Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Local elections 2014

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Renewal of Salthill Village - Extend the Urban Renewal scheme to Salthill to bring jobs and investment and make Salthill the leading tourism hub on the West Coast of Ireland

Transport Infrastructure - Bus Link between Knocknacarra and Salthill, increased bus shelter coverage and greater services from Bus Eireann

Local Property Tax - 10% of this tax needs to be ringfenced for local estates under a special capital scheme for local works. A first Nationally co-ordinated programme in addressing local issues

Thanks for taking the time to post here.

Good to hear someone proposing a renewal scheme for Salthill 'village'. It's a chaotic mess at the moment, and could be so much better. The seafront/Prom is one of the jewels of Galway, but it is marred by the 'village' itself, along with some other eyesores such as Baily Point.

Public transport from Knocknacarra, while much improved in recent years, is still very deficient. There are no bus shelters that I am aware of, and I'm told the timekeeping of one 'service' in particular is diabolically poor.

Your proposals regarding the LPT are also very interesting. However, my understanding is that the LPT is simply replacing the highly-centralised Local Government Fund. How do you foresee Galway City Council exercising more local control over how the LPT is spent, locally or city-wide? Will the accounting practices change, eg funds in a particular year will be lost if not spent (a system that results in spending for spending's sake)?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1 Brian Allen

Hi Everyone,

David Burke is my name, and I have put myself forward as a candidate in the Galway City West Ward for Fianna Fáil.

I will try my best to respond to your posts on this board ...

Thanks,

David Burke

Hi David,

My name is Brian, I seem to think you have some good plans set out in the above post, I just hope its not all talk!

Anyhow my main question to you regard your membership of Fianna Fáil;

1) How long have you been a member ?
    2) What role have you played in the party?
    3) Is it true you held or hold a position as Finance Director in the party?
    Did you hold this position during the years of economic collapse, 07,08,09,10,11 ?
    4) What are your views on corporate donations to political parties ?
    This question originates from an article I read here, publicinquiry.eu/2009/05/22/angry-fianna-fail-denies-any-wrongdoing/
    I'am not 100% if the name mentioned is referring to you ?
    5) Finally, is it true you spend the majority of your working week in Dublin?

Looking forward to hearing from you David,

Kind Regards and all the best for may 23rd,
    Brian Allen

• Registered Users Posts: 2 David Burke

Just to come back quickly on some of the questions raised. And of course, I am glad to answer them.

I'm glad people agree with my proposals on Salthill village and development of better transport facilities across Salthill & Knocknacarra. In relation to my proposal's on the Local Property Tax, Minister Phil Hogan outlined his intention to return 80% of the property tax proceeds back to the Councils. As a first step, each Council including Galway City Council need to ensure this happens. Once this step is taken, I believe the council needs to set aside 10% for local residents associations. An alternative approach that this could also be done centrally.

In relation to the questions on my residence, I have lived in Knocknacarra since I was 6 years old. In 1987, my family moved to the area. I have always been deeply committted to the community and in my role with working with Fianna Fáil, I believe I adequately answered that question on the debate on Monday night which was discussed on the forum. There were also a number of questions which are not related to the upcoming local elections. I had hoped to be constructive about providing solutions and my ideas to this forum.

David

• Registered Users Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

Just to come back quickly on some of the questions raised. And of course, I am glad to answer them.

I'm glad people agree with my proposals on Salthill village and development of better transport facilities across Salthill & Knocknacarra. In relation to my proposal's on the Local Property Tax, Minister Phil Hogan outlined his intention to return 80% of the property tax proceeds back to the Councils. As a first step, each Council including Galway City Council need to ensure this happens. Once this step is taken, I believe the council needs to set aside 10% for local residents associations. An alternative approach that this could also be done centrally.

In relation to the questions on my residence, I have lived in Knocknacarra since I was 6 years old. In 1987, my family moved to the area. I have always been deeply committted to the community and in my role with working with Fianna Fáil, I believe I adequately answered that question on the debate on Monday night which was discussed on the forum. There were also a number of questions which are not related to the upcoming local elections. I had hoped to be constructive about providing solutions and my ideas to this forum.

