Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are there any shops you don't like?

• 06-01-2019 2:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,825 ✭✭✭✭

One shop I never warmed to was TKMaxx but I know some people who love it. I've being to a few of them now and every time I've being I've being disappointed. I always feel there stuff is a bit tatty and anytime I've found something I liked there's being issues with the stitching/zips on the item and the prices aren't great either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Tk maxx. Just couldn’t cope with it. Always hated warehouse too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

I'd also like to express my dislike for that particular shop.
    The man never shopped in TkMaxx in his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Dunnes Stores, something about really puts me off.

eviltwin wrote: »

I don't like Dunnes either. It's as if it doesn't know where it is in the market. When Aldi arrived it tried to compete with it. Now it's trying its best to look like M&S and failing at that too.

When I saw the thread title my first thought was "most of Dundrum Town centre". Theres very few shops that I have any interest in. They all seem like clones of each other. I know I'm not their target audience, but its conveniently located near me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,641 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I don't like Dunnes either. It's as if it doesn't know where it is in the market. When Aldi arrived it tried to compete with it. Now it's trying its best to look like M&S and failing at that too.

When I saw the thread title my first thought was "most of Dundrum Town centre". Theres very few shops that I have any interest in. They all seem like clones of each other. I know I'm not their target audience, but its conveniently located near me.

If you're not a woman aged 18-35 there's little in Dundrum SC to attract you, full stop.

Anyway, in answer to the OP's question: River Island. Also, is it counts as a shop - Starbucks.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Evel Knievel

Betting shops.

Also, any shops where some little piss ant with a lanyard is straight over asking if your "ok there", the minute you walk in the door.
    Giz a chance to have a look first pal...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Woodies. The staff are frustratingly few and frustratingly clueless.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Tesco. The shops are always grotty, and it’s hard to know which are worse - the ‘unexpected item in bagging area’ machines, or the tragically demotivated human drones who work in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Pennies.. a Mecca for woman aged 10 and up and a nightmare for the poor lads waiting outside for the women to come out. I’ve yet to see a woman go in and out in less than an hour :(

What’s more, if a woman happens to be in a different town with a Pennies, they get an urge to go in there too in case they have something the other one didn’t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Tesco always grotty? Don't see that myself.

Penneys - too packed all the time and the stuff is poor quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Pennies.. a Mecca for woman aged 10 and up and a nightmare for the poor lads waiting outside for the women to come out. I’ve yet to see a woman go in and out in less than an hour :(

What’s more, if a woman happens to be in a different town with a Pennies, they get an urge to go in there too in case they have something the other one didn’t.

Brilliant. So true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

If you're not a woman aged 18-35 there's little in Dundrum SC to attract you, full stop.

Anyway, in answer to the OP's question: River Island. Also, is it counts as a shop - Starbucks.

How about 18-35 year old women?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Zara, Topshop and H&M. I've never found a single thing to buy in Topshop and have found Zara and H&M extremely poor quality.

If I was to look at clothes in TKMaxx my blood pressure would be through the roof due to the disorder and lack of sizes. But I find it good for accessories and household items.

1. Robbing Valu and Dunnes. Complete gougers, with the latter having the added bonus of apartheid-supporting thugs of employees and suppliers alike for many decades. Robbing Valu is by far the worst chain in Ireland for repeatedly charging me a higher price than the stated price. Awful experiences on that issue.

2. TK Maxx for managing the remarkable feat of plastering a Union Jack on every second product. A nice entirely apolitical home product and they just have to stamp the Butcher's Apron on it. Wrong country, you pleb-targeting tools.

3. The checkout people in Lidl with their incessant phone conversation on their headphones as they "serve" you, followed by a grunt when they say the bill as if you are an inconvenience. Being civil costs nothing. And both Aldi & Lidl for making you queue up behind trolleys and the like when all you have is 5 or 6 things. Ever hear of self-service checkouts?

4. M&S for being by far the worst supermarket chain in Ireland when it comes to supporting Irish producers/jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,825 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

3. The checkout people in Lidl with their incessant phone conversation on their headphones as they "serve" you, followed by a grunt when they say the bill as if you are an inconvenience. Being civil costs nothing.

