Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leeds United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Jimmy Two Times

Proud of the guys tonight. But still sickened by the Super League decision.
    Love Orta's tweet.

FULL TIME: #LUFC hold Super League side Merseyside Reds to a 1-1 draw after late Llorente equaliser

I was waiting for Overtime. Felt we would have beaten them in the first quarter:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,065 ✭✭✭✭event

Genuine question to Leeds fans here do you really think if the Leeds owners had been offered the chance to join a Super league with all that money they would not have done it? It is easy to be self righteous from the out side

He'd bite their hands off IMO.

On to Sunday, I really hope Raphinha is back and I think we need Rodrigo back too. Roberts has had his critics and he has done well for a bit, but I think he needs a break.

I am slightly worried about Sunday. They easily exposed us last time by using the man marking system against us and letting runners from deep come through the middle. Was cooper a 1 or a 3 match ban? Bamford is due a goal too, Sunday be a good time to get one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,872 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

event wrote: »
    On to Sunday, I really hope Raphinha is back and I think we need Rodrigo back too. Roberts has had his critics and he has done well for a bit, but I think he needs a break.

I am slightly worried about Sunday. They easily exposed us last time by using the man marking system against us and letting runners from deep come through the middle. Was cooper a 1 or a 3 match ban? Bamford is due a goal too, Sunday be a good time to get one

Three matches.

And should those players return I'd be confident of a result. We're a much stronger team defensively (despite last night's hiccups) than in December, the midfield is good but we need more attacking threat than we had last night. We had some chances but for me we didn't create as many openings as we usually do and relied partially on Liverpool mistakes. Our forward weakness allowed their defenders to advance in the first half and keeping them to 1-0 was luck and good goalkeeping more than anything.

Sunday should be much better and they'll really be up for it. Kalvin will ensure that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,951 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

stating the obvious , but Llorente looks a great player. Hopefully he can avoid the injuries. Corners no longer bring the sense of dread with him and Struijk playing together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭iseegirls

2smiggy wrote: »
    stating the obvious , but Llorente looks a great player. Hopefully he can avoid the injuries. Corners no longer bring the sense of dread with him and Struijk playing together

Not if Sky's Andy Hinchcliffe has his say. He'll make sure to hammer home the point of our defending of set-pieces forever. He also criticized Llorente a lot last night, but nothing then when he scored the goal or done some good play bringing the ball out of the box. Llorente scores - it's bad defending from the other team.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,012 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

iseegirls wrote: »
    Not if Sky's Andy Hinchcliffe has his say. He'll make sure to hammer home the point of our defending of set-pieces forever. He also criticized Llorente a lot last night, but nothing then when he scored the goal or done some good play bringing the ball out of the box. Llorente scores - it's bad defending from the other team.

Yes, I thought he was very negative last night. Foul by the Leeds player, 30 seconds later, unlucky by Liverpool player, badly timed.......

whiterebel wrote: »
    Yes, I thought he was very negative last night. Foul by the Leeds player, 30 seconds later, unlucky by Liverpool player, body timed.......

All of this and more.............we lose the ball and it's great pressing by Liverpool,they lose it and it's a mistake by their player.

Never thought I'd say that I'd be happy to see that clown Goodman back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

iseegirls wrote: »

I too thought he was incredibly biased. When Alioski got a hand in the face from Thiago he actually had a go at Alioski, saying he's on a yellow card already, he needs to be careful here! I just tuned him out after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,611 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

I think the contrast between Leeds and this Super League stuff should be noted. All talk of greed, commercialism and money. By contrast, Leeds under Bielsa, represent hard work, community, working for one another, principles etc. And it's filtered down through the whole club.

Never has it been seen before that a newly promoted club have come up in the manner of Leeds. The philosophy of playing the right way. Going toe to toe with the richest teams in the world, with what was mainly a mid-championship side. All down to hard work, belief, determination and working for one another.

Win or lose, this team will lay siege to the Man United box for 90 minutes at the weekend, with no fear. It's incredible to watch really

It is incredible to watch.

I know I'm not supposed to say this but I didn't hate the first Man U game. I know the start was horrible but the way we went at them,the chances we created,it was so refreshing to see.

Reminded me of that 5-4 home defeat to Liverpool first season back with Wilko. 4 - 0 down after half an hour and getting it back to 5 - 4 with a very soft free out given to their keeper for what looked like a good goal from Chapman.

Love this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I think the contrast between Leeds and this Super League stuff should be noted. All talk of greed, commercialism and money. By contrast, Leeds under Bielsa, represent hard work, community, working for one another, principles etc. And it's filtered down through the whole club.

Never has it been seen before that a newly promoted club have come up in the manner of Leeds. The philosophy of playing the right way. Going toe to toe with the richest teams in the world, with what was mainly a mid-championship side. All down to hard work, belief, determination and working for one another.

