Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ignorant GAA Fcukers

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

As I said, they have a weekly lotto (just like the GAA do). They don't do any other fundraising.

GAA have had events, quizzes, golf events, car boot sales, fancy trips overseas, radio show mentions, big pieces taken out in the local newspaper, door to door requests, last man standing competitions etc etc.

I could go on.
    So the GAA put more effort into fundraising and this is why other sports look at their facilities in envy?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

cournioni wrote: »
    So the GAA put more effort into fundraising and this is why other sports look at their facilities in envy?

Well I think the soccer and rugby clubs would have no problem going out but I think they understand it's a bit greedy to constantly have the hand out.

They're called the grab all association for a reason!

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Is he a ‘competitive’ gamer now?

No he's designed the equivalent of a paper clip and collecting pop vinyls now...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Hedgelayer wrote: »
    Pull pull pull, ah ffs sake Johnnie will you get into him...

Pull pull pull...

Jayzus Crist ffs Johnnie

That's the behaviour you'll see adults with displaying in front of kids.

My sons now 18 but when he was 7 that's the shoite he had to listen to.
    Grown men talking like savages and knuckle draggers to kids.

I don't know if it has changed much since my son hung up his boots at 8 years of age, it wasn't because he was sensitive it was because he couldn't give a fck...

Pull what exactly?
    What does that even mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

As I said, they have a weekly lotto (just like the GAA do). They don't do any other fundraising.

GAA have had events, quizzes, golf events, car boot sales, fancy trips overseas, radio show mentions, big pieces taken out in the local newspaper, door to door requests, last man standing competitions etc etc.

I could go on.
    Yes, you're right. The GAA do put more effort into getting good facilities for their clubs. But door to door requests? Are you sure you aren't going a bit too far with this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

Yes, you're right. The GAA do put more effort into getting good facilities for their clubs. But door to door requests? Are you sure you aren't going a bit too far with this?

It's more greed than effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Pull what exactly?

Pull on the ball, Hurling I'd say. I'm the furthest thing from a GAA person and I knew that.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Pull what exactly?

They mean swing the hurl as in chop the opponents hurling skills down or hit the ball on the ground.

Saying pull makes no sense to people other than the knuckle dragging fraternity

• Registered Users Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

It's like a badge of honour with these craytures .
    Every county has them .
    They fill up the car with diesel before leaving their county.
    Bring the hang sandwiches and flasks of tae .
    Won't spend a bob in away county .
    Give off that they had to pay into the game .
    I love it when away games have been cancelled last minute.
    They lose their minds thinking of the few poxy euro they have spent on diesel.
    You come across these craytures on holidays ... The thoughts of having to pay for a lounger on the beach ...
    Fxxk that ...out with the towels and the bags of fruit taken from the hotel.

Jesus wept !

That's some chip on your shoulder

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

D%27Unbelievables_on_The_Late_Late_Show.JPG

Sheer 'abandomness' of cars lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,364 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Hang Sangwhidges.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Hey OP, it was actually the Gardaí that were directing people to park on the footpaths on either side of the road. :)
    They weren't even letting cars down to the paid car park.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

topper75 wrote: »
    D%27Unbelievables_on_The_Late_Late_Show.JPG

Sheer 'abandomness' of cars lads.

Sure you cant be doin' that lads !

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

JayZeus wrote:
    Oh, I can go on alright. I can park a car properly, know how to wash myself, can walk upright, wasn’t born of an incestuous relationship between two cousins, can afford underarm deodorant *and* €5 for parking. All told, I suppose I’m not naturally inclined to have much in common with the GAA ‘ambassadors’ who blighted Tullamore today.

"...wasn’t born of an incestuous relationship between two cousins... fair enough, you've cleared that up. But you can tell us - was ur creation from brother & sister relations then by any chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,917 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Hey OP, it was actually the Gardaí that were directing people to park on the footpaths on either side of the road. :)
    They weren't even letting cars down to the paid car park.

In before the "shirley they should be out catching criminals not herding culchies"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

Look Culchies of IReland,

there's no "chip on our shoulder" or any of that.
    you are culchies. merely just accept the slagging. it will never end.
    you're too easy to slag.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Hilarious reading through this; folk who wouldn't know an upright from the crossbar getting riled up over the protocol of An Gardai Síochána for big championship games and I'm not even a big GAA head myself.

