Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Hobby Horses of Belief (and assorted hazards)

Odhinn wrote: »

They should take these issues up with BLM and go over there to protest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

They should take these issues up with BLM and go over there to protest!

MOD

Hello Oscar Madison.

Welcome to A&A.

Just a heads up that we have certain standards in this forum and using an atrocity in one part of the world to have a go at a protest movement in another part of the world where the only connect appears to be the colour of people's skin falls well below our standards.

You are more than welcome to post here but please refrain from making what look very much like dodgy and inflammatory comments.

Thanking you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

...Nphet is not the messiah.
    He's a very naughty boy!

József Szájer is a Hungarian MEP, a member of Orban's homophobic party, Fidesz, and one of the men responsible for updating the country's constitution to declare that "Hungary shall protect the institution of marriage as the union of a man & a woman." Or, more accurately since last Sunday and his sudden resignation from Fidesz, Mr Szájer was at least some of these things.

The previous Friday evening, following a tip-off from neighbors, police raided an apartment above a bar in Brussels to find a party in progress involving some twenty-five men in a "state of undress". Mr Szájer attempted to escape by leaping out the apartment window, but appears to have injured himself doing so and was picked up a short while later by police who found him in possession of an ectasy tablet whose presence came as a complete surprise to Mr Szájer who was still presumably only partially-clothed.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/dec/01/belgian-police-arrest-25-men-including-mep-as-sex-party-breaks-curfew-coronavirus
    https://twitter.com/jackeparrock/status/1333796901687214082

"My clothes accidentally fell off".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

where was the ecstasy tablet located so that he was unaware of it, bearing in mind his state of undress?

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

robindch wrote: »
    József Szájer is a Hungarian MEP, a member of Orban's homophobic party, Fidesz, and one of the men responsible for updating the country's constitution to declare that "Hungary shall protect the institution of marriage as the union of a man & a woman." Or, more accurately since last Sunday and his sudden resignation from Fidesz, Mr Szájer was at least some of these things.

The previous Friday evening, following a tip-off from neighbors, police raided an apartment above a bar in Brussels to find a party in progress involving some twenty-five men in a "state of undress". Mr Szájer attempted to escape by leaping out the apartment window, but appears to have injured himself doing so and was picked up a short while later by police who found him in possession of an ectasy tablet whose presence came as a complete surprise to Mr Szájer who was still presumably only partially-clothed.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/dec/01/belgian-police-arrest-25-men-including-mep-as-sex-party-breaks-curfew-coronavirus
    https://twitter.com/jackeparrock/status/1333796901687214082

"My clothes accidentally fell off".

An informative and funny post. Well done putting all that together. People voted for him in Hungary.

where was the ecstasy tablet located so that he was unaware of it, bearing in mind his state of undress?
    Police apparently say that the tablet was, somewhat disappointingly, in the bag he brought to the party.

However, I can't help but wonder if the bag was an Yves Saint Laurent collectible, picked out in rainbow colors with a nice pink, fluffy edging to it.

Random twitter person suggests a fun new angle on the police raid:

https://twitter.com/panyiszabolcs/status/1334433918964129793

• Registered Users Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Grim reading

Between 2001 and 2018, 8,009 child marriages were recorded in the Dominican Republic. Of these, 7,480 involved girls between the ages of 14 and 17.
    http://theprisma.co.uk/2020/11/30/child-marriage-an-aberrant-practice/?fbclid=IwAR3Sya-1xwIT_LpM8Ut0rkIFM7-_lovVeIwQFioMHMMlwYn4xa0uFTmwvrU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,690 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Grim reading

Two thoughts:

1. Nothing in the linked article suggests that the phenomenon of child marriage in the Dominican Republic is "a hobby-horse of belief".

