Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Eddie Rockets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Brokentime

LH Pathe wrote: »
    it's that special sauce again..

n it always has a mysterious pink hue

Jesus. If you like that, read this:

http://www.chinasmack.com/2009/pictures/recycled-slop-swill-cooking-oil.html

Welcome to China :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Sure it's the next best thing! Chinese have some counterfitting issues.

I think I remember the milkshakes in Eddie Rockets being good.

Are they still?

they are of the requisite standard.

Now that's a comment for Menupages

Brokentime wrote: »
    Now that's a comment for Menupages

No, that's a comment for boardsiepages the shakes are beyond your wildest dreams!

Does anyone here actually use Menupages?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Prefer Nando's, tbh.

cournioni wrote: »
    Prefer Nando's, tbh.

Went to the one in Dundrum a few times. I just remember the annoying process of queuing to order the food, then having to get your own cutlery and drinks. Oh, and they gave you sod all chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

The garlic mushrooms in Eddie's are always great! And the chocolate malts are beyond......

Me and the boyfriend spent a Sunday afternoon a while ago trying to recreate the Chocolate Malt Milkshake.... it was pretty successful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Love their burgers/chips/chicken tenders.

Anyone notice the malts & milkshakes have changed in the last year or so though? Not half as nice as they used to be. I think it's since they've opened all the shake shops, they seem to have changed the ingredients or something:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

Overpriced, messy, small portions...

Why on Earth does anyone eat there?

:mad:

Jokin' aren't ya ?

the Onion Rings.

That ALONE is enough to go there ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

I prefer Subway veggie burgers to Eddie Rockets ones personally (or any others for that matter). I think they were introduced recently enough - worth checking out if you dont know them. They aren't vegan incidentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,573 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Sweet Potatoe Fries are yummy

I agree it is dear but their food is yummy and the portions quite big

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭WolfgangWeisen

Eddie Rockets have always been fantastic but when they revamped the menu a few years ago the place got even better. Love going there, the one local to me now does deliveries also which is brilliant.

Got to laugh at the moany c*nts "why do people do things they clearly like doing? I don't like it so they shouldn't either sob sob sob!".

i'd love some eddie rockets now :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Eddie Rockets - Empty Your Pockets

or so the rhyme goes....^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I'd eat there if I fancied a burger, it's far from the most expensive place. That said, I love eating a wide variety of different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Tempted to head to Beshoff Bros for lunch thanks to this thread. Nearest Eddit Rockets is 15/20 mins drive away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I love the little slider meal they do for €6.50 - them sliders are fcuking delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Feisar

I don't know if it has been mentioned but I like having a beer with a burger, which you can get in Eddie's.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

Ficheall wrote: »
    Overpriced, yes. But "messy" is your own fault, and the portions are certainly not small...

I find Im more than full from a burger with chips. Any more and id be having a heart attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

I wish the Eddie rockets near me delivered hmmm awesome!!
    Dying for a nice juicy burger now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Feathers wrote: »
    If I've successfully cracked your location, you do realise that they have them here as "Ed's" (website will play Elvis, you've been warned). Even more flavours of milkshake!
    I've tried it, believe me. It's not the same.:(

Jalepeno jelly is no cajun sauce, but apart from that it's exactly the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Hooked

Not sure if it's the same elsewhere, but in the 3 Eddies in Limerick, any 2 burgers, 2 fries and 2 drinks are 13 yo yos with your newspaper coupon. It's my new Religion and mass is served every weekend in the Crescent or Coonagh Cross, Limerick! Mmmmmmmm. Empty Pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭heno86

Their window signs... "get in here" "eat" etc....I'm very suggestible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Personally I just think eddie rockets is too expensive to be going there all the time. Two people can easily drop 50 euro there.

If I am out and about and fancy food. I'd sooner goto burger king or what not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭eaglebhoy

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Eddie Rockets is a rip off of the Roadhouse in Carlow.

Saying that, Eddie's is much nicer. Smokestack burger after a night on the beer is the job.

Yup our Roadhouse was 1st, always loved it myself but there is an Eddie Rockets in Carlow now and I fear for the Roadhouse :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Personally I just think eddie rockets is too expensive to be going there all the time. Two people can easily drop 50 euro there.

