Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Antifa [Mod Warning on post #1 - updated 08/08/19]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭Sand

how low is their bar that they think the british conservative party represents fascism....

Tories are hyper-individualists who ooze neoliberalism. Have been since at least Thatcher. Ridiculous to confuse that with fascism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Sand wrote: »
    Tories are hyper-individualists who ooze neoliberalism. Have been since at least Thatcher. Ridiculous to confuse that with fascism.

It's the racist, homophobic sexist things he's published that might do that. Not to mention betraying the public they serve for greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭Sand

It's the racist, homophobic sexist things he's published that might do that. Not to mention betraying the public they serve for greed.

Fascism is slightly more serious than the bumbling ignorance Boris releases. Boris cant be confused with a fascist precisely because he is so individualistic. If groups like Antifa insist on associating Boris with fascism, then they're essentially saying this great evil they are opposed to is fairly banal. Everyone gets the whole Antifa thing is performance art but they're really jumping the shark at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Fascism is slightly more serious than the bumbling ignorance Boris releases. Boris cant be confused with a fascist precisely because he is so individualistic. If groups like Antifa insist on associating Boris with fascism, then they're essentially saying this great evil they are opposed to is fairly banal. Everyone gets the whole Antifa thing is performance art but they're really jumping the shark at this point.

I haven't laughed at a post like this in a while. Just brilliant.

Anti-fashista are anti-democratic.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

Why are the police stopping these people exercising their free speech?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

you sir deserve eternal deference for that line .

" performance art " :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

20Cent wrote: »
    Why are the police stopping these people exercising their free speech?

Your fella posted this video for you to prep and stretch to. You dont want a cramp running away or it will slow down the revolution.

https://twitter.com/MrAndyNgo/status/1205927047119245312

See the video of army and navy students throwing white power signs at their football match in the US. Should all but put on bog cleaning duty for a few years. This type of atmosphere encouraged by the establishment from the president down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

See the video of army and navy students throwing white power signs at their football match in the US. Should all but put on big cleaning duty for a few years. This type of atmosphere encouraged by the establishment from the president down.
    👌

Spreading racism and white supremacy "to own the libs".

The alt right are really playing the right like a fiddle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

20Cent wrote:
    The alt right are really playing the right like a fiddle.

I think you need to look in the mirror to see who is being played like a fiddle.

Imagine thinking the international sign for "ok" now means white power because of some **** lords on 4chan.

Ironicname wrote: »
    I think you need to look in the mirror to see who is being played like a fiddle.

Imagine thinking the international sign for "ok" now means white power because of some **** lords on 4chan.

Imagine not knowing it has been appropriated by the far right and that the NZ killer was just saying ok.

1_JS177662723-32.jpg

20Cent wrote:
    Imagine not knowing it has been appropriated by the far right and that the NZ killer was just saying ok.

Subscribing to PewDiePie is also white power too?

He also wears trousers. Do you?

The ok symbol is a joke and used to make fun of idiots who think it stands for white power.

Subscribing to PewDiePie is also white power too?

He also wears trousers. Do you?

The ok symbol is a joke and used to make fun of idiots who think it stands for white power.

A lot of white power people disagree.
    Why do you think the NZ shooter did it when he was in court.

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭TwoMonthsOff

To make fun of people like yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

4chan invents hysteria that the hand symbol is a white power thing
    people who are not white supremacists but right leaning keep using it to troll
    left ramps this up as a feedback loop to 'prove' these people are white supremacists
    entire thing blows up into people thinking this is real and not something a 15 year old on a forum came up with
    real white supremacists start doing it because they believe it
    outrages the left even more, thus becoming funnier for right wing trolls
    circle complete. Its being used by trolls and real supremacists , it causes outrage at real and perceived hypersensitivity to white supremacy,
    actually has an origin on internet boards
    complete pot luck as to why somebody is doing it, its a streisand effect thing, if the left stopped caring about it, everyone would stop doing it.

20Cent wrote:
    A lot of white power people disagree. Why do you think the NZ shooter did it when he was in court.

Because he is a prick who thought it would be funny to use it as a joke and to create hysteria from arseholes who will see it and promote it as proof of a new emerging white power movement.

