Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is there anybody cool anymore?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Saralee4 wrote: »
    Ian Brown

Oasis wanted to be Ian Brown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Joe Doe

Is Chevy Chase still alive? Not much spooked that fella.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

The Master wrote: »
    Listen with sound when you can,
    Arse of the worst order

Agreed - that was painful to listen to! What a bell-end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Ed Snowden.

Obama is still pretty cool, will be even more so when he quits and starts doing the circuits.

Marty Morrisey, of course.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 67 ✭✭johnohanlon

Your frostbit man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I've said it before and i'll say it again...

There is nobody as cool on this earth as a cool black man. Look at Lenny Kravitz and name me a similar aged white man with the same level of coolness.

I even see the young black lads from the local school - they couldn't be cooler if they tried. Then I see a spotty, bad haired young white fellow and i think "you haven't a hope of getting a girlfriend because that young fellow beside you will hoover up the talent".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Henry is cool
    Alonso is cool
    Pirlo is cool
    Chabal is cool

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭shrewd

mfceiling wrote: »
    I've said it before and i'll say it again...

There is nobody as cool on this earth as a cool black man. Look at Lenny Kravitz and name me a similar aged white man with the same level of coolness.

I even see the young black lads from the local school - they couldn't be cooler if they tried. Then I see a spotty, bad haired young white fellow and i think "you haven't a hope of getting a girlfriend because that young fellow beside you will hoover up the talent".
    not sure if trolling or just immature

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Seaaan123

Julian Casablancas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Joe Doe wrote: »
    Is Chevy Chase still alive? Not much spooked that fella.
    He is but his addiction to back pain tablets have left him a little bloated :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Christoph Waltz
    Very good - hugely agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Kenny Loggins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Tom Waits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Bill Murray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

There will never be a period in the history of time when Samuel L Jackson ISN'T cool

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭Jack Skellington

Very good - hugely agree.

Yeh, the man is just so intelligent and easy going as well, I thought his character Dr.King in django was an absolute boss, very cool guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Bjork. Unique, authentically strange and aloof.

Also another female -and many will disagree with me I'm sure- who is cool is Sinead O'Connor. Madder than a sack of Peruvian spiders, but is always herself, proved correct in many things despite being pilloried and had an attitude of 'kiss my ass' while doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Hooked

Birneybau wrote: »
    Cheating cheese eating bastard.

Agreed! Thierry Henry, on sky sports, discussing 'hand ball' decisions in premier league matches, is about as far from 'cool' as you can get.

As for who's cool? Meh, I'm not sure...

Sports wise - Jamie redknapp is a cool dude. Michael Jordan was the coolest!

Movies - James McEvoy is pretty slick. Del Torro. Pacino.

Tv - jimmy fallon is one cool cat. That fresh prince parody on FB tonight is quality.

Music - Andrew Hozier Byrne is so damn cool, in the flesh - and he doesn't even know it.

I'm starting to sound gay now... Laters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Kate Bush.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭pollyannawins

the common consensus is that cool increases inversely to care: so Nazis and child abductors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Annie Clark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

shrewd wrote: »
    not sure if trolling or just immature

Neither.

My mate is a 6ft 2 black man who just has a coolness that none of the rest of us lads could come close to. At my wedding the women were practically falling over themselves to talk to him.

I look at famous black men like Lenny Kravitz, Samuel L Jackson and Denzel Washington and there is a coolness that very few, if any white men of a similar age could hope to achieve.

Just my opinion - no malice or immaturity there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Idris Elba

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Tom Hardy.
    Alex Skarsgard.
    Messi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Marshawn Lynch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Hooked wrote: »
    Agreed! Thierry Henry, on sky sports, discussing 'hand ball' decisions in premier league matches, is about as far from 'cool' as you can get.

As for who's cool? Meh, I'm not sure...

Sports wise - Jamie redknapp is a cool dude. Michael Jordan was the coolest!

Movies - James McEvoy is pretty slick. Del Torro. Pacino.

Tv - jimmy kimmel is one cool cat. That fresh prince parody on FB tonight is quality.

Music - Andrew Hozier Byrne is so damn cool, in the flesh - and he doesn't even know it.

I'm starting to sound gay now... Laters

Jamie Redknapp?

It's Jimmy Fallon.

Hozier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

There will never be a period in the history of time when Samuel L Jackson ISN'T cool

This became received wisdom on foot of his performance in Pulp Fiction (1994).

The amount of crud he's shown up in subsequently has long since run the cool well dry.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭cometogether

Andre 3000 is ice cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Andre 3000 is ice cold

Alright alright alright alright alright alright alright alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Froshtbit

Your frostbit man

Ah, thanks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 67 ✭✭johnohanlon

Froshtbit wrote: »
    Ah, thanks!

Surely to God, is it your self?

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Froshtbit

You'll never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Robert Downey jnr is pretty damn cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Trimm Trabb

RomanKnows wrote: »
    David Bowie

Stay with us Scotland

• Registered Users Posts: 5,611 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Damon Albarn is pretty much cooler than ever these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Josh Homme.

Turns out gingers DO have a soul.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Rumple Fugly

Moe Dee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Bill Burr.
    Seriously think he'll be considered one of the all time great comedians. He has "IT". In pain laughing even on rewatch after rewatch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭darlenmol

Tom Waits.

only when he's dead sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭darlenmol

darlenmol wrote: »
    only when he's dead sure

and with that on goes swordfishtrombones and **** the begrudgers

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

Frank Ocean
    Tom Meighan
    Michael Fassbender
    ASAP Rocky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I'm cool OP. And mysterious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

David Platt from Coronation Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 ping pong

Patti Smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Adamantium wrote: »
    Bill Burr.
    Seriously think he'll be considered one of the all time great comedians. He has "IT". In pain laughing even on rewatch after rewatch.

You're right, those videos were painful.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭pollyannawins

the common consensus is that cool increases inversely to care: so Nazis and child abductors

bumping this reply because its gold