Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LGBT Student Accommodation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,331 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Its not lgbt only though

Apparently nobody around here actually checks the details of what is being discussed.

The official statement says it LGBT only and so does the independent, if it was for everyone we wouldn't be discussing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,310 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The official statement says it LGBT only and so does the independent, if it was for everyone we wouldn't be discussing it.
    No it doesn't...it specifically includes
    allied community

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

It's a terrible idea. Make the entire college ''safe, secure to all residents'' not segregate them.

What's next, only people who identify as LGBT classes to make people feel more comfortable?

Inclusion and diversity is important but it feels like you can't say no to ideas/suggestions without being labelled as a bigot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

gmisk wrote: »
    allied community
    "allied communities"

Orwell would be proud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

I have friend *eyes dart suspiciously* that has a fetish for wool bearing non persons. Would he be welcome to bring his significant other to stay over as they identify as human? My friend doesnt like labels so anyone calling him or his companion derogatory names will be feathered and tarred

Your friend can go to the normal housing.

After several years of sharing student housing and then sevaral years of house sharing I no longer bat an eyelid at anything anyone gets up to. (In bed or out of it)

I personally at that age going to college would have loved a gay/gay friendly block in halls.
    When I was 18 I wasn't comfortable with my sexuality at that age so being surrounded by other LGBT/gay friendly people would have been nice.
    Also as someone who has been the victim of a serious homophobic attack it is important to feel comfortable and happy in your surroundings, an environment like this would definitely have appealed to me.

Plus it might be vaguely clean unlike my experience of sharing with a group of straight lads at Uni :)

What rubbish are you on about?

Nthclare has an excellent earlier post about their time at college. For me the greatest most maturing part of the learning experience was being thrown into close living with a wide random mix of different people.

Housing for *insert my kind of people here* is a bit strange but I'm sure it will be good PR for the college.

What rubbish are you on about?

My friend identifies as a sheep. He want the right for his companion to stay over without judgement

Thats nice...If his companion isn't a sheep...I am sure it would be grand...

I personally at that age going to college would have loved a gay/gay friendly block in halls.
    When I was 18 I wasn't comfortable with my sexuality at that age so being surrounded by other LGBT/gay friendly people would have been nice.
    Also as someone who has been the victim of a serious homophobic attack it is important to feel comfortable and happy in your surroundings, an environment like this would definitely have appealed to me.

Plus it might be vaguely clean unlike my experience of sharing with a group of straight lads at Uni :)

my take is that you learned coping skills, real world experience, socialisation and resilience by living normally in a mixed demographic setting. had you lived in a bubbled wrapped confirmation biased safe-space you would have struggled when released into the big bad world. we're told diversity is good. its a strength.

Nthclare has an excellent earlier post about their time at college. For me the greatest most maturing part of the learning experience was being thrown into close living with a wide random mix of different people.

Housing for *insert my kind of people here* is a bit strange but I'm sure it will be good PR for the college.

I am going to be involved in a similar program. Its a throwing out a minnow to catch a trout. Once they get that off the ground they can apply for another grant for another project. There is massive money in it. You have to show a need for it and then when you get it you have to show a minimum uptake and then you move onto the next project. I think a lot of it is questionable.

my take is that you learned coping skills, real world experience, socialisation and resilience by living normally in a mixed demographic setting. had you lived in a bubbled wrapped confirmation biased safe-space you would have struggled when released into the big bad world. we're told diversity is good. its a strength.
    That's your take that's fair enough it doesn't mean you are correct.
    It would be nice to people have a choice if they want to take it. If I makes their college experience better safer and happier great.
    A question for you why do you care? How would it effect you?

His companion identifies as a human even though other people with closed minds would call her a sheep. Its been tough on him as the local circuit court judge has warned him but on the other hand he has made generous donations to the judges poor box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,331 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

allied community

Only the Limerick leader used that phrase, the accomodation body and independent said it was LGBT only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Only the Limerick leader used that phrase, the accomodation body and independent said it was LGBT only.

No. UL has said it is open to allies. Cis straight people are not excluded.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

This also does
    http://www.universitytimes.ie/2019/07/university-of-limerick-launches-lgbt-accommodation-scheme/

Also see post above from joeytheparrot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

This is Donald Trump's fault.

I would read that as persons identifying on the LGBTQ etc etc spectrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

The thing is apparently it's open for CIS gender people but who controls the access ? How do they determine if your an ally or not.

All of the media and interviews ECT yesterday give off the impression that it's a segregated unit.

For a community so wrapped up in language and how it's used and meaning behind it, I don't understand the defence that it's actually open to everyone but we just aren't really going to call that out.

I suppose it's the start of the US v Them as certain members of the community only see complaints as the cost gendered normies being outraged and attacking their community .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Take away the word gay/LGBT and substitute almost any minority group you can think of in particular “black” or “Christian conservative” and you will see that you’ve soon segregated the entire student body into maybe 10 separate groups who will all soon say that they feel “unsafe” sitting in a classroom or being taught by or walking the halls with or being exposed in any way, to anyone not in their “group”.
    What will we do then?

