Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
03-07-2010, 05:12   #1
jay93
Registered User
 
jay93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,320
Send a message via Yahoo to jay93 Send a message via Skype™ to jay93
Midband speedtest Megaathread

just taught i would start a speedtest thread for people using midband(mobile broadband) as i dont see fit to post midband speeds in the current broadband and ping test thread as mobile broadband is not propper broadband

NOTE:these 2 following tests where taken when nobody else is online (5am)
i will post in the day time tomorrow and peak times to compare

1:o2 E1752 modem currently 4/5 bars 3G coverage


o2's ping is horrible
jay93 is offline  
Advertisement
03-07-2010, 05:24   #2
jay93
Registered User
 
jay93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,320
Send a message via Yahoo to jay93 Send a message via Skype™ to jay93
3 E160G modem
5/5BARS 3G signal



3's ping wayy better than o2 will test both again tomorrow at more busier times
jay93 is offline  
03-07-2010, 13:11   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 28,869
O2 E220 modem
Zero bars signal



1 minute later
Our man in Havana is offline  
03-07-2010, 14:52   #4
mayo.mick
Registered User
 
mayo.mick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,268
Vodafone mobile k3520
48% signal ( through dovado router )
About 500mtrs from mast ( no direct line of site )





Has been more consisstant of late.
mayo.mick is offline  
03-07-2010, 15:02   #5
mayo.mick
Registered User
 
mayo.mick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,268
Was'nt this done about a month ago, any results since?
Link : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2055924857
mayo.mick is offline  
Advertisement
03-07-2010, 16:15   #6
Kriebie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay93 View Post
3 E160G modem
5/5BARS 3G signal



3's ping wayy better than o2 will test both again tomorrow at more busier times
You are comparing different speedtest servers. I always get much higher pings from the Dublin server.
Kriebie is offline  
03-07-2010, 17:57   #7
jay93
Registered User
 
jay93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,320
Send a message via Yahoo to jay93 Send a message via Skype™ to jay93
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayo.mick View Post
Was'nt this done about a month ago, any results since?
Link : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2055924857
yes this was done but that thread was limited to a week of testing only where as this one is not !!
jay93 is offline  
03-07-2010, 18:01   #8
jay93
Registered User
 
jay93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,320
Send a message via Yahoo to jay93 Send a message via Skype™ to jay93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriebie View Post
You are comparing different speedtest servers. I always get much higher pings from the Dublin server.
yeah i get what you mean but with o2 pings are always over 200ms no matter what server the Dublin one is worse 300ms+

as you can see 3's ping to dublin only goes up by 31ms comapred to the limrick server so not very much of an increase of ping

jay93 is offline  
03-07-2010, 18:03   #9
jay93
Registered User
 
jay93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,320
Send a message via Yahoo to jay93 Send a message via Skype™ to jay93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haddockman View Post
O2 E220 modem
Zero bars signal



1 minute later
my god the ping on the first test 1501ms ..does the modem software always show no bars signal??this happens me alot when using o2 it says 0% signal but it still works a bit odd
jay93 is offline  
Advertisement
03-07-2010, 18:14   #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 28,869
Zero to 2 bars is normal enough for me. Once it finds the network it will work ok.
Our man in Havana is offline  
03-07-2010, 18:21   #11
jay93
Registered User
 
jay93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,320
Send a message via Yahoo to jay93 Send a message via Skype™ to jay93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haddockman View Post
Zero to 2 bars is normal enough for me. Once it finds the network it will work ok.
mine will show zero when the connection is idle on WCDMA
but if i start loading pages it will show 2bars HSPA
but if i bring the modem to the upstaris in my house it gets full signal then which is great.cant fault o2's service at all really.
recently upgraded to windows 7 and it really does not like the 3 modem for some reason pages hang on boards only and have to disconnect and connect again very annoying had no problems at all on windows xp
jay93 is offline  
03-07-2010, 19:18   #12
Kriebie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay93 View Post
yeah i get what you mean but with o2 pings are always over 200ms no matter what server the Dublin one is worse 300ms+

as you can see 3's ping to dublin only goes up by 31ms comapred to the limrick server so not very much of an increase of ping




That is a difference of almost 100 ms.
I find that ping times from the Dublin server are always this much higher.

BTW modem reports a signal of 12% (marginal).
Kriebie is offline  
04-07-2010, 04:24   #13
jay93
Registered User
 
jay93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,320
Send a message via Yahoo to jay93 Send a message via Skype™ to jay93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriebie View Post




That is a difference of almost 100 ms.
I find that ping times from the Dublin server are always this much higher.

BTW modem reports a signal of 12% (marginal).
them pings seem really good maybe its just my area that suffers from high pings on o2 but when looking through the web it doesnt seem to load slow at all 73ms ping is very good on mobile broadband lowest ive seen yet 3's ping used to be over the roof here but i noticed they have added extra transmitters to the mast in this area and pings have got wayy better since.is the signal on your modem always so low 12%??sometimes downstairs in my house it shows 0% but still works some areas will drop to EDGE signal where as upstairs it shows 96-99% signal get a speed of 4mb at night time with o2 after 1am
jay93 is offline  
04-07-2010, 13:24   #14
jay93
Registered User
 
jay93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,320
Send a message via Yahoo to jay93 Send a message via Skype™ to jay93
o2 sucks today

the bad winds seem to have drove the speed right down..
cos its never usually this bad

jay93 is offline  
04-07-2010, 19:10   #15
downwithpeace
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,233

Speed has been good these past few days for me, never had anything close to that upload before though.
downwithpeace is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet