Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Donegal priest: "Film too raunchy for the church"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Ah sure butter wouldn't melt, and by God has he tried it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"Is it a nudey kind of thing Father?"

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Did you even read the article?
    “I’m not sure how this story has got legs as I don’t know much about it other than the fact that the cinema itself isn’t managed by ourselves or the Church and that the management took a decision not to show it,” he told independent.ie.

Even the Independent acknowledges this in the headline and article.

Are you worse than the Independent? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

They would be coming from Gdansk to see the film.....

Except that Gdansk gas a wide range of excellent cinemas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Nim wrote: »
    Did you even read the article?

Even the Independent ackowledges this in the headline and article.

Are you worse than the Independent? :pac:

I'm more of an Irish Times man meself.

My narrative is funnier though:p

Ok we'll go along with "the management";)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Not one "down with this sort thing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's a bit much for me, Father. "Feck this" and "Feck that", "You big bastard." Oh, Dreadful Language. "You big hairy arse." "You big Fecker." Fierce Stuff! And of course the F-word father, the bad F-word. Worse then Feck. You know the one I mean. "F you" "F your effing wife" I don't know why they have to use language like that. "I'll stick this effing pitchfork up your hole" That was another one. "Bastard this" and "Bastard that", "You Bastard" "You Fecker" "You bollocks! Get your bollocks out of my face." "Ride me sideways" was another one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

seems fair enough to me

why should they show a film that they don't agree with

and I bet its a ****e film too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Sex between adults......not really suitable Father......now a cleric and a child???mmmmmm I wonder..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ah in fairness it's extra marital sex and S&M
    I can see why they wouldn't show it. And I'm no fan of the church

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

They should show Cinema Paradiso instead.

The priest himself may not be directly responsible for the movie not being shown but what he represents is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The woman who objected is a bit of a local legend. She stood for the Christian Solidarity Party in a GE one year and she got about 1 vote. She used to be wheeled out on local radio for a bit of controversy now and again but too many people breaking their radios in disbelief at her views probably affected advertising, she's never on now. It's a bit of a pity, entertaining in small doses and a healthy reminder that people with these 'values' still exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,291 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

If he was dictating to his parishioners they shouldnt watch it at all fair enough ridicule away but he's allowed decide what films the church does and doesn't screen on its own movie night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

efb wrote: »
    Ah in fairness it's extra marital sex and S&M. I can see why they wouldn't show it.
    No paedophilia?

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

A priest in Donegal has banned "50 Shades of Grey" being shown in his church run cinema.

Jaysus, I must start watching it so.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 896 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fuzzytrooper

Putin wrote: »
    Jaysus, I must start watching it so.

Careful now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 1357

Down with this sort of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

In all fairness, Donegal is the dogging capital of Europe. You can catch mass, watch the northern lights and looks at another man ****ing your wife all in the same evening.
    50 Shades is a movie to send the kids to while you're out and about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,419 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

It's their cinema, they get to choose what does and doesn't play there and why. Non story of the day.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Hail Mary who art in heaven...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 1357

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Hallowed is with thee...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    ...Santa is my name...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I'm really not sure about this film,

Women will read the f*ck out of porn, but very few will watch it. (In my experience)

Have no interest in seeing it myself. Looking forward to Superman vs Barman however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cork guitar player

lol, interview with the woman against porn on Today FM.

Like a time warp back to the 80's. Felt sorry for the lady. Some serious catholic hang ups on display.

Sure we all have mickys or fuu fuu's, get over it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭cml387

Classic no win story for the church, this one.

"There were blushes all round in Donegal today when it was disclosed that raunchy sex-film 'Fifty Shades Of Grey' was being shown in a church- owned public hall. Red faced curate Father Francis Bradley admitted he hadn't seen the film and that even if he had, he didn't want to finish up being compared to Bishop Brennan in that episode of Fr. Ted and start banning it"