Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking to learn about basic strategies.

Options
  • 12-01-2014 5:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,520 ✭✭✭

Hi I just started playing chess on chess.com a few weeks ago. I'm very much a beginner and strategy noob. My rating is hovering around the 950 mark after 30 or so games. Can anyone recommend some good strategy sites for someone of my level? Something like a problem of the day which I could mull over and then get a detailed answer the next day or something like that would be good.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 878 ✭✭✭eclipsechaser

Hi I just started playing chess on chess.com a few weeks ago. I'm very much a beginner and strategy noob. My rating is hovering around the 950 mark after 30 or so games. Can anyone recommend some good strategy sites for someone of my level? Something like a problem of the day which I could mull over and then get a detailed answer the next day or something like that would be good.

Hi there,

950 is really good if you're only starting off - well done! At that level, tactics are probably the most important thing to learn for quick improvement. A book of tactical puzzles might be a good idea. I really liked "The Art of Checkmate" which catalogues most of the major checkmate patterns. It should sharpen your tactics and give you an insight into sacrifices and combinations. I also recommend "The Mammoth Book of Chess" as an excellent general book. It covers all aspects of chess to a good standard.