Win or lose, this team will lay siege to the Man United box for 90 minutes at the weekend, with no fear. It's incredible to watch really
    In terms of points you'd have expected in April, it's way ahead of any hopes. There's even a chance of being unbeaten for the month!

is_that_so wrote: »
    In terms of points you'd have expected in April, it's way ahead of any hopes. There's even a chance of being unbeaten for the month!

I must disagree. I never understood the pre-season pessimism from some. Fair enough, history has taught us to be wary but on our side was:

- a world class manager
    - an excellent club structure including youth team
    - a team than had won the Championship by ten points and had no fear of anyone
    - a team that was super fit and yet would be playing eight less games this season
    - £103 spent on players last Summer
    - investment and sponsorship money coming in
    - a team joining a division with a lot of mediocre teams

I expected us at this stage to be on the verge of Europa places in 7th/8th. The table doesn't lie but with less injuries and without VAR we'd probably be a couple of places higher. We may still end up there.

And next season will be better!!!

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    I must disagree. I never understood the pre-season pessimism from some. Fair enough, history has taught us to be wary but on our side was:

- a world class manager
    - a team that was super fit and yet would be playing eight less games this season

I expected us at this stage to be on the verge of Europa places in 7th/8th. The table doesn't lie but with less injuries and without VAR we'd probably be a couple of places higher. We may still end up there.

In fairness you were definitely one of the more optimistic among us and have to be applauded.

This week 2 years ago was 10 man Wigan on Good Friday followed by Brentford on Easter Monday, 2 days I'll never forget, ever.

On Friday morning we were 2 points ahead of Sheffield United with a handy game against Wigan. Battered them,missed a peno,went 1 - 0 up, plain sailing.

By the Monday evening it was all in tatters,they'd got 6 points and we'd got none.

How far we've come since.

Seathrun66 wrote: »

- a world class manager

I mean points in April from these three games. There was no reason to think that anything more than 3 points was possible. Now it could be 4-7 points!

A few here were saying we were going to take scalps and beat the teams facing relegation. I posted this on 28 Feb and it can't be right but it won't be far off. Because the old thread is closed I can't link it in:

"Thanks man, and I may be way off on my prediction but we've averaged 1.35 points a game against much the same opposition we're soon to play. That'd give us 9.5 points from the seven upcoming games but I expect more. It's an erratic year where form is hard to predict and many of our opposition are involved in European & cup football. We've got big players returning (surely the worst of our injury bad luck is over) and the pressure is off in terms of survival.

I predict we'll have 48 points at the end of April. Event says 42.

Any other takers for this Pool. Winner gets bought pints at Elland Road in early 2022."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

I know I'm not supposed to say this but I didn't hate the first Man U game. I know the start was horrible but the way we went at them,the chances we created,it was so refreshing to see.

Reminded me of that 5-4 home defeat to Liverpool first season back with Wilko. 4 - 0 down after half an hour and getting it back to 5 - 4 with a very soft free out given to their keeper for what looked like a good goal from Chapman.

Love this team.

I remember that match. After a reasonably good season up to that point, it was a bit of a shocker to be 4:0 down at half time.
    We weren't at the races in the first half.
    But it was a total turnaround in the second half, and if we had 5 minutes more we would have beaten them.

Love this team.

Nor I. It helped that I was able to go to a pub for it for the only time this season so draught Guinness blurred the edges.
    But we also had a go and had we not been so complacent at the start we may have pushed them to the end. 6-3 or 6-4 would also have been respectable. Alas 6-2 is still a drubbing and I'd like us to return the favour on Sunday.

Yeah I was very negative on how we would do. Well I thought I was being realistic is all but these guys are great.

I wonder has no fans helped in some respects. In games where we arent playing as well, ER can be a tough place to be. Especially for Bamford.
    Obviously it would help in respect of influencing refs and intimidation but other teams have that too.

Yeah I was very negative on how we would do. Well I thought I was being realistic is all but these guys are great.

I wonder has no fans helped in some respects. In games where we arent playing as well, ER can be a tough place to be. Especially for Bamford.
    Obviously it would help in respect of influencing refs and intimidation but other teams have that too.

Hard to tell the effect really. Stats show that more teams are winning away but the simple answer is that we'll never know how we'd have done with fans.

Assuming the fans are back next year it's hard not to think we'll benefit from it more than most clubs.

Stones sent off for pretty much the same as Cooper there. At least it was consistent. Was yellow, went to VAR and upgraded to red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭adaminho

Guardiola giving out about Stones red card after Coopers! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,479 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Stones sent off for pretty much the same as Cooper there. At least it was consistent. Was yellow, went to VAR and upgraded to red

Except he didn't get near the ball. Was far more similar to Fernandinho on Raphinha. Absolute laughable the carry on by City trying claim innocence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Meslier coming out for more crosses which can only be a good thing,will have the odd miss but in general its a good thing to have goalies coming for crosses, he needs to eat more though. Cant wait to be heading to elland road again and maybe another all night session in the duncan again presuming its still open.

