to have some nice Mercs on the regular

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1990-mercedes-190e-w201-tax-new-nct/21264144

NWU4MjQ4NDk3Mjk0MDFhYTY1ZWRlNTQ0ODliZjc4N2XER7hqXpMDV3g5JBIwGR8haHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjAwOTk3NjF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NTVkNzc5MjdiYWQ1MTkzOWRiMTgxOWI4MTQ5YzJhYzgeGYoWUsx3nMLegb4TSYlZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjAwOTk3NjR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

This is a bloody cracking looking 190E for less than €4k!! NCT for a year, bit of tax, low owners and reasonably small miles too.

I'd have this in a heartbeat if I had the cash spare. Classic tax next year as well

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1990-mercedes-190e-w201-tax-new-nct/21264144

Surprised this hasn't sold. Now €3500 down from 3750. Suppose full rate tax is holding it back, even if its only for a few more months!

That's great value in my book, Duke. I have my own one up for sale now too on DD. It's an incredibly good and clean car, drives superbly, not a rattle. Just 90k miles. Long NCT and tax. I'm told I'm not allowed to keep it though, and I suppose I shouldn't, seeing as I don't have a garage.

Can you spot it? :)

Saw it alright ;)

Thought I better let you do the honours of posting it here before I did though

I will gladly let you do the honours. Don't they say it's better not to blow your own trumpet? :)

Obviously only if you feel my car merits a place in this thread.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-190/21393720

YTMxZGJlNGJiNDgzOWE5MzUxY2UwZGQ5ZTY3Y2IxMmUDN9KCPO9m40U2RPYrZjI-aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjEwNDc4MzB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Loadsa test, loadsa tax, nice colour (but dark wheels do it no favours :o) - €3900

Posted with permission!

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-200-low-miles-pristine-cond/21450441

NmMwOTUyOTZiMmQyMWNiYmY2YTg0MTUyNmQ2YmM5YmNBaSoPY9d10sQS-foUYklEaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjE0ODQ5OTd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

W124 with 38k miles, €5500

Not a bad price at all if its as good as described. Pity its base spec though

This guy seems to have some nice Mercs on the regular

Seemingly sold already

Not even 24 hours online

Didn't get a single call on my car. Ah well. Back into garage

What car are you selling? any link...