Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

I met a homeless Mother on the street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭starbaby2003

Well I met a homeless lady on the dart. It was before eight, her husband, yes husband was gone to work. She was travelling the length of the city ( heavily pregnant) to get her daughter to school on time. Their crime, being in emergency homeless accommodation. Rents in Dublin are outrageous it is affecting large swaths of people across different social economic groups. If your job is in Dublin and your family are down the country not a whole lot of good choice. Give up your job and depend on the dole. Go homeless and hope it’s a short stop gap. It is the housing policy needs to be addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Well I met a homeless lady on the dart. It was before eight, her husband, yes husband was gone to work. She was travelling the length of the city ( heavily pregnant) to get her daughter to school on time. Their crime, being in emergency homeless accommodation. Rents in Dublin are outrageous it is affecting large swaths of people across different social economic groups. If your job is in Dublin and your family are down the country not a whole lot of good choice. Give up your job and depend on the dole. Go homeless and hope it’s a short stop gap. It is the housing policy needs to be addressed.

Ireland's town planning leaves a lot to be desired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

the reality is in ireland there is a sizeable minority of people who live in the shadows. they dont work and survive on benefits, they have kids they need neither want nor love to get more benefits, they live in a free forever council house or live in a HAP paid tenancy waiting on the right free council house to become available, they top up their earnings in the black market that still thrives in certain towns, most are involved in crime especially drugs related.
    the reality is this a sad existence of boredom, abuse, violence, self loathing and worthlessness. I think the best description of the social welfare class is that it is like a cult. there is indoctrination by certain whole communities of their children and the wheel keeps turning.

Tragic existence but one enabled by the left wing media and academia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

You gave a fella a fiver and then followed him to see what he’d do with it? Why give him anything at all if you were that concerned about how he would spend it that you followed him to see what he’d do with it?

Cos he went into the bar with it. So I was curious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Well in fairness, if he was shaking due to needing a drink he pretty much has to have one or risk bad withdrawals, seizures and possible death. He had no choice but to drink rather than eat at that point, I wouldn't begrudge him a fiver tbh, it's a pretty ****ty life for anyone

Neither did I so I gave the poor sod the fiver. He was shaking pretty bad, but once he got the fiver, he just walked very quickly into the pub.

Basically a liar, like most drunks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

jcorr wrote: »
    Neither did I so I gave the poor sod the fiver. He was shaking pretty bad, but once he got the fiver, he just walked very quickly into the pub.

Basically a liar, like most drunks.

If he’s been honest and just said pal. Can you give me the price of a drink? I’m shaking with the fear (alcohol dependency can leave people in severely bad states)
    Would you have given it to him and been ok with it?
    I would. Often have in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

If he’s been honest and just said pal. Can you give me the price of a drink? I’m shaking with the fear (alcohol dependency can leave people in severely bad states)
    Would you have given it to him and been ok with it?
    I would. Often have in fact.

Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

There is a reason why people are on the streets. It's because anybody who knows them well, hates them. This isn't the case for Every street dweller but it is for the vast majority. Don't pity them, they'll tell you one side of their story but you'll probably change your mind after hearing the opposite end.
    this is an unspoken truth i think. many if not most people on the street have family but there is no one more unreliable and destructive than a junkie. lies, broken promises, dangerous friends and theft - thats what an addict brings to the table and its understandable that these people's families cant cope with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

smurgen wrote: »
    If you every grow up you'll realise life is a roll of the dice and that maybe you were just luckier at the start than many of these people you deem to be bad people.
    However maybe if develop a brain tumour others will theorise that you deserved it because you were a bad person.
    In the end it's all about perception.
    here's hoping you don't develop an inoperable brain tumour.

Brain tumours are not choices. The vast majority of these people are in the position they are in because of bad choices and bad behaviour.

When the guy from Apollo House was being fronted there were people thinking he just got dealt a bad hand in life. It turned out he dealt his own hand.

Every week you see in the news somebody being convicted of a sex offense and getting light sentences. Where do you think these people go after they get out of prison? Their families have disowned them and they will be murdered if they go back to their communities. Where do you think they go to?

this is an unspoken truth i think. many if not most people on the street have family but there is no one more unreliable and destructive than a junkie. lies, broken promises, dangerous friends and theft - thats what an addict brings to the table and its understandable that these people's families cant cope with them.

I went for help with alcohol last year and the counsellor told me after an hour or so of me laying out all my guilt and shame and deep sense of failure, that I wasn’t my addiction. My addiction currently controls me and has taken over how I think and act. And the same applies to all addicts. You’re servile to it and heroin is the worst we have and know of for that.

