Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2fm New Breakfast Show

• 05-03-2007 8:51am
    Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭

is it just me or are Colm and Jim Jam! Rubbish and annoying and almost worse than Marty...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Nah, it's just you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I listen to them this morning and if anything they are better than they were on FM104, they also had a lot of new stuff.

Its good to see them back, FM104 has gone down hill rapidly since they left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Are there any recordings/podcasts of it to be heard anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 The Boy Wonders

One thing I will say for these guys is that they work very hard, keeping the whole bebo/blog thing going.

This is from bebo....

"For legal reasons I had to shut down the old BEBO, you had left so many messages of support that my old employers didn't like it, and I was technically still under contract with them."

Personally I think the whole "old employers" thing is stupid. Jim Jim might not know this but fm104 is not very well known outside the Pale, (no offense, but it's a Dublin Station so why would someone in Donegal even think about it?)

I find it alienating myself, I tuned in this morning and they were going on as though we should already know who they are and how great it was they were there etc. I know they have listeners in Dublin but so what. It's like some kind of clique.

The guy does give himself a big head on his picture though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

MemEmee wrote:
    is it just me or are Colm and Jim Jam! Rubbish and annoying and almost worse than Marty...

Give them a chance - I did feel there was a bit of first day nerves and mistakes. Once they settle in it'll be great.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

MemEmee wrote:
    and almost worse than Marty...

Please, only Larry Gogan is worse than Marty Wheelan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Foolitz

This morning was one of the best first shows I've ever heard. Playing Black Betty at 8am was inspired. Love the new song about being locked as well. I've said it before, but Colm & Jim Jim are two of the best in the business at what they do. They have left a gaping wound in fm104 and their new show sounds ever cooler than the old one. Well done boys! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,928 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Thought it went pretty well myself.

You could tell when they were automatically gonna give out the FM104 text number, or say "The Strawberry Alarm Clock", then caught themselves in time :D (they did slip up on Mad Dad - er..Jim Jim's Dad tho! :p)

It doesn't like Gavin or Paugie survived the moved though as they sidestepped the txt asking about them very quickly.

All in all I thought it was a good first day.. but then I've listened to them for years. The new jingles will take some getting used to though, but I'm not sure how well they'll do outside the capital.

Are the listenership figures released monthly?

EDIT: No I didn't stick around for Gerry Ryan, or tune in since. Anyone else who followed the show over stick with 2FM today?

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Dyflin wrote:
    Please, only Larry Gogan is worse than Marty Wheelan!
    :eek: Larry Gogan is a god compared to most of the rest of RTE's radio presenters, including G Ryan and Whelan!

• Registered Users Posts: 1 colin172

byte wrote:
    :eek: Larry Gogan is a god compared to most of the rest of RTE's radio presenters, including G Ryan and Whelan!

I agree. I will miss Larry Gogan from my weekday listening. I loved the just a minute quiz..:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

They're starting to settle in today. Jim Jim has a new bebo up and running. Already nearly 2000 hits since Monday. Its a breath of freash air for 2fm. Still think the playlist in general needs a little bit more work throughout the day or maybe they're weening of the oap's from 2fm. But they have hit the ground running as expected. Well done lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭magnumlady

They are hilarious such a refreshing change from Marty.
    Loved the prank call today and Martin 'Luther' King the weather man yesterday.
    Well done to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Fair f*cks to the pair of them, I always said they were the only ones worth listening to of a morning on the whole of the Irish airwaves.
    Not managed to catch a whole show yet, but the bits and pieces I've heard were what I'd have expected...I really think 2FM are on to a winner here and that the alarm clock will go from strength to strength.

semi related: just happening to be listening to Rick O Shea as I type and he just followed the Klaxons with the Stone Roses...did someone spike the canteen coffee with acid this morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I tolerated it for about 6 minutes this morning. Its not the kind of thing I want to listen to 5 mins out of bed. Whats the dealie with the stupid "trendy" background music they play through the news and AA roadwatch? Its so distracting, and sounds as if they are trying to make the news appear "cool".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,477 ✭✭✭✭cson

They're certainly a lot better than Marty (Although they seem to have retained some of his stuff like the kids calling in thing) And miles better than the abysmal Rick and Ruth.

I still feel The Full Irish was the best breakfast show on any station for a long time. It was light-hearted and Tubridy, Shane O'Donoghue and the newsreaders/aa roadwatch people all had a great chemistry on the show. Even though he was a tad condesending at times, that show was a class act.

In fairness, the kids calling in thing is kind of their thing, not Whelan's...as for Tubridy? No-one ever had me reaching for the tuning dial faster....and that's including Marty Whelan and Ruth Scott; smug bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Personally I think the whole "old employers" thing is stupid. Jim Jim might not know this but fm104 is not very well known outside the Pale, (no offense, but it's a Dublin Station so why would someone in Donegal even think about it?)

I find it alienating myself, I tuned in this morning and they were going on as though we should already know who they are and how great it was they were there etc. I know they have listeners in Dublin but so what. It's like some kind of clique.

The guy does give himself a big head on his picture though:)

I think you have to cut them a bit of a break on that Boy Wonders. They worked for FM104 for a long time and built up a very loyal and very large following. They were supposed to work two weeks notice in FM104 and had planned a kind of goodbye show on the last day, but at the end of the first week FM104 came to them and told them they didn't want them to do the second week and not to come back. It does seem kind of petty to do that to them. Also 104 kept the exact same format that Colm and Jim created, same segments in the same order and everything, and from what I understand told the people that took over from them not to mention them at all, you can't blame them for explaining to usual Strawberry Alarm Clock listeners why they were on 2FM and thanking them for their support.

cson wrote:
    They're certainly a lot better than Marty (Although they seem to have retained some of his stuff like the kids calling in thing) And miles better than the abysmal Rick and Ruth.

They were doing that bit where they ring the kids up in the morning on FM104 for a good few years before they moved to 2FM. I'm not sure how long Marty has been doing it for, but it's not like they are just continuing a segment he did.

Personally I like them, you can do with a good laugh sometimes in the mornings, but I've yet to hear the show on 2FM, I've been working nights, but I always thought they were the best thing on FM104, it was the only 3 or 4 hours I could bear to listen to the station.

P.S I am in no way affiliated with 2FM or with the Colm and Jim Jim show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

Listining to the colm and jim jim show is a great way to cheer you up for the day. I reckon it should be on the telly at the same time, it would be good for rte. I wonder if matt molloy will be on this friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

MemEmee wrote:

It's not just you. The show is peurile and aimed at the LCD. Always was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

cymro wrote:
    Listining to the colm and jim jim show is a great way to cheer you up for the day. I reckon it should be on the telly at the same time, it would be good for rte. I wonder if matt molloy will be on this friday.

*Qualifier to the above. If you are 12.

eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

It's almost as bad as Ray Foley ripping off Chris Moyles on Today FM

Chris moyles on today fm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭petals

MemEmee wrote:
    I listened the first mornign cos I've heard so much about this wonderful Strawberry Alarm clock whatever.. I wasn't impressed and shall be sticking with the toll trolls or breakfast express :)

eamon234 wrote:
    It's almost as bad as Ray Foley ripping off Chris Moyles on Today FM

Glad I'm not the only one who noticed that. That b/g music has been Moyles' trademark tune since he took over breakfast...I only ever listen to Foley by being sbjected to it from someone else's radio, which thankfully is not very often but he's definitely "borrowed" some stuff, perhaps safe in the knowledge that 90% of his listeners wouldn't know who Moyles was if he bit them in the arse...

petals wrote:
    I listened the first mornign cos I've heard so much about this wonderful Strawberry Alarm clock whatever.. I wasn't impressed and shall be sticking with the toll trolls or breakfast express :)
    To each their own I suppose..

I personally can't stand the "Toll Trolls", and as for Breakfast Express.. those two can't do comedy (or accents!) to save their lives.

IMO of course... Colm and Jim Jim are the only show worth listening to (loved the caller this morning congratulating them on the "new" ideas they've brought in like Mad Dad..er, Jim Jim's Dad, and Kids In The Car.. er, Kids go Crazy - The two lads had a laugh about it too :D)

Looks like Gavin (or "Dougie Highlife" as he's now known) survived the move after all. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

Thank God! I nearly jumped up and down when I heard "Dougie Hi-life" this morning.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I wonder why "Gavin" couldn't keep his name ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

KTRIC wrote:
    I wonder why "Gavin" couldn't keep his name ??
    Either because Gavin, as a character, is the intellectual property of FM104 or because Colm and Jim didn't want anything to be exactly the same as in the old show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

I'd say their "former employer" has threatened them big style with law suits for copyright etc so they're just not taking any chances. So happy to hear him though, and I think Dougy Hi-Life suits him.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Brilliant to see Gavin aka dougie back this morning, funny then ever but i have to say the show seems to have lost something in the move, these country folk just dont get the humour, there is low flying airplanes all over the place

its only the first week though, hopefully, it will pick up in the next few weeks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭crybaby

pretty much the exact same show just on a different station be interesting to see how big an audience they can get though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

MemEmee wrote:
    They were rubbish on 104 and I don't expect them to be any better now. Last thing I need in the morning is middle aged arséholes trying to be young, trendy and funny (which they are not).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

nipplenuts wrote:
    It's not just you. The show is peurile and aimed at the LCD. Always was.
    LCD????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I heard it this morning (having never heard their previous show), and I have to say its the first time a radio show has ever drawn a laugh out of me. That Martin "Luther" King segment was quite well done and I'll defo check it out again, at least for tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭motley

irishbird wrote:
    these country folk just dont get the humour

It must be us country folk sense of homour :D Its sounds to me like every bad 80's breakfast show brought back to life.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

LCD????
    Lowest Common Denominator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,204 ✭✭✭jos28

motley wrote:
    It must be us country folk sense of homour :D Its sounds to me like every bad 80's breakfast show brought back to life.
    Its not just the country folk. Sounds like the worst form of pirate radio. Annoying, constantly shouting inane rubbish, definitely NOT funny.I stuck it for 4 days and had to switch the dial. I might tune back in if I hear that one of them has found a brain cell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭BeatNikDub

I like it.
    Sometimes it gets too much but i need a laugh in the morning and they have been doing that all this week.
    Just made me realise how much i missed them since the move to Kilkenny.

They need to keep the show fresh though, they have a habit of over doing ideas and then they become stale.

I remember Joe and Keith on Spin being quite good aswell for first thing in the morning pick me up, pity about the rest of the shows on spin.

For the morning it used to be Ian Dempsey for me but even that is going stale at the moment, they need to up their game now, i think colm and jim him are providing some real competition.

The "Im Locked" song was hilarious though :lol:

BeatNikDub wrote:

The "Im Locked" song was hilarious though :lol:

Aye I had a good chuckle at that this morning myself.

The 2 boys should teach 2FM how to actualy do decent jingles while they're there...cos quite patently 2FM themselves have no f*cking clue...

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭MemEmee

Did anyonhe see review in Irish Times on Saturday. Think it nailed it. And Nob Nation. See below.

http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/weekend/2007/0310/1173442925929.html

Spam or ham? It's just a matter of taste

Bernice Harrison

Radio Review: One man's Spam is another man's ham explained the techie guy, and as reasonable as his tone was (Click On, BBC Radio 4, Wednesday), you just knew he didn't mean it. Working for McAfee, a company that produces anti-spam software, Guy Roberts's days are filled with devising strategies for blocking unsolicited e-mails offering dodgy Viagra, cut-price breast implants and instant wealth. Among the many millions of spam e-mails dumped into computer in-boxes daily, there were very few he considered to be on the truly tasty side.

It was the last edition of the programme that, throughout its run, has managed to demystify technology while at the same time making it slightly terrifying. Every week there has been a story scary enough to bring out the Luddite buried deep within us all.

This week we heard about the latest form of viral hijacking, whereby hackers get into a home computer, remove files and hold them hostage. One woman told how hackers broke into her computer and removed all her files - private documents, work stuff, personal details, the lot - and when she turned it on, a message popped up saying that her files would be returned to her if she went to a certain site and "bought" something. Feeling she had little choice and not wanting all her personal stuff to be floating around in cyberspace, she tapped in her credit card details, which released her files. It sounds like a subplot in a Bond movie, not an everyday hacking in Milton Keynes.

The whole Spam/ham worldview threw some light on why the bulk of my radio listening this week wasn't entirely to my taste. RTÉ has rejigged 2FM, prompting a dutiful week's worth of tuning in - although, in fairness, I am outside the 15-35 demographic that the station is chasing.

