Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The No RTE Chatshows Summer Thread 2019

• 07-06-2019 7:05pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Isn't this about the time someone usually starts one of these threads, plenty of football on tonight, no sign of Nathan Carter on RTE's listings this weekend which is odd, anyway whose looking forward to a long rainy hot summer?

petsummersafety.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭sxt

When Brendan o Connors "Saturday Night Show" started becoming more entertaining and successful than the, late late, Rte bottled it. Didn't know what to do, so they axed their most popular show. Idiots

Now Rte, through the Late Late, have placed all their bets on country music and misery porn to sustain them going forward

This is an organization that needs a serious and independent auditing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

You beat me to it SYN.

Happy summer everybody.

First Friday night in ages that I'm not going out. I've just come in. :D

OH watching the soccerball and I cant go to the kitchen as it's being painted. The TV is face down on the table.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Any of ye heading to Metallica tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Nice one SYN

Happy Summer everyone

Literally every time Darren Randolph is mentioned in the football, I think wouldn't it be funny if he was involved in a swap deal for someone called Mortimer, where they were literally Trading Places

Also, I only learned recently that Randolph and Mortimer have a cameo in Coming To America which is very pleasing if you have seen Trading Places

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Feckin' Danes

In the words of Jim Beglin

"Shane Duffy - His head gives you hope" :)

Skid X wrote: »
    Nice one SYN

Happy Summer everyone

Literally every time Darren Randolph is mentioned in the football, I think wouldn't it be funny if he was involved in a swap deal for someone called Mortimer, where they were literally Trading Places

Also, I only learned recently that Randolph and Mortimer have a cameo in Coming To America which is very pleasing if you have seen Trading Places

Nice one Skid. I'm gonna root out TP now.

As soon as I watch the second half of this Interview with Bernie Marsden. I was to go and see him last weekend in Ballyshannon but something came up. Seems like a lovely bloke. Anyone with an interest in guitars should have a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Yes and going to spend sunday recovering while watching the rock am ring live stream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,260 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ryan must be gutted that the LLS finished a week early...

“So James, your tourbus crashed and killed Cliff Burton...that must have been AWFUL.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

“So James, your tourbus crashed and killed Cliff Burton...that must have been AWFUL.”

"Did you enjoy rehab?"

Didn't Hetfield's father walk out on the family when he was 13, also his mother died of cancer when he was 16, could nearly knock an hour out of that alone.

sligojoek wrote: »
    You beat me to it SYN.

Happy summer everybody.

First Friday night in ages that I'm not going out. I've just come in. :D

OH watching the soccerball and I cant go to the kitchen as it's being painted. The TV is face down on the table.

I love the smell if fresh paint. Actually I must paint the bathroom door as the wood is melting off it. That’s what you get for using it as your clothes drying room, not allowed to hang out in posh flats with glass fronted balconies you know.

To a certain cat life is summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,674 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Yes sir.

Totally can't wait (until that bit at the end when you have to start walking towards the bus)

A photo my late Dad took (and wrote upon!) at the time Captain Darby Kennedy was about to get out to send my up on my first solo flight on a 13th. I had started flying lessons on a Friday 13th. Had to give up when my license was redacted due to eyesight requirements (stricter back then). Booked on gliding (sailplane) course later this month, so exciting to renew my acquaintance s with piloting an aircraft. Though I’ve done it a bit unofficially so to speak, in times since. I was let handle an aircraft from taxi-take-off-climb-cruise (with orbits by specified hotels which I located by map memory) over Gran Canaria with paying German passengers aboard, with a commercial pilot relaxing with arms folded beside me. Handing handled an aircraft in 20 years, but it’s easier than reacquainting with a bicycle.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Yes sir.

Totally can't wait (until that bit at the end when you have to start walking towards the bus)

Drove to GNR a few years ago, trying to get out of there was Hell, worth going to though.

A photo my late Dad took (and wrote upon!) at the time Captain Darby Kennedy was about to get out to send my up on my first solo flight on a 13th. I had started flying lessons on a Friday 13th. Had to give up when my license was redacted due to eyesight requirements (stricter back then). Booked on gliding (sailplane) course later this month, so exciting to renew my acquaintance s with piloting an aircraft. Though I’ve done it a bit unofficially so to speak, in times since. I was let handle an aircraft from taxi-take-off-climb-cruise (with orbits by specified hotels which I located by map memory) over Gran Canaria with paying German passengers aboard, with a commercial pilot relaxing with arms folded beside me. Handing handled an aircraft in 20 years, but it’s easier than reacquainting with a bicycle.

That's epic, good luck with the gliding course.

