Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Highest HIV level in western Europe, well done Ireland.

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

It's grand lads. It's just like chicken pox, you can only get it once.

Oh dear...stop being bored at work and consult doctor google.

No wonder AIDS is spreading in Ireland.

Natural selection.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 SKILFUL

blanch152 wrote: »
    It hasn't risen among people born in Ireland, as the figures I produced have shown.

Diversity is our strength

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

So it's mainly the MSM community?

That's the fake news alright.

I dont know if it mainly is but it undoubtedly disproportionately affects the gay community, its because HIV is passed much easier through anal sex than vaginal sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,809 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Mod NoteIf you make a statement about a group back it up with facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Or its the whole idea that bringing in infected people into your country to endanger and destroy the lives of other people is not a good idea.

Here's a case study:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/man-who-infected-two-partners-with-hiv-jailed-for-ten-years-1.3577406

And it is more of a gay promiscuity issue, the statistics back that up.

Thats just the Bad AIDS tho tbf

Or its the whole idea that bringing in infected people into your country to endanger and destroy the lives of other people is not a good idea.

Here's a case study:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/man-who-infected-two-partners-with-hiv-jailed-for-ten-years-1.3577406

And it is more of a gay promiscuity issue, the statistics back that up.

Thats a newspaper article- paywalled- not a case study dear

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

I've had this argument before, I think Prep is a huge step in the wrong direction. As good the intentions were of the people who created the drug, it is grossly misused and is essentially a party drug, allowing people to have unprotected sex with less consequences, however, the issues caused by this are

1)Prep reduces the chances of HIV infection, it does not protect against any other STI, meaning greater transmission rates (gonorrhea and chlamydia especially)

but worse

2)HIV, like all viruses, has stronger and weaker strains, Prep reduces the infection rate, but does not fully prevent transmission, the stronger version of HIV get through and propagate, and the weaker ones are prevented and die off, it doesn't take an evolutionary biologist to realize how dangerous that is.

The original article in the OP is dangerously stupid, HIV rates were dropping because of education, condom uses massively reduced infection rates, these rates are rising again partly due to Prep, but also a resurgence in hookup culture, with apps like Grindr being hugely responsible, but I guess there's not much to be done about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

old_aussie wrote: »
    Oh dear...stop being bored at work and consult doctor google.

No wonder AIDS is spreading in Ireland.

Natural selection.
    They were joking.

HIV not aids.

Should having sex have more consequences? That sounds like a judgement call.

Filthy Jezebels

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

lbc2019 wrote: »

lbc2019 supports ruining the lives of women being infected by a man who shouldn't have been allowed into the country.

but at least you're not a bigot! :pac:

lbc2019 supports ruining the lives of women being infected by a man who shouldn't have been allowed into the country.

Where did you pull that wild assertion from?

retract it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

HIV disproportionately affecting the gay community(in the western world ) would be verging on common knowledge, I would have thought

'Gay and bisexual menc are the population most affected by HIV. In 2017, gay and bisexual men accounted for 66% (25,748) of all HIV diagnoses and 82% of diagnoses among males in the United States.d'

https://www.cdc.gov/hiv/statistics/overview/ataglance.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

El_Bee wrote: »
    I've had this argument before, I think Prep is a huge step in the wrong direction. As good the intentions were of the people who created the drug, it is grossly misused and is essentially a party drug, allowing people to have unprotected sex with less consequences, however, the issues caused by this are

1)Prep reduces the chances of HIV infection, it does not protect against any other STI, meaning greater transmission rates (gonorrhea and chlamydia especially)

but worse

2)HIV, like all viruses, has stronger and weaker strains, Prep reduces the infection rate, but does not fully prevent transmission, the stronger version of HIV get through and propagate, and the weaker ones are prevented and die off, it doesn't take an evolutionary biologist to realize how dangerous that is.

The original article in the OP is dangerously stupid, HIV rates were dropping because of education, condom uses massively reduced infection rates, these rates are rising again partly due to Prep, but also a resurgence in hookup culture, with apps like Grindr being hugely responsible, but I guess there's not much to be done about that.

I'd rather get the other STI's you mentioned than HIV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 SKILFUL

Toxoplasmosis

wakka12 wrote: »
    HIV disproportionately affecting the gay community(in the western world ) would be verging on common knowledge, I would have thought

'Gay and bisexual menc are the population most affected by HIV. In 2017, gay and bisexual men accounted for 66% (25,748) of all HIV diagnoses and 82% of diagnoses among males in the United States.d'

https://www.cdc.gov/hiv/statistics/overview/ataglance.html

MSM yes, its more easily transmitted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

I presume you would apply your principle to both ways?

Yes. Same applies both ways, as it should.

I'd rather get the other STI's you mentioned than HIV.

Many strains of chlamydia & gonorrhea are now incurable.

Where did you pull that wild assertion from?

retract it.

You said:

Your use of the word just and tho implies that the story I linked is little cause for concern. I posted it as an example of what happens when you let people with these kinds of infections into your country. It's just Bad AIDs according to you though?

Either you support it or you don't. Unless there is a mixed, good outcome for these women getting infected?

You said:

Your use of the word just and tho implies that the story I linked is little cause for concern. I posted it as an example of what happens when you let people with these kinds of infections into your country. It's just Bad AIDs according to you though?

no, you made an assumption on what it implies.

You can't just do that and use it to accuse people.

Most people would recognise where the phrase originates

no, you made an assumption on what it implies.

You can't just do that and use it to accuse people.

Most people would recognise where the phrase originates

That's the whole point of posting on a message board.

You assume something based on something they wrote.

Is Bad AIDS gay community slang?