2. You don't have to travel as far as the Dominican Republic to find child marriage being practiced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,504 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

SSPX Resistance's hideout in West Cork:

https://fionaolearyblog.wordpress.com/2020/08/14/sspx-resistance-cult-operating-out-of-a-farmhouse-in-west-cork/

Saw on the Gemma O'Doherty thread that her crowd of loons and Continuity SSPX carried out an exorcism on the Dail last night. Apparently they were looking for "politicians with the mark of the Beast who are trying to turn us into transhumanists to please Satan" :rolleyes:

Scrap the cap!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/us/gunman-shot-to-death-by-police-at-landmark-new-york-cathedral-1.4436450

Yet another terror attack linked to a barbaric Middle Eastern religion...
    A man was shot to death by police on the steps of a landmark New York City cathedral on Sunday after he began firing two semiautomatic handguns at the end of a Christmas choral concert, local police said.

The gunfire began just before 4pm local time at Manhattan’s Cathedral of St John the Divine, mother church of the Episcopal Diocese of New York.

The man had a lengthy criminal history and was carrying a backpack containing a can of petrol, rope, wire, tape, knives and a well-worn Bible, Mr Shea said.

Oh.
    Carry on. Nothing to see here!!!

Scrap the cap!

New Dubbelin head shed:

https://www.irishcatholic.com/dermot-farrell-is-the-right-man-for-a-challenging-appointment-in-dublin/

Rather a bit more lengthy than it needs to be, but can be summed up as:

- Diarmuid Martin stopped peado cover ups but didn't do much else.

- The new fella Fardile was bishop of Ossory wherever that is for 3 years and is a great "reformer" but the nature of these reforms remains largely mysterious.
    As this newspaper revealed in December, Dublin is running desperately short on funds with some predicting that there is just enough money to pay priests for two more months.

:rolleyes: as they sit on unused and under-utilised land banks in Dublin worth gazillions. There's a supposedly laity-led :rolleyes: campaign in my local area to "preserve" a rather ugly stone built convent, now empty, which sits on large grounds next to a surburban village, behind an ugly high stone wall. But eejits on facebook are trying to convince everyone that this is a vital local amenity (which no-one can access) and building housing on it would be totes awfuls - with opportunist councillors jumping on the bandwagon. Feck the lot of them. :mad:

"Reform" is the ultimate weasel word and whenever I see it I see dishonesty and it boils my piss. It implies that anyone opposed to the proposed change is wrong before they can even begin to make an argument. It implies that change for the sake of it is good - but ironically this word is inevitably used by right-wingers and the changes they seek are to enhance the rights of large corporations and diminish the rights of citizens.

Scrap the cap!

It's also rather intereting that there is not a single mention of school divestment, one way or the other.

There is a strong implication that some churches will have to be shut down to save money, but the fiction that they can administer 90% of primary schools in any meaningful way despite their lack of resources and bodies on the ground remains.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,824 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

More problems for Falwell at Liberty 'University'. Seems like there's a think tank there (can an oxymoron be stateful? Think tank at Liberty U?). And the students don't like it, say it's not really Christian but 'Conservative' and the two aren't the same thing. Oh, and Charlie Kirk, that beauty, is one of the cofounders, plus at least 1 of Trump's embarrasment of attorneys, Jenna Ellis, is an alum

https://www.ecumenicalnews.com/article/christianity-and-trumpism-collide-at-liberty-university-as-student-leaders-say-gospel-comes-first/60815.htm

Whinging time

RTÉ has apologised after a number of people complained over a Waterford Whispers sketch segment in the New Year's Eve countdown programme, which was broadcast on RTÉ One television.

The Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland called on RTÉ to remove what he described as the "deeply offensive and blasphemous clip".

Normally when something offensive happens his lot just move them on, so I suppose if they just shift it to RTE2 he'll be happy.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2021/0102/1187296-eamon-martin-rte/

It's also rather intereting that there is not a single mention of school divestment, one way or the other.

There is a strong implication that some churches will have to be shut down to save money, but the fiction that they can administer 90% of primary schools in any meaningful way despite their lack of resources and bodies on the ground remains.
    I don't have a link, but I think the Irish Times coverage of this appointment did mention school divestment as a priority for the new guy.