It worked. We have people like yourself now calling for people who use the symbol to be punished because they are promoting white power.

Were you one of the people that found Pepe the Frog offensive too?

The far right appropriate common symbols in order to further their cause. They include a plausible deniability so they can claim ignorance afterwards. All part of the normalisation of fascism. Dumb right wing people will stick up for them afterwards. The Navy are investigating the intention behind the symbols hopefully they will be assigned cleaning the jack's duty for a few years.

Image of Obama doing the ok sign incoming.

20Cent wrote:
    Image of Obama doing the ok sign incoming.

You mean white power sign dont you?

Jesus it's hard to keep up with you.

You mean white power sign dont you?

Jesus it's hard to keep up with you.

Symbols change over time.
    It's the intent that matters as well.

The swastika was an old Indian symbol but good luck going around in a swastika t shirt.

20Cent wrote:
    Symbols change over time. It's the intent that matters as well.

Intent.

Yes. Finally we agree.

Why do you assume intent of the lads at the football match was white power?

Was it because they were white?

Intent.

Yes. Finally we agree.

Why do you assume intent of the lads at the football match was white power?

Was it because they were white?

Because of the way they twisted their hand around and did it upside down and got it into shot for the TV.

Shouldn't really have people so immature in the navy should be kicked out.

20Cent wrote:
    Shouldn't really have people so immature in the navy should be kicked out.

Absolutely. No place for joking in a job where you put your life on the line.

Bastards

Bastards

Perhaps pick a "joke" that's not widely associated with white supremacy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Bastards

why ?
    o why in the name of all that is holy would you feed this bridge dweller ????

20Cent wrote:
    Perhaps pick a "joke" that's not widely associated with white supremacy.

You want people to be fired for a joke because some bad people have done it before?

Wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Very worried about the rise of white power in the oul American Football meself

EvfAF4S.jpg

You want people to be fired for a joke because some bad people have done it before?

Wow

What was the joke?

20Cent wrote:
    What was the joke?

Ironicname wrote:

It's understandable that you don't get it. The butt of the joke usually is oblivious.

So you reckon they were joking about white power?

Grand.
    Shouldn't be someone we want driving a nuclear submarine or something in the future.

20Cent wrote:

As I said.
    Ironicname wrote:

As I said.

You are right, I don't see what is funny about white supremacy.

Grand.
    Shouldn't be someone we want driving a nuclear submarine or something in the future.

Yes, I do not think the US military has a huge white supremacy problem.

You wan't to have your cake and eat it too, you love using this to confirm the 'rise of white supremacy' or confirm a racist incident yet old photos of black people or people you like doing it and 'yeah it was an internet forum thing'

the reasonable thing to do is accept that it can be used as a joke by anyone at any time and thats how it started , not use it as a tool to 'prove racism' when it suits.

Yes, I do not think the US military has a huge white supremacy problem.

You wan't to have your cake and eat it too, you love using this to confirm the 'rise of white supremacy' or confirm a racist incident yet old photos of black people or people you like doing it and 'yeah it was an internet forum thing'

the reasonable thing to do is accept that it can be used as a joke by anyone at any time and thats how it started , not use it as a tool to 'prove racism' when it suits.

Why do you think they did it then?

Everyone knows how it would be interpreted but they did it anyway.
    Clear lack of judgement on their part.

An ironic asshole is still an asshole.

20Cent wrote:
    Everyone knows how it would be interpreted but they did it anyway. Clear lack of judgement on their part.

That's the point.

They knew how YOU and people like you would interpret it and shows how knee jerk and hysterical you become.. An ok gesture that makes you go "eemehgod.... white power" when it doesn't actually mean that.

They don't probably just don't give a **** if you get offended by it. I frankly applaud them for not caring what you think.

That's the point.

They knew how YOU and people like you would interpret it and shows how knee jerk and hysterical you become.. An ok gesture that makes you go "eemehgod.... white power" when it doesn't actually mean that.

They don't probably just don't give a **** if you get offended by it. I frankly applaud them for not caring what you think.

I'm not offended, racists are common in the military.

What I think doesn't really matter.
    What their superiors think will be relevant when they are out on their arses though.

Now that will be funny.

