Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Greatest League in the World 2024 [new thread available]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

Link not working?

User called Bob Prole
    Bob Prole:
    Been thinking about doing this post since I joined this forum. Trying to get my head around all the things that got us here. A lot of this is me filling in gaps based on what's public. If anyone can correct bits work away.

The consortium took over in January 2018. The Jordan Gardner quote is "this is a really interesting club, it was in the Europa League group stages in 2016, there is a lot of financial upside to being in European competition, it’s a very modest club so there is a lot of financial upside there". That's still true. Stephen Kenny lords over the place and the new owners mostly stay out of his way. We win the Double and chairman Mike Treacy runs around the place with trophies taking the cheers. Everyone is happy.

Stephen leaves in December 2018. Probably the offer of the Ireland job two years later meant he would always go but possibly he saw something in the new owners that helped make up his mind. He might tell us someday. Him going leaves a vacuum in the club.

The owners decide to go with Vinny as his replacement and bring in Andy Burton supposedly as Head of Recruitment. Burton is a contact through Bournemouth and appears to be friends with Matt Hulsizer. Treacy loves him. Vinny insists he will have the "final say" on recruitment. By April it seems like the owners have lost confidence in Vinny. They talk about Burton as an advisor as if he has a bigger say than just recruitment although they never formally announce any role for him and it's Burton that has told the owners Vinny isn't up to it.

First cracks behind the scenes show over Hoban's contract talks. Burton falls out with Hoban and his agent Liam Carroll. Vinny takes Hoban's side while Treacy appears to take Burton's side. Burton tries to smooth things over with Vinny by arranging the phone call from Mourinho after Riga, which handily enough also shows everyone the contacts he has in the game.

James Rogers publishes a story detailing all the duds and players that would have cost a fortune that Burton was lining up for us. The story also says he was lining up Nick Barmby as a coach. This proves Burton was undermining Vinny all along and it seems obvious to me that either Vinny or Carroll planted the piece with Rogers to damage Burton as part of the behind the scenes knife fight. In response pointless CEO Mark Devlin bans Rogers and writes a silly letter to the Argus. My guess is Mike Treacey was behind that. Devlin wasn't awake long enough to know what an Argus was.

We win it all in 2019 more or less. Was that Vinny? The players? The likes of O'Donnell and Higgins? Stephen Kenny vapours? Loads of opinions but I'd say Vinny deserves the credit but the other things mattered too. But the loss to Slovan has damaged Vinny. Burton looks at the owners and says "see?" Meanwhile volunteers are leaving, sick of what's going on. Someone says something to Matt Hulsizer and he sends his dad in to clean up the mess. Bill takes Vinny and Carroll's side because the Hoban contract is sorted out quickly. Victory for Vinny. Burton is pushed out and Treacey leaves for personal reasons. I think he'd have been removed anyway. Bill likes what he sees and Matt lets him take over to keep dad happy.

Everyone is happy again. Bill is a nice guy and seems really enthusiastic. Vinny is happy his enemies are gone and he thinks he can manage Bill. The locals are happy that the fighting is over and think Bill will let them get on with things without interfering. Volunteers return and Martin Connolly is made COO and he brings in Gavin and Minto. Carroll and FFP are happy because there's money to be made.

But Bill doesn't have a scooby doo. He wants to be involved in everything. His demands are ridiculous and when anything goes wrong he blames it on people not following his demands. The infighting starts again. The lads who care about the club versus the lads who know there's coin to be made out of Bill. The players are getting pissed off with Vinny. That gets worse after Higgins leaves. Vinny realises too late that he opened the door to the Bill monster, tries to stand up to him and gets fired. Anyone else who tries to push back walks or gets fired. The smartest guys in the room are the FFP guys, who make sure they stay in Bill's good books.

It's time to replace Vinny. But they can't. They don't know anyone. They have no contacts in the game of any use. That's why we end up with a guy who has never managed an adult club side and knew nothing about the LOI. Also who even owns us by now? Gardner is gone. It's not clear Woolfolk was ever there. Now Spencer is gone. Are we 100% Peak6?

Bill tells Liam to find him a Sporting Director. Or maybe Matt does, realising Bill is out of his depth. Against all expectations we make the Group Stage and we get a big influx of money. Bonuses all round. Matt tells Bill he can spend the cash as if he's an oul lad on an oxygen tank in Vegas at the slots. One rule. 12 month contracts only. Is that to enable an exit this year or some sort of dumb amateur psych move that players will play better if their futures are in jeopardy?

My opinion is that the idea behind 12 month contracts is to facilitate big budget swings - they think we have a 'roster'. If you do well in Europe you can splash out, don't do well you let everyone go and shop for cheaper replacements. The idea of growing the club year on year to be a 'European club in Ireland' is dead. You still have to qualify though. I wonder did Matt realise we're not guaranteed Europe every year? He's never that stupid, is he?...

Anyway Filippo done good. He is let sign some players and he goes for Abibi, Sonni and Midstkogen. Filippo hadn't a clue. You'd think multiple defeats would have taught him. Bill's buddy Liam - part of the official travelling party in Europe and the Cup Final - spends the rest for Bill. Probably gets a finders fee for each one. That went well. The ground needs maintenance. The pitch needs maintenance. Relationships with fans and sponsors need maintenance. So we sign a Korean. Any Korean will do after the big bad FAI stopped us signing that first Korean. Doesn't matter if we never play him. Once we get a Korean. We supposedly paid a defensive midfielder 200 grand up front to come to the club. We already had two defensive midfielders.

The guy we claimed was the manager had to do all the paperwork because the admin side of the club has been allowed to collapse. A lot of the paperwork included getting a bunch of Z-rated Americans in. Have you heard of Jamie Vardy by the way? We announced a new academy. Made a sweet video. Then what? Must be Covid, that's it. Mistakes have been acknowledged at least, they say! Yep, we should have sold cardboard cutouts of our fans. That was the mistake. The interview that everyone heard and no one listened to.

The 'manager' left. Said he felt like a fraud. It was sad. Then the manager left. Now we have no manager. Apparently managers in football are important but sure Jim can do it. Or not do it. Or yes do it. Performances are all over the place? Must be just the players. All 30 of them that have played since lockdown ended. Clear em out. Start again. The ones that have left are all higher up in the table now you say?

Bill says we'll still win the league. We have two points from five matches. He's been humiliated. We might not hear from him again. Son is angry. Who did this to his old man? Demands an investigation into the spending. The lads have milked the club dry and Matty is pulling the plug. Rudderless and leaderless on and off the pitch. FFP have found themselves in possession of a club they don't own. Don't blame Matt - he's just the owner.

Edits: I was asked to correct a couple of things

• Registered Users Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Worked for me.

It would appear to be easier to appoint a new pope than appoint a new manager at dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,368 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Dillonb3 wrote: »
    User called Bob Prole
    So we sign a Korean. Any Korean will do after the big bad FAI stopped us signing that first Korean. Doesn't matter if we never play him. Once we get a Korean.
    This will always be hilarious. Even in 20 years time when some of us are chatting about the failed owners in the LOI over the years the delusion in seriously believing a lad from the Korean 2nd tier was going to help expand your brand, like Son did at Spurs, will stand out.

The original Korean they tried to sign, Han Eui-Gwon, may actually have been a good signing as he was highly experienced having played over 150 games, many of which were in K1. Physically he was also suited to football over here. But when the deal failed they just couldn't accept that. As the lad on Orielweb said: "Get a Korean. Any will do it doesn't matter."

There are lads on Orielweb who try to blame Filippo for all the bad transfers like he was the brains making all the deals. I don't think Filippo was worried about signing Koreans to expand the 'brand'. It's a sad attempt to absolve the people in charge of any blame by pinning it on someone no longer involved.

Oat23 wrote: »
    This will always be hilarious. Even in 20 years time when some of us are chatting about the failed owners in the LOI over the years the delusion in seriously believing a lad from the Korean 2nd tier was going to help expand your brand, like Son did at Spurs, will stand out.

The original Korean they tried to sign, Han Eui-Gwon, may actually have been a good signing as he was highly experienced having played over 150 games, many of which were in K1. Physically he was also suited to football over here. But when the deal failed they just couldn't accept that. As the lad on Orielweb said: "Get a Korean. Any will do it doesn't matter."

There are lads on Orielweb who try to blame Filippo for all the bad transfers like he was the brains making all the deals. I don't think Filippo was worried about signing Koreans to expand the 'brand'. It's a sad attempt to absolve the people in charge of any blame by pinning it on someone no longer involved.

What's also not mentioned is the 2 English CEO's we hired, both of who didn't last a full season.

Edit: Perth supposed to be taking training tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

... Then they go and give 200k to a defensive mid. Its all straight out of the Mike Bassett school of management.

Perth May have won a league
    Perth May have won a league cup
    Perth May have gotten to an fai cup final

But not even Perth couldn’t make a goalkeeper out of Abibi. Nobody could.