My impression is that the diocese has been keen to offload schools, and for the reason that you point out - they are a drain on the diocese's declining personnel and other resources, and the diocese is keen to rebalance its resource allocation by patronising fewer schools. The problem they are encountering is bottom-up resistance from lay churchy types, who attach a lto of importance to church patronage of schools - especially, but not exclusively, the schools that their kids attend. They're afraid of alienating what might be a signficant chunk of their remaining lay supporters.

Basically, they are more concerned about pissing off churchgoers who value churchy domination of the education system than they are about pissing off non-churchgoers who want real school choice.

A small minority of parents but very noisy and very well organised, and as we saw in Malahide the principals seem willing to spout all sorts of nonsense to spook parents into maintaining the status quo - but the parents of future pupils get no say whatsoever.

Meanwhile an interesting factoid I forgot to mention - oddly enough, Farrell served on the board of Allianz plc. Some sort of odd hangover from Church and General maybe? Hopefully not because they had a scandal to keep quiet ;)

Scrap the cap!

Church and General still exists, I think. Allianz is the majority shareholder and C&G does most of its business under the Allianz name, presumably under licence from the parent company. Irish Life has a large minority stake, but I think the Catholic church still has, or at any rate had for many years, a non-trivial stake (5%?) and that, together with the fact that insurance church property is a signficant specialism for Allianz in Ireland probably explains the presence of a churchy type on the board.

Fairly delusional article in the Irish Times on Tuesday about how it was all nasty secular society's fault about how de poor wimmin were treated and weren't the religious orders great for helping them out:

Good work of religious in aiding single mothers now largely forgotten

The author then doubled down on Liveline yesterday. Listen (if you can stomach it) here:

https://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/html5/#/radio1/21890762

Scrap the cap!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,182 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

"Stephanie Walsh is a retired teacher who specialised in Relationships and Sexuality Education."
    ouch

"Stephanie Walsh is a retired teacher who specialised in Relationships and Sexuality Education."
    Sexuality education? She could start with her own.

Reminds me of a religious friend of mine who - for reasons I've yet to establish, as she is a friendly, intelligent woman - decided to join a US protestant sect many years back as a teacher where she ended up providing kids in the US with, no doubt similar relationship and sex ed classes. Thankfully, she eventually left the sect after some ten years during which she lost most of her friends.

Anyway, back here again, I asked her what kind of sex ed she'd been teaching and she produced her standard analogy that "women are like ovens while men are like microwaves". An analogy which she thought at the time meant that women's reproductive insides were large and able to deal with things like babies while men's reproductive insides were small and only able to deal with sperm. I had to enlighten her that the analogy almost certainly referred to sex at which point she must have realized that she'd been teaching, literally, complete bollocks for years.

ouch

Can't imagine it went much further than "Don't be doing the bold thing"

Scrap the cap!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

In with todays post I got the flyer below from some thoroughly obnoxious evangelical group called UCKG inviting people to a congregation this Friday in the middle of deadly pandemic. The irony of it being titled "Spiritual Cleansing" and giving a free bottle of holy water to attendees absolutely beggars belief. Not sure whether the arrogance or gross stupidity is more appalling. Reported it to the Gardaí.

539160.jpg

539161.jpg

smacl wrote: »
    In with todays post I got the flyer below from some thoroughly obnoxious evangelical group called UCKG inviting people to a congregation this Friday in the middle of deadly pandemic. The irony of it being titled "Spiritual Cleansing" and giving a free bottle of holy water to attendees absolutely beggars belief. Not sure whether the arrogance or gross stupidity is more appalling. Reported it to the Gardaí.

539160.jpg

539161.jpg

that lot used to be at the O'Connell street end of Henry St in the before times.

That Wiki article is ehh, interesting...
    In 2017 the UCKG faced allegations of adopting children in Portugal and taking them abroad illegally. It has also been accused of cult-like illegal activities and corruption, including money laundering,[12] charlatanism,[13][14][15] and witchcraft,[14] as well as intolerance towards other religions.[16][17] There have also been accusations that the church extracts money from poor members for the benefit of its leaders.[18] In 2000, a London-based UCKG pastor arranged an exorcism which resulted in the death of a child and the conviction of her guardians of murder.[19][20] The UCKG has been subject to bans in several African countries.