IF we all had some understanding and empathy of that, we’d go a long way to being able to deal with people in these situations. It could be any one of us or our loved ones who’ve just been dealt a bad hand and fall. It can happen to literally anyone. At any time.

Something we all seem to forget.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

jcorr wrote: »
    There's a few homeless lads living in tents on the canal adjoining Baggot Street which is near me.

I have seen it in the city centre as well.

It makes me worried myself when I see it. I can understand the OP's shock.

I don't think homelessness was as bad years ago as it is now.

Price of rent in Dublin is pretty bad. I'm planning to move away from the city myself. It's just too expensive here.

The homeless crisis seems to be out of control in Dublin. Between that and the drug addicts and beggars everywhere it's somewhere I avoid now like the plague.

Can't imagine how awful it must be to live there and see that day in day out.
    Depressing as hell and no change in sight as long as people keep voting the same way for neoliberal policies.

I went for help with alcohol last year and the counsellor told me after an hour or so of me laying out all my guilt and shame and deep sense of failure, that I wasn’t my addiction. My addiction currently controls me and has taken over how I think and act. And the same applies to all addicts. You’re servile to it and heroin is the worst we have and know of for that.

IF we all had some understanding and empathy of that, we’d go a long way to being able to deal with people in these situations. It could be any one of us or our loved ones who’ve just been dealt a bad hand and fall. It can happen to literally anyone. At any time.

Something we all seem to forget.
    empathy yes but everyone has their limits, including families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

People get in to a relationship ,they have kids,
    you can go through dublin and not see one drug addict.
    It depends on where you go

.From an technical point of view ,we need x amount of kids born every year .
    Are you saying we should have stop certain people having kids.
    beggars go to certain streets in the city that are busy ,
    they are not everywhere .
    Homeless people tend to go to the city centre because that is where all the
    support services are located .
    Is there any big city in europe that has no beggars or homeless people .

empathy yes but everyone has their limits, including families.

I’ve a good few heroin addicts in my family currently and more who’ve passed. I’m well aware of it and what it does. That brilliant funny lovely cousin who suddenly stealing and your aunt can’t leave alone in the house, and later can’t even let into the house. Then gangs turning up at the door and smashing the place up and unless my aunt pays the drug debt my cousin owes they come back week after week after week. Can’t go to the guards. Can’t do anything but pay it.
    It’s fvckin heartbreaking. Nobody wishes it on anyone but the lack of empathy and understanding is chilling. It could happen to any one of us and anyone we love.

Sam Bekett wrote: »
    Almost everyday I am hassled by gypsies, winos and other bums. I never give them a penny. I'm sick of the *****. Sick of how they make my town centre look like a scene from the Walking Dead.

I'd be delighted if I woke up one day and they'd all disappeared.

Your first ever post on boards.

Using the name of an invertrate drunk and woman abuser.

Hilarious.

riclad wrote: »
    People get in to a relationship ,they have kids,
    you can go through dublin and not see one drug addict.
    It depends on where you go

Straight away I see them hanging around in the bus and train stations as I arrive there. The city centre at least should be free of them as it is in most other affluent countries in Europe. I spent 8 years in one city and 1 year in another European city and it was very rare to see any. A few winos here and there and the homeless stay in the parks, but that's it and they left you alone. They don't harass people or fight in the street in broad daylight as I've seen junkies do in Dublin, as the cops would sort that out straight away.

In Dublin it's an epidemic of homeless, drug addicts, alcoholics, beggars, gypsies, and the addicts cause chaos and disturbance wherever they go. You'd have to avoid half the city to not see them. I tell any friends who want to come here to avoid Dublin, or spend maybe a day seeing the main tourist places in the city and somewhere nice like Dalkey or Killiney, and then go elsewhere.
    Dublin is an embarrassment tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭screamer

I don’t care about the junkies and Alcos that’s their choice. They should not be allowed to have guardianship of children, and kids don’t deserve junkie parents. I’ve seen them little kids following as mammy tries to stumble home off her tits on heroin, and another one who couldn’t navigate around a bin on the street. If we think that is ok, then we’re morally bankrupt as a society, and I agree people like that should not have kids and if they do, they should not be allowed to keep them. That’s not a fit parent and a ****ty life for a little kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

screamer wrote: »
    I don’t care about the junkies and Alcos that’s their choice. They should not be allowed to have guardianship of children, and kids don’t deserve junkie parents. I’ve seen them little kids following as mammy tries to stumble home off her tits on heroin, and another one who couldn’t navigate around a bin on the street. If we think that is ok, then we’re morally bankrupt as a society, and I agree people like that should not have kids and if they do, they should not be allowed to keep them. That’s not a fit parent and a ****ty life for a little kid.

