Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What's the weather like in your area 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,772 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

No snow here in Wexford.
    There was a brief snow shower about 9am.

Cows are out grazing again today and ground conditions are improving in a drying wind and blazing sunshine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭Base price

No snow here in Wexford.

Cows are out grazing again today and ground conditions are improving in a drying wind and blazing sunshine.
    Feck off :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,839 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

No snow here in Wexford.

What until the "drought"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

No snow here in Wexford.

You got to love this little island of ours - snowmageddon here - sunny in Wexford ..

whelan2 wrote: »
    What until the "drought"

Tis the stuff of dreams.
    I'll suffer it for the good of the country.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,699 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Snowing here too, big mistake, got my hair cut:eek: on Friday.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

No snow here in Wexford.

You lucky swine , plenty of sleet here . Ground is 100% saturated and I'd say it will be the same this time next week

blue5000 wrote: »
    Snowing here too, big mistake, got my hair cut:eek: on Friday.

You'll know the next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

You'll know the next time.
    You shouldn't need to get a weather forecast to get a hair cut:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Good bit of snow here aswell, testing tomorrow and have cattle away from home I need to bring back for it, don't know how I'm going to manage with the jeep and cowbox.

You shouldn't need to get a weather forecast to get a hair cut:D

I was thinking more along the line of Blue letting his hair grow to save the country from snow. :pac:

Bullocks wrote: »
    You lucky swine , plenty of sleet here . Ground is 100% saturated and I'd say it will be the same this time next week

You know forecasts. :rolleyes:

But it looks from Thursday on and over the weekend things are drying up and even getting a bit warmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Snow earlier thawed and now a flurry again. Jan 2010. Now that was proper snow. Damn rare around here being close to the south coast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Heavy snow shower now. Seldom get any here at all.☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,482 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Heavy snow shower now. Seldom get any here at all.☺

Grand to be looking out at it :D

Damn cold here atm. Occasional heavy hail showers and a strong wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Weird weather here. When I took this photo the snow and wind was in the south but on the way home it changed to a northern wind.

uIHBSnvh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Good bit of snow here aswell, testing tomorrow and have cattle away from home I need to bring back for it, don't know how I'm going to manage with the jeep and cowbox.

No more than myself you probably didn't do anything about buying a tractor trailer .
    The jeep is getting a few bits done to it for the doe test there and I had to use the tractor to bring up a few ewes this morning . I hadnt far to go but it was alot easier in the tractor instead of sliding around the rough pen we have across the road .

Weird weather here. When I took this photo the snow and wind was in the south but on the way home it changed to a northern wind.

There's a northwest to westerly prevailing wind atm.
    It seems strange then to get these wind shifts but in strong cloud or cell conditions (with lots of precipitation) you can get strong down drafts in the centre of the cell and these winds will fan out from the centre. So depending on where you are in relation to the cell you'll get different wind directions. So if north of the cell you'll get a southerly wind from it and if you're south of it you'll get a northerly wind off it.
    The different wind directions you experienced could have been the cell passing over but that would require it to move from south to north. Which the wind isn't really doing atm.

Maybe there was just some version of a mini low pressure system or could even have been a squall line on the front edge of that precipitation giving that southerly before it switched back to the northerly when it passed over.

This weather stuff ain't simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Sunny at times then snow showers all day.
    Heavy snow shower now again.

Base price wrote: »
    Sunny at times then snow showers all day.
    Heavy snow shower now again.

Same here. Ate you in longford

Reggie. wrote: »
    Same here. Ate you in longford

On the diet again Reggie? :D

Base must be in LD, we had the same shower I think. Ended up a snowball fight with me and dad!

On the diet again Reggie? :D

Base must be in LD, we had the same shower I think. Ended up a snowball fight with me and dad!

Bastard phone :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Snow showers have returned to north Cork after stopping for the afternoon

Roads are like glass.Meal Lorry missed the turn into our gateway and skidded by. Waiting on the roads to thaw before he tries again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Cold chill from wind tonight
    Dread what’s coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Fcuking ****e wind and rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Snowing again

Place was just showing a bit of drying yesterday but jaysus the rain last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

All the weather models this morning are agreed on an easterly by the 20th
    Whilst very cold (much colder than now!) it would be very drying out west but with severe frosts day and night
    The air would be sourced in Siberia which is the same air source causing problems at the Korean Winter Olympics at the moment believe it or not

The reason it would hold its cold a lot more than the stuff we have had from Canada lately is because 95% of its journey here would be over cold land (Russia and Europe) whereas our northwesterly’s travelled 99% over a warmer North Atlantic ,which though you mightn’t think it took a lot of the bite out of it
    An easterly at this time of the year with such a cold source and with such a cold Europe is well capable of keeping daytime temps below zero at times
    Eastern areas would be prone to snow showers which because of the lower temperatures would see snow falling locally sticking around and not thawing much if any during the day

As this is 9 days away it could change and with a bit of luck the high pressure area steering in the cold easterly might sit on top of us meaning frosty yes but less cold and a lot dryer
    One to watch

I'd take anything that means some bit of dry weather at the minute tbh

Mooooo wrote: »
    I'd take anything that means some bit of dry weather at the minute tbh

But not much growth with the cold tho

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

I agree but better than what we’re getting atm.

Not much growth with an inch of water on the ground either.

Agreed

Lazy wind here today.

Won't go round you, just goes through you instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,619 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

That cold blast from the east would burn off any grass there is waiting to be grazed by early turn out stock.

_Brian wrote: »
    That cold blast from the east would burn off any grass there is waiting to be grazed by early turn out stock.

No fun out running in it either

Young lad has had to take a break from running. Dosed with a cough, not going to get better running in that weather. He's trying to get back going on the treadmill instead

whelan2 wrote: »
    Young lad has had to take a break from running. Dosed with a cough, not going to get better running in that weather. He's trying to get back going on the treadmill instead

If doing that tell him to run at an incline of .5 or 1%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭Dickie10

so would this easterly if it brought moisture with it in fronts, could this bring a lot of snow showers? jeez hope were not looking at 1947 again

Fairly pissing down now

Really windy outside here now.

Big ol backwards fr bull after being pulled here, quare ones seem to go with stormy nights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Wind fairly howling out now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Wind fairly howling out now

Same here with sleet and rain for good measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Same here with sleet and rain for good measure.

Have ye got enough rain yet? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Have ye got enough rain yet? ;)

Nope. Not nice facing into it for the day though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

think he can turn off the tap now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

_Brian wrote: »
    Is that what we had in 2013?