Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How often do you curse?

• 15-08-2019 12:33pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

I think I'm a relatively polite person but some times let out the old f*** when angry or fustrated.

I hear loads of people who openly curse with friends, coworkers but not family members. Is there a difference really? Especially as an adult?

Is there a difference between cursing in frustration and cursing someone out (i.e. you bloody w*nker!)

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

every ****ing sencond ****ing word op, thanks for ****ing asking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Every ducking time.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭RayCon

very

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭NSAman

The F word...It is a verb, a noun, a pronoun, an adjective, an adverb with many friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Constantly! When I was younger my wife (then girlfriend) would give out to me if I cursed around a child.. which would only increase the volume and number of curses coming out of my mouth, so she just gave up and has accepted that I am an ignorant swine :D

Nothing feels more stress relieving than a good curse if you've recently hurt yourself.

Way too much, especially among friends and family, but its more in jest than anything else, i just cant help it, trying to curb it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

My favourite is "Jesus Titty w*nking Christ". Have to tone that one down around some of the more religious family members!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,655 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It depends. Some days I swear like a sailor and then other days I'm very prim and proper. The judiciousness of a well placed curse shouldn't be overlooked - it can enliven an otherwise drab and dreary statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

The last time I had an epic cursing episode, it was directed at a particularly self-righteous cyclist who threw himself in front of my car whilst I had right-of-way.
    His shocked sadness was made more pathetic with his wearing a fluorescent yellow spandex outfit.
    I tore him several new ones and it felt great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Never. I've nothing against people swearing, especially in the right situation, but I've just never done it myself. I don't know what happened to me, because most of my siblings are terrible for it.

Some friends have said they try to tone down their own cursing in my company but I've never said anything to make them think they should.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I put a spell on you op, to make you miiiiine!

Pretty much every sentence I say has a curse, no matter where I am home, work etc. Never got the issue some have with cursing, it’s a vital part of a language imo.

I have to say it was much more frowned upon in the past I find most people openly curse now, even for example in important meetings at work with external clients/collaborators cursing is common.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

I don't curse too often. I like it have meaning when I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭This is it

Depends on the setting. Out with the lads in the pub, every second or third word and I throw a fûck or cûnt in. At home, work or around the little fella I don't at all.

Strange how we subconsciously change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Even when I really shouldn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Every time I open my mouth :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

All the time since I got married and have kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

If my mouth is moving, I'm probably swearing.

Tone it down around certain family members though.

My grandmother was always quite proper, but she's in her late 80s now and the inhibitions are going. She's apparently had quite a sweary inner life because she's a pro at it.

I was recently leaving her house, was telling her I'd be back to see her for her birthday.

"Oh lovely. My God, I was born in nineteen thirty fcuking two!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I have to admit I swear a fair bit. In my defence I try to make it as poetic and evocative as possible, like my late father. He was a sort of Warrior Poet of swearing. :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

**** **** *************** ****** the ***** *** ******** centimeter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭GRACKEA

Cursing was always just a part of everyday parlance in my family and as a result emphatic swears slip out in conversation for me when feeling any kind of high emotion (not necessarily anger or frustration, but excitement, giddiness, tiredness).

I think the gauge for me is the intent behind the swear, if it's directed at someone or used to deliberately be offensive it's rude but otherwise no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I curse like docker with Tourettes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Feisar

All the time, trying to cut it out as it adds nothing.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,294 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Yeah, I'm a proponent of cursing. I dunno, I can't take someone seriously if they don't curse. It seems like it would take effort to not curse, so someone not cursing is hiding something imo. Pretty sure I can't speak a full sentence without cursing, and fück and cünt are probably my most used words. I don't think there's a word more versatile than fück.

Very rarely. Just don't like saying em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

I curse every time I see mr_fegelien pop up on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

seems a very Irish thing; even gets mentioned as that on US youtubes re visiting Ireland

I would never swear in public, and hate hearing it.

Alone may be different... ;) when severely provoked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭trashcan

Nothing wrong with a good swear word in its place. I’m not a fan of people using the f word as punctuation though. As someone earlier said, I like it to have meaning when I do use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭adox

I actually love cursing. ****in, **** etc are part of my everyday language.

Its fantastically expressive.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I hate swearing or swear words in general conversation, I cringe when I hear it.

It really gives off a bad impression.

I'd have to be very cross to swear, if it's got to that stage then I'm basically apoplectic with rage.

(Of course I've used swear words here, but that doesn't really count :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Only the once.

I placed it on the lad who stole my jacket in the nightclub in Edinburgh.
    I wished him a slow lonely death by anal cancer.

Of course I don't know to this day if it worked.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

For the life of me, I have never
    uttered a
    curse word or
    killed anyone.

You would think
    one would have done this at my age
    under some circumstance.

I hate swearing or swear words in general conversation, I cringe when I hear it.

It really gives off a bad impression.

I'd have to be very cross to swear, if it's got to that stage then I'm basically apoplectic with rage.

(Of course I've used swear words here, but that doesn't really count :D)

But why though? Is it just your own opinion that it gives a bad impression or is it based on something? Genuine question. From what I can see, the people who don't curse (politicians, judges, people in power, etc) are far worse than those that do. To me, cursing is honest. Granted, it can go beyond that, but I've found those who curse are more honest and open than those that don't.

Then again, I'd imagine we had very different upbringings, I wouldn't even know when to use the word apoplectic! Had to Google the meaning tbh. In fact, science has found that people who curse more often have a better/larger vocabulary, and to give a very early quote in the article by Stephen Fry:

"The sort of twee person who thinks swearing is in any way a sign of a lack of education or a lack of verbal interest is just f*cking lunatic."

Not having a go at anyone, each to their own, but I would like to see why some people would consider cursing a negative, when it's better at expressing emotions than most non-curse words.

But why though? Is it just your own opinion that it gives a bad impression or is it based on something? Genuine question. From what I can see, the people who don't curse (politicians, judges, people in power, etc) are far worse than those that do. To me, cursing is honest. Granted, it can go beyond that, but I've found those who curse are more honest and open than those that don't.

Then again, I'd imagine we had very different upbringings, I wouldn't even know when to use the word apoplectic! Had to Google the meaning tbh. In fact, science has found that people who curse more often have a better/larger vocabulary, and to give a very early quote in the article by Stephen Fry:

"The sort of twee person who thinks swearing is in any way a sign of a lack of education or a lack of verbal interest is just f*cking lunatic."

Not having a go at anyone, each to their own, but I would like to see why some people would consider cursing a negative, when it's better at expressing emotions than most non-curse words.

Cursing can come across as having a lack of vocabulary and/or ability to express oneself. As I already said, down the pub I'd throw in a fair few fûcks, if I heard it in a professional capacity I'd certainly be judgemental of that person, there's a time and a place for it. In my opinion, in a professional capacity is definitely not the time or place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

It goes up and down but more to illuminate a point I'm making. If I can get the same emphasis and import without cursing, I usually do but sometime it's therapeutic to let out a "f*ck that" or "b*llocks to you" or even a "you sh*tting d*ck-nipple" on occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Why do you think that these people don't curse? Maybe they don't in their professional lives, but that would go for most people, especially when dealing with clients/customers.

In a casual setting, that changes.

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

The odd time, but it really depends on who I'm around. It's not very lady-like for every second word out of your mouth to be a swear word, so I try to keep it to every third word instead.

Why do you think that these people don't curse? Maybe they don't in their professional lives, but that would go for most people, especially when dealing with clients/customers.

In a casual setting, that changes.

And this is why I think cursing should be welcomed. I'd be more likely to believe a politician, banker or other 'professional' if they let out the odd curse, makes them human imo and much more believable to me. Politicians already have a fake persona, not cursing adds to the fakeness which makes me trust them less (if that's possible, I pretty much don't trust a single politician. Maybe Ming, but that's because he's pushing cannabis legalisation, no idea what else he does!).

I think cursing still being taboo is an attempt to hold onto an older life which just doesn't exist anymore. Cursing is now part and parcel of language, and indeed there's no other single word that has as many uses as fück in so many different ways/meanings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

I generally avoid the need to curse as it's uncouth and my vocabulary is wide enough to generate alternative and appropriate phraseology when the need arises.

My 16-year old son however, oh dear. I thought I was raising him to be a gentleman. But whenever he goes to GAA training, he comes back effing and blinding like there's no tomorrow.

Flipping football, it's like finishing school for Anglo-Saxon expletives.

And this is why I think cursing should be welcomed. I'd be more likely to believe a politician, banker or other 'professional' if they let out the odd curse, makes them human imo and much more believable to me. Politicians already have a fake persona, not cursing adds to the fakeness which makes me trust them less (if that's possible, I pretty much don't trust a single politician. Maybe Ming, but that's because he's pushing cannabis legalisation, no idea what else he does!).

I think cursing still being taboo is an attempt to hold onto an older life which just doesn't exist anymore. Cursing is now part and parcel of language, and indeed there's no other single word that has as many uses as fück in so many different ways/meanings.

Theres rarely, if any, need to curse though. Generally it's due to not being able to think of a better word. As you said, fûck can be used in so many ways like most curse words. If I'm on a work call and the lad on the other end can't discuss something without throwing a few fûcks in here and there, I wouldn't be bother dealing with him to be honest. You should be able to express yourself without cursing.

Obviously in the heat of the moment, like standing on Lego barefoot (the worst pain imaginable) then an odd curse slips out, and is expected, but to hear it in every day language would be awful. A social setting, not too bad either in some circumstances. But imagine...

-Can I get €20 diesel please.

Yeah no bother. Isn't it a lovely fûcking day out?

-Fûck yeah, fûcking lovely!

No thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭bigar

Rarely. So much so that my friends are quite startled when I do utter one.

This is it wrote: »
    Theres rarely, if any, need to curse though. Generally it's due to not being able to think of a better word. As you said, fûck can be used in so many ways like most curse words. If I'm on a work call and the lad on the other end can't discuss something without throwing a few fûcks in here and there, I wouldn't be bother dealing with him to be honest. You should be able to express yourself without cursing.

Obviously in the heat of the moment, like standing on Lego barefoot (the worst pain imaginable) then an odd curse slips out, and is expected, but to hear it in every day language would be awful. A social setting, not too bad either in some circumstances. But imagine...

-Can I get €20 diesel please.

Yeah no bother. Isn't it a lovely fûcking day out?

-Fûck yeah, fûcking lovely!

No thanks.

I have to say I hate this attitude. Cursing is as legitimate a way to express yourself as any other.

Your example on the diesel there would be me too, I’d throw in a few curses in nearly any sentence as it’s just the way I talk.

I have to say I hate this attitude. Cursing us as legitimate a way to express yourself as any other.

Your example on the diesel there would be me too, I’d throw in a few curses in nearly any sentence as it’s just the way I talk.

Good for you, that's your choice, just as it would be my choice to judge you for it.

As I said, in some social settings I see no issues with it, in others I think it's awful. That's only my opinion, I'm sure tolerances of cursing vary greatly, from one extreme to the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

Words are just words. Just because someone decided one word is bad over another word. It's just sounds. I don't get why people can be disgusted because someone said a certain word.

Yeah, having been bullied all through primary and secondary school, I reckon I've developed a thick skin to insults/cursing. Then add in 9 years as a Garda and I've basically lost any empathy for people in general, I think it allows me to have a more independent view on things as I can remove the emotion from basically anything. But having being bullied for most of my school life, due to being ginger, I was always told 'Sticks and stones may break your bones but words will never hurt you', whereas now it's 'sticks and stones may break your bones but words will cut deep into your soul and you'll need a safe place afterwards'.

Maybe that has added to my normality of cursing. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Regarding not being able to find another word for it, if that word is obscure then why would I know it to begin with? Not everyone is a fan of linguistics and ensuring they have all the words for things that most people wouldn't know. And the people that use these words know this, and I believe it gives them a feeling of superiority over people who may not be as linguistically advanced. All personal opinion of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Rarely almost never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

I don't curse, I hex.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

No, I take your point. For me, I feel that cursing has it's time and place. I wouldn't consider anyone (in any context) beneath me who swears I just think it's not appropriate in certain situations.

I have a friend who swears like a mad but she's a great person and interestingly as you mentioned, tends to be very honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I never fúcking swear, it’s so fûcking vulgar and rude and not one bit fücking impressive to anyone other than dim witted bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Are the Irish, (particularly Dublin Irish), the only nationality who manage to put an expletive in the middle of another word e.g. Absofcukinglutely?