See, the social can take kids off a parent but they seem to have a high threshold. Those kids need better protecting. If you can’t adequately care for a child then the kid should be protected by the state. Else the cycle continues.

Greentopia wrote: »
    Straight away I see them hanging around in the bus and train stations as I arrive there. The city centre at least should be free of them as it is in most other affluent countries in Europe. I spent 8 years in one city and 1 year in another European city and it was very rare to see any. A few winos here and there and the homeless stay in the parks, but that's it and they left you alone. They don't harass people or fight in the street in broad daylight as I've seen junkies do in Dublin, as the cops would sort that out straight away.

In Dublin it's an epidemic of homeless, drug addicts, alcoholics, beggars, gypsies, and the addicts cause chaos and disturbance wherever they go. You'd have to avoid half the city to not see them. I tell any friends who want to come here to avoid Dublin, or spend maybe a day seeing the main tourist places in the city and somewhere nice like Dalkey or Killiney, and then go elsewhere.
    Dublin is an embarrassment tbh.

Loads of Your bank managers tds and local councillors are all snorting coke.
    On your precious taxes.
    But that’s ok.
    So your plan is to round all the homeless and junkies up and put them in a camp? Far out of sight of good honest hardworking citizens like yourself?

If your so embarrassed of Dublin why do you live here? You’re clearly an import from the bog or worse, cork.
    So why here? You could go anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭nw5iytvs0lf1uz

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Tragic existence but one enabled by the left wing media and academia

There is a lot of truth in that
    The legal profession, landlords, large sections of the public sector are just 3 that need the Status quo to continue and if anything escalate
    Solicitors for legal aid, landlords to keep artificially rents up and large sections of the public sector for their livelihood

The welfare state is a great idea but like all great socialist ideas when put into action it is a very dangerous concept

The welfare state is a noose around Irelands, Europe’s, the uk, the US’s necks and China is slowly tightening that noose
    The welfare state cannot exist when you have free open global markets

Loads of Your bank managers tds and local councillors are all snorting coke.
    On your precious taxes.
    But that’s ok.

No it is not ok, nor did I say it was. The difference is they rarely cause chaos, public disorder and violence on the streets and in public places in broad daylight or beg for money like junkies. I've never had a pair of bank managers, TD's or local councillors have an expletive filled shouting match in a cafe, or wrestle each other to the ground in drug filled stupors as I've seen in Dublin. In broad daylight.
    So your plan is to round all the homeless and junkies up and put them in a camp? Far out of sight of good honest hardworking citizens like yourself?

Rounded up in a camp? How on earth did you get that from what I wrote? talk about straw man arguments... :rolleyes:

I believe the government isn't doing nearly enough to house homeless people or help addicts, to address the causes or come up with practical solutions.

I think the housing and homeless crisis are a national shame when simple solution-'housing first' strategy for example as they have in Finland where the Government have seen a massive drop in homelessness, should be the example we follow.
    That's where I'd like my "precious taxes" going.

If your so embarrassed of Dublin why do you live here? You’re clearly an import from the bog or worse, cork.
    So why here? You could go anywhere?

I don't live in Dublin. I said "Straight away I see them hanging around in the bus and train stations as I arrive there". "There" meaning Dublin.

I'm not from any bog either. Or Cork :D

I'm "embarrassed of(sic) Dublin" because it's my capital city and it's full of junkies and homeless, thieves and beggars, many parts are no-go areas, it's dirty and a rip off. I should feel pride in it rather than shame and embarrassment, but I don't because what is there to be proud of in that?

I brought my partner and his friend over from Germany and they were polite when I asked their opinion on Dublin, but they clearly didn't want to stay there longer than necessary when they saw what it was like. They loved rural Ireland however, so I guess they love the bogs more than an Irish (presumably) person like you do. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I brought my partner and his friend over from Germany and they were polite when I asked their opinion on Dublin, but they clearly didn't want to stay there longer than necessary when they saw what it was like. They loved rural Ireland however, so I guess they love the bogs more than an Irish (presumably) person like you do. :)

