Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farmer Pastimes

• 15-10-2019 4:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

I've taken up bikram yoga in the last few months and find it very good for my back and my head!

What activity do you like to engage in as a pastime?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,475 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Walking/ hiking, mountains if possible.
    Gardening
    Cycling where possible.
    Caravan trips

And then the soft bit, mindfulness meditation.

The latter helps with stress and reduces insomnia issues, somewhat.

I find between the bike and the caravan I can really control the overall traffic speeds, it’s a public safety thing really :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,050 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Does driving down bodhreens where you were never before and looking over the ditches count as a pastime?

If it does.....that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Muckit wrote: »
    I've taken up bikram yoga in the last few months and find it very good for my back and my head!

What activity to you like to engage in as a pastime?

What?

I thought farming was what we do as a pastime? That's why so many lads say "ah, its not all about the money?" ;) :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭Base price

My favourite pastime is fishing, preferably freshwater as I don't really like the smell of the sea. I enjoy the anticipation and preparation as much as the fishing. Unfortunately I haven't had much time to go in the last three years.
    IMO there is nothing better than sitting on the side of a bank or in the boat on a balmy sunny Summers evening (whilst getting eaten by flies) hoping to hook into a 2lb perch.
    Other than fishing it would be feeding and rearing young calves in the Spring which most people would consider work but I've always enjoyed and look forward to it. I suppose it could be considered as a expensive hobby nowdays :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

_Brian wrote: »
    ...And then the soft bit, mindfulness meditation.

The latter helps with stress and reduces insomnia issues, somewhat.

I've only recently stumbled on this. It's good but l haven't got into making it a habit yet.

Like yoga it sounds a bit dippy, but it's very powerful if l could only get my head round it!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Boy 1 football hurling soccer with numerous teams
    Boy2 football rugby
    Girl football taekwondo comhaltas
    Myself and wife rallydriving and knowing everything that should be done on a team except when we're in charge ourselves

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

I’ve recently discovered the joys of tinder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

You all wouldn't be crying over how unprofitable farming is if you spent less time contorting yourselves on floor mats and more time in your farm yards......

I'll get my coat...and silage covers :D

Smallholding is my past time. A break form the agri inspectors phoning me !!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Next time we’re at the factory gates. I’m bringing yoga mats for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,080 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

K.G. wrote: »
    Boy 1 football hurling soccer with numerous teams
    Boy2 football rugby
    Girl football taekwondo comhaltas
    Myself and wife rallydriving and knowing everything that should be done on a team except when we're in charge ourselves

Same here. Sure in a few years time when they are all grown up and driving themselves we'll have plenty of time for pastimes. I enjoy watching their games or races and chatting to other people on the sidelines. Not forgetting listening to the drama in the car when your bringing other kids too. Priceless

• Registered Users Posts: 4,043 ✭✭✭davidk1394

With the long nights back I'll be back to the gym, I like walking aswell and I'd like to go back at rugby again. I also follow rallying aswell, hard beat a pint of a friday night with a few friends also

• Registered Users Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Muckit wrote: »

What activity to you like to engage in as a pastime?

I read that as bikini yoga. :)

I was running but have slackened off as just home from my work in time to collect the lads. My BIL is sick atm so doing a bit of rushing around at that.

I want to hit 1000km for the year and am at 930 so I’ll hit it.
    Next year I want to do 2000km and run a half marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

whelan2 wrote: »
    Same here. Sure in a few years time when they are all grown up and driving themselves we'll have plenty of time for pastimes. I enjoy watching their games or races and chatting to other people on the sidelines. Not forgetting listening to the drama in the car when your bringing other kids too. Priceless

Same here. Careful standing at the side of the pitch though, Once your face becomes familiar, you’ll be roped in to coaching some team. That’s what happened me anyway. But seriously, you’d be surprised how many people you get to know through the kids hobbies. They really are keeping rural communities going.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭cjpm

Favourite past times.