Dundalk's potential second round opponents:

Elfsborg (Sweden), Dunjaska Streda (Slovakia), Levadia Talinn (Estonia) or St Joseph's (Gibralter), Inter Turku (Fin) or Puskas Akadmeja (Hungary), Dinamo Batumi (Georgia) or Tre Penne (San Marino)

Shamrock Rovers potential second round:
    Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia) or Valur (Iceland), Young Boys Bern (Switzerland), Bodo (Norway) or Legia Warsaw (Poland)

FH are playing Stjarnan tonight at 21:15 if any Bohs or Rovers fans want to tune in for a look. It looks like the match will be on bet365 and other betting sites, so you'll probably find a stream on some of the free sites if you don't have a betting account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭damemcd

Rovers have Bratislava in the Qualifiers....... but ill defo give it a look if Im at a loose end...

Mixed fortunes with our second round draws Dundalk will play Levadia Tallinn or St Josephs. Sligo will play Rosenborg, Bohs will play Dudelange and Rovers will play Youngs Boys or get Bye to 3rd round of Conference League

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Dudelange are good, they've been in group stages of Europa last couple of years.

damemcd wrote: »
    Rovers have Bratislava in the Qualifiers....... but ill defo give it a look if Im at a loose end...

I said Bohs or Rovers, not Bohs or Shams :)

Confirmed Perth is back. Wonder how it'll play out with him and Magilton
    https://www.dundalkfc.com/vinny-returns-to-oriel-park/

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Salmon Leap

Confirmed Perth is back. Wonder how it'll play out with him and Magilton
    https://www.dundalkfc.com/vinny-returns-to-oriel-park/

How do Dundalk fans feel about this?

FH are playing Stjarnan tonight at 21:15 if any Bohs or Rovers fans want to tune in for a look. It looks like the match will be on bet365 and other betting sites, so you'll probably find a stream on some of the free sites if you don't have a betting account.

1-1 at HT. Both teams look decent and better technically than a lot of sides here. The lad who scored the FH goal, Jonathan Jonsson, is like the Icelandic Raf Cretaro. You can see why he was signed by Alkmaar as a teenager.

We should be able to get at the FH defense and cause them problems at least. They don't look great when Stjarnan go at them.

Well, we couldn't go on with no manager much longer. Beat Shamrock Rovers, pats and Drogheda and then lose to waterford. Magilton didn't name the same team twice.

joeysoap wrote: »
    Well, we couldn't go on with no manager much longer. Beat Shamrock Rovers, pats and Drogheda and then lose to waterford. Magilton didn't name the same team twice.

So you’re happy he’s back then? I’ve seen for and against from some of your fans elsewhere on the www

Both sligo and Bohs will win thejr euro matches. Finn missed a peno against FH ( away). They're not great.

Mixed fortunes with our second round draws Dundalk will play Levadia Tallinn or St Josephs. Sligo will play Rosenborg, Bohs will play Dudelange and Rovers will play Youngs Boys or get Bye to 3rd round of Conference League

So Rovers are guaranteed the 3rd of the conference league (at least) either way.

So Rovers are guaranteed the 3rd Rd of the conference league (at least) either way.

The FAI have scheduled all of Friday's games for 19:45 & 20:00. Nothing at 17:45 like every other Friday this season.

I swear they intentionally make the worst decisions. Every single match this weekend clashes with England v Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Pat O'Sullivan has some contacts in Mongolia if they're still looking to tap into that Asian market.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Happy it's not a GAA manager, which shows how far things have fallen. Not sure how it'll play out now with the core of the players he worked with gone/going. **** knows what's going on in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,923 ✭✭✭deisedude

The FAI have scheduled all of Friday's games for 19:45 & 20:00. Nothing at 17:45 like every other Friday this season.

I swear they intentionally make the worst decisions. Every single match this weekend clashes with England v Scotland.

The highlights also on the FAI Youtube channel of the last round of fixtures are abysmal. No sound, not even crowd noise. I tried watching one or two of them and gave up. You cant watch highlights with no sound

Bill Shankly once said that when you have a 1, 5 and 9 you could build the team around them. Perth has no 1, no 5, and so soon to depart no 9. We’ll see how he manages. Gartland and Cleary injured doesn’t help.

Vinny interview ( maybe a bit long for most)

Thanks shamrock rovers, bohs , Longford and drogheda thanked for giving him access and as per gabove post mentions gartland and Cleary being absent.

https://youtu.be/KUZE3EYe1cU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,475 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I am very happy Vinny got the job. He is the right man for the job. Don't know why some Dundalk fans aren't so happy. He won the double in his first year in charge and was very harshly sacked by owners who haven't a clue what they are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,475 ✭✭✭pgj2015

We will probably sign this keeper next.

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭irishmanmick

joeysoap wrote: »

Did Magilton not send out the same 11 that beat Rovers a few days later vs Bohs and they got mauled by us? Thought I remember lambasting himself for not changing things in the post match interview.

I think Perth will be a very good appointment for you. Agree with pgj2015 that he was very harshly sacked. For not getting in the champions league group stages - something no Irish side has ever done. Had he stayed in charge and got to the Europa league group stages I don't think Dundalk would be in the position they are now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,139 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

pgj2015 wrote: »

We will probably sign this keeper next.

Upgrade on Abibi tbf.

yep, your right, same starting 11.
    5 subs against Bohs ( 2 against Rovers) only 1 which was common (Sloggett)

I too am glad Perth is back.if Celje had been home and away.......but maybe the knives were already out. I’m not expecting miracles but I hope for stability.

My mother would be an upgrade on Abibi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,552 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Quality coverage from Wexford this evening. I know there was a lad in this thread who seemed to be involved in that so fair play.

CSF wrote: »
    Quality coverage from Wexford this evening. I know there was a lad in this thread who seemed to be involved in that so fair play.

The Pats coverage is excellent too. Two really good commentators and several cameras + replays. Pity we're tragic or I could enjoy it a bit more.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

On the subject of good coverage, Athlone have done an excellent job too in fairness to them.

Puts our attempt to absolute shame but there's nothing surprising about that any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭howiya

CSF wrote: »

Best coverage I've seen so far in the first division. Fair play to them. A hard watch all the same

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

By some bizarre turn of event Georgie Kelly is the leagues top scorer.

Love to know how many penalties Hoban has missed for Dundalk :rolleyes:

He thinks he is far better at them than he is. His run up is daft.

14 scored / 6 missed for Dundalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭eire4

It took a while for the team to click attacking wise but its fair to say they most definitely are firing in front of goal now Bohemians. But yes who would have seen that Georgie Kelly being top scorer in the league almost at the half way point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,933 ✭✭✭kksaints

Great win for us. Alfie Lewis was immense for us, we need to sign him up once his loan expires next month. Had some shaky moments in the second half but we deserved the win. Great to have the fans back and the coverage was excellent.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Good 20 minutes after half time for Rovers. Good finish by Gaffney. Emakhu looks very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭howiya

Shels 1 Wexford 0.

Never looked like scoring a second goal. Had a few half chances. Never looked like conceding either.

Obviously the table doesn't lie and Wexford aren't a great side but I think they've been a tough opponent for us this season. Have been well organised and defended well in both games. You'd miss the free scoring reds. Anyway league table looks great.

The stream for the Waterford v Rovers game was awful. Incessant buffering in the second half especially. Worse than the first half v Finn Harps last week. But when the stream does work properly the picture is decent. The third and fourth goals were both up on LiveScore several minutes before they went on on-screen 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Sligo were 2nd how????, easily the worst team I have seen in Inchicore in the last 2 years, pathetic abject performance from them, us slightly better should have hit them for 5.

Unrelated met up with loads of pats fans before the game for pints, 1st time i seen these ***** in 470 days, it was awesome!!!

Also unrelated going away for the weekend to Sligo morrow :pac::pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Thanks for the kind words about the Wexford stream, glad it all went well.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Sligo were 2nd how????

Because the league is full of average sides this season. There hasn't been a single team that has been consistently impressive for any period. We beat Shams and Bohs but got played off the park by Drogs twice for example. Harps really strong start can probably be attributed to the lack of quality in the league I suppose.

Whether that is good or bad is up for debate. It's good for competition of course but the quality levels aren't there for whatever reason. Lack of fans driving teams on?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

70% of his goals came in 2 games.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

GLaDOS wrote: »
    70% of his goals came in 2 games.

Beautiful.

eire4 wrote: »
    ... who would have seen that Georgie Kelly being top scorer in the league .....

Most Dundalk fans.

Dundalk were lucky and unlucky tonight. Lucky not lose, unlucky not to win.
    Hoban probably the worst penalty taker in Dundalk’s history.
    (McMillan a much better penalty taker, when he’s on). Longford well worth their point. Junior, Midstkogen, Nattstsad, Zahibo and Han not on tonight. Jurkovis only a sub (he’s the pick of the ‘new imports’)

I missed it midskogen came on