I think that might have something to do with the host, I doubt you were beaming about the place and probably wanted to be out of there ASAP. Anytime I show foreign friends around Dublin they love it and have a great time. You mustn't know the city very well because there are really nice parts in the centre and great bars and restaurants.
    Anyway I agree with many of your points, I was in town earlier briefly and saw maybe 10 heroin addicts in the space of half an hour. One guy was pushing a buggy. I've never seen that anywhere else in the world.
    There's a massive section of poor/uneducated people in Dublin that haven't really improved over generations regardless of the countries increasing wealth. The rougher parts of the inner city and various suburbs. Other countries in Europe don't seem to have these kinds of people, barring the UK maybe.
    So I don't really know what the solution is but it wont come quick or fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I think that might have something to do with the host, I doubt you were beaming about the place and probably wanted to be out of there ASAP. Anytime I show foreign friends around Dublin they love it and have a great time. You mustn't know the city very well because there are really nice parts in the centre and great bars and restaurants.
    Anyway I agree with many of your points, I was in town earlier briefly and saw maybe 10 heroin addicts in the space of half an hour. One guy was pushing a buggy. I've never seen that anywhere else in the world.
    There's a massive section of poor/uneducated people in Dublin that haven't really improved over generations regardless of the countries increasing wealth. The rougher parts of the inner city and various suburbs. Other countries in Europe don't seem to have these kinds of people, barring the UK maybe.

Western-European countries have greater levels of social cohesion than Ireland, the UK or any other Anglo nations. You can't expect outcomes like Finland, the Netherlands or Denmark when we run our society as we do, we the presumptions and prejudices that we have. The welfare we have in this country isn't designed to make people's lives better, it's designed to bribe people on the periphery and keep them quiet - it's the compact we have with them whether we know it or not. Secretly, many don't care much for their fellow citizens, and in fact actively despise them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Couldn’t stop thinking on way home . We’ve created a monster allowing people like this to have kids in order to get a social house quicker etc

Is the monster something completely different, something far more complex, who should say who has kids or not, is it even morally or ethically correct to do so, what if you were told you weren't allowed have kids, how would this make you feel? maybe the problems with housing are a little more complicated than this?

These people are a part of 'the forgotten' or 'the losers', we have forgotten to include these individuals in our social model, and now they have become the losers, leaving them roam the streets in a state of delusion, disconnection, and generally lost. These situations are a true reflection of us, we are all to blame, equally, for these outcomes

Yurt! wrote: »
    Western-European countries have greater levels of social cohesion than Ireland, the UK or any other Anglo nations. You can't expect outcomes like Finland, the Netherlands or Denmark when we run our society as we do, we the presumptions and prejudices that we have. The welfare we have in this country isn't designed to make people's lives better, it's designed to bribe people on the periphery and keep them quiet - it's the compact we have with them whether we know it or not. Secretly, many don't care much for their fellow citizens, and in fact actively despise them.

The state authorities enforce the rules in those other countries, the UK is not comparable to Ireland, it has one of the leanest welfare systems in Europe, we have the most generous

Our problem is a lack of law and order, from neanderthal tinkers in Longford and elsewhere to feral scrotes in various sink estates, they are let do what they like

The Liberal left philosophical approach has brought us to where we are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

The state authorities enforce the rules in those other countries, the UK is not comparable to Ireland, it has one of the leanest welfare systems in Europe, we have the most generous

we ve all introduced similar, if not the same socioeconomic policies and ideologies, so comparisons can be made, you ll find we re all having similar if not the same outcomes regarding these issues

you ll actually find it has been both the left and the right have introduced these policies and ideologies, we have actually moved more to the right regarding economic policies

Our problem is a lack of law and order, from neanderthal tinkers in Longford and elsewhere to feral scrotes in various sink estates, they are let do what they like

The Liberal left philosophical approach has brought us to where we are

The stats: Ireland spends approx half the European average on social protection relative to GDP, 60% the rate of UK, and only about 40% the rate that the highest spenders (Finland and France) do.

You'll notice from the chart that relative to GDP, Ireland has the lowest level of spending in the EU28. Hate to say it, but your post is exemplary of barstool myth-making.

https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/statistics-explained/index.php/Government_expenditure_on_social_protection

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    we ve all introduced similar, if not the same socioeconomic policies and ideologies, so comparisons can be made, you ll find we re all having similar if not the same outcomes regarding these issues

you ll actually find it has been both the left and the right have introduced these policies and ideologies, we have actually moved more to the right regarding economic policies

Excusing anti social behaviour on the grounds of " inequality" is a left wing position

Fifty years ago everyone was much poorer yet we didn't have anything like the culture of delinquency which is so prevelent today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

Another let's bash poor people, down and outs, social welfare/housing bashing thread on boards. Imagine my shock.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

That's sub-Daily Mail nonsense. You've been propagandized my friend.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/weve-nowhere-else-to-go-desperate-family-squatting-in-empty-council-house-faces-court-38246224.html

3rd on the way . I wonder why . Should have a 3 bed house by year end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Cryptopagan

Well, they aren’t from Frankfurt then. The train station in the centre of Frankfurt is junkie central.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I’ve a good few heroin addicts in my family currently and more who’ve passed... Nobody wishes it on anyone but the lack of empathy and understanding is chilling. It could happen to any one of us and anyone we love.

