Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The best cycling film/race-Whats yours?

• 28-12-2009 1:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭

Anyone any views on the best ever cycling film they have seen and/or cycling race.

Mine would be -- Film - - A Sunday In Hell

and race would be -- the 1994 Paris Roubaix where Andrei Tchmil won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

calerbass wrote: »
    and race would be -- the 1994 Paris Roubaix where Andrei Tchmil won.

+1!

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭ajk24

best youtube race clip - kelly chasing down argentin off the poggio to take milan-san remo in '92
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CUQKOSti7FQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭calerbass

ajk24 wrote: »
    best youtube race clip - kelly chasing down argentin off the poggio to take milan-san remo in '92

Thats for sure, great piece of riding.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭kingdomlad

I have to agree. Kellys decent off the Poggio in Milan San Remo was a super ride. Also, you had to admire Lemonds Time Trial onto the Champs Elysses in 89 and Armstrong on Alpe D'Huez in 2001.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

What was that crap I caught last night with Kevin Costner in it. Ended up watching the last 20mins, someone fill me in on the story or the name so I can read about it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭papac

+1 Kelly Milan-San Remo 92.
    +1 Sunday in hell. Apart from the cycling at all it a beautiful piece of cinema and a great snapshot of the 1970s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭kingdomlad

I hope ye can all watch my home movie.
    THE ROAD TO NOWHERE - 10 YEARS CHASING THE PELETON

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/video/video.php?v=1058580880215&ref=mf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭vigos

RasTa wrote: »
    What was that crap I caught last night with Kevin Costner in it. Ended up watching the last 20mins, someone fill me in on the story or the name so I can read about it myself.

It was called American Flyers

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Flyers

Wouldn't mind watching that 94 roubaix actually - can only find it with dutch commentary on cyclingtorrents. Anyone got an english version they could upload somewhere?

I guess I'll have to break out the dutch-english dictionary...

My only dutch is:
    ACH MANN, GA JA MOEDER WASSEN!

Hey man, go wash your mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

vigos wrote: »

Great film!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

Breaking Away (1979), classic.
    Track event, road biking, local kids versus fratboy jocks, cheesy romancing, its got it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭calerbass

Wouldn't mind watching that 94 roubaix actually - can only find it with dutch commentary on cyclingtorrents. Anyone got an english version they could upload somewhere?

I guess I'll have to break out the dutch-english dictionary...

My only dutch is:
    ACH MANN, GA JA MOEDER WASSEN!

Hey man, go wash your mother.

I had the whole race on video, taped it off the english version of eurosport with david duffield commentating, i think i still have it in a box somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

The Flying Scotsman is an excellent movie.

Favourite cycling documentary is The High Life (Robert Millar).
    Hell on Wheels is good to.

Was that Tyler Hamilton docu movie ever released (he got busted for doping during the movie)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Junior

Currently watching the following

- The High Life
    - Cobbles Baby
    - No Limits Season - Chris Boardman - The Final Hour
    - Road to Roubaix
    - Shay Elliot - Cycle of Betrayal
    - The Hard Road
    - Overcoming
    - Overcoming (Bonus Disk)
    - Hell on Wheels
    - A Sunday in Hell
    - Quest 2
    - Conquering Roubaix
    - Hey Baby Tour Time

Cheers

Junior wrote: »
    Currently watching the following

- The High Life
    - Cobbles Baby
    - Road to Roubaix
    - The Hard Road
    - Overcoming
    - Hell on Wheels
    - A Sunday in Hell
    - Quest 2
    - Conquering Roubaix
    - Hey Baby Tour Time

Cheers

How many fcuking tvs do you have??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

Junior wrote: »
    - The High Life
    - Cobbles Baby
    - Road to Roubaix
    - The Hard Road
    - Overcoming
    - Hell on Wheels
    - A Sunday in Hell
    - Quest 2
    - Conquering Roubaix
    - Hey Baby Tour Time

Are any of these feature films or are they all documentaries?