What I think doesn't really matter.
    What their superiors think will be relevant when they are out on their arses though.

Now that will be funny.

and heres the rub, its just confirmation bias, when its people or institutions you already believe are racist then its real to you , when its somebody who you like , its not.

Plenty of research into racial problems in the us military.
    A good few of them plus veterans have been arrested.

20Cent wrote:

Not offended. But want them fired.

Jesus I wonder how you act when you ARE offended

Not offended. But want them fired.

Jesus I wonder how you act when you ARE offended

Joking about white suprmacy live on TV in uniform
    These aren't the kind of people that should be in the military.
    No discipline in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

racists are common in the military.

f2b16f0a9b2e462f3598fee95dc5884e.jpg

Worries grow about white nationalism in the ranks
    https://www.militarytimes.com/news/pentagon-congress/2019/02/25/is-the-military-doing-enough-to-combat-white-nationalism-in-the-ranks/
    Nearly 1 in 4 troops polled by Military Times in 2017 said they had seen examples of white nationalism among their fellow service members. Among non-white members of the military, the figure was more than 40 percent.

White nationalism remains a problem for the military, poll suggests
    https://www.militarytimes.com/news/pentagon-congress/2019/02/28/white-nationalism-remains-a-problem-for-the-military-poll-shows/

Among non-white service members in the poll, incidents of racism and racist ideology increased from 42 percent in 2017 to more than half those surveyed in 2018.

The results from the survey, conducted in September and October, suggest ongoing problems with infiltration of the military by extremist groups, even as military leaders have reminded service members that white nationalist views are opposed to military values.

Respondents said the problematic signs included casual use of racial slurs and anti-Semitic language, display of the Confederate flag despite complaints from other troops, swastikas drawn in bathrooms in combat zones, and tattoos known to be connected with white power propaganda.

20Cent wrote:
    Worries grow about white nationalism in the ranks

Of course they do. Christ I'd be concerned if lunatics were trying to convince me that any colleague who made an ok gesture was a white supremacist.

Thankfully, common sense will prevail and people will see idiots trying to claim everything is fascist or racist are just sad pricks.

Of course they do. Christ I'd be concerned if lunatics were trying to convince me that any colleague who made an ok gesture was a white supremacist.

Thankfully, common sense will prevail and people will see idiots trying to claim everything is fascist or racist are just sad pricks.

Bit more than that in fairness looking at the stats above.
    From a report by the military times.

20Cent wrote:
    Bit more than that in fairness looking at the stats above. From a report by the military times.

Of course. But if you see the ok symbol as racist, you'll see more racism.

People like you, pushing everything you see as "problematic" as racist will of course mean increased reports of people seeing an "incident" of racism.

Do you count seeing the navy lads using an ok symbol as racism?

Lots of people saw that. Does that count now as an incident of racism in the navy?

If yes, then your stat means nothing.

If no, then why the **** would you be calling for them being fired?

****ing hypocrite.

Of course. But if you see the ok symbol as racist, you'll see more racism.

People like you, pushing everything you see as "problematic" as racist will of course mean increased reports of people seeing an "incident" of racism.

Do you count seeing the navy lads using an ok symbol as racism?

Lots of people saw that. Does that count now as an incident of racism in the navy?

If yes, then your stat means nothing.

If no, then why the **** would you be calling for them being fired?

****ing hypocrite.

You don't seem to understand the research. The soldiers themselves see it a racist.

Yeah they should be fired. Some standards needed.
    If they don't know what they are doing they are too thick to be there, if they did they should be fired as well.

20Cent wrote:
    You don't seem to understand the research. The soldiers themselves see it a racist.

Oh ok. So racism is perception? It's about feelings. Gotcha.

Of course it is.
    Do racist stuff be perceived as a racist.

20Cent wrote:
    Of course it is. Do racist stuff be perceived as a racist.

Not what I said.

Is someone being a racist, based on fact or based on someone else's interpretation of what they believe a racist to be?

My definition of a racist is someone who believes they are superior to someone else based on their ethnicity.

What is your definition?

A ****ing ok symbol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

That's the point.

They either intended it as a white supremacy symbol or they are complete tools with no cop on. Neither group should be allowed access to firearms.