David

So you've refused to answer any of my questions. Unfortunate really because while the issues you are raising are important, your refusal to engage with questions which go to your connection to Galway means that I cannot believe that you are committed to Galway.

Will you answer this question if you won't answer others? If elected to the City Council, will you serve the full term or will you seek election to the Dáil?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 NiallMart42

Hi David,

My name is Brian, I seem to think you have some good plans set out in the above post, I just hope its not all talk!

Anyhow my main question to you regard your membership of Fianna Fáil;

Did you hold this position during the years of economic collapse, 07,08,09,10,11 ?
    This question originates from an article I read here, publicinquiry.eu/2009/05/22/angry-fianna-fail-denies-any-wrongdoing/

Brian Allen

David

The questions raised by Brian have led me to setting up an account on this to ask why you have avoided all of them? I have been a supporter of Finna Fáil not so much by choice but by my family's alliance.

What has been raised and especially the article in the link slightly worries me, I presume all is in order, but have had enough of the culture of things being pushed under the carpet and avoided !I feel this is what is being done here.

Furthermore I hope it is not the case that you work or are based in Dublin mid-week, I believe the core value of a local councillor is a person who lives, interacts and experiences the community for which he/she represents.

Cheers,
    Niall

Furthermore I hope it is not the case that you work or are based in Dublin mid-week, I believe the core value of a local councillor is a person who lives, interacts and experiences the community for which he/she represents.

Exactly. Well put.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Lads,

Only two candidates have come on here and this is the reception we give them ? Bit unfair ?

Brain Allen, This was your first post and it looks like a complete set up... In Fairness to David I wouldn't answer it.. Have you anything constructive to say... Quoting anonymous blogs to a candidate is a joke.

David Burke has clearly answered these questions on the debate the last night he clearly outlined commitment to Galway.

Your questioning is a bit unfair and unfortunately, taking away from what should be a some sort of discussion of who we want to represent us on Galway City and their ideas.

Right that is it...
    Two new posters setting up just to attack a candidate, one that was generous enough to offer himself out there... I wish everyone the best but I would advise no candidate to answer any questions on this...

CowboyTed wrote: »
    Lads,

Only two candidates have come on here and this is the reception we give them ? Bit unfair ?

Brain Allen, This was your first post and it looks like a complete set up... In Fairness to David I wouldn't answer it.. Have you anything constructive to say... Quoting anonymous blogs to a candidate is a joke.

David Burke has clearly answered these questions on the debate the last night he clearly outlined commitment to Galway.

Your questioning is a bit unfair and unfortunately, taking away from what should be a some sort of discussion of who we want to represent us on Galway City and their ideas.

I don't see that I've asked anything that's unfair. I'm a long time poster here and haven't registered specifically for this. If David Burke works in Dublin he should be upfront about it and let people decide whether they are still willing to elect him notwithstanding. As it is, he's obfuscating. Answers should be given here rather than referring to a debate which readers here may or may not have attended, or may or may not have heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭metroburgers

Pottymouth wrote: »
    This my first post ever (in 61 years) on any chat board, so bear with me.

I think council should be limited to two terms maximum. Lyons and Connolly in this ward have been living off council earnings for far too long. That is the problem with lifer councillors, they end up using the chamber to fund their lifestyles and the role over time simply becomes an essential part of their income. They lose sight of the purpose of council. Always happens.

Both Lyons and Connolly epitomise this. Connolly is a nutcase with no legal career to speak of and Lyons is so far past his sell by date he smells to high heaven. Get Lyons and Connolly out is what I think. I sincerely hope whom ever is elected that the council gets a huge injection of new blood.

And no more bloody teachers and legal eagles!

This released today by Seamus Sheridan who refers to these "career councillors." I like the market idea!

Just watched that. Impressive. Personally find it kind of scary when I find myself agreeing with a member of the Green Party :D The world has certainly changed in the last few years.

?Cee?view wrote: »
    Just watched that. Impressive. Personally find it kind of scary when I find myself agreeing with a member of the Green Party :D The world has certainly changed in the last few years.