Scrap the cap!

That Wiki article is ehh, interesting...

Very

Bishop Edir Macedo of the Universal Church of the Kingdom of God stated in a 2019 sermon that daughters should not be allowed to seek out higher education, because if they do they will be "smarter than their husbands", and that he personally would not allow his daughters to go to college because he believes that an educated woman cannot have a happy marriage: "When they [my daughters] went out, I said they would just go to high school and they wouldn’t go to college. My wife supported me, but the relatives found it absurd. Why don’t you go to college? Because if you graduate from a particular profession, you will serve yourself, you will work for yourself. But I don’t want that, you came to serve God. Because if (…) she was a doctor and had a high degree of knowledge and found a boy who had a low degree of knowledge, he would not be the head, she would be the head. And if it were the head, it would not serve God’s will. I want my daughters to marry a male. A man who has to be head. They have to be head. Because if they are not head their marriage is doomed to failure.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Church_of_the_Kingdom_of_God#Opposing_women's_higher_education

which is very close to

Wikipedia wrote:
    In 2017 the UCKG faced allegations of adopting children in Portugal and taking them abroad illegally.
    Not the first religious organization to be accused of taking children abroad - in 2010, a group of US protestants were arrested while apparently attempting to remove dozens of kids from Haiti:

https://www.nbcnews.com/id/wbna35162046

Worse still was the case of Marcial Maciel, head of the Legion of Christ, who seems to have run a conveyor belt of kids into western countries where they were abused in the privacy of special schools:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sexual_abuse_scandal_of_Marcial_Maciel
    Wikipedia wrote:
    Since the 1970s, Maciel has been twice accused of having repeatedly sexually abused other congregation members, including young children. His accusers include a priest, a guidance counselor, a professor, an engineer, a lawyer, and a former priest who became a university professor. These two Spaniards and seven Mexicans described themselves as former members of a favored group, known as the "apostolic schoolboys." They said that the abuse allegedly occurred over three decades, beginning in the 1940s in Spain and Italy. As promising boys and young men, the Mexicans had been taken there to be educated. They said the abuse involved some 30 boys and young men, and extended over at least three decades.

Two men in Indonesia’s Aceh province have been publicly caned 77 times each after they were reported to police by vigilantes who claimed they had witnessed the men having sex.

The men, aged 27 and 29, were arrested in November after a crowd of local residents broke into their room and allegedly found them having sex. They were sentenced to 80 strokes by a Shariah court last month, but were flogged 77 times because they had spent time in prison.

Four other people received 17 strokes for extra-marital relations and 40 strokes for drinking alcohol. People caught gambling, or women who wear tight clothes can also be punished by caning.
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jan/29/gay-men-caned-77-times-in-medieval-punishment-in-indonesian-province?CMP=fb_gu&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR1XW7cxgdo5dpsQJPc2iK6mJpfKmy5gjGvd4ZatSfe3SUvUFabpNfs-puI#Echobox=1611906067

Four other people received 17 strokes for extra-marital relations and 40 strokes for drinking alcohol. People caught gambling, or women who wear tight clothes can also be punished by caning.

Sounds like a really fun place :rolleyes:

Scrap the cap!

Minister proposes that we need another public holiday. We have fewer than pretty much every other European country, so this should be a good thing.

But no, the idiot has to ruin it by linking it to a fcuking saint.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/make-st-brigid-s-day-a-bank-holiday-minister-urges-1.4472551
    Minister of State for New Market Development Martin Heydon has submitted a proposal to Government to make St Brigid’s Day on February 1st a new public holiday, which he said could in some way recognise the enormous sacrifices made by Irish people during the Covid pandemic and highlight better times ahead.

Minister Heydon, who represents Kildare South, said: “We all remember the annual making of St Brigid crosses from our school days.