That's the whole point of posting on a message board.

You assume something based on something they wrote.

No its not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,304 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Ah you know: Irish and Heterosexual are the good ones, Brazilians and gays are the bad ones. Thats how it is with some of the bigots round here.

Ah here, this is just silly nonsense. The facts show the reality.
    blanch152 wrote: »
    https://www.hivireland.ie/hiv/hiv-in-ireland/

Here are some facts from 2017.

"Among the diagnoses in 2017, 39% were previously diagnosed with HIV in another country."

"Of the diagnoses in 2017, 26% (n=130) were born in Ireland, 63% (n=308) were born abroad and 11% (n=54) did not have information on country of birth."

Is it really a problem with our sex education?

HIV is largely a disease of immigrants and the homosexual community. Pretending otherwise does not help in reducing the incidence or spread of the disease.

Calling people bigots for pointing out the realities and facts is not helpful.

Irish people are more prone to haemochromatosis. It doesn't make me a bigot to point this out.

https://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/health/real-life-fighting-the-celtic-curse-haemochromatosis-26531775.html

Is Bad AIDS gay community slang?

It comes from Brass Eye, a satirical tv show:

El_Bee wrote: »
    It comes from Brass Eye, a satirical tv show:

Hilarious :D

If someone made a skit like that in 2019 you'd have people on twitter "Im so offffennnnnded" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

dav3 wrote: »
    There are many ways to reduce the risks:
    • Practice safer sex – use condoms consistently when having vaginal, anal and oral sex. Check out our guide to using condoms.
    • Try to avoid contact with body fluids such as semen during sexual contact, and don’t share fingers, hands or sex toys.
    • Remember that some sexual practices which may be described as ‘safer’ in terms of HIV transmission might still be risky for transmission of other STIs like syphilis or Hepatitis A.
    • Get tested regularly. Keep in mind that it is possible to have an STI and show no signs or symptoms. Testing is available free of charge in many public hospitals.
    • Vaccinations are available for Hepatitis A and B free of charge from your STI/GUM clinic.
    • There is a post-exposure treatment available for HIV and Hepatitis B. Details of this are in the section on PEP.
    • If using drugs, do not share any drug using paraphernalia.
    • Educate yourself, know the risks, and take responsibility for your sexual health.

I have a problem with lists like this.

It's politically correct, and it's also inaccurate.

Let's go through the items one by one.
    Practice safer sex – use condoms consistently when having vaginal, anal and oral sex. Check out our guide to using condoms.

HIV is primarily transmitted via receptive anal sex. This is the reason HIV disproportionately affects gay men and women.

Oral sex has virtually no HIV risk.

Receptive vaginal sex is low risk - roughly 1 in 1000 risk from a one night stand if the male is HIV+ and he doesn't use a condom.

What are the odds the heterosexual male you're with is HIV+? Absolutely tiny.

Hence why vaginal sex one night stands are low risk.

So while the advice is fine (use condoms), it's dancing around the issue somewhat.

It would be better if it focussed more on never having unprotected receptive anal sex with someone unless you know their status.

It also doesn't deal with who you have sex with. If you look at HIV infection statistics, it skews heavily towards people from Africa or African descent.

Again, I understand these are politically incorrect facts, but if we really want to reduce transmission, we need to start being honest about how it is most commonly transmitted.

Saying "it affects everyone" ignores the fact that risk varies by sex act and by race.

To summarise:

Let's say 1 in 10,000 Irish (white) heterosexual men have HIV.

Let's say 1 in 20 South African heterosexual men have HIV.

You are a female who has unprotected sex with both men.

Your risk with the Irish man is 1000 * 10000 = 1 in 10,000,000.

Your risk with the South African man is 1000 * 20 = 1 in 20,000.

Big difference.

It should also be noted HIV almost always requires repeat exposure and exposure to a high viral load. That means there is a huge difference between a one night stand compared to sleeping with the guy every day for one year. (This is why almost all HIV transmission happens between partners rather than one night stands - one night stands are statistically lower risk).

HIV medication, when used correctly, make the viral load undetectable, which makes it almost impossible to pass on the virus. That means it's safer to have 100 one night stands with a HIV+ man on his medication, versus a one night stand with a HIV+ man not on medication.

Try to avoid contact with body fluids such as semen during sexual contact, and don’t share fingers, hands or sex toys.

You won't get HIV from any of this. Theoretically, maybe, but the risk is virtually zero.
    Remember that some sexual practices which may be described as ‘safer’ in terms of HIV transmission might still be risky for transmission of other STIs like syphilis or Hepatitis A.

Why not tell people which sexual practices are safer instead of being too scared to offend gay people.
    Get tested regularly. Keep in mind that it is possible to have an STI and show no signs or symptoms. Testing is available free of charge in many public hospitals.

Fair.
    Vaccinations are available for Hepatitis A and B free of charge from your STI/GUM clinic.

This has nothing to do with HIV.

There is a post-exposure treatment available for HIV and Hepatitis B. Details of this are in the section on PEP.
    If using drugs, do not share any drug using paraphernalia.
    Educate yourself, know the risks, and take responsibility for your sexual health.

Fair.

In summary:

Be more cautious if you have sex with someone of African descent.

By avoiding anal sex, you drastically reduce your risk.

If you're heterosexual, especially a heterosexual male, you don't really need to worry too much about HIV, as the risk is quite low, but you do need to worry about things like chlamydia and gonorrhoea, as they are everywhere. So it makes sense to use a condom until you know your partner's status.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

"One person in Ireland is now being told they have HIV every 17 hours"
    That must be very boring for that one person. :rolleyes: