Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team Talk/News/Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,328 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Well done lads.
    Hope we appeal those silly cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

So two more players to add to the absentees list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Great achievement by Tom Mohan and his side. Such a shame about those harsh bookings which adds an element of disappointment. They will both be two big losses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Great achievement. Those bookings are a sickener.

Scandalous bookings those on rewatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

What was Afolabi even booked for? O'Connors was harsh but you can see the ref judged he was time wasting but it's baffling to even think what Afolabi was even booked for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Well done lads.
    Hope we appeal those silly cards.

Don’t think they can judging by Dan McD tweet.

Zebra3 wrote: »

Mistaken identity is the only reason a yellow card can be appealled.

Zebra3 wrote: »

We’ll if not then I hope that silly referee gets no more games ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Great achievement by the team, refreshing to see a manager not mention or make excuses about missing players and have faith in the players he has available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

sugarman wrote: »
    Still have no clue having seen it backs 3 or 4 times.

O'Connor was harsh but at least he's replaceable with McGuiness or Omibamidele.

Afolabi is our only out and out forward in the squad, we're probably going to have to play Everitt or Ebosele out of position up front.

Reghba to move into the centre I imagine

Still have no clue having seen it backs 3 or 4 times.

O'Connor was harsh but at least he's replaceable with McGuiness or Omibamidele.

Afolabi is our only out and out forward in the squad, we're probably going to have to play Everitt or Ebosele out of position up front.

Can McGuiness or Omibamidele play in midfield?

Big blow for the two lads to miss the semi finals given its their last year at U19s and were playing defending champions Portugal who beat us in last year's Elite Round which both Afolabi and O'Connor started while Maher was on the bench.

Be nice to see some of the lads that have impressed this summer at underage tournaments get some recognition with a call up to the U21s, even if it's only to train so Kenny can get an up close look at them. Afolabi definitely deserves that call up to the U21s.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Richard Dunne talking about Troy Parrott and youth players.

Richard Dunne believes Troy Parrott should be fast-tracked into the Ireland senior team as soon as possible.

The striker, 17, is not involved in Ireland’s Under-19s Euros campaign in Armenia because Tottenham wanted him for pre-season duty.

And the highly-rated Dubliner started Sunday’s 3-2 win over Juventus in the International Champions Cup clash in Singapore - and caught the eye.

Parrott regularly trained with Mauricio Pochettino’s star-studded team last season but this was his first start.

And Ireland legend Dunne reckons Mick McCarthy has nothing to lose by catapulting the teen into the Euro 2020 mix when the campaign resumes in September.

“It's a position that we're lacking and we want more goals in the team,” said the former centre-back yesterday.

“If we've got someone in and around a Premier League side there's the opportunity to involve him in the senior team.

“(Pochettino) speaks highly of him and not just on his ability but also his personality which for a young footballer is huge to have.”

Dunne continued: “You look at what Wales did a few years ago, they threw in a load of young kids and did really well.

“They started to develop them into first-team players. It could be an opportunity if he comes and plays for Ireland and does well.

It might force someone's hand at club level to give them that start. We can't wait forever for kids to become first-team regulars before they play for Ireland.

“If they're nearly first-team squad members at Premier League clubs, they won't be a million miles off our first team.”

Adam Idah is another missing from the Under-19 Euros - where Ireland are into the semi-finals - because of club commitments.

On his first start for Norwich’s first-team, the striker - recently armed with a new contract - scored twice in last week’s 4-1 pre-season win over Bonner SC.

And Dunne - capped 80 times - said: “It's amazing to have two young centre-forwards at Premier League clubs almost knocking on the door of getting into the starting XI.

“It’s brilliant for Mick and Robbie Keane to look at a top class centre-forward and have the option of choosing him.

“If it goes go well, over the course of the next 15 years you could have two players who turn themselves into regulars for Ireland.

“If you can get a couple of 20-year-olds into the squad it puts a more positive light on the whole thing.

“Looking at the squad, you’re thinking we don’t have goalscorers or speed. If we can get four or five into the squad over the course of the campaign it would be brilliant"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

What time and channel is the semi final today guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,556 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

davycc wrote: »

3pm.Its on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Any links apart from RTE? im sure some of them have been on UEFA TV but cant find todays game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

yabadabado wrote: »
    davycc wrote: »

3pm.Its on RTE
    Yeah Rte two thanks
    Coy big!!!

Only a matter of time until Portugal score.
    We can’t hold onto the ball for 5 seconds.

Almost 1-1. Portugal clear off the line.

And then Ireland hit the bar straight after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,947 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

A goal line clearance and a smash off the crossbar. Should be back to 1-1!

They are battling well now.
    Great bunch these.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Passing pretty poor so far from Ireland. A lot of long balls straight out of play trying to force the issue.
    In saying that they should be level.
    Fella with the big hair for portugal looks a player. Some lovely ball control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,947 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

That's bad from the left back

Another poor goal to concede.
    We’re just missing too many players.

Another poor goal to concede.
    We’re just missing too many players.

Yeah pity to get so far and be left with such an understrength side. I mean good in a way that they managed it but you'd love to see everyone available and on the pitch.

Hopefully the experience picked up by the lads stands them well in their development over the next couple of years. Jonathan Afolabi is definitely someone that's benefitted from players not being available and that's great for him seeing as he's looking for a new club.

It leaves you wondering though about what if we had all our players available to us, the team at the moment could be classed as our B team given the numbers unavailable to us.

Young Hodge is not having a good day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

That no. 14 for Portugal is daycent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Dara o’Shea; 20 year old Dub getting a run in preseason with West Bromwich. He’s a centre half so Hegazi will likely displace him when he returns.

Anyone know much about O’Shea? Good prospect?

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Dara o’Shea; 20 year old Dub getting a run in preseason with West Bromwich. He’s a centre half so Hegazi will likely displace him when he returns.

Anyone know much about O’Shea? Good prospect?

Scored in yesterday's game against Rotherham. West Brom rate him highly, talks that some Premier League clubs were watching him. Was on loan last season in League 2 at Exeter, didn't actually play for the first 3 months I think and then was first choice for the rest of the season starting 26 games.

Hopefully Dunne can get a loan to a championship club and if the other lads in Collins, Masterson and O'Shea could break into their respective first teams then we could have four CBs under the age of 22 getting game time in the championship.

Massive season ahead for some of our young players with Stephen Kenny taking over the seniors next summer and the nation's league like September. If any of them can get regular game time at club level and impress with the U21s they could be making their senior team debuts next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,137 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Villa signing two midfielders doesnt bode great for Hourihane :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,903 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

When is the squad for the swiss/Bulgaria game been named ???

Anyone thing there might be 1 or 2 surprise inclusions giving we have the friendly match??

Patrick Bamford seems to have gone off the idea of representing us

We need at least 1pt from the Swiss game imo if we have any ambition of qualifying. October will be tough with the 2 away fixtures too Georgia and the Swiss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

PTH2009 wrote: »
    When is the squad for the swiss/Bulgaria game been named ???

Anyone thing there might be 1 or 2 surprise inclusions giving we have the friendly match??

Patrick Bamford seems to have gone off the idea of representing us

We need at least 1pt from the Swiss game imo if we have any ambition of qualifying. October will be tough with the 2 away fixtures too Georgia and the Swiss

I’m a bit doubtful that they’ll be included but Chris Shields and Jack Byrne have both made good accounts of themselves in Europe recently.

We’re desperate for a player of Shields ilk in particular, doing the dirty work in midfield. Michael Duffy is worthy of inclusion also in my opinion.

Id say it'll be later than usual with the season only kicking off, maybe mid August to give everyone a good chance of get going.

1) I dont expect there to be many, if any surprise inclusions given the u21 have 2 big games in the same period.

Any of the younger lads that made an impression at the u17 & u19 tournaments will probably be fast tracked into the 21s rather than the senior side.

2) If any of Parrott, Connolly or Idah break into clubs first team, they'll be in with a shout of course, or perhaps Molumby if he breaks into Millwalls first team but hard to know at this point where they stand.

3) McCarthy still hasnt had younger memebers of his previous squads available due to injury too, the likes of O'Dowda, Browne, Obafemi, Connell, Travers etc.. so they'll probably be the ones getting a their chance. On top of seniors like Long and maybe McCarthy if he gets a move and is back playing.

1) I think it's also better for those players to be with the U21s and working with our future senior team manager. We've the nation's league next year which will possibly give us 6 games for Kenny to blood some new players into the squad that he's been working with so far. Also Mick gave an interview today saying that he's got no problem with playing younger players as he's done it before but back then he had more leeway compared to now and Switzerland is a very important game for us.

2) In his interview he's asked about Troy Parrott. Says if he's playing league games for Spurs he'll be in the squad, that it's all about players starting for their clubs Though further in the interview he says even if he's in match day squads with a chance of getting game time from the bench he'll consider him for squads.

3) this is actually a good point and you could even add Robinson into the mix given he was injured for the first two games and only got a run out against Gibraltar at home. While we're currently doing great work at underage there's still a small group of players who've only got a handful of caps and should be looking to cement their places as starters for Ireland.

Guys like O'Dowda and Robinson will be looking to push for starting spots as will John Egan, even someone like Conor Hourihane probably only has a dozen caps and think the game against Denmark was his first time starting three games in a row for Ireland. So even he's only really cementing his place as a starter for Ireland.

It's gonna be an interesting season for Irish fans and players. We'll have a new manager by the end of the season, younger players will possibly break into or get game time at club level, some of the older players will be hoping that they remain first choice players at club level especially the likes of Hourihane and Robinson who've moved up a division and players like Brady who lost their starting spots towards the back half of last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Sad news but hopefully a positive outcome, Paul McGrath's son missing over in the UK
    https://twitter.com/Paulmcgrath5/status/1154454535353622529?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,903 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

LowOdour wrote: »
    Sad news but hopefully a positive outcome, Paul McGrath's son missing over in the UK

Yeah hopefully good news. Feel if it's bad Paul could turn to the bottle again

Were used to false Dawn's in the past with underage players but pg some quality comes out of this bunch at senior level some great underage displays

Do we class ourselves as an senior up and coming team and write off this campaign and current crop of seniors ??. We need to qualify for these euros to save the embarrassment of hosting games and not qualifying but really are we good enough atm ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

If Jack Byrne isn't capped in the next game I'm grabbing some petrol and heading to the FAI headquarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

D14Rugby wrote: »
    If Jack Byrne isn't capped in the next game I'm grabbing some petrol and heading to the FAI headquarters.

We better before he does a Declan Rice on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,710 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

D14Rugby wrote: »
    Any interest from England for him yet? I'd imagine he was hoping to get a transfer back over before the window shuts

He's come out and said that for the first time in his career he's not thinking about his next move. Makes sense, first time in years he's enjoying his football, playing in Europe, team basically built around him, style of play suits him to a T. Wouldn't suit most English teams anyway, style of play is far better than that so he'd be better off going to the continent.
    alta stare wrote: »
    We better before he does a Declan Rice on it.

Oh shut the **** up

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Unless he's going to move to a UK club that are committed to a certain style of play (and don't default to long ball when going gets tough), then his next move should be somewhere else on continent.

Think he should stay with Rovers til end of season. Move during Xmas transfer window if he's that in demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭henke

LowOdour wrote: »

Thankfully, he has been found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,556 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

henke wrote: »
    Thankfully, he has been found.

He wasnt missing to begin with.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Dan Crowley vs Jack Byrne:

Who’ll have the more successful international career?? Might be interesting reading in 5 years so think carefully before answering :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭pgj2015

jack byrne 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

There's a lad at Borussia Monchengladbach who qualifies for us and has said he wants to represent Ireland.

https://twitter.com/swearimnotpaul/status/1155505003420901376

He's got a German and Irish flag on his Instagram apparently. He got 30 minutes for Gladbach this evening in a friendly against Athletic Bilbao.

The journalist Ronan Murphy's been tweeting about him tonight. So that's him, Anselmo Garcia MacNulty (Wolfsburg) and Ryan Johansson (Bayern) to keep on our radars in Germany.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Fair play to Robbie. Treat the Daily Heil the way it should be treated.