I bought the Flying Scotsman on DVD in Laser Video about a month ago, will watch it on new years day to ease the pain.

flickerx wrote: »

I bought the Flying Scotsman on DVD in Laser Video about a month ago, will watch it on new years day to ease the pain.

that's the one with johnny lee miller playing obree, right?

Couldn't sit through that one - was very boring I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Junior

How many fcuking tvs do you have??!

4 .. I'm going thru the films one by one..
    flickerx wrote: »

Mainly docu/films, some are fairly shamish (cobbles baby springs to mind) but they are entertaining to watch as a bit of history is played out ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭papac

I just discovered cyclingtorrents.nl
    Why am I always the last to know.:D
    I will now be watching/rewatching all these while I am snowed in
    - The High Life
    - Cobbles Baby
    - Road to Roubaix
    - The Hard Road
    - Overcoming
    - Hell on Wheels
    - A Sunday in Hell
    - Quest 2
    - Conquering Roubaix
    - Hey Baby Tour Time

Any more suggestions anybody???

• Registered Users Posts: 43 RapidResults

Eurocyclist (and wannabes like me) would choose:

Pour un Mallot Jaune Pour Un Maillot Jaune (For a yellow jersey) follows the 1965 Tour de France not as a sports documentary but an atmospheric film of the events that surround it. Where riders are shown racing, it is an illustration of the hardship or the danger they face. The main events are the daily routines of the competitors, the bossing about of spectators by officials (which Lelouch emphasises by adding animal noises to the soundtrack), the monotonous days of journalists who follow the race for hours to write only a few hundred words, and the evening entertainment laid on by the Europe-1 radio station.

Belleville Rendezvous (Les Triplettes de Bellville) When her grandson is kidnapped during the Tour de France, Madame Souza and her beloved pooch Bruno team up with the Belleville Sisters--an aged song-and-dance team from the days of Fred Astaire--to rescue him.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

As plenty others have said, A Sunday in Hell is hands down the best cycling film.

As for races, while the classics are my favourites, for some reason or other I still get goosebumps looking back at attacks from doped up climbers:

Iban Mayo's win on Alpe d'Huez in 2003. Yes, I know Lance didn't have to chase him and Beloki was the main threat, but god he went off the front so fast the camera couldn't track him and then makes it all look so effortless, the jersey wide open, the Basques going nuts

Pantani versus Tonkov in the 1998 Giro:

But the best of all was Claudio Chiapucci's win into Sestrières in the 1992 Tour:

Part One:

Part Two:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

hinault wrote: »
    The Flying Scotsman is an excellent movie.

Favourite cycling documentary is The High Life (Robert Millar).
    Hell on Wheels is good to.

Was that Tyler Hamilton docu movie ever released (he got busted for doping during the movie)?

+1 on the Flying Scotsman, great film, love that clip where your man from the UCI goes "you English are all mad men" and he goes "if you call me English again you will see a madman" I'm actually reading In Search of Robert Millar at the moment, it's really good, I'd say I'll be finished with it in the next week or so if someone wants to put a dibs on it, I also have Rough Ride if someone wants to PM me. The docu movie with Tyler Hamilton was Wired to Win which was an iMax thing to do with the brain(I think that's the one you're on about). There's a cracking out-takes thing on you-tube which I'm sure I've posted before but for your pleasure here it is again:

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭Dura Ace

I think this film might have the potential to be the worst cycling fim ever. It really looks terrible. It also has Phil Liggett in it, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Cadel Evans never should have agreed to do that. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

ajk24 wrote: »

A story about this race is that when the tiffosi heard that argentin, a national hero at the time was in the lead they were going ape s**t but when it came through that kelly was closing fast and it would most likely go to a sprint finish they resigned themselves to the fact that it was going to be a second place for their man. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

The Triplets of Belleville

And a great cycling scene in Bienvenue Chez Les Ch'tis...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

kingdomlad wrote: »
    I hope ye can all watch my home movie.
    THE ROAD TO NOWHERE - 10 YEARS CHASING THE PELETON

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/video/video.php?v=1058580880215&ref=mf
    good stuff i enjoyed that,;)