Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doing group work with members not engaging, help?

Options
  • 20-02-2019 1:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭

So, I am a Mature Student and I have a presentation to do in 3 weeks that is worth 20% of my grade for that module.

We have to do it as part of a group, a group of 4. I was wondering if people could give advice on when I should become concerned about the non-participation of my group members, and if or when I should act on it.

To give a bit of context, as well as lectures we also have a weekly tutorial for that class where we will do the presentation. Also, the three people I am with are strangers to me, they are doing a different degree to me, we just share this module. They are all young, we're 2nd year so I'm guessing they are 18-20 year olds. It's not my first group project with non-mature students but its my first that has given me pause. We had to pull numbers out of a hat to be assigned to our groups and we have to sit as a group and work together in each of our tutorials.

Initially, we were only a group of three. We made a WhatsApp group in the first tutorial. The 2nd tutorial one of the group members was missing, the 3rd tutorial both other members weren’t in class. A person who hadn’t attended the tutorials up until this point was then added to our group by our TA. As we only had 3 in our group.