That's life, heroin does too much damage. I don't care if junkies use to be decent human beings they are now pieces of sh**. They ruin the city they live in and they also make it harder for the beggers not on heroin to get the sympathy they deserve. If your making a big effort to get clean then I'll consider them a human being again but otherwise there disgusting creatures. Yes I understand that circumstances out of there control could of put them there but junkies do too much damage to society for me to care

Well, they aren’t from Frankfurt then. The train station in the centre of Frankfurt is junkie central.
    you can add Hamburg to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,371 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

" "It's very stressful," Ms Wilde said. "I'm in the early stages of pregnancy and I wish I wasn't going through this but what option is there?"

What option is there? What indeed? I mean how is anyone supposed to think on that one. Hmmmm.... Mystifying. You could keep your feet in the one sock you selfish irresponsible little wagon. Goes double for the boyfriend.

Cyra and Levi. Jesus wept.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    " "It's very stressful," Ms Wilde said. "I'm in the early stages of pregnancy and I wish I wasn't going through this but what option is there?"

I voted last year so you'd have the option love

How about the people who voted yes, but didn't do so with the intention of bullying poor people into terminations.

Wtf you on about

• Registered Users Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

This is her job. Employment rates through the roof in Ireland.

I just checked daft. There seems to be damn all available to rent in Navan and very cheap.

I don't really blame them for moving in if the council left the house empty.

Wtf you on about

It's a woman's choice as to if she has a termination or not. Losers on the internet aught to keep their mouth closed and put their w*nking/typing hand back in their underwear.

It was a lowball comment basically.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Was she Muslim?

While you might be joking here, I've often wondered where the black, arab and chinese beggars are. I only seem to see indigenous and roma beggars and the occasional eastern european.

It's a woman's choice as to if she has a termination or not. Losers on the internet aught to keep their mouth closed and put their w*nking/typing hand back in their underwear.

And what did I say? I said she had the option. Many working people can't afford to have kids these days either, Mr White Knight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

No one mentioned bullying or forcing anyone into a termination. He specifically said "option".

For some, it should be considered when life isn't working out well enough to support yourself, never mind another child.

And what did I say? I said she had the option. Many working people can't afford to have kids these days either, Mr White Knight.

She plainly doesn't want to take that option, and you have no say in the matter, morally, economically or otherwise.

you do realise this is a discussion forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,371 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

That was certainly me at the time, but honestly I'm having a rethink....

I think that might have something to do with the host, I doubt you were beaming about the place and probably wanted to be out of there ASAP.

They spent a day there on their own before I was able to come up to meet them and I recommended several places to visit. We went to a few bars and cafes and walked around the city for the second day and went on the LUAS. I left it up to them how long they wanted to stay there and I certainly didn't bad mouth the place to them, just told them to be wary in certain places and keep their wits about them (where they're living has the lowest crimes rates of any German city and they wouldn't have been prepared for junkies everywhere and the Dublin underclass.)

They remarked on seeing so much homelessness and some anti-social behaviour-kids on the LUAS acting up, and also that Dublin wasn't anywhere near as clean or organised as they are used to in most German cities. They weren't complaining, I just heard them say it to each other in German.
    My guy said it had some interesting places but he preferred Amsterdam. They did both say they found people friendly and kind there though, as they did in the rest of the country.

That's the biggest difference I've noticed. Granted I haven't been everywhere in Europe but where I have been you just don't see the same scale of problems like drugs that are so apparent in Dublin, nor do you see this impoverished underclass. Not of native populations at least as you see here. That's a big difference. Yes the UK would be the only place similar I think because our governments have pursued similar economic and social policies, just Tory-light here.

Some Paris suburbs would come close (again those are areas with high percentages of immigrants) and Berlin has winos, druggies and homeless, but it still doesn't feel the same. It's more...controlled and only in certain parts in the suburbs that you can usually avoid. Plus the cops are more visible on the streets and not as tolerate of anti-social or criminal behaviour.

Solutions are possible, but not under the present neoliberal FGFF politics that has caused them in the first place.

Stuttgart. They have a few winos and hustlers hanging around their train stations too but they don't bother people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

People on the streets are usually suffering from some form of addiction or mental disorder or kids fleeing a rough home life. Nobody invites it. These days we also have growing numbers of people from the private rental sector finding themselves homeless, but this would be down to the economy. Sad for the kids.