“Her feast day on February 1st marks the first day of spring and it is the season when we celebrate hope and new life on Earth.”

Twat.

Yes, let's have another public holiday. Let's have it in the summer time when we might be able to fcuking enjoy it, instead of a fixed date (not a Monday) in what in reality is still bloody winter.

IMHO every month of spring / summer should have a public holiday on the first Monday. We already have May, June and August, we could usefully add July and September, perhaps April as well if the RCC ever sort their shít out and fix a date for Easter (which is theologically permissible)

Scrap the cap!

The Minister represents Kildare, which of course has an association with St. Brigid. No doubt Kildare would hope to capitalise commercially on a St. Brigid's festival. So it may not be the simple faith of a peasant which motivates this suggestion.

He may have another argument, though. 1 Jan to 17 March is I think the second-longest period we have without a bank holiday. The longest is from the first Monday in June to the last Monday in October, but great bulk of people take an annual summer holiday at some point during this period, so it's not as if it's an unbroken period of work. In general, internationally, public holidays tend not to be created at time when, or close to when, many people would be on holiday anyway, unless the facts of history pretty much require it - e.g. 14 July.

Still, February is generally pretty horrible, weather-wise, and on a typical February day I'd almost rather be at work then feel I was wasting a bank holiday because of wind and rain. I kind of fancy early to mid September. I'm sure we can find an obscure name on the Calender of Irish Saints whose feast day falls around then.

Can't think of any particular reason we have to name holidays for saints at this point in our history? St Bridgid rather sounds like a refugee from Father Ted, the latter of whom would be far more worthy of a national holiday were it a popularity contest. :)

Ah, but it would be one of very few public holidays worldwide in honour of a women*. That has to be worth a few brownie points.

If we shift it to 4 February, it could be in honour of Constance Markievicz. That's her birthday. Would that satisfy people?

* [If we diseregard the many, many public holidays in honour of the Virgin Mary.]

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Ah, but it would be one of very few public holidays worldwide in honour of a women*. That has to be worth a few brownie points.

If we shift it to 4 February, it could be in honour of Constance Markievicz. That's her birthday. Would that satisfy people?

* [If we diseregard the many, many public holidays in honour of the Virgin Mary.]

what public holidays do we have in honour of the virgin mary?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

She was a pre Christian Celtic Godess so I would be ok with it.

Easter is another holiday named after a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,824 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I'd support a National Health Care workers day. Seems like a day off in the height of flu season isn't the best choice though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    She was a pre Christian Celtic Godess so I would be ok with it.

And by all accounts a bisexual abortionist so I'm ok with it.

what public holidays do we have in honour of the virgin mary?
    We don't, but I'm talking internationally. Many historically Catholic countries celebrate 15 August (Feast of the Assumption) or 8 December (the Immaculate Conception) as public holidays, and some have 8 September (Nativity of the Virgin).

Public-holiday-wise, we have St. Patrick's Day and St. Stephen's day, but no public holiday for any woman. Why this outrageous sexism?

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Not in the first official language, where the holiday is Cáisc, which is ultimately from the Hebrew Pesach, Passover.

And, even in English, it's a bit iffy. Bede, writing in the eighth century, says that the Anglo-Saxons named the festival after Oestre, a dawn goddess. But he's writing about something that would have happened centuries before his time, he doesn't say how he knows this, and no other evidence has ever emerged that such a goddess was ever venerated by the Anglo-Saxons. Furthermore the Anglo-Saxons didn't come up with their own name for Easter; North Germany was Christianised before the Anglo-Saxons were, and the Anglo-Saxons adapted the word already current there, from which modern German gets Ostern.

Not in the first official language, where the holiday is Cáisc, which is ultimately from the Hebrew Pesach, Passover.

And, even in English, it's a bit iffy. Bede, writing in the eighth century, says that the Anglo-Saxons named the festival after Oestre, a dawn goddess. But he's writing about something that would have happened centuries before his time, he doesn't say how he knows this, and no other evidence has ever emerged that such a goddess was ever venerated by the Anglo-Saxons. Furthermore the Anglo-Saxons didn't come up with their own name for Easter; North Germany was Christianised before the Anglo-Saxons were, and the Anglo-Saxons adapted the word already current there, from which modern German gets Ostern.

Just reading the extract on this from Wikipedia. My take on it is that while it is contentious, on balance Bede should not be disregarded here. That said, I'm no historian.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

It doesn't really matter though. The common understanding is that Easter was named after a Godess so hence the holiday is named after a woman. Needless to say the actual Godess never existed. Similarly on Halloween ghosts do not really come to life. The point was that holidays are not named after women. Easter is.

Fair enough. I'll accept that Easter is likely named after a goddess (who, for bonus points, also has one of the cardinal points of the compass names after her). And I agree that whether the goddess ever existed or not is irrelevant; a wholly fictional female character is still female.

But of course we were celebrating Easter in Ireland long before we were calling it "Easter", so perhaps this is really a holiday renamed after a goddess. Which opens up interesting possibilities; couldn't we rename some of the existing public holidays to honour (real, mythic, figurative or fictional) female characters, preferably of national cultural or political significance? Michael O'Leary's bank holiday doesn't have a name that's in common use; there's an obvious opportunity there. Kathleen Ni Houlihan Day, anyone? Sean-Bhean Bhocht Day? Sheela-na-Gig Day?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭auspicious

And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen.

Unfortunately this teaching flies in the face of 'church' contributions.

auspicious wrote: »
    Unfortunately this teaching flies in the face of 'church' contributions.
    Also calls time on the SSPX and other far-right religious outfits which it seems continue to hold religious services despite public health guidelines, relevant science and essentially every norm of a civilized society.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/coronavirus-in-ireland-funeral-mass-of-breakaway-catholic-sect-breached-guidelines-amid-spike-in-cases-s5zhdw0bq
    The Times wrote:
    Public health guidelines were breached during a funeral mass in Dublin over Christmas on the same day that almost 1,000 new cases of Covid-19 were confirmed.

Video viewed by The Times shows a priest placing communion directly into the mouths of mourners at St John’s Church in Monkstown on December 23. The priest and the mourners are not wearing masks during this process, and a one-way system is not obeyed as outlined in the guidelines.

[EMAIL="?subject=Could%20Pope%20Francis%20bring%20some%20millennial%20women%20back%20to%20the%20church%3F%20&body=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.thelily.com%2Fcould-pope-francis-bring-some-millennial-women-back-to-the-church%2F"] [/EMAIL]

On Saturday, Pope Francis appointed a French nun, Nathalie Becquart, as one of two undersecretaries to the Synod of Bishops, an advisory body to the pope. It marks the first time a woman will hold a voting position at the Vatican. This follows his Friday appointment of Italian magistrate Catia Summaria as a prosecutor to the Vatican’s Court of Appeals — another first for a woman.

https://www.thelily.com/could-pope-francis-bring-some-millennial-women-back-to-the-church/?utm_campaign=wp_main&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&fbclid=IwAR23G4wg7JV0yGhRlyAZatkoosvwEmG-cphSqNNqFVfemXKPEiy3yq5MxUI

Givin the wimmin a vote? What madness is this?

Time for your subatomic violins again, folks:

Trash-radio-frontman becomes compost

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/02/17/rush-limbaugh-self-proclaimed-doctor-of-democracy-dies-at-age-70.html

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2021/0220/1198269-ireland-archbishops/
    Taoiseach Micheál Martin has said he will consider concerns raised by a number of Catholic Archbishops at a meeting about the impact of Covid-19 restrictions on public worship and the upcoming Easter celebrations.

Yesterday, representatives of the Catholic Church - Archbishop Eamon Martin, Archbishop Dermot Farrell, Archbishop Kieran O'Reilly and Archbishop Michael Neary - discussed the Church's desire to return to worship, in particular during the season of Lent and with the approach of Holy Week and Easter.

Fk sake

FF bending us over for the Catholic Church yet again, same old same old :mad:

Scrap the cap!