He'll fill out. He's only 21 or so, remember DDG when he first came to the UK? He was tiny

ah yeah i know, just reckon he will be even better when he adds a few stone.

newhouse87 wrote: »
    Cant wait to be heading to elland road again and maybe another all night session in the duncan again presuming its still open.

That the one with no windows up near the Corn Exchange. Looks right scary. Think I'll stick to the Scarborough meself :D

Realistically when you think we might get over ? September or October maybe ?

That the one with no windows up near the Corn Exchange. Looks right scary. Think I'll stick to the Scarborough meself :D

Realistically when you think we might get over ? September or October maybe ?

Yeah was one of the rougher pubs i have been to. Big for hardcore leeds lads before games im told, the landlord was from louth last time i was in there few years back, we went in around 9pm and didnt leave until 6am, drinking with some old lad from hull. Was few rough heads in there when we first walked in up by the pool table. Drink mad cheap. It will be October i reckon tbh. Going over every couple months next season i hope.

ah yeah i know, just reckon he will be even better when he adds a few stone.

Ah yeah, get ye
    Yeah was one of the rougher pubs i have been to. Big for hardcore leeds lads before games im told, the landlord was from louth last time i was in there few years back, we went in around 9pm and didnt leave until 6am, drinking with some old lad from hull. Was few rough heads in there when we first walked in up by the pool table. Drink mad cheap. It will be October i reckon tbh. Going over every couple months next season i hope.

Do you remember his name by any chance?

Ah yeah, get ye

Do you remember his name by any chance?

Oh i dont, could ask one of the lads that went with me but doubt they remember, it was a heavy night. His wife or girlfriend was running the bar with him, think she was irish too, goodlokng one. Why do you reckon you know him?

Ah Im a Louth man myself. I doubt I know him but just nosey :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

Went to the Duncan last time I was over. Lunchtime game and the Duncan opens at 10am. It has frosted or stained windows and still cheapest pints around - as long as you're not fussy about what you drink. Furniture definitely hasn't been updated since Revie's time. Would recommend a visit for the experience!

Ah Im a Louth man myself. I doubt I know him but just nosey :pac:

Knew it.

It's Gary Kelly :D:D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Rodrigo out for Sunday, Raphinha hasn't trained so is probably unlikely to play. Forshaw picked up another injury playing for the U23s. It's a muscle strain, no word on how serious it might be yet.

Zaph wrote: »
    Rodrigo out for Sunday, Raphinha hasn't trained so is probably unlikely to play. Forshaw picked up another injury playing for the U23s. It's a muscle strain, no word on how serious it might be yet.
    That sounds like Rodrigo is done for the season, Forshaw too, although he was very unlikely to get a game anyway. Still, great that he is playing football again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

That sounds like Rodrigo is done for the season, Forshaw too, although he was very unlikely to get a game anyway. Still, great that he is playing football again.

How long is left on Forshaws contract, one of the biggest “flops” in a while, very harsh to call him a flop but it is what it is

Yes it is. The guy got injured and is battling back.

Till the end of next season. If he can get consistent game time next season he stands a chance of renewal. As a player he is worth having.

Big one today. Usually I try to dampen expectations but I dont know why, I just feel we can get a win today. The last 2 results have really encouraged me. Maybe we wont, be a big ask to do it again against a top team but ye never know. No Raph is a serious loss though, I think he would have been a real handful for them. Pat is due a goal, think he'll get one today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Best of luck today fellas. Even a draw would do!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭championc

I'm not sure if I'm alone but I certainly never expected a single point from these three games and considered getting anything would be a bonus.

And here I am now feeling that i hope for at least a draw ;)

a draw id be delighted with, city was a major bonus and Liverpool was optimistic for a draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭Hijpo

a draw id be delighted with, city was a major bonus and Liverpool was optimistic for a draw.

Shaw could be a handful down that right side.

Complete free hit today which is great. Haven't lost any ground over the mid-table teams. Remember after the last game vs Man Utd, karts of the media banging on about how Bielsa needs to change his ways? Fools the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Mushy wrote: »
    Complete free hit today which is great. Haven't lost any ground over the mid-table teams. Remember after the last game vs Man Utd, karts of the media banging on about how Bielsa needs to change his ways? Fools the lot of them

Part of this is due to some people in the media's inability to praise Solskjaer as well. United were good that day also, and Solsksjaer was tactically solid. It wasn't just Bielsa not adapting. The real answer is, team with very good players and vast resources with a decent manager overpowers team with good players who have just come up from the Championship. "Ole ****, Bielsa naive" is the accepted wisdom tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭adaminho

such a pity no raphinha. Costa drives me mad looking at him tbh, so easily shoved off the ball.

Costa :(

Man U going with serious pace up top it looks like. Plus I fear the will do the same as first game. Bruno moves out of the way to take phillips out of the middle and McTominay then runs late in to the box

Doing better than last time anyway

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,012 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Shaw's arm not in an unnatural position, as he leaned over to make sure he hit it? FFS..������