In an effort to shore up its falling listenership figures and to - oh dear - get down with the kids, the national broadcaster has poached a programme team from one of Dublin's independent commercial stations. For the past six years Colm Hayes and Jim-Jim Nugent have presented FM104's popular breakfast show The Strawberry Alarm Clock, and they've basically moved their programme - without the catchy title - to replace Marty Whelan in the 2FM breakfast slot.

It's all a bit on the frantic side - chart music, celebrity gossip and non-stop banter between the presenters. For a new show it sounded oddly stale, a textbook "pop station breakfast show" with a predictable line-up of "hilarious" quizzes, prank calls and a "Kids go Crazy" slot whereby some terrified sounding child gets to do his or her party piece down the phone to the shouty prompts of Colm and Jim-Jim and the manic whispered prompts of a parent. That sort of stuff either sets you up for the day or is all so busy it makes you want to have a lie down - it's a Spam/ham thing.

If, going by the radio scheduler's mantra of "win breakfast and you win the day", The Colm and Jim-Jim Breakfast Show catches on, it'll be good news for The Gerry Ryan Show, which follows it and whose listenership has been in decline for some time now. His show hasn't been changed in the station's rejig, but he has a new daily feature, Nob Nation (which itself has been moved around to several programmes since it first appeared on 2FM last year).

This supposedly comic slot, by voice mimic Oliver Callan, is quite astonishingly stupid and vulgar and to say the humour is puerile is to insult schoolboys everywhere. Callan's one trick is that he can do a reasonable impersonation of Bertie Ahern.

On Monday, the sketch was a version of the TV talent search programme You're a Star, with Callan as Ahern, David Norris and Enda Kenny, each singing about their sexual fantasies - this on a pop radio programme at 10am. Recounting the lyrics here would be to give the whole crude and pathetic sketch too much attention, but suffice to say just because Harney sounds like horny doesn't mean it should, and fat jokes are about as funny and dated as Bernard Manning.

This week the Broadcasting Commission of Ireland ordered an advertisement for social justice campaigners Trócaire off the commercial airwaves, as it was deemed to be "political". Apparently some people took offence.

A well-crafted ad promoting global gender equality or a Nob Nation sketch (Thursday) featuring Callan as Bertie Ahern singing "I've got one hand in me pocket and I'm playing with me 10-inch knob"? Spam or ham? You decide.

A review by someone outside of the station's demographic? Hardly going to be favourable really now is it?
    She should just stick with Pat and Marian over on the sister station or perhaps listen to some more radio4...in fact we should all listen to some more radio 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭lady_j

Well they have left a gaping hole in FM104 the crowd that have replaced them are rubbish. Ive listened to 104 for years, but its declined a lot lately I know switch between 2fm and today fm.

Heard Paugie (now "Gitsy") this morning.. I'm surprised they had him on though with the culchie slagging he was at :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

I liked the show when Tubridy did it, I even liked Marty. Rick and Ruth made me change channels and now these 2 are making me switch again. Two middle aged men trying to be 'crazy' and 'hilarious' and hip with the kids is not something that is new or funny. Well done 2FM for caving and catering to the lowest common denominator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭unklerosco

I couldnt standy Marty but i used to do a country run n the radio in the truck would only pick up 2 fm.... I won a Marty in the Mornin Apron... I wear it with pride... Colin n Jim Jim, never liked them... Still dont. Joe n Keith r all I listen to.... Then when im in the sticks i listen to my russell brand podcasts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭lady_j

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    Heard Paugie (now "Gitsy") this morning.. I'm surprised they had him on though with the culchie slagging he was at :p

Haha didnt here it myself but gitsy is a much better name! I know loads of gitsys!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 BlueSkyAngel

The new 2fm Breakfast is great! it's upbeat, lively and has two of Dublin's most listened to Dj's. Colim was actually a 2fm Dj in the past his Bio is on the 2fm website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

I'm glad to see that not everyone likes them. I'd be worried if EVERYONE did. As for that review in the Irish Times last weekend, the only thing that the reporter hit on the head was that 2fm are moving back to their proper demographic, 15-34 year olds.