Such an odd little country sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,429 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I suppose the key point of this post is in relation to parking around "big" events - particularly GAA events and the ignorance of people in general towards other road/footpath users.

It's a pity that the OP chose to go over the top and single out GAA match goers and GAA Events for this and use such strong words but the reality is, the majority of major events in the country (particularly outside of Dublin) result in a parking mess.

A few reasons:
    1. The over reliance on cars.
    2. The lack of parking near the venue.
    3. The lack of public transport.
    4. The lack of accommodation.
    5. The lack of enforcement of existing laws.
    And while these aren't excuses for peoples behaviour - the go in some way of explaining why the behaviour is as it is.
    The only solutions are to improve on all of the 5 points above and these are issues for the relevant venue holders, local authorities and enforcement groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Wouldn't even say it's anything to do with the GAA, plenty of chancer parking everywhere I go. Croke Park with any non-GAA event/concert is far worse than the GAA matches there.

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭bfclancy

Look Culchies of IReland,

there's no "chip on our shoulder" or any of that.
    you are culchies. merely just accept the slagging. it will never end.
    you're too easy to slag.

you do realise the original culchies came from Dublin, derivation from "Cul an ti", the servants going in the back door since the dubs were just servants to the gentry, ye really are morons

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Wouldn't even say it's anything to do with the GAA, plenty of chancer parking everywhere I go. Croke Park with any non-GAA event/concert is far worse than the GAA matches there.
    Resident regularly get blocked in their driveways, or their cars will be blocked in by double parking.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,295 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Ye can't be doing that, lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

GAA is one of the best things about Ireland. Brings people together from many walks of life, volunteer based and gives people pride in their local community. Pricks park badly for any major event be it sporting, a concert or whatever. Guess that doesn't suit people who have a massive chip on their shoulder about GAA. You don't like it fine, but acting like anyone who supports it is some uncultured gombeen go fcuk yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Cars parked on both sides of the road, completely blocking the footpaths and forcing people to step out into the road to get by. How people with a pram or in a wheelchair would get passed I'm not sure.
    Collie D wrote: »
    You live in Tullamore. You definitely have bigger issues to get your knickers in a twist about.

Tullamore, if only there were some guards in Tullamore to deal with the issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭lalababa

Berserker wrote: »
    If people are parking cars illegally, notify the Gardai and they'll deal with it. The shopping centres will get fed up with people exceeding their maximum stay and they'll clamp them. This kind of nonsense used to go on along the Maynooth train line for GAA games before people put a stop to it. €5 for safe legal parking for an event is a very fair price.
    Ring station.... answer "ahhh..sure that'd be the match' ...what about the pavements?? ...."ahh the match is on, till be over soon"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

bfclancy wrote: »
    you do realise the original culchies came from Dublin, derivation from "Cul an ti", the servants going in the back door since the dubs were just servants to the gentry, ye really are morons

you mean, what you're saying is that once upon a time you were even LOWER than "culchie"? what is that even? just muck on the ground?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭IRE60

190525-08491518cfd550fd-3_2000x.png?v=1558774672

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

It's like a badge of honour with these craytures .
    Every county has them .
    They fill up the car with diesel before leaving their county.
    Bring the hang sandwiches and flasks of tae .
    Won't spend a bob in away county .
    Give off that they had to pay into the game .
    I love it when away games have been cancelled last minute.
    They lose their minds thinking of the few poxy euro they have spent on diesel.
    You come across these craytures on holidays ... The thoughts of having to pay for a lounger on the beach ...
    Fxxk that ...out with the towels and the bags of fruit taken from the hotel.
    daysel ffs :pac: you Dublin 4 jackeen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Blinky Plebum

Well I think the soccer and rugby clubs would have no problem going out but I think they understand it's a bit greedy to constantly have the hand out.

They're called the grab all association for a reason!

You do know that giving money to a fundrasier is optional.

They don't go around armed to the teeth threatening people and asking them to hand over money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

It's more greed than effort.

Unless someone is making a personal fortune it isn’t. No fan of GAA sport here, I don’t watch and didn’t play but it’s a largely volunteer organisation.

There’s a tuppence halfpenny looking down at tuppence feel to this thread.