Anyone I've ever known who was into Flying has it in their blood. If you are into it, you will always be into it.

That's epic, good luck with the gliding course.

Anyone I've ever known who was into Flying has it in their blood. If you are into it, you will always be into it.

From the age of 6 months was brought to Dublin Control Tower (1961) as my parents both knew Chief Air Traffic Controller, Tom Donovan, since before they met each other. One of my earliest memories of living was looking st the radar and out the window at tbd planes as s controller would call plane on the radio. However we could never afford to fly and my first flight was aged 14 when Dad booked himself on a joy flight with Iona on a 172 with myself in the back and one of the Cahills flying. There was a big gale blowing, and the ride was horrendous, made worse by my father being allowed to stall deliberately and begin to spin the aircraft from 4000feet for the hell of it. I was screaming quietly but resolved to be able to do this some day by myself, feeling the fear and doing it anyway.

I love the smell if fresh paint. Actually I must paint the bathroom door as the wood is melting off it. That’s what you get for using it as your clothes drying room, not allowed to hang out in posh flats with glass fronted balconies you know.

My cunning plan backfired.

We took a shelf, magnetic knife rack and a few pan hooks off a 1m x 2.5m wall to put up a pan rack with hooks that I arrived home with the other evening. Mrs SJK decided to pollyfilla the holes and paint the whole kitchen. I said, 'No. there's 3 boxes of tiles in the shed looking for a home. They'd go lovely up there.'. I did that yesterday and now she's we've decided to tile all around the kitchen units AND paint the rest of the kitchen. So much for a week off

482222.jpg

482223.jpg

482224.jpg

482225.jpg

482227.jpg

What's going with Scotland and Rockall, lads?

This could escalate quickly, The stretched twig of peace is at melting point - Ireland needs to be ready for action !

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2019/0608/1054211-rockall-fishing/

Disappointing result for Thailand in the Women's World Cup last night.

USA 13 Thailand 0

I hear rumours the LLS researchers are trying to get some of the Thai players on after the Summer break. If the goalie has had any illness or death in her family recently she might get a full tribute show.

Documentary on the Dublin ladies team on RTE two, I like that fella who has an encyclopedic knowledge of the pitch dimensions of every ground in Ireland.

While we're on the World Cup, here's RTE's opening titles from 1998, it's a bit of arty farty nonsense, you may recognise the lad in it.

Hi, I bring news which won't wait until the LLS Returns ...

You know Noel Fitzpatrick? He's the 'Supervet' from Channel 4 who is on the LLS every year hawking his wares. The Irish Celebrity Vet. He is inis video with a Puppeh

Also, you know Britney? Britney Spears? Yeah, well one of her many hits was a song called Toxic

... well, it turns out that the song toxic was written about Noel Fitzpatrick

This was on popbitch.com this week

https://popbitch.com/emails/the-lineker-family-tree/
    The man who inspired the Britney Spears track Toxic was someone that the song's co-writer Cathy Dennis had been dating in the early 00s, who broke up with her in 2003: Noel Fitzpatrick.

It's unlikely you'd have known who he was at the time (unless you had a sick spaniel) but he's better known to most people nowadays... as Channel 4's Supervet!

Hi, I bring news which won't wait until the LLS Returns ...

You know Noel Fitzpatrick? He's the 'Supervet' from Channel 4 who is on the LLS every year hawking his wares. The Irish Celebrity Vet. He is inis video with a Puppeh

Also, you know Britney? Britney Spears? Yeah, well one of her many hits was a song called Toxic

... well, it turns out that the song toxic was written about Noel Fitzpatrick

This was on popbitch.com this week

https://popbitch.com/emails/the-lineker-family-tree/

Wait, say that again?

War, Good God y'all - what is it good for? - Absolutely Nothing

But yeah, Britney was singing about the Toxic Supervet Noel Fitzpatrick.

She didn't realise it as it was Cathy Dennis, the co-songwriter who went out with him.

He naturally met her after she brought her paralysed Labrador Charlie to see him (sadly, he wasn't able to do anything for Charlie.) ...

Fitzpatrick and Dennis apparently broke up in 2003: the same year the song came out.

It all sounds a bit Marilyn Manson/Kevin's mate out of The Wonder Years to me.

It Pop Bitch regarded as a reliable source of internet truth? Doesn't sound like one you might quote if you were doing, say, a University paper.

I heard Hit Me Baby, One More Time is about Francis Brennan.

It all sounds a bit Marilyn Manson/Kevin's mate out of The Wonder Years to me.

