Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Unpopular Opinions - OP Updated with Threadban List 4/5/21

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

Tzardine wrote: »
    I said you could eat it until the rest of your life. I never said how long that might be.

You have me there.... good response

But then that does give a reason for eating good food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,501 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Butlins are right to have a list of "undesirables" based on surnames.

And we can't be offended when you can bet your bottom dollar that most decent hotels in Ireland more than likely have something similar, particularly when it comes to booking weddings or other occasions. And I am saying it as someone with relations that have a surname very common in the Traveller community.

It's not discrimination, it's a business protecting itself from trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

It's not discrimination, it's a business protecting itself from trouble.

It is most definately discrimination, which is coincidentally a travellers favourite word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Feisar

Gender quotas are undemocratic in politics.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,517 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

.anon. wrote: »
    Or they simply don't see the value in owning an unnecessarily expensive car when it is simply a tool, as opposed to a toy. Anyway, most modern cars are 'nice' nowadays, even the budget brands.

Most cars favoured here are bloated boring Noddy cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭jelem

Louis Theroux documentaries don't interest me!
    limited mental capacity and refuse to - as a human learn and progress.
    hence FF and FG allowed to continue since 1920s -
    amazing how children are not still forced up chimneys as apathy such as yours
    would have no change.
    not forcing someone to watch but mix and variety = learning and widen perspective
    on all, from culture\politics\life and humans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Most cars favoured here are bloated boring Noddy cars.

They don't need to be 'interesting' - they just need to do the job they were designed to do with as little hassle as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

You could make the same argument about food. Why bother eating nice quality food. You could have porridge 5 times a day for the rest of your life and you would be grand.

Not really, its easy to eat food for pleasure as theirs endless variety. Having am amazing car is a bit wasted in Ireland when your stuck in traffic most of the time not getting the chance to enjoy driving

• Registered Users Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

trixi001 wrote: »
    Tomato Ketchup is horrible on burgers

A car is for driving from a to b - as long as it does this and is reasonably comfortable i don't care about the make, model, fancy sound system,spoilers, or extras it has

Totally disagree on the first but completely agree on the second.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

jelem wrote: »
    limited mental capacity and refuse to - as a human learn and progress.
    hence FF and FG allowed to continue since 1920s -
    amazing how children are not still forced up chimneys as apathy such as yours
    would have no change.
    not forcing someone to watch but mix and variety = learning and widen perspective
    on all, from culture\politics\life and humans.

I don't think it means the poster is apathetic, just that they don't like Louis Theroux. I don't like his programmes either, he just goes for the extremes all the times to up the viewing numbers. Plenty of people have substantial, in-depth views of the world that they didn't get from watching this rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,517 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They don't need to be 'interesting' - they just need to do the job they were designed to do with as little hassle as possible.

The box you live in must look delightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭lalababa

Yeah I'm still leading with this approach. I don't know anything about being some other race, so I've decided to ignore it and carry on. I don't see any other logical way to deal with it. It's not a bloody disability and noone wants to be treated differently anyway. There is racism all over the world, it is not even a predominantly white crime, the japanese for example can be extremely racist, aswell as african americans themselves, basically it's everywhere, it's a universal human vice. I am desperate to find smart funny and interesting people, I really don't care about the aesthetics of their life, that includes race.

As morgan freeman said 'if we stop talking bout it , it'll disappear.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

The box you live in must look delightful.

Some people like flashy cars and keeping up with the Joneses, other people just want to get around. Just because people dont care about that doesnt make the stingy or bland. Im not up with cars and never have been, I prefer to put the money where I'll enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Or they simply don't see the value in owning an unnecessarily expensive car when it is simply a tool, as opposed to a toy. Anyway, most modern cars are 'nice' nowadays, even the budget brands.

Id go as far as to say you dont even drive. A well designed and engineered car is like a piece of fine art , brilliant handling cars are great to drive.

‘A car is just a tool’ is a statement that proves that you've never truly experienced driving a high end car.

There is no ‘nice’ cars in the kia/hyundai/dacia/renault/nissan lineups , they are built to a budget with no soul or excitement and nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Tig98 wrote: »
    Some people like flashy cars and keeping up with the Joneses, other people just want to get around. Just because people dont care about that doesnt make the stingy or bland. Im not up with cars and never have been, I prefer to put the money where I'll enjoy it

Most people who buy nice cars like them for quality and oerformance, keeping up with the jonses is usually more about getting a new renault / dacia econobox on pcp every 3 years.

Id go as far as to say you dont even drive. A well designed and engineered car is like a piece of fine art , brilliant handling cars are great to drive.

‘A car is just a tool’ is a statement that proves that you've never truly experienced driving a high end car.

There is no ‘nice’ cars in the kia/hyundai/dacia/renault/nissan lineups , they are built to a budget with no soul or excitement and nothing more.

I'd go as far as to say you drive a Rover 800.

u2F7KS0hh7fI.gif

"Yeah, can I just read you something from Top Gear magazine? No, it’s alright, I've got it here... I've got it here. “With a mere 90 brake-horse-power available, progress is too leisurely to be called fast, but on the motorway in 5th gear the Megane's slow pace really becomes a pain. Uphill runs become power-sappingly mundane, while overtaking National Express coaches can become a long, drawn-out affair.” Not my words, Carol. The words of Top Gear magazine.
    Hello?"

From Series 1 of I'm Alan Partridge. An impeccably researched parody of the tiresome snobbery of car bores and the type of people who think one lump of metal can have more 'soul' than another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,999 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Pure comedy gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,110 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I once owned a Fiat 130 Coupe. That had soul, whether you want to believe it or not. Sophia Loren owned one and Enzo Ferrari himself drove one at least once, on account of it having an automatic transmisssion and him not being able to handle a manual due to age.

I currently drive a Civic Type R, becaus I like the performance and incredible reliability.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭The_Dark_Lord

Louis le Brocquy was a mediocre painter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,907 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I'd go as far as to say you drive a Rover 800.

u2F7KS0hh7fI.gif

"Yeah, can I just read you something from Top Gear magazine? No, it’s alright, I've got it here... I've got it here. “With a mere 90 brake-horse-power available, progress is too leisurely to be called fast, but on the motorway in 5th gear the Megane's slow pace really becomes a pain. Uphill runs become power-sappingly mundane, while overtaking National Express coaches can become a long, drawn-out affair.” Not my words, Carol. The words of Top Gear magazine.
    Hello?"

From Series 1 of I'm Alan Partridge. An impeccably researched parody of the tiresome snobbery of car bores and the type of people who think one lump of metal can have more 'soul' than another.

Cars for some men is the equivalent of how some women get over shoes/dresses.

Personally I think a car is more a functional apparatus to get around in. I can understand how some people like to spend big on cars though. A status symbol etc.

But if you are driving in rush hour traffic in a Merc v Nissan Micra there is not much difference if you are just doing 30km an hour. Plus the Micra has far less chance of being robbed. Wouldn't have to worry too much about parking it.

As for the women's dresses. They get fierce excited about wedding dresses (most of them). I don't get that fuss at all. Cos sure aren't ya going to be taking it off fairly quick at the end of the night anyway? Not the most practical of yokes. Seems to be more an emotional attachment thing. Like the way some fellas are with cars.

As for those women who get those shoes that look nice but are very uncomfortable. I suppose the man car equivalent would be to buy a sports car that is gas guzzler. Very low to the ground and with damn all space in the driver's seat very uncomfortable. And stuck in traffic.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭99nsr125

The irony is, to open your argument with an insult is a verification of your own stupidity.

You were the originator of the car ban, I offered a counter perspective from the opposing viewpoint which seems to have quite riled you.

There are these things called single yellow, double yellow and even double red lines to keep trunk routes clear. Imagine that a proportionate approach, one that even currently exists !

There should be a 'Stupid Opinions' thread for idiotic posts like that. Something so basic shouldn't need to be explained to a grown adult, but if you make bus travel even less attractive than it currently is, the end result is that you're going to have even more cars on the road, which isn't good for anyone - even motorists. If you're capable of pausing and thinking logically for a moment, consider how unpleasant driving a car through rush hour traffic would be if everyone else had no choice but to drive instead of using public transport. If it isn't possible to park a car on a road without causing inconvenience to others (especially vehicles that have the capacity to carry twenty times as many people as a car), then there isn't room for parking on that road. On-street parking is not an efficient use of public space.

You clearly haven't given this a lot of thought (although to be fair, given your above comment about banning buses from driving on streets with parked cars, it's fair to assume that thinking isn't your strong point). Unlike a motorist, a cyclist jumping a red light does so primarily at their own risk. It's also easier for them to look around and see and hear whether it's genuinely clear to proceed, so the risk of an accident is far lower. Furthermore, it would give them a 'head-start' over large vehicles turning left, rather than sitting in their blind spot and then remaining in that blind spot as they move off at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Would-be ministers, military leaders, CEOs, US presidents etc. should be given a mandatory psych evaluation before taking up their post. No psychopaths or sociopaths should be allowed in high-power jobs where they can do a lot of harm to others anymore.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,534 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

A large number of posts deleted

No drop the sexuality/homophobia talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Would-be ministers, military leaders, CEOs, US presidents etc. should be given a mandatory psych evaluation before taking up their post. No psychopaths or sociopaths should be allowed in high-power jobs where they can do a lot of harm to others anymore.
    You'd probably rule out half of them.
    I'd say the levels of narcissism amongst those who go for public office are very high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

It is most definately discrimination, which is coincidentally a travellers favourite word.

No it isn't. Boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Considering that having all the instincts of a pyschopath is almost a requirement to be a CEO of a large PLC, I doubt that they will be enacting that test. These companies know what they are getting already and they want it.

99nsr125 wrote: »
    The irony is, to open your argument with an insult is a verification of your own stupidity.

You were the originator of the car ban, I offered a counter perspective from the opposing viewpoint which seems to have quite riled you.

There are these things called single yellow, double yellow and even double red lines to keep trunk routes clear. Imagine that a proportionate approach, one that even currently exists !

You offered an ill-thought-out counter perspective that might momentarily sound good for motorists until reality (i.e. lots more other motorists clogging up city streets because they've no other way of getting around) sets in.

A proportionate approach is literally what I suggested. In locations where parked cars make it unsafe and cumbersome for more sustainable forms of transport to pass through, then those roads should be kept clear via the methods you suggested.

Not sure if this is popular or unpopular.
    But recently they were saying Marianne Faithfull lost her voice to covid19.

https://ultimateclassicrock.com/marianne-faithfull-covid-19-singing-voice/

My thought was OK grand happy she survived it. But didn't she lose her singing voice around the 1970's? Going from a Dana type voice to Ronnie Drew with a sore throat?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭auspicious

Too many are too precious.

auspicious wrote: »
    Too many are too precious.

I read that as your username was 'precious' and you said 'Too many are too auspicious'

Getting the two back to front! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

i instantly look away whenever a tv show or movie has two men having sex

im watching the universally acclaimed " Its a sin " right now with herself and its look away every five minutes level of i cant watch this bit

its pretty good otherwise though wildly over rated

• Registered Users Posts: 897 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

Mad_maxx wrote: »

Maybe just stop watching gay porn then?

ìd have to watch all of the straight porn on the internet before id turn to the other side of things and based on the amount of porn on the internet , id probably need to live to about the age of five hundred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

im watching the universally acclaimed " Its a sin " right now with herself and its look away every five minutes level of i cant watch this bit

A show about gay people depicting gay people having sex? I'm shocked, shocked I tells ya.

I read that as your username was 'precious' and you said 'Too many are too auspicious'

Getting the two back to front! :D

Yet I think if too many were too auspicious that would be actually be the norm. There will always be the less favoured, the less successful that allow the definition to persist.

Your barbecued chicken was once a personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,170 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I’m as open minded as anyone and I’ve never seen two men having sex , what movies are you watching? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I’m as open minded as anyone and I’ve never seen two men having sex , what movies are you watching? :)

asking for a friend?

" Its a sin "

show on E4 which received a lot of attention and acclaim this past few months

it being real drama , its obviously not real but pretty damn explicit

not sure if you watched the drama " The Deuce " on Sky Atlantic , from the creator of " The Wire " ?

the shagging never stopped on that show , mostly straight but some gay , drama is a lot more explicit nowadays

Instead of looking away, you could just cover the bulge with a newspaper or something. Or send 'herself' out to make you a cup of tea while you knock one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Instead of looking away, you could just cover the bulge with a newspaper or something. Or send 'herself' out to make you a cup of tea while you knock one out.

Christ.

Classy as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Nokia6230i

I'm not sure I did either, until I watched 'It's a Sin'. There were a couple of scenes in that where you see a lad getting his muck chute pummelled vigourously by another lad.

OMG; you mean two people had sex? Wow. Mind = Blown.

So sex isn't just between 1 Man + 1 Woman?

Call the heterosexua police already; I wanna report a crime......

half the scenes in the episodes ive seen involved more than two fellas

I'm impressed that despite definitely looking away, you still managed to count the participants.

The US should snuff out the sites in China where their hackers work from.

I'm impressed that despite definitely looking away, you still managed to count the participants.

You're easily impressed by the sound of things

cnocbui wrote: »
    The US should snuff out the sites in China where their hackers work from.
    If they attack chinese sovereignty we are in ww3

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Bunch of off topic posts deleted, if you wish to discuss a television show there is a forum for that, stay on topic

If they attack chinese sovereignty we are in ww3

I don't think so. The Chinese are stealing billions worth of property and committing acts of war, and no one has lifted a finger. They took out India's power grid recently - an act of war - no doubt resulting in deaths, India didn't lob any nukes at them.

I think they need a punch in the nose now to avoid WW3, which is what the Chinese seem to be working hard at. They remind me of Germany and Japan in the build up to WW2.

cnocbui wrote: »
    I don't think so. The Chinese are stealing billions worth of property and committing acts of war, and no one has lifted a finger. They took out India's power grid recently - an act of war - no doubt resulting in deaths, India didn't lob any nukes at them.

I think they need a punch in the nose now to avoid WW3, which is what the Chinese seem to be working hard at. They remind me of Germany and Japan in the build up to WW2.

I share your sentiments but it's very dangerous game. I think the chinese weakness is actually disunity. We need to find a way to make the various ethnic groups to become dissatisfied enough to create a power struggle. When growth drops and the middle class starts to suffer we will see what they are made of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,501 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The British Royal Family didn't take to Meghan not because she is mixed-race. They didn't take to her because she is a c...t.

Before they even got together, Harry seemed to be the soundest and most care-free of the family. The only thing that has changed since is that he has gotten into a bullying relationship with a manipulative fame-junkie. The tell-tale signs are there.