No.

http://usi.ie/ally/

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Straight_ally

https://www.ucd.ie/lgbt/lgbt-ally.html

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

That's your take that's fair enough it doesn't mean you are correct.
    It would be nice to people have a choice if they want to take it. If I makes their college experience better safer and happier great.
    A question for you why do you care? How would it effect you?
    i think voluntarily segregation is fine as long as everyone can do it. How about accommodation for white people where their lives can be better safer and happier? do we like the sound of that?

His friend is a sheep who identifies as a human. Don’t be a Nazi everyday of your life.

splinter65 wrote: »
    Take away the word gay/LGBT and substitute almost any minority group you can think of in particular “black” or “Christian conservative” and you will see that you’ve soon segregated the entire student body into maybe 10 separate groups who will all soon say that they feel “unsafe” sitting in a classroom or being taught by or walking the halls with or being exposed in any way, to anyone not in their “group”.
    What will we do then?
    It's accommodation it's not anything to do with classrooms etc. Not sure where you extrapolated the rest of that from this one story.

However people already do similar in US when it comes to fraternitys and the like...no?

His friend is a sheep who identifies as a human. Don’t be a Nazi everyday of your life.
    And.... I am done here.

Do you want to join the Wool Appreciation Society?

What criteria must I meet to be considered a gay ally?

Obviously you need signed letters with your application from 10 members of the LGBTQ community that you have both been a friend and defended their rights from the homophobic people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Enough of the sheep discussion. It’s distracting from the topic at hand.

dudara

It's accommodation it's not anything to do with classrooms etc. Not sure where you extrapolated the rest of that from this one story.

However people already do similar in US when it comes to fraternitys and the like...no?

So this is a frat house laid on by the college for the gay students?
    Were is the frat house for the Christian conservative students?

Obviously you need signed letters with your application from 10 members of the LGBTQ community that you have both been a friend and defended their rights from the homophobic people.

does it need to have a special authentication stamp?

Oh dear god, that is not a good comparison. Those fraternity houses and sororities become messy. If anything it sounds like seminary accommodation.

does it need to have a special authentication stamp?

Well how are you going to recognise if they are an ally? Take their word on it? And you will have to wear a badge to prove it too.

Christ this is starting to sound Orwellian

Oh dear god, that is not a good comparison. Those fraternity houses and sororities become messy. If anything it sounds like seminary accommodation.
    I just gave an example of where something along the same line happens that is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

Self segregation could also be known as something else........isolationism.

I am all for equality for everyone regardless of where you are in your life, yes there are still alot of issues that need to be dealt with, however when any group from society wishes to isolate themselves for protection then they are reducing or removing supporting from those not directly part of their group but support them.

And situations like in UL where they have dedicated units will being to spread animosity to those that may not get an opportunity to stay on campus if all rooms were up for grabs equally, thus could increase issues for said group which in turn could become more marginalized.

More security and cameras, more severe punishments for those that cause trouble fair enough, but isolationism will only bring more issues.

So this is a frat house laid on by the college for the gay students?
    Were is the frat house for the Christian conservative students?
    No clearly not....we don't have frat houses in limerick.
    I was simply giving an example of something vaguely similar that happens all the time elsewhere

I just gave an example of where something along the same line happens that is all

Yes and that is how they turn out. College is to prepare you for work and the real world. Cut the apron strings and get ready to meet the real world

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭petros1980

I cringed when I read that, tbh, as though being gay yourself has anything to do with anything.

I laughed even harder when I read what you’re complaining about. The irony is just too much :pac:

They’re not internment camps for ‘the gays’, they’re providing living accommodation and a physical community as such as opposed to an online community for people who imagine they have anything in common with each other. I could personally see it descending into Big Brother style antics as there’s a certain type of personality as opposed to anything to do with their identities, that finds these sorts of ideas attractive.

Honestly it’s a means of providing community for a cohort of society and if it ring-fences them in to the point where they’re happy to keep to themselves, is that really a bad thing for the rest of society which has all the rest of the space to themselves? I’m ok with that, personally.

Ah feck off. Ops post is spot on. Talking out your hole you

petros1980 wrote: »
    Ah feck off. Ops post is spot on. Talking out your hole you

Its true, 1984 never came with such a sugar coating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I cringed when I read that, tbh, as though being gay yourself has anything to do with anything.

I laughed even harder when I read what you’re complaining about. The irony is just too much :pac:

Honestly it’s a means of providing community for a cohort of society and if it ring-fences them in to the point where they’re happy to keep to themselves, is that really[/i] a bad thing for the rest of society which has all the rest of the space to themselves? I’m ok with that, personally.