It Pop Bitch regarded as a reliable source of internet truth? Doesn't sound like one you might quote if you were doing, say, a University paper.

Well, popbitch is actually one of the more reliable websites. All the cool kids cite it in their disserations these days (citation needed)

But Cathy Dennis did have a fling with Noel Fitzpatrick, according to The Mirror https://www.irishmirror.ie/tv/celeb-vet-noel-fitzpatrick-admits-13674154 (and Noel also went out with Jim Davidson's ex wife)

So, it might be true. But Cathy hasn't confirmed or denied it.

I mean, Harriet Addison (Who is an Editor for The Times) tweeted it so who am I to disagree?

https://twitter.com/Harrietaddison/status/1139146883908218881

Also: Noel said in his book he hopes it isn't true

https://twitter.com/alanjmcf/status/1139468605685411846

Driving home from Slane last Saturday night, flicking between stations I heard Radio One playing good country music, can we not have more of that and less of the karaoke crap from Carter, Denver and the rest of those chancers.

Pity the poor people heading to ‘Drownload’ this weekend... :(

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/uk-england-leicestershire-48627574

Pity the poor people heading to ‘Drownload’ this weekend... :(

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/uk-england-leicestershire-48627574

Jeeeaysus. That's miserable.

Makes my unreasonable bitching last week seem entirely unreasonable.

Weather was crap enough at Slane, just a bit of light drizzle compared to Download.

The Full Monty on RTE 2, brilliant film.

C&W fest coming up in the village here in a few weeks. They did it last year and it was a massive success. It brings people around and money gets spent . Fair play to them but not my thing. My son has his cowboy hat bought already.

http://www.benbulbencountrymusicfestival.com/

Noel Gallagher doing a decent set at the Isle of Wight tonight (Live on Sky Arts & Sky One now)

‘The Water Diviner’ starring Russell Crowe starting on RTE Two right now.

The film’s only claim to fame is that it was the very film Russell was promoting on the LLS when he told the audience to clap in time :D

There's a 53 minute Late Late Show Christmas Comedy Special thing from 1994, uploaded today by KillianM2 on Youtube

Brendan O'Carroll
    Tom O'Connor
    Kevin McAleer
    D'unbelievables
    Ray Barra
    Niall Tobin
    The Ministers wife
    Noel V Ginnity
    Frank Ford
    Stockton's Wing & Mary Cashin
    Brush Sheils

I don't know why Stockton's Wing are on a comedy special
    No Jason Byrne or Des Bishop

He also posted Ireland's homecoming from the 1994 World Cup today, the bits I've seen are pure car crash, best to not embed the video :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,306 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Eh Is the Tommy Tiernan show not a chat show? That's still on every Saturday night. So maybe your no chat show tread is a bit premature.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

‘The Best Of The Late Late Show’ starts tonight.

Is it worth RTE putting together a ten-minute show?

Thank you, I’m here all week! :cool:

In 1994 RTE's Summer Chatshow replacement thing was Gortnaclune 94, a weird Sitcom/Variety Show which was based around a makey uppy festival in a makey uppy place called Gortnaclune. Presented by Pat O'Mahony from Head 2 Toe

In this clip Joe Duffy is dressed up as Aladdin looking for puppets. Or something.

Pat O'Mahony is so proud of it he put clips of it on Youtube

Gortnaclune did not return in 95

Can I just say, if I haven't before, that RTE & TG4 are doing an absolutely sterling job on the chick's World Cup.

Showing every game is excellent, for many, many reasons.

Yeah fair play, can't get my head around people whinging about it being shoved in their faces, and yet say nothing about that Love Island bollox.

I don't know where this "shoved in their faces" bullshìt came from. Certainly not reality.

It's amongst the least credible arguments I've ever heard.

I don't think anyone is deluded enough to think it's on the same level as the men's game, it's definitely better than watching middle aged women roaring at each other on Eastenders or whatever the alternatives are.

Is there an Aussie player with the name of 'Foord' or did someone make a mistake when putting the name on the back of the jersey.

No it’s right, Caitlin Foord.

I don't think anyone is deluded enough to think it's on the same level as the men's game, it's definitely better than watching middle aged women roaring at each other on Eastenders or whatever the alternatives are.

Back..... Of..... The..... Net.

Alanna Kennedy sent off!

DecimalWeepyAdeliepenguin-size_restricted.gif

Don’t think I’ve seen ‘Down And Out In Beverley Hills’ since it first came out :eek:

Not as good as ‘Ruthless People’ :D

Alanna Kennedy sent off!

DecimalWeepyAdeliepenguin-size_restricted.gif

Ha ha ha ha.

Brilliant.