I pity the fools spending €50 in Eddie Rockets, you can get fed well there for much less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭eaglebhoy

I haven't had an Eddie Rockets in ages so after readng this whole thread I'll be going there as soon as it is feasible to for me :D

I love the sliders, the Oreo Cookie Malt, the Onion Rings and the Garlic Mushrooms so guess I better go there quite hungry when I do ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I don't love it, nor do I hate it. Just think it's okay. I'm not a milkshake kinda person though so that could be partially the reason I'm not fussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

the one in arklow gives you any burger, fries and a drink for 2 plus 2 cinema tickets for €16. thats a good deal in my book

That's amazing. I am jelly.
    Eating at Eddie Rockets is the same as playing the lotto, a tax on idiots.

Your post is taxing on logic.
    Corholio wrote: »
    The prices of stuff in there is extortionate to be honest. Burgers for 6 or 7 euro. Chips small in portion size. Your paying for the fact that you're pretending to be in the 60's.

lol. The 50's.
    God I love Eddie Rockets.

Chicken wings to start. Tried Elephant ans Castle once and it was the worst meal I've ever paid for.

Chocolate malt......taste sensation.

M50 or a Smokestack.....oh ye.

Regulate fries or possibly garlic and cheese depending on the mood.

If I feel like treating myself for lunch their Club Sandwich is great.

It's not cheap but for 3euros more it's better than any other fast food joint. You won't be hungry in an hour after Eddie Rockets.

Club sandwich is gone? Gone in any Eddie's I have been to in a year or so.

Two sumo wrestlers maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Like eddie rockets, I know you pay more for their food but its better quality stuff.
    But, the owner of two of them hires some staff that dont have a work permit, thats just pure greed.
    Wont be going back there.

http://www.herald.ie/news/in-brief-diner-boss-on-permit-charges-3171489.html

THE operator of two Eddie Rockets diners is being prosecuted for employing foreign nationals without valid work permits.

The case was listed before Judge John O'Neill at the Dublin District Court.

Grattan Park Limited, trading as Eddie Rockets, is being prosecuted by the Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation.

Judge O'Neill granted an adjournment until a date in October; pleas to the charges have not yet been entered by the defendant company.

The food company faces seven counts relating to employment of three non-nationals at two of the 1950s- themed American style diners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Ive rarely been there...

But when I have ive loved it really :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Good shill Eddie :pac:

I do like empty pockets alright, but was in there a few weeks ago, and ordered somethin i didnt know, ended up with a bowl of mince, a bag of doritos and a big plate of disappointment, it was shite :mad:

I'd say that was their chilli and grated cheese with dry cracker's.NOM NOM

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

Empty Pockets - wouldn't set foot in the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

I'm surprised any faux-American diner in Ireland could ever be considered a rip-off of another faux-American diner in Ireland.

Sarcasm aside, it's even better than that:

Eddie Rockets is based upon Johnny Rockets from the States. Johnny Rockets(which have 320 restaurants nationwide and began building restaurants roughly 3 years before Eddie Rockets) is in tern based upon the typical 1940's and 1950's American diner, and in particular, the Apple Pan which has been in Los Angeles, California since 1947.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Eddie-Rocket%27s-Ennis,-co.-Clare.jpg
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:SixFlags-JohnnyRockets-4095.jpg
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Apple_Pan

As an American, I find the food to be just slightly stylized, but fairly accurate to 50's style American diner food - which is pretty much a food and style staple in the States. It never really died. The only things on the menu that I would say are distinctly American, and I have not yet found a counterpart elsewhere in Ireland, are the shakes and the hotdogs. While the food may be agreeable, the costs are not. The whole reasoning behind an American diner is that it is cheap, fast food. Even Johnny Rockets is about half what Eddies costs. But in Ireland we're paying for the relatively rare atmosphere, if not rarefied food.

Having said this, I must admit I will pop in for some comfort food. There it is easy to pretend on my visits to Ireland that I am back home, if only for a meal. Immediately thereafter, I am once again sick of American culture and rebel and go to pub and start a fight. Lord knows I'll have plenty of energy for it in my gut.

Brokentime wrote: »
    Not sure if anyone agrees with me on this, but I think that all Subway shops have a bad smell in them. It's some foodstuff, obviously, but just a manky smell overall. Been in Subway in Dublin, Chicago, Shanghai... etc etc.... same smell everywhere.

I always assumed the smell was from the onion and garlic on the bread baking mixed with the raw yeast aroma. But, yeah, I know what ya mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭daltonmd

Unwillingly ate in Eddie's a few days ago, stopped many years ago as it just went downhill. Didn't even know about the new menu until I was there.

