Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

1191192193194195197»

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Lord TSC wrote: »
    If you got condescension, maybe because it was because said belief was presented in a condescending manner and at a time where it appeared founded not in reality but in a desire to be negative about how things would turn out. The fact you're now looking for a pat on the back because the sky has fallen as you claimed only really adds to that image, to be blunt.

But hey, you got proven right, the transfer window has sucked, you get to tell everyone "I told you so" and thats the important thing, I guess. I won't bother trying to be optimistic again.

DwI7.gif
    It was always the reality, thats why we said it.

I'm fairly sure ye're on the same side lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Im pissed off that nothing has happened yet and where nearly done but part of me would love a really exciting deadline day deal or two.

Feels like its been so so long since we where proper involved in something big coming in on the last day.

we have signed fred and dalot already!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,018 ✭✭✭✭adox

On a positive note. Better Call Saul is back. :)

adox wrote: »

can he play right wing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Friend of mine who’s a mad spurs fan and usually calls their deals, thinks Toby deal Will happen. Thinks spurs want to sell and Toby has burned his bridges with the manager.

The issue is the usual. Levy. He will drag it out but ultimately spurs are happy to sell the player.

The risk for spurs is real. If they don’t sell Toby they might get stuck with a player the manager doesn’t want or have to sell at a cut down price to the continent when EPL clubs are out of the equation.

My mates convinced the deal will happen. Suppose like Berba deal!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

bangkok wrote: »
    we have signed fred and dalot already!!!

Fred im looking forward to seeing how he does but hes unproven in the league. Dalot is anyones guess at this stage. So ya both on there own not good enough.

fred is an excellent player, should have no problem playing in the league

dalot, according to jose is the best young right back in europe. to say that is a big statement to make so we can only assume he is an excellent player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

fred is an excellent player, should have no problem playing in the league

dalot, according to jose is the best young right back in europe. to say that is a big statement to make so we can only assume he is an excellent player.

Anyone any idea where Dalot is? Is he injured or what's the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,557 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

duffman13 wrote: »

Only back training a few days afaik.He had an operation so one are joining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Ninthlife wrote: »
    This transfer window has all the hallmarks of Woodward/Moyes 1st window where Fellaini was bought on the last day for over the odds..

Darmian is still at the club despite Jose saying he was for sale. Rojo still there after being linked with Everton. Didnt Woodward say to buy a defender they had to sell first?

Darmian will likely start on Friday.... bonkers

Lord TSC wrote: »
    I mean, I'm not going to apologise for wanting to think the best, for being optimistic about things and hoping that there was reasons to be excited as a football fan.

But hey, if you want to pat yourself on the back and go "I told you so", you do you.

I’m actually optimistic about this season.

duffman13 wrote: »

out until september with injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,461 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

TheDoc wrote: »

Would we not be better off with Young at RB (as he's naturally right footed)

And Shaw on the left side?

Time to start looking at alternatives from what we've got.
    Valencia seems to be getting more injury prone.

Unless something comes totally out of the blue at this stage....we ain't signing a full back this summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,148 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Maybe we'll use Toby RB

out until september with injury

I can see him and Bailly becoming great friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Things are that bad I'm actually expecting a decent season now. Full on siege mentality

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Whats bonkers about it? First choice RB Valencia is out with a short term injury. Dalot, his understudy, is also short term injured. Young, first / second choice LB is short term out of action. Darmian can cover all of them in the short term,with time to still sell him. Seems prudent to me, not bonkers

Zeek12 wrote: »

Unless something comes totally out of the blue at this stage....we ain't signing a full back this summer

diogo dalot

Sort of lost interest in middle of season 2. Does it pick up at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,398 ✭✭✭xtal191

He's been pretty good during pre season plus we've nobody else to play right back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,224 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

The Nani to Breaking Bad's Ronaldo.

diogo dalot

You do realise he is a teenager with 4 senior games at LB to his name?

Drumpot wrote: »
    Sort of lost interest in middle of season 2. Does it pick up at all?

Yeah it does. Worth another go.

J. Marston wrote: »
    The Nani to Breaking Bad's Ronaldo.

Harsh(and I’m sitting here in a Breaking Bad tee shirt)

Different show but I love it. Nothing will ever be Breaking Bad.

Theres still that fan theory that Heisenbergs meth caused The Walking Dead's apocalypse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,850 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

can he play right wing?

More of a central midfielder...
    saul-niguez-1496556734-800.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Breaking Bad is a super show but The Sopranos tops all.

Agreed but I initially found it very slow in first half of first series. BCS feels like one long, slow walk sort of near B.B..

God I miss B.B. now just thingy about it. Cranston was just immense.... Say my name!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

pjohnson wrote: »
    Theres still that fan theory that Heisenbergs meth caused The Walking Dead's apocalypse

Is that because Merl had a bag of blue meth and Darryl said something to the effect of he used to buy it from a skinny white guy that called everyone bitch?

You do realise he is a teenager with 4 senior games at LB to his name?

who cares.

he is still a full back we signed, who jose rates as the best right back in europe

Did you make that up? Stopped watching TWD after glens Head was bashes in. But too much slasher porn for me....

Is that because Merl had a bag of blue meth and Darryl said something to the effect of he used to buy it from a skinny white guy that called everyone bitch?

Yep haha

Drumpot wrote: »
    Did you make that up? Stopped watching TWD after glens Head was bashes in. But too much slasher porn for me....

Its well before that. Think its the start of Season 2 (The episode on the road where Sophia runs away). T-Dog cuts himself and when Daryl goes rooting in Merles bike for meds you see a big bag of the blue Meth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Very happy we got him. Could still do with full back but it's a start

diogo dalot

He played something like just 6 times for Porto.

He's not a ready made option for our first team.

And is injured anyway so won't be available Friday night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Very happy we got him. Could still do with full back but it's a start

????

He played something like just 6 times for Porto.

He's not a ready made option for our first team.

And is injured anyway so won't be available Friday night

ronaldo only play 30 games for sporting when we signed him, dalot will surprise a lot of people

Breaking Bad is a super show but The Sopranos tops all.

Love The Sopranos too but B.B. is just perfect for me.

Anyway. Em. I’m gonna need some meth if Utd don’t sign someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Things are that bad I'm actually expecting a decent season now. Full on siege mentality

To develop a siege mentality you need a squad of players who will take outside criticism personally and who will then band together in their efforts to prove people wrong. Nothing about our squad makes me believe they have that sort of mentality.

I'd like to be optimistic, and stranger things have happened than a group of professional footballers getting some luck and going on a good run of results.

But this is a squad with some serious, long standing deficiencies that aren't going to go away overnight. If it was just about one or two players then perhaps we might get lucky and they might perform well enough to see some sort of success. But it isn't one or two players, its the right back that poisons our attack, the left back with no bottle, the non existent central defensive partnership, the star midfielder who doesn't want to bother, the non existent threat on the right wing, the complete lack of consistency from any of the deeper laying attacking options, the lack of alternative to Lukaku.

Optimism would be hoping that one or two players could finally step up and be the answer to one or two of those problems. But it takes a hell of a lot of optimism to think that 6/7 players are all going to step up and answer all of those problems. Thats why a strong transfer window was so vital, to address as many of those issues as possible and let the intangibles cover the rest, a strong transfer window we did not get.

The only optimism I have is that Jose raises some hell on his way out the door.

ronaldo only play 30 games for sporting when we signed him, dalot will surprise a lot of people

Lets hope you're right.

But I doubt he's ready to walk straight into the first team with just 6 senior games under his belt.

In any case, the point made was about team selection for the Leicester game on Friday.....for which Dalot is injured and unavailable.

It’s mad to think that the next 40 hours are so will probably decide whether Jose lasts the season or not(imo)

No more additions and I see him gone before he he seasons out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Time to give the hamsters a rest folks.
    Thanks very much for all your contributions.
    The next chapter continues here: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057899368