Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aul wuns at the Checkout Till

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Any error on those machines is generally an ID.10.T user issue.

"User issue - Your fingers are too fat to use this machine"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Any error on those machines is generally an ID.10.T user issue.

Do you work in the manufacturing of these self-service tills, W? Or are you just a fan?

I only ask because you're defending them in 2 threads while implying anyone with an issue is an imbecile.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭John DoeReMi

I think you'll find it's people of all ages. I'm 75 and I doubt you'll be any quicker getting the week's groceries through the checkout than me. All on the conveyer before the previous customer is finished, club card, parking ticket etc all presented and bags packed as quickly as they are rung through. Payment is made in seconds, and off I go. I'm often delayed by people fussing over packing, looking for vouchers, rummaging for change etc and they're rarely of retirement age.

I'd just like to join the Foo Fighters in saluting you.

https://www.google.com/search?q=foo+fighters+my+hero+official+video&rlz=1C1GCEA_enIE815IE815&oq=foo+fighters+my+hero+official+video&aqs=chrome..69i57j0.7731j0j8&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

The auld wans at the till used to drive me cuckoo as well until one night I met me auld lady at the local supermarket in town (note I lived in town at the time and my mam lived 20 miles away and was doing her weekly shop).

I had bought a few bits at one till and was walking out. I noticed me mam at the last till in the line just as all her shopping finished being scanned. I stopped to say hello when she says to the girl on the till "Oh, I forgot my bags in the car, I'll be back in one minute". So she proceeds to walk out to the carpark and leave a big queue of people stranded behind her waiting to get through! :D:D Needless to say they were less than impressed and I had to wait for her to help fill the bags with a heap of eyes burning the back of me skull! I asked her would she not have just filled them back into the trolley and she replied "Ah sure, I'd just have to fill them twice so":D

So next time you are giving out about an auld wan at the till, remember they do not give 2 f*cks about your impatience :D Take a breath and relax, they are probably lovely auld ladys doing their chores like everyone else (at least that's what I say to myself now :D)

That aul one is a cnut. Aware that she is inconveniencing others doesn't give a toss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

mfceiling wrote: »
    I love when this happens...You gradually start moving backwards ever so slightly. Eventually they'll either have to move back or you stand on their toes. I'm a whore for this at the tills or post office or anywhere these gimps exist.

some people have zero idea about personal space. drives me mad :D:D

I've never said anything when it happens and it happens a lot especially in banks and in checkout queues.

any suggestions of something to say when this happens?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Do you work in the manufacturing of these self-service tills, W? Or are you just a fan?

I only ask because you're defending them in 2 threads while implying anyone with an issue is an imbecile.

I don't, purely a fan. Only ever use then in the Supervalu across from work and my local Tesco. So thats at least 5 times a week every week. Never had an issue.

You have either been good or lucky then. Can't say I've had an issue with them myself but the majority of people do seem to have some sort of technical issue with the process. I'd hardly assume someone was stupid because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

That aul one is a cnut. Aware that she is inconveniencing others doesn't give a toss.

Have a bit of respect.

Calling a posters mother an aul cnut is low.

I've never said anything when it happens and it happens a lot especially in banks and in checkout queues.

Yep, ask them if they are looking for a jockey back (piggy back) off you.

They have no idea what to say then.

If there are that many of them that they are blocking up shops around the country, why not join a club or start one up or something??

Yeah, why dont you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,487 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Me too, but the opposite is just as bad, i.e. people who stand in front of you miles away from the till watching the stuff on the belt go past them, leaving you no room to get your stuff on. Even when you end up having to reach around their backs to put stuff on the belt they still don't budge.

Or when they announce a new till is opening and the first person there plonks their stuff right at the very beginning of the belt stopping everyone else putting their stuff on.

Or even weirder, I'm the first one there, put my stuff on right at the top of the belt by the till, put one of those little separator thingies on, and the next person puts their stuff on about 2 m behind me leaving a huge gap.

Seriously, what goes through these people's heads when they do this???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

anewme wrote: »
    Yep, ask them if they are looking for a jockey back (piggy back) off you.

They have no idea what to say then.
    Have you ever been taken up on your offer of providing a piggy back? Would be useful for picking things off the top shelves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭facehugger99

When someone stands on top of me like that I ask them are they looking for a jockey back.