I actually find these kind of funny. In my local Lidl the staff can very personal conversations over them and I've even heard them talk about customers! It's almost like they think everybody else is deaf.

So you don’t like Supervalu because you don’t think it’s Super Value (your altenative name isn’t edgy or witty, BTW), you don’t like Dunnes because of Apartheid, you don’t like American TK Maxx because of a union flag on some Chinese made Italian branded tat rejected by some Londonite twat and rerouted to Dublin instead, you don’t like the German Lidl because you want to pay peanuts but not have monkeys....

But you end by complaining about one of the most British of retail brands not supporting Irish brands?

I like M&S myself, because poor people shop in those other hovels, and they’re smelly and badly dressed Sinn Fein voters. Tell me, where do armchair republicans actually like to shop these days? Feshty McSemtex’s corner shop?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Been

tupenny wrote: »
    Been

What's wrong with the Been shop?
    It might be helpful to other posters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Footlocker.

Must be getting old because the idea of paying North of €100 for a pair of runners that aren't designed for running doesn't appeal to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

TK Maxx also, and those Huge Tescos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Apartheid ended in 1994.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭SmallTeapot

Next - always found their clothes were too plain and dowdy.

I know that the chain has since closed, but also Maplin. I only went in there a handful of times (looking for specific items such batteries, fuses, etc) and found it really awkward to shop there. Their prices were also extortionate.

Claire’s accessories = over-priced and naff.

Independent DIY stores/ plumbing/ general hardware stores (not referring to b&q, Homebase, but non-franchised establishments)...... Although I don’t think I’m quite the consumer they try to appeal to.

Phone shops - not network carriers, but ones that sell a a multitude of phone accessories, repair screens, etc., but don’t actually stock any handsets. I never venture into them yet for some reason the over-saturation of this market-sphere annoys me (they’re everywhere!). Akin to vape shops (majority of them popped up overnight it seems!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,667 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Yes, Bishops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Spar

lbc2019 wrote: »
    TK Maxx also, and those Huge Tescos

I really dislike all large Tesco's and Dunnnes.
    They can have an isle of the same type of toilet rolls loads of shampoo/gels and the layout can be poor I've seen toilet roll and cereal in the same isle.

I really dislike all large Tesco's and Dunnnes.
    They can have an isle of the same type of toilet rolls loads of shampoo/gels and the layout can be poor I've seen toilet roll and cereal in the same isle.

High fiber granola and kittensoft 4 ply?

Makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,336 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

eviltwin wrote: »

The staff uniform sums it up for me, all black, like a funeral. You get the sense that it's a horrible place to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

I dont like Dunnes at all either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭bassy

One shop I never warmed to was TKMaxx but I know some people who love it. I've being to a few of them now and every time I've being I've being disappointed. I always feel there stuff is a bit tatty and anytime I've found something I liked there's being issues with the stitching/zips on the item and the prices aren't great either.

ooh skankdum style.........................................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Yes, Bishops
    Homophobe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Woodies. The local hardware shop can sell things at half the price of Woodies and still make a profit. Shows you how much they are out to gouge the Irish public. Likewise with Halfords. Your local motor factors are way cheaper.

Dunnes because every store has a different layout and it takes ages to find what you’re looking for.

Lush. The smell of them makes me want to vomit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,646 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Tesco. The shops are always grotty, and it’s hard to know which are worse - the ‘unexpected item in bagging area’ machines, or the tragically demotivated human drones who work in them.

AND DON'T FORGET TO TAKE A BLUE TOKEN!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

ikea

my wife and I killed each other there about 10years ago on our first visit,
    she goes alone now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I know Aldi save money by not unpacking stuff but the way you have to dig for what you want is is ridiculous. I've often had to lift up two crates of diet cola with one hand so I get out a bottle of normal cola with the other hand. Would it really be that difficult to stack the crates separately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

I must say I love tk Maxx.

I don't like clothes shopping so finding all that variety in one shop is great for me . I go about once a year and stock up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Also, any shops where some little piss ant with a lanyard is straight over asking if your "ok there", the minute you walk in the door.
    Giz a chance to have a look first pal...