Agree with there some very common sense stuff said there... I heard him before on Newstalk and I thought the English Market idea is great and I have seen it abroad.
    I also thought Eamon Ryan was right when he was talking about when Sherlock was blocking websites... I think they got lost in the past but they do bring up some common sense now and again.
    Hope he gets elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Candidates, please contact hello@boards.ie to be verified.
    Please do not post more until verification is finished.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Pottymouth

I feel all candidates should be challenged to produce a tax clearance certificate prior to being added to the ballot sheet.

That they do not have to is to me a disgrace.

So I want to challange here and now each candidate to prove that they are tax compliant in advance of the election.

Could all interested parties support this intiative so we can at least be sure that those that are running are above board in their obligations as cistizenas of the state. If they cannot do this then they should be avoided as candidates at all costs. It should be a minimum acceptable standard.

I bet few if any will be able to produce one. This will speak volumes for each and every one of them.

Prove your tax compliance, produce a tax clearance cert or be-gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭sgthighway

While I don't know David Burke personally I know he plays football with his local team Salthill/Knocknacarra. I have played against him and see him play against my club on a regular basis. If he is committed to his local club and is playing he must be attending training sessions. So I don't see why it would matter if he goes to Dublin. The company he works for KPMG specialise in financial audits. They can't audit an external company by sitting in an office in Eyre Square.

These are local elections and a lot of the questions are not relevant to local politics.

MODS: I think people should not be allowed to post here unless they where registered prior to this Thread been setup. People registering just for this topic is an opportunity for people to attack opposing candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

sgthighway wrote: »
    These are local elections and a lot of the questions are not relevant to local politics.

+1 on this 100 times.

99% of the time, people asking national questions to local candidates is pointless.

It's like asking Alex Ferguson if he'd consider playing ROG or Sexton centre back for United.

Related but completely different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 NiallMart42

Hi Everyone,

David Burke is my name, and I have put myself forward as a candidate in the Galway City West Ward for Fianna Fáil.

I will try my best to respond to your posts on this board ...

Thanks,

David Burke

Hi David,

Anyhow, my main questions to you regard your membership of Fianna Fáil;

Brian Allen

Hi sgthighway,

Unlike you I have never met David Burke, I don't know what company he works for or where he works hence I would like to see the questions raised by Brian Allen answered.

If Mr. Burke is willing to put himself forward, both for the elections and on this forum he should be willing to answer relevant questions raised. As he said himself ;
    "I will try my best to respond to your posts on this board "

The questions may not be directly relevant to local politics, but they are directly relevant to the politician running in this local election. If this person wants to receive the vote of the people in the Galway City West district he should be open and transparent on such issues.

I feel David Burke's response was an attempt to very much avoid the issues raised, which has made me very skeptical of him as a Fianna Fáil candidate, especially as I had no prior knowledge of these points of contention.

Other posters since including you shthighway have tried to discredit Brian Allen because he only has one post, this is unfair why is his voice any less important than that of a person with 1,000 posts ? Both if in the district of GCW have the same equal vote.

David Burke, you have made yourself visible on this forum to publicise you election campaign, I now appeal to you as a constituent in the GCW district to answer fully and truthfully the questions put forward to you by Mr. Allen.

Regards,
    Niall

sgthighway wrote: »
    While I don't know David Burke personally I know he plays football with his local team Salthill/Knocknacarra. I have played against him and see him play against my club on a regular basis. If he is committed to his local club and is playing he must be attending training sessions. So I don't see why it would matter if he goes to Dublin. The company he works for KPMG specialise in financial audits. They can't audit an external company by sitting in an office in Eyre Square.

MODS: I think people should not be allowed to post here unless they where registered prior to this Thread been setup. People registering just for this topic is an opportunity for people to attack opposing candidates.

The problem is that he does NOT work for KPMG. He worked for them many years ago. Her is the finance director for Fianna Fail for many years now. <modsnip>allegations removed</modsnip>

It is his duplicity in this matter and his attempt to shield himself from his association with Fianna Fáil that concerns me most.

As to his involvement with the Salthill Knocknacarra GAA club. That should not count for much really. Donal Lyons was also involved in the committees. I know that Pearse Flannery also played for them for years as did Peter Keane. So this is really hedging the issue.

The reality is he lives in Dublin and works for Fianna Fáil fulltime. If people do not see Michelle Murphy from Corofin as being unsuitable when she has absolutely no ties to the area whatsoever then where David Burke works should not matter either. He at least has ties to the area, family friends and involvement in the community.

The question is why is he trying to hide his real job and pretend that he is with KPMG when he has not worked for them for years. Maybe he could clarify his involvement with Fianna Fáil <modsnip>allegations removed</modsnip>

He is the finance director for Fianna Fail for many years now.

The reality is he lives in Dublin and works for Fianna Fáil fulltime.

The question is why is he trying to hide his real job and pretend that he is with KPMG when he has not worked for them for years.

Exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭sgthighway

@Pottymouth - Very fair points.

The problem is that he does NOT work for KPMG. He worked for them many years ago. Her is the finance director for Fianna Fail for many years now. <modsnip>allegations removed</modsnip>

It is his duplicity in this matter and his attempt to shield himself from his association with Fianna Fáil that concerns me most.

As to his involvement with the Salthill Knocknacarra GAA club. That should not count for much really. Donal Lyons was also involved in the committees. I know that Pearse Flannery also played for them for years as did Peter Keane. So this is really hedging the issue.

The reality is he lives in Dublin and works for Fianna Fáil fulltime. If people do not see Michelle Murphy from Corofin as being unsuitable when she has absolutely no ties to the area whatsoever then where David Burke works should not matter either. He at least has ties to the area, family friends and involvement in the community.

The question is why is he trying to hide his real job and pretend that he is with KPMG when he has not worked for them for years. Maybe he could clarify his involvement with Fianna Fáil <modsnip>allegations removed</modsnip>

Pottymouth,

I was talking to one of his canvassers during a few weeks back. He has been in Galway for the last 3 months canvasing in person himself. The guy said that they are pretty sure that himself and his team canvased more than anyone else in the West Ward.

So when it comes to commitment he seems OK to me. He is still playing football.

Pottymouth,

I was talking to one of his canvassers during a few weeks back. He has been in Galway for the last 3 months canvasing in person himself. The guy said that they are pretty sure that himself and his team canvased more than anyone else in the West Ward.

So when it comes to commitment he seems OK to me. He is still playing football.

Yes but we are not electing footballers. I dont really care where he lives. I do care that he is covering it up.

The question remains unanswered - why is he trying to hide his real job and pretend that he is with KPMG when he has not worked for them for years?

Maybe instead of could he should clarify his involvement with Fianna Fáil and as I referenced earlier for ALL candidates let him produce a tax cleareance certificate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,269 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,084 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

An interesting campaigning tactic from one of our candidates for Europe - sure who needs to campaign based on issues!

I notice David Burke seems to have gone to ground on this one. Some straight talking could save him considerable approbrium at the ballot box.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 jmapell

So I want to challange here and now each candidate to prove that they are tax compliant in advance of the election.

Prove your tax compliance, produce a tax clearance cert

Pearce Flannery posted his tax clearance cert on Facebook page, and he just came off Galway Bay FM challenging all candidates to do the same. It makes sense to me..

You shouldn't work in local or national government if your tax affairs aren't in order. It's absolute hypocrisy to ask people to pay tax and then not to pay it yourself.

Well, imagine most would have one. Guys like Burke, Connelly, Flannery, Lyons, etc I'd imagine in their line of work would be all over that.

It would cause some ruckus if someone campaigning for a government party couldn't produce, or someone already in council.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,571 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

jmapell wrote: »
    Pearce Flannery posted his tax clearance cert on Facebook page, and he just came off Galway Bay FM challenging all candidates to do the same. It makes sense to me..

You shouldn't work in local or national government if your tax affairs aren't in order. It's absolute hypocrisy to ask people to pay tax and then not to pay it yourself.
    He probably should have blanked out his PPS number (top left, Data Protection fans). It would also be best practice for him to obtain a more recent cert. Not that there's anything wrong with that one (dated July 2013, valid for one year) but given that he's trying to imply that his rivals aren't tax compliant, he might want to reflect the most recent position given that he would have filed a return in October 2013.

Just on Tax Clearance Certs in general, there's a requirement for TDs and other important publicly paid types under the SIPO Act to hold one but not Councillors. It's worth noting that the SIPO Tax Clearance Cert is obtained by a different process to the one Pearce Flannery has supplied.

Captured for posterity.

I notice David Burke seems to have gone to ground on this one. Some straight talking could save him considerable approbrium at the ballot box.

Pottymouth,

All the candidates are hard at it at now... I don't blame him for staying well clear... Those two guys were asking set up questions not policies.

Those two guys were asking set up questions not policies.

That's just insulting other posters.

I want to know why he is running in Galway when holding down a full time job in Dublin. There's nothing "set up" about that. I would like to know if he will move to Galway or if he will commute; nothing "set up" about that either.

Anyone can trot off a list of impressive sounding policies. Has he any track record whatsoever of actually doing or achieving anything in Galway or for Galway?

He unfortunately strikes me as a party staffer parachuted in by Fianna Fáil head office and nothing he has said or done disabuses that notion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,765 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

While I have no interest or intention of voting for him, in his defense Biko has told him not to post here again until his account is verified. I presume this takes a bit of time.

?Cee?view wrote: »
    That's just insulting other posters.

I want to know why he is running in Galway when holding down a full time job in Dublin. There's nothing "set up" about that. I would like to know if he will move to Galway or if he will commute; nothing "set up" about that either.

Anyone can trot off a list of impressive sounding policies. Has he any track record whatsoever of actually doing or achieving anything in Galway or for Galway?

He unfortunately strikes me as a party staffer parachuted in by Fianna Fáil head office and nothing he has said or done disabuses that notion.

As far I know guy has been the recent Chairman of Salthill Football club... They have 90+ Teams and 1800 members...

He has been one of the hardest working candidate in canvassing.

HE has been asked not to post until verification by Biko. ?Cee I wasn't complaining about your questions as much complaining about the other two who arrived up asking loaded questions quoting anonymous sources.
    Any candidate that comes on here is using there real name, we are anonymous. What happened there ?Cee is those users was taking advantage of their anonymity in setting up to give unfair questions. Suppose that was just another candidate in the race.

Listen if we ask candidates on here to prose their idea and their views we have to be respectful of the risk taken from there side who ever the candidate is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1 dd.danceriver

Hi guys,

I think the election here in Galway City West will be a very close battle for the 6th seat, I believe McNelis will hold onto his seat, he has been very good to small local volunteering and charity groups.

How do ye think SF will poll in GCW ?

RE: prior posts

I know David Burke a little, I would not be of the view or opinion that he is one of the hardest working candidates out canvassing he is yet to call to my door nor the door of my two relatives in the area.

Cowboy Ted, just because he was chairman of a club of 1800 members does not mean he has the backing of 1800 members. It would be my honest opinion that it is the complete opposite, haven't recently left the club just over 2 and a half years ago, their was a lot of unrest and distaste at his chairmanship.

What has been raised on this forum has cast a major cloud over his campaign. I view the move to publish a tax clearance cert by FG candidate P. Flannery to be very open and transparent I commend him for this and believe the others should follow. This should not be a difficulty for David Burke who claims to be chartered accountant.

Mr. Burke has numerous election posters up around the city west area which I presume are provided for him by his party, just because his face is on every second light pole does not make him any more hard working than that of Marc Anderson (Ind).

I understand and respect the request biko has made, I wounder could biko inform us if he has been in contact with Mr. Burke. Because I like many others it seems want to know the answers to the questions raised by previous posters.

Finally I find the deceitful nature in which David Burke has taken to hiding his position in Fianna Fáil as Finance Director to be vastly misleading to his constituents.

Looking forward to your views on the elections guys :D

Pottymouth,

All the candidates are hard at it at now... I don't blame him for staying well clear... Those two guys were asking set up questions not policies.

Fair point and agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

#1 for Mick

Hi guys,

I think the election here in Galway City West will be a very close battle for the 6th seat, I believe McNelis will hold onto his seat, he has been very good to small local volunteering and charity groups.

How do ye think SF will poll in GCW ?

RE: prior posts

I know David Burke a little, I would not be of the view or opinion that he is one of the hardest working candidates out canvassing he is yet to call to my door nor the door of my two relatives in the area.