Mowing silage
    Picking up silage
    Drawing silage
    And
    Pushing up silage

Definitely not covering silage....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Full time athlete, part time builder, with half a dozen milkings thrown in as my pastime these days. I don't want to accept the reality that the profitably works in reverse there though ha.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Forgot to mention waiting outside discos wondering are they not fecking freezing

• Registered Users Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭emaherx

K.G. wrote: »
    Forgot to mention waiting outside discos wondering are they not fecking freezing

Herd of a lady into that craic..... I believe he's on some sort of list now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,475 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Were both involved in the swim club where the girls swim. Herself is on the committee and we would both do lane timeong and other jobs at competitions.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I read a lot. Stopped for a couple of years but set myself a target of 22 books for this year.....am now on book 86 :pac:

Photography & editing, nothing like getting out with the camera & then spending a few hours cropping & mixing up the colours a bit.
    Walking & hiking when I can, usually in conjunction with above.

Fallen out of love with kayaking a bit, used to love the tranquility of it but now with a walk built around the local lake there's not as much escapism as there's folks yapping & walking or waving at both sides.

Suppose i can also say writing as I do enjoy that too! Plus arsing about on Twitter :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I read a lot. Stopped for a couple of years but set myself a target of 22 books for this year.....am now on book 86 :pac:

Photography & editing, nothing like getting out with the camera & then spending a few hours cropping & mixing up the colours a bit.
    Walking & hiking when I can, usually in conjunction with above.

Fallen out of love with kayaking a bit, used to love the tranquility of it but now with a walk built around the local lake there's not as much escapism as there's folks yapping & walking or waving at both sides.

Suppose i can also say writing as I do enjoy that too! Plus arsing about on Twitter :D

Have to agree on the photography. Found a nice spot for a sunset photo recently when over with Buford! Now all I need is a nice sunset.
    It's p1ssing rain now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭mf240

Talking shyte on the Internet,

• Registered Users Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭emaherx

Farming obviously :D because I'm actually an engineer.

I like outdoor activities in general, most holidays are active like skiing, biking etc. Also enjoy working on old machines and thinkering with bits in the workshop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mf240 wrote: »
    Talking shyte on the Internet,

Can confirm!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,877 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

played soccer for 15 years and went back junior hurlin this year after a 3 year break�� never liked hurling till this year, maybe its after having kids!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭Base price

_Brian wrote: »
    Were both involved in the swim club where the girls swim. Herself is on the committee and we would both do lane timeong and other jobs at competitions.
    IMO competitive swimming is not properly advertised/funded by Government/Tax funds unlike popular sports like GAA, Soccer etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Vintage cars, tractors and machinery, both restoring and attending runs and shows. Go to matches almost every weekend during the summer too, club and intercounty GAA and a few Munster games over the winter

• Registered Users Posts: 29,080 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Forgot to say my other pastime is liverpool. Love heading over to games. Going on the bank holiday weekend and again at the end of November.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Do a bit of clay shooting, nothing serious, just a bunch of guys (and gals) on a Sunday morning.
    Like messing about with things mechanical, and also shout in a choir most weeks.
    It's actually very therapeutic, and a good social outlet.
    Been on a few trips with them, Galway a few times, Dublin and Belfast, New York for Paddys day parade a few years ago.
    Wales last Paddys day weekend was a great trip. Lovely people and great city. Heading to Limerick with them for the Munster V Connacht match next month too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I was never into reading books. I'd set myself the goal to get one and read it but even if l got one, I'd lose interest after a few pages. It always seemed like work instead of a relaxing pastime. It's funny, l love reading the newspaper or magazine articles. Perhaps they are short enough to be able to hold my attention.

A friend recently suggested l try audiobooks. So l downloaded the "borrow box" app on my phone and now l can download and listen to books from my county library for free. Of course those of you into reading already know all this, but it has been a relevation for me.

I have phone bluetoothed to car radio, so now when l am driving to work or picking the kids, l can listen to another bit of a "book." I have almost completed my 2nd book now!

Crosswords are another favourite of mine, specifically the Irish Independent twinplex. I'd start it and when l hit a brick wall, l'd come away from it. I'd pick it up again later that evening or the next day and do another bit, or l could finish it. It's amazing how a fresh pair of eyes can help to see and solve things differently.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,116 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Nek, you can join in singing the Toreador song, Stand up and Fight. You'll be very welcome.
    Love my crosswords and quizzes. I like a 2 mile walk if I can get it some days.