Themselves? My suggestion is to stop isolating and labeling people and make ALL the space inclusive and not certain buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,204 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Themselves? My suggestion is to stop isolating and labeling people and make ALL the space inclusive and not certain buildings.

Ahh honestly there’s far more being made of this than needs be IMO. It’s not unlike the idea of gay bars - they’re there for people who want to go to gay bars as opposed to bars which don’t specifically cater to a certain audience. There’s either a demand for them, or there’s not. If there’s not, they go out of business. As it turns out, it isn’t just gay men who like to listen to Erasure and Girls Aloud all night while having a few drinks :o

But seriously, my point is that this idea is just another selling point for UL to make it more attractive to an audience which cares for this sort of thing, than other universities. They’ve been clogging up my LinkedIn for the last month advertising and promoting all their “LGBT Initiatives”, and honestly, it’s fine! It’s grand, leave them off. I could unfollow, but there’s far more going on in the University than just a month dedicated to Pride. I’m not actually that bothered.

To the best of my knowledge, nobody is actually actively being excluded from applying for accommodation in rainbow housing (I think the idea of calling it rainbow housing is childish but I’m obviously not the target market), it’s literally open to everyone, with the idea being that anyone who applies for that specific type of accommodation is supportive of the idea. There’s still accommodation available for people who aren’t. UL hasn’t actually made less accommodation places available to everyone, in fact they’re making more accommodation and better accommodation open to everyone, spending €20m on improving the facilities too -

Construction work starts on new €20m student centre at University of Limerick

It’s not excluding or segregating anyone from the University who doesn’t want to exclude or segregate themselves from the University any more than the establishment of gay bars excludes or segregates anyone who doesn’t want to exclude or segregate themselves from bars which are also open to everyone which are generally, a bit shìte, IMO.

It’s about offering potential students choice in accommodation over other universities which don’t. Choice is good, choices are good. This is literally offering diversity in accommodation to meet the demand for diversity in accommodation. It’s a smart move by the University to cash in on what is a growing market. The fact that they’re the first in Ireland to do so immediately makes them a more attractive prospect in some people’s eyes than Universities which don’t offer the accommodation or facilities that UL do. They’re not forcing anyone to apply, they’re literally offering the facility, and it will either stand or fail based upon whether it’s a popular idea or not. I can only see demand growing, and they’ve literally put other Irish Universities on the back foot so to speak, and they will lose out to UL.

EDIT: Wait until the students arrive and they realise there’s only one gay bar in the city, they’ll practically wet themselves with joy :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Hobosan

People are so intolerant. If LGBT can't have their own accommodation without pushback, then perhaps it's time they are given their own country. No more half measures.

Hobosan wrote: »
    People are so intolerant. If LGBT can't have their own accommodation without pushback, then perhaps it's time they are given their own country. No more half measures.

Already been done but thanks for your concern

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Then isn’t it a bit of a song and a dance then?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 mbmbmb444

T is not a sexuality though, I don't agree with it being lumped into the LGB group. It's an actual mental issue as the people identify in some way to a different form of themselves taken to extreme levels.

Well that's nice you don't agree with it being lumped in with the LGB group, however throughout LGB history, trans people have been one of the major supports of the community, Stonewall riots, pride parades etc. Amongst many people in the LGBT+ community there is a recognition that we have similar struggles for civil/human rights and that we should work together.

Being trans is not a mental issue, the medical research is pretty clear on this and indicates that the social rejection and violence many trans people experience, appears to be the primary source of their mental distress, as opposed to the distress being solely the result of being transgender.

Here's a nice review on the global health burden of trans people h t t p s : / / w w w . t h e l a n c e t . c o m / p d f s / j o u r n a l s / l a n c e t / P I I S 0 1 4 0 - 6 7 3 6 (16) 0 0 6 8 4 - X. pdf
    [remove the spaces to get the link]

Not too long ago being gay was considered a metal issue also.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 mbmbmb444

This also does

h t t p : / / w w w . u n i v e r s i t y t i m e s . i e /2019/07/university-of-limerick-launches-lgbt-accommodation-scheme/
    Also see post above from joeytheparrot

Okay once again I am going to restate that this accomodation, as explained in the article you linked, is for members of the LGBTQ+ and allied community.

If you read the second paragraph of the article you linked you will find it says "The Irish Examiner is reporting that almost 200 students from more than 30 countries have applied to live in the accommodation, which has been designed specifially for students who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex or ALLIED."

Allied person - is a heterosexual and/or cisgender person who supports equal civil rights, gender equality, and LGBT social movements, and challenges homophobia, biphobia, and transphobia. [Wikipaedia]

Now one might think most people are allies, however this is certainly not always the case. Heck there is currently a post with over 100 thanks on a different Current Affairs thread which is making some fairly disparging coments towards pregnant trans men.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Hobosan wrote: »
    then perhaps it's time they are given their own country. No more half measures.

It's called The Vatican.