3 People.

3 Burgers

Couple of starters

1 Chile fries
    1 Normal fries.

Burgers were wafer thin, overcooked, it was like chewing sand. Bun was fresh as was lettuce the presence of the meat ruined it.

Fries - completely oversalted, difficult to eat.

Chile fries - Just when you thought the fries couldn't be any saltier - add the outrageously salty chile. Awful.

Good points

Shakes were delicious.

Starters were really good, quesadillas with guacomole worth a return trip alone.

Deep fried mushrooms and garlic sauce a close second.

Really pity about the meat and the fries. 45 euro for 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,507 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I wonder if some of the branches are just sh1t!

My biggest plus for Eddies is the fact the meat in the burgers is a reasonable slab or actual mice rather than just a crappie flat pattie!

I love the stuff on the chips too (paprica?).

The ones I frequent the most are on Parnell St and O'Connell St.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

noodler wrote: »
    I wonder if some of the branches are just sh1t!

My biggest plus for Eddies is the fact the meat in the burgers is a reasonable slab or actual mice rather than just a crappie flat pattie!

I love the stuff on the chips too (paprica?).

The ones I frequent the most are on Parnell St and O'Connell St.

I think they are. I frequent the Bray branch and a few weeks ago went to the one on O'Connell street.

I was absolutely atrocious. The burger was crap and small in comparison to Bray. I was so pissed off I complained to the manager, took a photo of the burger and emailed them. Never heard anything back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

Very tempted to go again was there Monday!

Someone was having 4 of those mini burgers with fries. Seemed to have cheese on them, anything else on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

First time I ate in Eddie Rockets I picked up what I presumed was the salt shaker on the table and put it on my chips... Sugary chips don't taste nice :(

The oreo shake and secret sauce made up for it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,507 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I think they are. I frequent the Bray branch and a few weeks ago went to the one on O'Connell street.

I was absolutely atrocious. The burger was crap and small in comparison to Bray. I was so pissed off I complained to the manager, took a photo of the burger and emailed them. Never heard anything back.

I actually have never had a problem in O'Connell St.

Last time I was there was April and I say at the counter and watched the burger being made (what I would call) reasonable slabs of mince being thrown on the grill thing.

Maybe they made the burgers smaller since they introduced the combo meal? I can't say I have noticed though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

VEN wrote: »
    Empty Pockets - wouldn't set foot in the place

Noted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Reindeer wrote: »
    I always assumed the smell was from the onion and garlic on the bread baking mixed with the raw yeast aroma. But, yeah, I know what ya mean.

It's a fecking awful smell and I've never gone into a Subway because of it.

Confab wrote: »
    It's a fecking awful smell and I've never gone into a Subway because of it.

Here's a few stabs at it, not to derail the thread:

http://www.chow.com/food-news/86822/why-do-subway-restaurants-smell-awful/

Some folks say it could be the meat being unpacked. The only problem I have with this theory is they aren't unpacking meat all day. However if they are using meat made at plants in the US, the FDA does allow a certain amount of ammonia(or whatever it is they use) to sterilize processed meats. And when you open up some packs of sandwich meat in the States, the initial whiff can be brutal, even when 'fresh'. And they do have that cheap meat-like stuff sitting around all day behind the glass... so they may have a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Firstly, if you consider them to be small portions you must be one fat dude. Secondly the food there is savage, it's also got a cool retro vibe which is slick.
    Thirdly the new shakes from the shake shop are the nicest thing I have ever drank.

Eddy Rockets all the way. Advertising pun intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,321 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I always hated eddie rockets. I actually prefer the burger in burger king. The only reason I've ever gone to Eddie Rockets is because a girl has dragged me. The burgers are dry over priced bits of seared meat in a stale bun. The hotdogs are not much better. The only thing that appears to be nice there is the mlkshakes.
    We were working late one day and work said they'd pay for takeaway. So we ordered from there and sent up someone to collect them. My BLTC (Bacon lettuce tomato & cheese) had no bacon. It was two pieces of toasted bread with limp lettuce and some cheese and tomato.

I don't care how much a girl whinges at me, I'm never going back to that place.

These places have far better burgers.
    http://www.gourmetburgercompany.ie/

And strangly enough, although I've only been there twice so I haven't got a huge amount of experience with them, thunder road has great burgers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

The portions are very big, OP. If you got the wings, for example, there's no way you'd be wanting more wings unless you haven't eaten in days. You get a good-sized portion of chips too and the hot dogs are huge.