Cowboy Ted, just because he was chairman of a club of 1800 members does not mean he has the backing of 1800 members. It would be my honest opinion that it is the complete opposite, haven't recently left the club just over 2 and a half years ago, their was a lot of unrest and distaste at his chairmanship.

What has been raised on this forum has cast a major cloud over his campaign. I view the move to publish a tax clearance cert by FG candidate P. Flannery to be very open and transparent I commend him for this and believe the others should follow. This should not be a difficulty for David Burke who claims to be chartered accountant.

Mr. Burke has numerous election posters up around the city west area which I presume are provided for him by his party, just because his face is on every second light pole does not make him any more hard working than that of Marc Anderson (Ind).

I understand and respect the request biko has made, I wounder could biko inform us if he has been in contact with Mr. Burke. Because I like many others it seems want to know the answers to the questions raised by previous posters.

Finally I find the deceitful nature in which David Burke has taken to hiding his position in Fianna Fáil as Finance Director to be vastly misleading to his constituents.

Looking forward to your views on the elections guys :D

Another one post wonder, Am I talking to Neil or Brian at this stage. Another post with a lot of allegations and no proof. I think everyone know his job, it was on Galway Bay FM, where are you going with the hiding.

I am just concerned why you are so interested in Burke... To me Burke and Flannery seem to be the best qualified in the race...

By the way Burke canvased my door last February when no one else seemed to be started... Honestly for a first time poster to come on and call any candidate deceitful and distasteful tells us much more about the poster than the candidate.

Now does anyone want to talk about any of the candidates policies or continue is making snide remarks (especially from first time posters with no history).

Can some one tell me where the policies of the candidates can be found... Anderson, Burke and Flannery are easy found online but the others are harder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,536 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Another one post wonder, Am I talking to Neil or Brian at this stage.

Yup. Banned (3rd account in as many days).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Mr E wrote: »
    Yup. Banned (3rd account in as many days).

What party did he represent (I think I can guess)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭R28

I wouldn't be too impressed with Burke to be honest. If someone wants to get in on a Fianna Fáil banner, they'd want to be something extraordinary to get over the stench of ****e, but Burke comes across as just average at best. Being part of the GAA is hardly a reason to vote for somebody either.

R28 wrote: »
    I wouldn't be too impressed with Burke to be honest. If someone wants to get in on a Fianna Fáil banner, they'd want to be something extraordinary to get over the stench of ****e, but Burke comes across as just average at best. Being part of the GAA is hardly a reason to vote for somebody either.

R28,

This started back when someone said the the few candidates who have polices which they are open about (could look up online) were Flannery, Burke and Anderson...

Then we were talking about the the debate where we we talking about who we thought did well... Again Burke and Flannery were thought to represent themselves the best...

Your opinion on any candidate is grand... But you post like the others is again just unsubstantive.

Is any one looking for actual policies that help.
    I have asked what are there views about companies paying rates during there first couple years of business?
    I would like to know more about the overspend in the city council and what is there proposals to fix it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The councillors have very little power, most of it has been transferred to the unaccountable executive. It's mainly a stepping stone to national politics/get a job with expenses imo.

snubbleste wrote: »
    The councillors have very little power, most of it has been transferred to the unaccountable executive. It's mainly a stepping stone to national politics/get a job with expenses imo.

Councillors have the power to legislate, ie make by-laws.

Are they using that power?

Iwannahurl wrote: »

I agree, if you know what their actual powers are they can be useful. Many don't know what they can actually do and not do...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Councillors have the power to legislate, ie make by-laws. Are they using that power?
    Well yes. I'm sure the executive have a power of veto or the Council can only vote on a bylaw approved by the executive.
    They’re responsible for policy-making on a narrow range of issues and individually they have no power at all. The most important power they have (besides rezoning) is in relation to approving the local authority budget - which in GCC is a shambles.

Well yes. I'm sure the executive have a power of veto or the Council can only vote on a bylaw approved by the executive.
    They’re responsible for policy-making on a narrow range of issues and individually they have no power at all. The most important power they have (besides rezoning) is in relation to approving the local authority budget - which in GCC is a shambles.

