Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

"We are out of the dark ages now!" - Healy Rae

• 08-02-2001 7:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭

Ye I love irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">From the Examiner, by Dan Collins :

AFTER a long day working the mist stockinged hills of rural Ireland there’s nothing the playboys of the western world like better than to settle down with the latest issue of, well, Playboy. The magazine — renowned for its wonderfully creative articles, plus the odd page of scantily clad, air brushed, silicone enhanced comely maidens — sells as well as the Farmer’s Journal in one Kerry village. Now, if someone were to come up with an alternative like Rustler or Outhouse that would probably sell with as much fevered enthusiasm, but until then, Hugh Hefner’s monthly man’s mammary mag will have to do. The playboy of the western world mecca is Kilgarvan (pop 82 males, 93 females), the home of sheep, wool, mutton, lamb, Independent TD Jackie Healy Rae and his son, Kerry Cllr Michael Healy Rae. The latter is the owner of the village shop where Playboy outstrips the Journal. The interest in the glossy, girlie gladrag was not because of any decline in rural matters, but what he termed a more cosmopolitan approach to life in Kilgarvan. And he had no intention of issuing a Muslim style fatwa on the publishers of Playboy, he told a local newspaper. Cllr Healy Rae recently called for a fatwa, no less, on author Brian O’Doherty, whose book The Deposition of Fr McGreevy contained descriptions of intimate relations between a Kerry bachelor and a sheep. The book had been nominated for the prestigious Booker award. “Sex is still a very popular national pastime — Thank God. But there is an awful difference between natural sex and sex with sheep,” he stated. Cllr Healy Rae, recognising that not all Kilgarvan locals are male or sheep, stocks a number of titles for women also. “I consider buying any of these magazines the same as buying the Farmer’s Journal — they are both types of entertainment,” he said. “We are out of the Dark Ages now,” he added. Cllr Healy Rae describes himself as a liberal minded young man in these matters and has been careful to stock women’s versions of Playboy magazines — in the interests of fair play.
    </font>

[This message has been edited by Bard (edited 08-02-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

anybody want to drag up the ould censorship debate? I have class in a while so I can't just now smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

That guy is such a redneck idiot.

I saw an article in one of the tabloids the other day where he was proposing that Eileen Dunne should pose for playboy.

*IDIOT*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

He represents people who still have their dinner in the middle of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Blitzkrieger
    Lieutenant

lol

eh?

I wanna have a rant about censorship frown.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Uh, I say, don't censor anything at all...just keep negative stuff away from children. That is a stupidly broad statement, but I think that the age limitations on movies should remain intact, etc...Netnannys so they don't get porn...you know what I mean.

However, we are all grown ups once around 16, 17, 18 (though people I know coulda fooled me on that issue)and are big enough to deal with disturbing or offensive material.

Having made my pseudo liberal statements I would like to contradict myself by saying that racist/homophobic language should *not* be tolerated in society, however, and should be punishable by law, if infringing the lives and human rights of others.

Not to say that "The Clockwork Orange" etc., should be banned or anything.

Oh shut up neuro, it's too late for this.

It's ridiculos that it's legal for me to shag someone but not to watch a video of someone being shagged rolleyes.gif

If I video myself is that considered hardcore porno and is it illegal for me to watch it? wink.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Blitzkrieger:

If I video myself is that considered hardcore porno and is it illegal for me to watch it? wink.gif
    </font>

There's a mental image I just didn't need at this hour of the morning.

lol - I didn't mean just me smile.gif Would me and Pammela Anderson be fit viewing tongue.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Actually, there was a case recently of a chap with a 17 year old girlfriend who took pictures of her and was done for child pornography. So, it's ok to shag her, but you can't take pictures. Hmm... By that logic, if you videotaped yourself shagging, yes, it would be hardcore porn, and illegal to posess it.

Ain't censorship fun smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Not sure, but I think if you film yourself (and someone else or whatever) and just keep it for personal 'use' it's not illegal.

On the other hand if you distribute the film etc. it becomes illegal - have to check this one up smile.gif