Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

`Strangers who say ''How's Things'' on the street

• 02-01-2021 5:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭

And then they don't bother their arse waiting for your reply.
    I wanted to tell them about my recent operation and how my car was stolen last October etc, but they carry on walking !
    I think it's so rude. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Hows it hanging?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 124 ✭✭Treseemme.

Ish66 wrote: »
    I wanted to tell them about my recent operation and how my car was stolen last October etc, but they carry on walking !

What was the operation

Was it a lobotomy?

Thinly veiled "I'm American" OP

"I will yeah" means "no" BTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Haraldkare

Dont worry you can

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭Ish66

Treseemme. wrote: »
    What was the operation

Was it a lobotomy?
    Thank you for asking but it was ''Down There'' Would you care to look at the scar ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Just give them a Howya back.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Thank you for asking but it was ''Down There'' Would you care to look at the scar ?

Down there, so a lobotomy then...!?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,354 ✭✭✭Damien360

Very Irish and I love it. It’s so different to many countries that have a populace that put the head down and acknowledge nobody.

Was on training in California a few years ago and noticed myself doing it on the corridors going for coffee. Confused the hell out of the locals. Often it just sparked a conversation later if we met again for no particular reason other than having a chat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

When people say hows things to me I reply with, My things are grand how are yours. I get some strange looks at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

• Registered Users Posts: 10,295 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Maybe they're just being friendly

• Registered Users Posts: 16,467 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

The correct response is "Well", or a barely perceptible nod of the head, then you both get on with your day.

Confusingly, "Well" may also be used as a greeting and asking how someone is.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

the only strangers i meet say, have you got a euro,
    or else the ask for directions.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,935 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

The Irish art of conversation with a complete stranger for no reason about absolutely nothing.

"How's tricks?"
    "Ah sure you know yourself. Can't complain."
    "True, true. And sure if you did, who'd listen?"
    "Exactly!"
    "Well, better get back to it"
    "Indeed, later!"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

The Irish art of conversation with a complete stranger for no reason about absolutely nothing.

"How's tricks?"
    "Exactly!"
    "Indeed, later!"

Aye, tis!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

I find that I'd prefer someone to say "How Things"? then have them walk out of the way to avoid me like I'm some kind of leper which os what Covid has resulted in.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,672 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I say "how's the going" so they think I care about their lives but I keep walking so they feel insufficient

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Beltby

A lad who I used to work with, used to get thick when people said 'take it handy'. He genuinely used to get angry, lol. Of course when the rest of us twigged it, we wouldn't let it go.

Maybe that's why he left actually.

"How's tricks?"
    "Exactly!"
    "Indeed, later!"

Ah sure look it

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Ah sure look it

Sure, what can you do?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rapul

How's the form

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭neiphin

rapul wrote: »
    How's the form
    Now your sucking diesel

• Registered Users Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I don't see the problem with someone acknowledging you. One night I was out and some complete stranger came up asking me the meanings of different words. I mean that's pretty odd by anyone's standards.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

neiphin wrote: »
    Now your sucking diesel

You're away for slates