I agree it's the wrong approach but they've literally been trained to do this via some hokey American retail training regime. Always remember there's a person behind the job. They don't want to talk bullshít to you, but they're paid to and if they fail to keep it up for at least a full year they're fired and can't afford to live.
    How many 20-somethings dream of walking up to a stranger and asking if they're "OK for everything"?
    Zero. Blame the business and not the piss-ant w/lanyard.

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

Mod-Potentially libelous comment removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Penny's. God knows why but their mens jeans are the worst fitting things on earth. I have big thighs and calfs but when I try on "my" size the waist is always about 2-3 sizes bigger than it's meant to be and the legs are like they're sprayed on. And not in skinny or slim fit, in straight fit. It's ridiculous. All their mens clothes are ill-fitting really.
    Can't stand the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Penny's. God knows why but their mens jeans are the worst fitting things on earth. I have big thighs and calfs but when I try on "my" size the waist is always about 2-3 sizes bigger than it's meant to be and the legs are like they're sprayed on. And not in skinny or slim fit, in straight fit. It's ridiculous. All their mens clothes are ill-fitting really.
    Can't stand the place.

That's the fashion nowadays. It's not nice for people who want normal clothes but my 21yr old nephew only buys pants that 5 years ago I would've thought of as some awkward teen girl's fashion choice. Ripped by design, thin material so made to be destroyed within months, extremely tight and likely to amplify all the bad qualities of the material. Getting lads to wear girl-fashion's leftover materials is probably a wet-dream for clothes manufacturers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭NSAman

Can't stand the place.

Oh just go with the flow. Wear them and buy some CK’s, let the arse of the jeans dangle half way down your CK’s and you are “trendy”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,519 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

TK Maxx, never found a single thing I liked there. Ever.

Bookies and Cash for Gold places, a sure sign a place is going downhill. Likewise the seedy looking Casinos that exist here.

River Island, their men's stuff is a tad effeminate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,519 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

AND DON'T FORGET TO TAKE A BLUE TOKEN!!!

There's always one pushy blue token one at the checkouts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭fits

I like ALDI and TK maxx. Dislike all the high street fashion chains. Terrible quality plastic clothes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭mikemac2

1. Robbing Valu and Dunnes. Complete gougers, with the latter having the added bonus of apartheid-supporting thugs of employees and suppliers alike for many decades.

The apartheid protest by union members started in 1984, over 30 years ago.

Most shop assistants and junior managers who work in Dunnes were not even born then

Let it go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I love them all and never find the bad staff you complain about. Before I came to Ireland I was housebound years as I have been many times due to illness and it was and is a sheer wonder to go into supermarkets Really enjoy them .
    staff are always kind
    Alas will no longer have a mainland car by this time next week so no more supermarkets sadly ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

paw patrol wrote: »
    ikea

my wife and I killed each other there about 10years ago on our first visit,
    she goes alone now.

I hate ikea

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

Lush. The smell is absolutely overwhelmingly strong, before you're even in the door you're nearly tripping balls off the smell.
    Then, if you actually go inside (because you have to buy your sister a few bath bombs for her birthday), the staff are on top of you the minute you walk in asking if you need help (I don't need help spending my own fucking money thanks!), they try to upsell you and, even at the fucking till they're still trying to get you to spend more money - "this lip scrub is only €5 if you buy it today" - not even fucking free to thank you for your custom! Or, the shite they're selling at the counter is to help some starving kids and they look at you like "oh you're clearly someone who just wants all the kids dead".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Super valu

Nothing remotely extra special or exclusive yet extremely expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

Ambercrombie & Fitch - shopping in poor light, with an over loaded smell of perfume, being served by a completely vaucous poser.

I must be too old!

Others include Tx maxx,

Claire's (no I don't want a basket or to hear all the special offers)

Pull & Bear (it's always a mess),

Smiggles (over priced nonsense & guaranteed headache),

Brown Thomas (peak notions & staff who think a lot of themselves)

Lidl (new checkouts are chaos & slow things fown rather than speed it up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Tesco, always find their meat or fruit/veg to be lowest quality.

JD Sports. Seem to only sell tacky/chavy stuff and not a proper runner in the place :o

Have to say I like Tkmaxx, love having such a mad collection of stuff all in one place. Cookery related stuff is usually interesting, good for gifts.