When someone stands on top of me, I'll take a half step backward into them. Then I'll turn around and look bemused that there is someone standing so close behind me.

I'll repeat this maneuver if necessary - I've never had to do it more than twice before they got the message to leave an appropriate gap.

I've definitely noticed it's more common with some foreign nationals where the concept of 'personal space' and 'queuing' can be quite different, but as far as I'm concerned, if you're living in Ireland you're playing by our rules so get with the program and leave a gap.

When someone stands on top of me like that I ask them are they looking for a jockey back.

When someone stands on top of me, I'll take a half step backward into them. Then I'll turn around and look bemused that there is someone standing so close behind me.

I'll repeat this maneuver if necessary - I've never had to do it more than twice before they got the message to leave an appropriate gap.

I've definitely noticed it's more common with some foreign nationals where the concept of 'personal space' and 'queuing' can be quite different, but as far as I'm concerned, if you're living in Ireland you're playing by our rules so get with the program and leave a gap.
    I'd be wondering why this person is backing into me.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    I'd be wondering why this person is backing into me.
    They thought you said 'yes' when they offered you a jockey back?

Nein Nein Nein Nein

Yeah, why dont you.

Because i generally couldn't give a shiny shite about the dinosaurs from Geriatric Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

If you were standing any closer to me you'd be in front of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Gun_Slinger

A here now ffs, youre some pot of boiling piss. Calling an auld wan a cnut cause she held up someone in a f*ckin supermarket :D

She wasn't aware that she was inconveniencing anyone, she was born in a time when everyone didnt have a stick up their hole racing around and with the first sign of inconvenience blows a fcuking head gasket. She was just an "auld wan" doing her weekly shopping. I shared the story to show I would have been mad in the same situation but it was my lovely old mother so realised not to take it personally. When I see the same thing happening today I always think of it and dont get mad at all.

As for someones point that I should have packed the stuff away, I fully agree! I think most had gone to another till but was certainly a brainfart on my part.

Because i generally couldn't give a shiny shite about the dinosaurs from Geriatric Park.

tell us how the weather is in Tir na nOg ?

I'm sure they feel the same about you and your porn hub.

Have you ever been taken up on your offer of providing a piggy back? Would be useful for picking things off the top shelves.

Well theyve already taken you up on your offer by the time you ask them.

Most realise they have overstepped the mark and step back.

Next comment is more direct, would you ever back the f off and give me a bit of space.

tell us how the weather is in Tir na nOg ?

I'm sure they feel the same about you and your porn hub.

Are you posting in the style of a cryptic crossword clue?? What does the above waffle mean??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Feisar

Are you posting in the style of a cryptic crossword clue?? What does the above waffle mean??

Tir na nOg, the land of eternal youth you simple simon mother ****er.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »

above response just made me burst out laughing.

The term 2 (very short)) planks spring to mind.

The pornhub bit is a reference to an earlier post in the thread.

I’m aware of Tir Na Nog. I’m less aware of where Pornhub has come into the argument from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I love when I get a narky impatient ****e behind me. I'm not slow, but some people are just impatient tools, huffing and puffing as if they are heading to a G7 Conference or something.

:pac: this thread is full of great one liners

I’m aware of Tir Na Nog. I’m less aware of where Pornhub has come into the argument from.

An aul wan of course. Sorry, verging on aul wan. Pure dirt they are, ruining queues and watching Pornhub is essentially all they do.

No, the crime us holding very important people up when they are in a very important rush home to watch Pornhub.

The aul wans would prefer an aul chat and a lsugh at the cash register. More social.

No, the crime us holding very important people up when they are in a very important rush home to watch Pornhub.

The aul wans would prefer an aul chat and a lsugh at the cash register. More social.

There are plenty of Aul Wan videos on Pornhub or so a young person tells me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mod

Calm yourselves lads. Thread bans and/or card will follow if ye cant remain civil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Feisar

Baggly wrote: »
    Mod

Calm yourselves lads. Thread bans and/or card will follow if ye cant remain civil.

Apologies.

First they came for the socialists...

Baggly wrote: »
    Mod

I'd like to apologise...

to absolutely no one!! But I will calm down and remain civil. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

I'd like to apologise...

You had me going there horse

to absolutely no one!! But I will calm down and remain civil. Thanks.

You had me going there