I know they can fire the executive if the get 9 out of 13 votes... (over 2/3s) and appoint there own executive rather than get the one from Dublin.

I agree the budget is a shambles and is the biggest issue in my view going forward. This is why I put Burke as No.1(and Flannery No.2) because they should have the business experience as well as they are the only two with any detailed policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,269 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Is the polling station for the Central ward still in Pats Band Hall, the map on the council website makes little sense.

The rather unhealthy well documented competition between Burke and Keane seems to be spilling over to the Blueshirts also.

Peter Keane attacked David Burke in the Sentinel last week and will no doubt pay a heavy price for attacking his running mate at the polls. This is not very clever of Keane.

Now Ralph Lawless the husband of FG candidate Michelle Murphy has attacked her running mate on Facebook because he has actually got plans for Salthill that were documented in the advertiser. This seems not to have gone down well in the Murphy camp.

To me this would be very stupid of Murphy. She appears to be well behind Pearse Flannery in this race and now tries to get dirty in a rather silly way. Not very clever.

See the sentinel website for details of the Keane V Burke spat and pearse Flannery Vote Number 1 facebook page for the Ralph Lawless attack. I cannot support post with images, URLs or attachments because I am still a new user.

If Murphy has any sense she will remove this as soon as possible. As I feel it reflects very badly on her.

Just in case she does here is a transcript of her husbands attack and Flannerys reply.

Transcript

Ralph Lawless: "We may as well get disneyland and an underground rail network too. This has to be one of the craziest ideas yet. An Olympic size pool and a building like the Guggenheim museum in Bilbao. How long so before leisurland would be open and where is the funding going to come from. What we need is investment and jobs for our children so they dont have to immigrate, not pie in the sky election promises."

Pearce Flannery - Vote Number 1 replied "Hi Ralph. Given that you are married to my running mate perhaps you could come up with some ideas instead of criticisms. If you want to find out when Leisureland will be open why not go home and find out. Your wife is on the board after all. Finally I would appreciate it if you could point out to me where an election promise was made. I am simply articulating my vision for my village. Given that you are from Corofin I understand that you have no great ties or interest for the area but criticism for the sake of criticism displays an abject lack of initiative and interest. It is a pity you could not open your mind to the possibilities. This type of negative thinking is partly the cause of our problems. I am looking for solutions and will continue to do so. Enjoy the rest of the campaign."

Like · 9 · May 15 at 1:55pm

I have a screenshot image of the article where Keane attackd Burke in the Sentinel and Flannerys facebook page where Mr Michelle Murphy (Ralph Lawless) has a go at Pearse Flannery but do not seem to be able to post them as yet. I will do it as soon as my daughter returns and will get her to do it!

Next round of silly attacks from losing candidates please!

• Registered Users Posts: 15 jmapell

I know Peter Keane acted on the power to make by-laws during the term just passed. Being a solicitor I suppose the power to legislate is something close to his heart and something he understands well.

They also have the power to agree and sign off on the budget as far as I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Cllr. McNellis shot himself in the foot with the double decker bus driving around the city yesterday. 10kph with a huge line of traffic behind at all times. Only that it was a pleasant Sunday afternoon my blood would have been boiling.

At least he was using a form of public transport. :)

His party colleague Lorraine Higgins (who shares billboards with Cllr McNelis under the slogan "working together") wants a public subsidy for users of private transport so that they can park for free in Galway City, and at the same time she's demanding action to tackle the city's allegedly intolerable traffic congestion.

I've heard Anderson, Flannery and Roddy all say numerous times that they are only going in for one term. And that it is not a career, it's a term of service and the like.

I think everyone and their aunt knows Michelle Murphy is being groomed for party politics. Fine Gael will look mighty foolish if their throw-a-bone problem child Flannery gets in ahead of their new poster child Murphy (Hildegarde V2.0), and so they should. Flannery seems to have a much stronger manifesto without any real party backing.

Similarly, it's clear that this is viewed as a stepping stone for Burke, Keane and Holohan. And I've nothing against them, if they truly feel they can make a difference. Burke and Keane do actually seem to know what they are on about too, which helps.

And as we all know, Lyons and Connolly are Councillors for life yo! Something I would be against personally.